Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:36:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 mining thread  (Read 22463 times)
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 03:38:13 PM
 #121

What's the best brand for 5970 in terms of overclocking/Mhps?

I got my Gigabyte 5870 to 450Mbps without much sweat, which is quite high for a 5870.

But my Gigabyte 5970s can't seem to go post 700Mhps without freezing the whole system  :/

I'm running them at 180/800MHz/Default voltage

Mbps? You mean MH/s? Wink I kid...

It's really card dependent. I like PowerColor, Sapphire, and Asus. A lot of people have good luck with Gigabyte. I've heard to stay away from XFX and Diamond, but again, YMMV. There is no BEST brand for OCing.


Also, while a 5970 is technically 2x 5870s in one card, the voltages are lower to keep the power/temps down. Stock voltage on a 5870 is 1.174, while stock voltage on a 5970 is 1.050. If you lowered your 5870 down to 1.05, you won't be getting 450MH/s.

If you raised your 5970 to 1.174, you MIGHT be able to get 400+ per core, but it would be a very bad idea. Power draw increases, temps become too much for the shared cooler, and your VRM temps would be through the roof. Not a good idea.


Side note: Here are my 5870 speeds, for undervolting comparison:
460MH/s - 980/300/1.174 - My "all out" setting
425MH/s - 925/300/1.000 - My "max profit" setting
350MH/s - 755/300/0.950 - My "keep the temps down" setting.

I think my card can get higher clocks at each voltages than average, so yours may be a little lower.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
1481143004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143004
Reply with quote  #2

1481143004
Report to moderator
1481143004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143004
Reply with quote  #2

1481143004
Report to moderator
1481143004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143004
Reply with quote  #2

1481143004
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481143004
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143004

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143004
Reply with quote  #2

1481143004
Report to moderator
luffy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 606



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:01:10 PM
 #122

all of my 5970 (8+) after a continuing year of operation at stock 725/300 and nearly 90c are off!
some of them with fun problems (easily fixed) others with BSOD (never fixed!)
all my one core cards 5850/5870 (10+) have no problem at all up to now!
i wonder if dual cards are not designed for continues full operation at high temp conditions!
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 18, 2012, 04:06:42 PM
 #123

all of my 5970 (8+) after a continuing year of operation at stock 725/300 and nearly 90c are off!
some of them with fun problems (easily fixed) others with BSOD (never fixed!)
all my one core cards 5850/5870 (10+) have no problem at all up to now!
i wonder if dual cards are not designed for continues full operation at high temp conditions!

I doubt your single core GPUs were run at 90c, were they? I'm betting if you had undervolted them a bit, and had better airflow, they'd still be running.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 18, 2012, 10:07:05 PM
 #124

What's the best brand for 5970 in terms of overclocking/Mhps?

I got my Gigabyte 5870 to 450Mbps without much sweat, which is quite high for a 5870.

But my Gigabyte 5970s can't seem to go post 700Mhps without freezing the whole system  :/

I'm running them at 180/800MHz/Default voltage

All of mine are XFX Black edition. all will do 900mhz both cores on 1.05v and get ~800mhash. I can run the second "cooler" cores up to 950 on 1.05 but it's simpler this way.
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile WWW
June 19, 2012, 12:22:17 AM
 #125

Tried an over clock to 913MHz core clock and 1100mV, VRM's at 100C and GPU's at 75 with fan@~90% (loud...).

Been stable for half an hour so far, and still running, we'll see...

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=603757.0
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 01:45:45 AM
 #126


you guys must have really cheap electricity!

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
June 19, 2012, 12:49:29 PM
 #127

Tried an over clock to 913MHz core clock and 1100mV, VRM's at 100C and GPU's at 75 with fan@~90% (loud...).

Been stable for half an hour so far, and still running, we'll see...

All of this overclocking on 5970 is a great way to kill your card.

BUT keep going, less difficulty for moi !

Don't mind AMD and them stupidly making undervolt because you know better, right ?

Look at above poster showing how his cards died, hope yours do the same !
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 02:58:42 PM
 #128


I'm with you, let them burn them up...  not only is the electricity the issue.  this rig as been running without stopping since My9th.  I think I upgraded cgminer that day.. 

