Bitcoin Forum
September 20, 2019, 12:14:24 AM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Braiins OS: open-source mining firmware [S9, T1]. New release includes AsicBoost  (Read 32621 times)
fanatic26_
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 123


View Profile
October 08, 2018, 11:37:17 PM
 #41

After editing the file CONTROL  I was able to successfully flash a controller with this firmware. The first unit i tried it on killed the controller I think, I cant get an IP out of it at all anymore but the second one worked just fine. Thankfully I have a few hundred spare controllers.
1568938464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568938464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568938464
Reply with quote  #2

1568938464
Report to moderator
You can see the statistics of your reports to moderators on the "Report to moderator" pages.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1568938464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568938464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568938464
Reply with quote  #2

1568938464
Report to moderator
1568938464
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1568938464

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1568938464
Reply with quote  #2

1568938464
Report to moderator
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 09, 2018, 12:39:47 AM
 #42

After editing the file CONTROL  I was able to successfully flash a controller with this firmware. The first unit i tried it on killed the controller I think, I cant get an IP out of it at all anymore but the second one worked just fine. Thankfully I have a few hundred spare controllers.

Hold down the reset button on the board like a normal hard reset. It should go through the normal hard reset process and fix what didn't go right.. That Did happen to me.

And yes. But I didn't want to be the one to be blamed for someone frying their BB
Artemis3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 614


★777Coin.com★ Fun BTC Casino!


View Profile WWW
October 13, 2018, 06:21:49 PM
 #43

Would be nice if this could be used with the R4... Also, any plans to add asicboost?

fanatic26_
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 294
Merit: 123


View Profile
October 15, 2018, 04:00:04 PM
Merited by NotFuzzyWarm (1)
 #44

Would be nice if this could be used with the R4... Also, any plans to add asicboost?

for the hundred thousandth time ASICBOOST requires compatible HARDWARE. There is no magic software to enable it on hardware that was not designed for it.

Apprentice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 505
Merit: 105


View Profile
October 16, 2018, 08:32:48 PM
 #45

and it is tricky to run more than 1 miner on a SC card as it will have the same MAC address and it seems that DHCP is giving all the same IP address.

also it is not working on all S9s. it worked fine on the first 2 (S9) and not properly on the 3rd which is a S9i, hashrate was rising very slow and barely reached 10,5THs. one of the hashing boards was hashing very low..

Been using it on 2 S9 for like 3 weeks, temps are below 70 (but can those numbers be trusted??)

also the fans are running slower thus the miner is quieter and the noise is at a lower pitch.
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 02:13:27 AM
 #46

and it is tricky to run more than 1 miner on a SC card as it will have the same MAC address and it seems that DHCP is giving all the same IP address.

also it is not working on all S9s. it worked fine on the first 2 (S9) and not properly on the 3rd which is a S9i, hashrate was rising very slow and barely reached 10,5THs. one of the hashing boards was hashing very low..

Been using it on 2 S9 for like 3 weeks, temps are below 70 (but can those numbers be trusted??)

also the fans are running slower thus the miner is quieter and the noise is at a lower pitch.

There's a way to change the Mac address in the config file if you flash the firmware via terminal. It's in the Readme about adding the address and such.
The Temps if I am reading their gits correctly is using the alternative temp via bitmain.c driver. One is temp and one is pcb. The antminer s9 normal pages, use the chip temp I believe, and slush uses the pcb temp, which is the lower of the 2 Temps that get returned. So it looks lower. But is like a normal offset of like 26 degrees I think if I remember correctly
Breeze
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 17, 2018, 07:49:15 PM
 #47

Hope they show both temp on the next release.
Mine is running nice with the SD card since couple of weeks.
Waiting for the next release with more functions before i flash it on the controller.
Keep up the good work.
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 18, 2018, 12:10:29 AM
 #48

Hope they show both temp on the next release.
Mine is running nice with the SD card since couple of weeks.
Waiting for the next release with more functions before i flash it on the controller.
Keep up the good work.

If you compile the cgminer git from braiins sources, you can edit it so you can have both Temps shown. I'll see if I can find the line for the Temps. Then it's a edit on the webpage to show both.

https://github.com/braiins/cgminer/blob/braiins-am1/cgminer.c
rockminer1
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 263
Merit: 11

Please support farming in Russia


View Profile
October 18, 2018, 06:05:57 PM
Last edit: October 18, 2018, 09:31:01 PM by frodocooper
 #49

Please check is it correct or not?

