Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:41:05 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Intersango exchange (formerly Britcoin)  (Read 70949 times)
spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
July 18, 2011, 11:49:46 PM
 #461

The USD platform

Intersango.us

just came online a tiny bit ago but we have had a difficult time making people aware of it's existence. It uses dwolla as a payment method as well as bank transfers. When I leave the US I will open a better EUR account. If have enjoyed using Britcoin please tell your US friends about Intersango.us. Right now we do not even have any Bitcoins listed in the orderbook Smiley

I just listed a bitcoin there. I even put a (temporary) free plug for you in my signature. Smiley

Make sure you back up your wallet regularly! With Bitcoin-Qt, it needs to be backed up at least as often as every 100 transactions (both sends and receipts) or new addresses.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725665
Reply with quote  #2

1480725665
Report to moderator
1480725665
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725665

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725665
Reply with quote  #2

1480725665
Report to moderator
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 02:54:26 AM
 #462

Is it 0% commission?  If so, that may be worth mentioning, since the competition isn't.

spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 07:35:52 AM
 #463

There are now 4 BTC offers at Intersango.us. It's gradually creeping up in volume, although the USD/BTC rates in those 4 offers aren't the best place to buy BTC right now!
phantomcircuit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 04:10:23 PM
 #464

Is it 0% commission?  If so, that may be worth mentioning, since the competition isn't.

It is.
dazedtrader
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 07:50:35 PM
 #465

Just a heads up - the ticker API seems to be broken as it is returning:
Code:
{"ticker": {"vol": 561.62370667, "buy": 8.4035, "sell": 8.65,
Warning: Division by zero in /var/www/britcoin.co.uk/htdocs/api/ticker.php on line 72
"last": }}

Why not buy me a cup of coffee: 1BcLU9n1TfoLnkgC1p2wqT2SyP354XTngW
dazedtrader
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 07:58:14 PM
 #466

It looks like a trade of amount 0 has gone through and has caused the problem. This is the culprit:

Code:
{"date": 1311104701, "price": , "amount": 0}

I also noticed a trade in the order book earlier today where one of the quantities was zero so looks like the validation may need tightening up somewhere. (Edit: that's a guess, I haven't read the code in any detail)

Why not buy me a cup of coffee: 1BcLU9n1TfoLnkgC1p2wqT2SyP354XTngW
phantomcircuit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
July 19, 2011, 09:44:01 PM
 #467

It looks like a trade of amount 0 has gone through and has caused the problem. This is the culprit:

Code:
{"date": 1311104701, "price": , "amount": 0}

I also noticed a trade in the order book earlier today where one of the quantities was zero so looks like the validation may need tightening up somewhere. (Edit: that's a guess, I haven't read the code in any detail)

That's a good guess.

The issue is that 2 trades went through in which one side got 0.

| 16947 |     18518 |        1 |     18539 |        0 | 2011-07-19 18:44:01 |
| 16973 |     18548 |        2 |     18562 |        0 | 2011-07-19 20:45:01 |

Those numbers are scaled 10^8, so those are trades for 0.00000001 for 0 and 0.00000002 for 0.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 19, 2011, 10:52:43 PM
 #468

What happened to the limits of 0.005 or so?  On britcoin there's a minimum size for both BTC and GBP, and it's something of that order.

Isn't this USD exchange using the same code?

phantomcircuit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:11:24 AM
 #469

What happened to the limits of 0.005 or so?  On britcoin there's a minimum size for both BTC and GBP, and it's something of that order.

Isn't this USD exchange using the same code?

The limits on britcoin are artificial.  The actual precisions is 8 places after the decimal, or 0.00000001.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 01:50:43 AM
 #470

The limits on britcoin are artificial.  The actual precisions is 8 places after the decimal, or 0.00000001.

Of course, but since britcoin is using the intersango code I'd have thought the same artificial limits would be in place for the USD exchange too.  The artificial limits were put in place for a reason (it helps prevent these zero trades and code errors, for one thing), so it seems odd that they're not on all the intersango exchanges.

phantomcircuit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 12:08:58 PM
 #471

The limits on britcoin are artificial.  The actual precisions is 8 places after the decimal, or 0.00000001.

Of course, but since britcoin is using the intersango code I'd have thought the same artificial limits would be in place for the USD exchange too.  The artificial limits were put in place for a reason (it helps prevent these zero trades and code errors, for one thing), so it seems odd that they're not on all the intersango exchanges.

What I posted where trades, probably the tail end of orders for normal amounts.
dazedtrader
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 05:27:04 PM
 #472

The zero trades I saw were on Britcoin, by the way.

Why not buy me a cup of coffee: 1BcLU9n1TfoLnkgC1p2wqT2SyP354XTngW
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:02:29 PM
 #473

The zero trades I saw were on Britcoin, by the way.

Curiouser and curiouser.  Smiley

dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:08:28 PM
 #474

If I can sell 0.00000000 BTC for 0.00000001 GBP, I could do that 100 million times and make a whole British Pound!  I wonder how you get around the limits.

The code is doing:

Code:
order_worthwhile_check($amount, $amount_disp, '0.0005');
order_worthwhile_check($want_amount, $want_amount_disp, '0.0005');

dazedtrader
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 06:19:14 PM
 #475

It's just happened again: https://britcoin.co.uk/api/ticker.php

Why not buy me a cup of coffee: 1BcLU9n1TfoLnkgC1p2wqT2SyP354XTngW
phantomcircuit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 463


View Profile
July 20, 2011, 11:39:33 PM
 #476

If I can sell 0.00000000 BTC for 0.00000001 GBP, I could do that 100 million times and make a whole British Pound!  I wonder how you get around the limits.

The code is doing:

Code:
order_worthwhile_check($amount, $amount_disp, '0.0005');
order_worthwhile_check($want_amount, $want_amount_disp, '0.0005');

That check is for the order as a whole, not for the partial orders produced when a trade occurs.

So if you place an order 1 BTC for 10 GBP and it gets filled as 0.99999999 BTC you will have a remaining partial order of 0.000000001 BTC.

So this isn't something that's exploitable, basically peoples orders are getting rounded up or down by very small amounts of 0.00000001 for the entire order.

So in the worst case someone might have 0.002% of their order rounded off.
dooglus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988



View Profile
July 21, 2011, 05:35:52 PM
 #477

So in the worst case someone might have 0.002% of their order rounded off.

Someone recently had 0.00000002 of their order rounded off didn't they?

If their total order was 0.0005 (the minimum), that's 0.004%.

That's twice as bad as your stated worst case.

Is it possible to have 0.00000003 or more rounded off?  What's the real worst case?  And can this be fixed?

Calibre
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17



View Profile
July 29, 2011, 03:54:12 PM
 #478

Is Britcoin down? No updates on bitcoincharts since 13:42 and the site is not loading....
spruce
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 04:02:59 PM
 #479

Is Britcoin down? No updates on bitcoincharts since 13:42 and the site is not loading....

http://www.downforeveryoneorjustme.com/http://britcoin.co.uk/

I check it a couple of times a day and it's usually up. I wouldn't worry about it.
Donald_Norman
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 96


View Profile
July 29, 2011, 08:24:00 PM
 #480

Britcoin was down for a bit today. Excuse the interruption of service.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!