I cant remember exactly how many watts at the wall, i have that in another post..  i think 850-900

Code:
cgminer version 2.3.6 - Started: [May 9, 2012, 8:03 pm]    Rig:miner2
(5s):2457.99  (avg): 2420.22 Mh/s  |    H: 122.69  Q:1882472   A:1915344   R:13328   HW:0   E:?%   U:32.75/m
TQ:?   ST:2356   SS:?   DW:166711   NB:5865   LW:4155588   GF:1176   RF:1321
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 70.0C 3108RPM 49% 119 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:238551 R:1690 HW:0 U:4.08/m I: 7
GPU 1: 72.5C 3108RPM 49% 122 | 306.9/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239227 R:1712 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 2: 72.0C 3513RPM 57% 129 | 307.3/302.0Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239375 R:1636 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 3: 68.5C 3513RPM 57% 126 | 307.4/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239106 R:1747 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 4: 70.0C 3290RPM 50% 120 | 307.6/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239754 R:1673 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 5: 70.5C 3290RPM 50% 121 | 307.2/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239850 R:1633 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 6: 72.5C 3257RPM 51% 124 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239795 R:1658 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 7: 71.5C 3257RPM 51% 123 | 307.6/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239686 R:1579 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 19, 2012, 03:44:21 PM
 #129


I'm with you, let them burn them up...  not only is the electricity the issue.  this rig as been running without stopping since My9th.  I think I upgraded cgminer that day.. 

I cant remember exactly how many watts at the wall, i have that in another post..  i think 850-900

Code:
cgminer version 2.3.6 - Started: [May 9, 2012, 8:03 pm]    Rig:miner2
(5s):2457.99  (avg): 2420.22 Mh/s  |    H: 122.69  Q:1882472   A:1915344   R:13328   HW:0   E:?%   U:32.75/m
TQ:?   ST:2356   SS:?   DW:166711   NB:5865   LW:4155588   GF:1176   RF:1321
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 70.0C 3108RPM 49% 119 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:238551 R:1690 HW:0 U:4.08/m I: 7
GPU 1: 72.5C 3108RPM 49% 122 | 306.9/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239227 R:1712 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 2: 72.0C 3513RPM 57% 129 | 307.3/302.0Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239375 R:1636 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 3: 68.5C 3513RPM 57% 126 | 307.4/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239106 R:1747 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 4: 70.0C 3290RPM 50% 120 | 307.6/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239754 R:1673 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 5: 70.5C 3290RPM 50% 121 | 307.2/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239850 R:1633 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 6: 72.5C 3257RPM 51% 124 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239795 R:1658 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 7: 71.5C 3257RPM 51% 123 | 307.6/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239686 R:1579 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7

Very nice. Is there a reason you run -I 7 instead of -I 8?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 04:09:54 PM
 #130


I'm with you, let them burn them up...  not only is the electricity the issue.  this rig as been running without stopping since My9th.  I think I upgraded cgminer that day..  

I cant remember exactly how many watts at the wall, i have that in another post..  i think 850-900


Power or cooling isn't an issue for me. My 5970's are rock solid at 900mhz core. They only downtime they get is when I switch pools up upgrade cgminer. They've been running full on since I got them, a LONG time ago. Minimal maintenance, clean dust and touch up the TIM if temps creep etc.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 04:15:05 PM
 #131



Very nice. Is there a reason you run -I 7 instead of -I 8?

well, i tried 8 and 9,  they seam to jump around too much..  tell you what, I will put this rig at I8 for today, lets see how it does.

putting them at I8 now.  (thank you webmon)

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 04:16:53 PM
 #132


I'm with you, let them burn them up...  not only is the electricity the issue.  this rig as been running without stopping since My9th.  I think I upgraded cgminer that day..  

I cant remember exactly how many watts at the wall, i have that in another post..  i think 850-900


Power or cooling isn't an issue for me. My 5970's are rock solid at 900mhz core. They only downtime they get is when I switch pools up upgrade cgminer. They've been running full on since I got them, a LONG time ago. Minimal maintenance, clean dust and touch up the TIM if temps creep etc.

May I ask who is paying for your power then?

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 04:18:05 PM
 #133

OK,  i have had them at 8 for about 10 minutes..  they finally stabilized....
as you can see, the heatindex has climbed 5 points.  from 122 to 127, with no increase in MH

will post this again after my round of golf Smiley
Code:
cgminer version 2.3.6 - Started: [May 9, 2012, 8:03 pm]    Rig:miner2
(5s):2455.98  (avg): 2420.28 Mh/s  |    H: 127.5  Q:1885119   A:1918524   R:13365   HW:0   E:?%   U:32.75/m
TQ:?   ST:2357   SS:?   DW:166980   NB:5871   LW:4166227   GF:1176   RF:1321
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 68.5C 3464RPM 56% 125 | 307.0/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:238920 R:1693 HW:0 U:4.08/m I: 8
GPU 1: 70.0C 3464RPM 56% 126 | 306.7/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239633 R:1719 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 8
GPU 2: 72.0C 3702RPM 61% 133 | 307.2/302.0Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239798 R:1642 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 8
GPU 3: 68.5C 3706RPM 61% 130 | 307.0/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239522 R:1751 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 8
GPU 4: 69.5C 3449RPM 53% 123 | 307.0/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:240170 R:1679 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8
GPU 5: 70.5C 3449RPM 53% 124 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:240237 R:1640 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8
GPU 6: 70.5C 3529RPM 60% 131 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:240166 R:1660 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8
GPU 7: 70.5C 3529RPM 60% 131 | 307.0/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:240078 R:1581 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 19, 2012, 11:16:05 PM
 #134