Code:
$ pwd
~/braiins/braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d

$ ls
factory_transition  sd.img

$ lsblk | grep sdd
sdd              8:48   1  29,8G  0 disk 

$ sudo dd if=sd.img of=/dev/sdd
65536+0 rows received
65536+0 rows sent
33554432 byte (34 MB, 32 MiB) was copied, 66,9294 s, 501 kB/s

$ lsblk | grep sdd
sdd              8:48   1  29,8G  0 disk 
├─sdd2           8:50   1  15,5M  0 part 
└─sdd1           8:49   1    14M  0 part 

Code:
$ sudo mount /dev/sdd1 /mnt/sd

$ cd /mnt/sd

$ ls
boot.bin  fit.itb  system.bit  u-boot.img  uEnv.txt

$ more uEnv.txt
ethaddr=00:0A:35:FF:FF:FF <----- should I change this address to Antminer S9 mac-address?????



How to backup the original firmware? I don't understand

Could I upgrade Bitmain firmware before? It is usual Antminer S9 (April batch)

Telegram: @lokoroko.
Telegram: @ecopole, https://twitter.com/Ecopole_ru
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 18, 2018, 09:09:13 PM
Last edit: October 18, 2018, 09:33:17 PM by frodocooper
 #50

Please check is it correct or not?

[...]

From what I  can tell, cuz I didn't use the SD card img, but yes, you can change that to the Mac address of the antminer. And it should give you the correct ip.

How to backup the original firmware? I don't understand

Could I upgrade Bitmain firmware before? It is usual Antminer S9 (April batch)

Using the SD card version you don't need to back it up. Just set the omg up on a SD card so you can run the miner off the SD. And it doesn't touch the firmware
grinbuck
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 68
Merit: 18


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2018, 05:53:22 AM
Last edit: October 20, 2018, 10:39:23 AM by frodocooper
 #51

for the hundred thousandth time ASICBOOST requires compatible HARDWARE. There is no magic software to enable it on hardware that was not designed for it.

The Antminer S9 was always "theoretically" capable of supporting overt ASICBOOST at the hardware level. No one was able to leverage it though. They still have not succeeded.

There was a lot of talk on Reddit regarding this:

https://www.reddit.com/r/BitcoinMining/comments/8303fa/enabling_asicboost_for_antminer/

However, the possibility still exists. Check out this blog post by Braiins OS:

https://medium.com/@braiins_systems/bitmain-antminer-s9-asicboost-capability-verified-by-braiins-13-in-energy-savings-and-planned-da67c290152c

Whether they finally succeed or not is another matter.

BTC: 37x5L8wq3pRxjDof6g2CnwgSrt34C5cFHy
Apprentice
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 505
Merit: 105


View Profile
October 20, 2018, 10:14:57 AM
Last edit: October 20, 2018, 10:39:51 AM by frodocooper
 #52

still want to see chip temperatures.

the S9 is draining a good 6.8A at 14.6T (that was a 13.5T that was hashing at 13.1T and couldn't get it to hash higher).
rz66
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 27


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 02:30:03 AM
Last edit: October 25, 2018, 01:47:50 AM by rz66
Merited by frodocooper (5)
 #53

Here are the steps if you have a linux computer on your network:

This is just the "Migrating from factory firmware to Braiins OS" setup from https://docs.braiins-os.org/ but instead of booting into the SD card and doing it locally, your doing it from your linux comp over the network:

I'm testing on an Antminer S9i over my network. 192.168.2.72 will my the address;

Requirements: braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_*image*.tar.bz2
python3 python-virtualenv setuptools(18.5 or newer)to get some possible errors out of the way

ubuntu/debian flave:

Code:
apt-get install python3 python-virtualenv

CentOS/RedHat flave:

Code:
yum install python3 python-virtualenv

- Press Y to install

Now update python setuptools with pip because you likely already have python installed and some modules just need updating:

Code:
pip install --upgrade pip setuptools

Should now be ready without errors

Upload braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_*latest*.bz2 to a folder on your box, in my case i downloaded it to /root

you can use wget, if you are using a windows pc you can upload using winscp:

Code:
wget https://feeds.braiins-os.org/braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d.tar.bz2

Now we are just following the directions on the page:

1- Unpack firmware

Code:
for i in  ./braiins-os-firmware_*.tar.bz2; do tar xvjf $i; done

/root# for i in  ./braiins-os-firmware_*.tar.bz2; do tar xvjf $i; done
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/sd.img
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/hwid.py
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/restore2factory.py
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/fit.itb
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/uboot_env.bin
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/u-boot.img
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/boot.bin
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/stage2.tgz
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/CONTROL
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/uboot_env.config
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/system.bit.gz
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/firmware/stage1.sh
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/upgrade2bos.py
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/system/
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/system/ld-musl-armhf.so.1
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/system/fw_printenv
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/system/sftp-server
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/requirements.txt
braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/ssh.py

2- Change to the factory transition directory;

Code:
/root # cd braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/

I'll skip pasting the resulting text but just follow the instructions:

3- Next :

Code:
virtualenv --python=/usr/bin/python3 .env

4- Next :

Code:
source .env/bin/activate

5- Next :

Code:
pip install -r ./requirements.txt

you may receive a setuptools prerequisite error setuptools must be > 18.5 , this may be because this virtual environment creates a small sandbox (?) if you do get this error run try to update setuptools via pip again;

Code:
pip install --upgrade pip setuptools

and re-run:

Code:
pip install -r ./requirements.txt

6- Next :

Now i will write to one of my antminer s9i's (192.168.2.72), you will be asked for your antminers root pass

Code:
python3 upgrade2bos.py 192.168.2.72

Connecting to remote host...
/root/braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/.env/lib/python3.4/site-packages/pa                                   ramiko/rsakey.py:119: CryptographyDeprecationWarning: signer and verifier have been deprecated. Please use sign and verify instead.
  algorithm=hashes.SHA1(),
/root/braiins-os-firmware_zynq-am1-s9_2018-09-22-1-8d9b127d/factory_transition/.env/lib/python3.4/site-packages/pa                                   ramiko/client.py:658: UserWarning: Unknown ssh-rsa host key for 192.168.2.72: b'f8e2b9d96ede1d9850f170b20233745e'
  (key.get_name(), hostname, hexlify(key.get_fingerprint())))
Password:

Code:
Processing miner backup...
Backup mtd0 (BOOT.bin-env-dts-kernel)
Backup mtd1 (angstram-rootfs)
Backup mtd2 (upgrade-rootfs)
Uploading firmware...
firmware/system.bit.gz: |################################| 381877/381877
firmware/uboot_env.bin: |################################| 131072/131072
firmware/fit.itb: |################################| 7134088/7134088
firmware/boot.bin: |################################| 79647/79647
firmware/stage2.tgz: |################################| 17840065/17840065
firmware/CONTROL: |################################| 1360/1360
firmware/u-boot.img: |################################| 573700/573700
firmware/uboot_env.config: |################################| 382/382
firmware/stage1.sh: |################################| 3018/3018
Upgrading firmware...

---skipping verbose ----

Upgrade was successful!
Rebooting...

Check your router for the new IP address then browse to it in your web browser... , done !

edit; thx whoever edited and added the code tags hehe
daniel232388
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 12:50:06 PM
Last edit: October 23, 2018, 12:11:51 AM by frodocooper
 #54


is this the firmware "Antminer-S9-LPM-20181022.tar.gz"?
localAlien
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 03:11:20 PM
 #55

Can you adjust/disable the fans for immersion cooling through the Braiins OS?
daniel232388
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 03:58:04 PM
 #56

anyone tried the firmware?
rz66
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 67
Merit: 27


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 04:10:56 PM
Last edit: October 23, 2018, 12:16:36 AM by frodocooper
 #57

From slushpool:

Dear Miners, we strongly recommend you DON'T UPGRADE your S9 devices with the new Bitmain firmware. It is not compatible with BIP310 standard and as a result also not compatible with @slush_pool. We are working hard on providing our own fix asap and will keep you posted.
daniel232388
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 04:32:56 PM
Last edit: October 23, 2018, 12:17:01 AM by frodocooper
 #58

From slushpool:

Dear Miners, we strongly recommend you DON'T UPGRADE your S9 devices with the new Bitmain firmware. It is not compatible with BIP310 standard and as a result also not compatible with @slush_pool. We are working hard on providing our own fix asap and will keep you posted.

confirmed.....tried and its not working with slush pool
Shad0wSmurf
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 60
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 05:00:32 PM
Last edit: October 23, 2018, 12:17:29 AM by frodocooper
 #59

confirmed.....tried and its not working with slush pool

Works on antpool and btc, if it helps at all

Code:
[2018-10-22 16:56:09.500] MASK1 : 00e0ff5f
 [2018-10-22 16:56:09.500] MASK : 00000003
 [2018-10-22 16:56:09.501] Network diff set to 541G
 [2018-10-22 16:56:09.813] Verion num 4
 [2018-10-22 16:56:09.989] Pool 2 difficulty changed to 16384
 [2018-10-22 16:56:10.017] Network diff set to 7.18T
 [2018-10-22 16:56:10.017] Stratum from pool 2 detected new block at height 546885        
 [2018-10-22 16:56:10.018] Verion num 4
 [2018-10-22 16:56:11.813] Verion num 4
sarcheer
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 329
Merit: 91


View Profile
October 22, 2018, 05:30:58 PM
 #60

It works on Kano pool.

Miners:
Avalon 1041, Whatsminer M10, Antminer T15 x 2, DragonMint T1 x 3, Innosilicon T2T, R4 x 2
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!