I'm with you, let them burn them up...  not only is the electricity the issue.  this rig as been running without stopping since My9th.  I think I upgraded cgminer that day..  

I cant remember exactly how many watts at the wall, i have that in another post..  i think 850-900


Power or cooling isn't an issue for me. My 5970's are rock solid at 900mhz core. They only downtime they get is when I switch pools up upgrade cgminer. They've been running full on since I got them, a LONG time ago. Minimal maintenance, clean dust and touch up the TIM if temps creep etc.

May I ask who is paying for your power then?

Power is included in my collocation/lease at my data center Smiley. Most of my rigs are 1gpu web servers. They all run low intensity so it doesn't affect normal operation. Most of them are for development or sandboxing anyways. I have 6 full racks.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 12:47:44 AM
 #135


I'm with you, let them burn them up...  not only is the electricity the issue.  this rig as been running without stopping since My9th.  I think I upgraded cgminer that day.. 

I cant remember exactly how many watts at the wall, i have that in another post..  i think 850-900

Code:
cgminer version 2.3.6 - Started: [May 9, 2012, 8:03 pm]    Rig:miner2
(5s):2457.99  (avg): 2420.22 Mh/s  |    H: 122.69  Q:1882472   A:1915344   R:13328   HW:0   E:?%   U:32.75/m
TQ:?   ST:2356   SS:?   DW:166711   NB:5865   LW:4155588   GF:1176   RF:1321
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 70.0C 3108RPM 49% 119 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:238551 R:1690 HW:0 U:4.08/m I: 7
GPU 1: 72.5C 3108RPM 49% 122 | 306.9/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239227 R:1712 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 2: 72.0C 3513RPM 57% 129 | 307.3/302.0Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239375 R:1636 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 3: 68.5C 3513RPM 57% 126 | 307.4/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239106 R:1747 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 7
GPU 4: 70.0C 3290RPM 50% 120 | 307.6/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239754 R:1673 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 5: 70.5C 3290RPM 50% 121 | 307.2/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239850 R:1633 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 6: 72.5C 3257RPM 51% 124 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239795 R:1658 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7
GPU 7: 71.5C 3257RPM 51% 123 | 307.6/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:239686 R:1579 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 7

Very nice. Is there a reason you run -I 7 instead of -I 8?


so, they ahve been running all day at I8  ..  not much difference.  ..  cant judge heat cause it was hot today.  going back to 7
Code:
cgminer version 2.3.6 - Started: [May 9, 2012, 8:03 pm]    Rig:miner2
(5s):2455.03  (avg): 2420.51 Mh/s  |    H: 130.94  Q:1899083   A:1935528   R:13638   HW:0   E:?%   U:32.76/m
TQ:?   ST:2372   SS:?   DW:168305   NB:5905   LW:4227166   GF:1179   RF:1328
Connected to http://gpumax.com:8332 with LP as user ?
Value:
GPU 0: 68.0C 3597RPM 59% 127 | 306.9/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:241059 R:1721 HW:0 U:4.08/m I: 8
GPU 1: 70.0C 3597RPM 59% 129 | 307.4/302.7Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:241768 R:1744 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 8
GPU 2: 71.0C 4100RPM 72% 143 | 307.2/302.1Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:241916 R:1671 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 8
GPU 3: 67.5C 4100RPM 72% 140 | 307.1/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:241606 R:1792 HW:0 U:4.09/m I: 8
GPU 4: 70.5C 3591RPM 56% 127 | 306.7/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:242321 R:1717 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8
GPU 5: 70.5C 3591RPM 56% 127 | 307.0/302.7Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:242354 R:1676 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8
GPU 6: 70.5C 3591RPM 58% 129 | 306.5/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:242295 R:1698 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8
GPU 7: 70.5C 3591RPM 57% 128 | 306.3/302.6Mh/s | 99% | 675Mhz 300Mhz 0.95V A:242209 R:1619 HW:0 U:4.10/m I: 8

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Aseras
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


View Profile
June 20, 2012, 02:41:42 AM
 #136

Anything above 5 won't change hash rate on a dedicated box. 7 and below will allow the box to be usable as a pc and not stutter or crash or just be slow. It will slightly slow performance if you are doing other things.

My main work box is two 6990 at 880 and i7. It's perfectly usable and quiet all while getting 1.5ghash.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
June 21, 2012, 02:40:00 PM
 #137

What's the best brand for 5970 in terms of overclocking/Mhps?

I got my Gigabyte 5870 to 450Mbps without much sweat, which is quite high for a 5870.

But my Gigabyte 5970s can't seem to go post 700Mhps without freezing the whole system  :/

I'm running them at 180/800MHz/Default voltage

Mbps? You mean MH/s? Wink I kid...

It's really card dependent. I like PowerColor, Sapphire, and Asus. A lot of people have good luck with Gigabyte. I've heard to stay away from XFX and Diamond, but again, YMMV. There is no BEST brand for OCing.


Also, while a 5970 is technically 2x 5870s in one card, the voltages are lower to keep the power/temps down. Stock voltage on a 5870 is 1.174, while stock voltage on a 5970 is 1.050. If you lowered your 5870 down to 1.05, you won't be getting 450MH/s.

If you raised your 5970 to 1.174, you MIGHT be able to get 400+ per core, but it would be a very bad idea. Power draw increases, temps become too much for the shared cooler, and your VRM temps would be through the roof. Not a good idea.


Side note: Here are my 5870 speeds, for undervolting comparison:
460MH/s - 980/300/1.174 - My "all out" setting
425MH/s - 925/300/1.000 - My "max profit" setting
350MH/s - 755/300/0.950 - My "keep the temps down" setting.

I think my card can get higher clocks at each voltages than average, so yours may be a little lower.

you should try higher at 0.950v...   mine has been stable for 200+ hrs at 830/195/0.950

the next step for me is 940/195/1.112

then 1010/195/1.175

it's xfx non-ref (hmm or maybe a sapphire non-ref...  haha)

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 25, 2012, 10:07:09 AM
 #138

How much power one needs to power 3x to 5x 5970s?

I have 2x 5970 at 1200W, the moment I try use 3x the thing gets really unstable and I can just assume it's due to insufficient power.

Running them with under clocked memory/default core/default voltage.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 02:36:03 PM
 #139

How much power one needs to power 3x to 5x 5970s?

I have 2x 5970 at 1200W, the moment I try use 3x the thing gets really unstable and I can just assume it's due to insufficient power.

Running them with under clocked memory/default core/default voltage.

Plan for 200-300 W for each card. I'd say that PSU can handle 3 5970s at stock settings, or 4 if you undervolt. Do you have a killawatt?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 25, 2012, 02:37:29 PM
 #140

What's the best brand for 5970 in terms of overclocking/Mhps?

I got my Gigabyte 5870 to 450Mbps without much sweat, which is quite high for a 5870.

But my Gigabyte 5970s can't seem to go post 700Mhps without freezing the whole system  :/

I'm running them at 180/800MHz/Default voltage

Mbps? You mean MH/s? Wink I kid...

It's really card dependent. I like PowerColor, Sapphire, and Asus. A lot of people have good luck with Gigabyte. I've heard to stay away from XFX and Diamond, but again, YMMV. There is no BEST brand for OCing.


Also, while a 5970 is technically 2x 5870s in one card, the voltages are lower to keep the power/temps down. Stock voltage on a 5870 is 1.174, while stock voltage on a 5970 is 1.050. If you lowered your 5870 down to 1.05, you won't be getting 450MH/s.

If you raised your 5970 to 1.174, you MIGHT be able to get 400+ per core, but it would be a very bad idea. Power draw increases, temps become too much for the shared cooler, and your VRM temps would be through the roof. Not a good idea.


Side note: Here are my 5870 speeds, for undervolting comparison:
460MH/s - 980/300/1.174 - My "all out" setting
425MH/s - 925/300/1.000 - My "max profit" setting
350MH/s - 755/300/0.950 - My "keep the temps down" setting.

I think my card can get higher clocks at each voltages than average, so yours may be a little lower.

you should try higher at 0.950v...   mine has been stable for 200+ hrs at 830/195/0.950

the next step for me is 940/195/1.112

then 1010/195/1.175

it's xfx non-ref (hmm or maybe a sapphire non-ref...  haha)

Mine's a PowerColor with a reference cooler, and it crashes at 775,300,0.95. I'm happy with 925,300,1.000, so that's what I leave it at most of the time.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!