Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 08:37:27 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 mining thread  (Read 22464 times)
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:18:00 AM
 #41

3 of the 4 grams are at about 80 degree and one is at 103_108

hashrate? 

btw, I added a pic to my other post.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
1481143047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143047
Reply with quote  #2

1481143047
Report to moderator
1481143047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143047
Reply with quote  #2

1481143047
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481143047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143047
Reply with quote  #2

1481143047
Report to moderator
1481143047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143047
Reply with quote  #2

1481143047
Report to moderator
1481143047
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481143047

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481143047
Reply with quote  #2

1481143047
Report to moderator
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:23:21 AM
 #42

424-430

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:56:19 AM
 #43

3 of the 4 grams are at about 80 degree and one is at 103_108

That's why your fan is running at max...need to lower the GPU temps to <65 to lower the VRM temps to <90c

You're going to burn out that card heh
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 06:07:37 AM
 #44

Hey jimm, you're running four 5970's on each MSI 890FX-GD70, correct? You're also using two seasonic 750watt gold psus.

I just reset my rigs and used a lian li power supply adapter to get both psus running. I have been able to get three cards going on each rig for now, but I couldn't get a fourth going. I used pcix16 slots 1,3,5,6 like the MSI manual suggested and also tried 1,4,5,6.

I'm using the molex powered x16 extenders from cablesaurus as well.

Any suggestions or tips?

Thanks.

Oh and I have one power supply powering two cards and the CPU with one molex rail connected to two extenders.

The second psu is/was connected to the other two cards and one molex rail to power the other extenders.
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 06:30:33 AM
 #45

I'd love to see what someone's cgminer.conf file for a 5970 looks like. Smiley

I'm trying to learn about all the options in cgminer for a 5970, and I'm a tad bit lost.

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 06:39:36 AM
 #46

I'd love to see what someone's cgminer.conf file for a 5970 looks like. Smiley

I'm trying to learn about all the options in cgminer for a 5970, and I'm a tad bit lost.

Code:
"intensity" : "7,7",
"gpu-engine" : "0-830,0-825",
"gpu-fan" : "10-85,10-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.050,1.050",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75",

btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 07:10:12 AM
 #47

I'd love to see what someone's cgminer.conf file for a 5970 looks like. Smiley

I'm trying to learn about all the options in cgminer for a 5970, and I'm a tad bit lost.

Code:
"intensity" : "7,7",
"gpu-engine" : "0-830,0-825",
"gpu-fan" : "10-85,10-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.050,1.050",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75",
Thanks.  How many MH/s do you get with that setup?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 07:51:24 AM
 #48

I'd love to see what someone's cgminer.conf file for a 5970 looks like. Smiley

I'm trying to learn about all the options in cgminer for a 5970, and I'm a tad bit lost.

Code:
"intensity" : "7,7",
"gpu-engine" : "0-830,0-825",
"gpu-fan" : "10-85,10-85",
"gpu-memclock" : "300,300",
"gpu-powertune" : "0,0",
"gpu-vddc" : "1.050,1.050",
"temp-cutoff" : "95,95",
"temp-overheat" : "85,85",
"temp-target" : "75,75",
Thanks.  How many MH/s do you get with that setup?

Code:
GPU 0:  73.5C 4344RPM | 380.4/380.7Mh/s | A:94 R:1 HW:0 U:5.00/m I:7
 GPU 1:  70.0C         | 384.3/377.2Mh/s | A:96 R:0 HW:0 U:5.11/m I:7

I'm playing with my rig so I keep restarting cgminer.  I've got another card in the rig; these are just my 5970 GPUs.  It is in a full tower in an air conditioned server room, so your rig might run hotter with these same settings.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 01:55:47 PM
 #49

Hey jimm, you're running four 5970's on each MSI 890FX-GD70, correct? You're also using two seasonic 750watt gold psus.

I just reset my rigs and used a lian li power supply adapter to get both psus running. I have been able to get three cards going on each rig for now, but I couldn't get a fourth going. I used pcix16 slots 1,3,5,6 like the MSI manual suggested and also tried 1,4,5,6.

I'm using the molex powered x16 extenders from cablesaurus as well.

Any suggestions or tips?

Thanks.

Oh and I have one power supply powering two cards and the CPU with one molex rail connected to two extenders.

The second psu is/was connected to the other two cards and one molex rail to power the other extenders.

I didn't know MSI had a suggestion on which slots to use.

I do not use molex powered extenders.  not needed, just use regular ones if you have them  I try not to use molex plugs unless I am forced to .

as for seeing all four cards, most times all four show up OK.  but for stubborn rigs I just keep moving things around and redoing the drivers until it works.  sometimes I have to reset the bios on mobo. 

what operating system?   all of my 4X5970 rigs are linuxcoin on a stick

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 05:15:22 PM
 #50

Yeah, I use Linuxcoin also, the final version on a usb stick. I follow the headless instructions from the Wiki.

If I already have powered extenders, can I just not plug in the molex? Could that be screwing things up?

Anyway, thanks for the input, I just have to play around some more I guess, got frustrated after 5 hours yesterday... At least I got three GPU's running, lol.
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 05:23:39 PM
 #51

@btc_artist

my cgminer mining script looks like this if you were using one 5970

./cgminer -o http://miningpool:port -u username -p password -I,9,9 --gpu-fan 85 --gpu-engine 800 --gpu-memclock 300

This gets about 700-725 MH/s for a single card average about 710 MH/s or so. This is for a stock Diamond card from newegg.

I am testing some cards that I redid the TIM and thermal pads on and have those at --gpu-engine 825 --gpu-memclock 300

Those are getting an about 730-750 MH/s for an average of 740 Mh/s or so.

For three cards I'm using same as above, but I,9,9,9,9,9,9.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 05:37:49 PM
 #52

Here's the relevant portion of my cgminer.conf:

"intensity" : "9",
"gpu-engine" : "810",
"gpu-memclock" : "150",
"gpu-fan" : "0-85",
"temp-cutoff" : "95",
"temp-overheat" : "85",
"temp-target" : "75",
"temp-hysteresis" : "3",
"auto-fan" : true,

with which I'm getting these Mh/s on the six cores in three 5970s:
369.4, 370.5, 370.5, 370.4, 370.4, 370.3
btc_artist
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


Bitcoin!


View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 07:45:52 PM
 #53

Thanks for all the input. I'm messing around with it and learning all kinds of things.  One question-- how does memclock affect things in terms of energy usage and hashrate?

BTC: 1CDCLDBHbAzHyYUkk1wYHPYmrtDZNhk8zf
LTC: LMS7SqZJnqzxo76iDSEua33WCyYZdjaQoE
jjshabadoo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 07:59:29 PM
 #54

lower memclock = lower energy use

It also increases hashrate slightly I believe, but it definitely lowers energy use which is huge.

Some people have gotten the memclock as low as 160 I think. You have to mess around with settings to see what works best.

DeathandTaxes has done alot of screwing around with 5970's and can probably add more to this discussion than i can.
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 08:04:56 PM
 #55

Some people have gotten the memclock as low as 160 I think. You have to mess around with settings to see what works best.

In my current series of experiments I have memclock at 150.

810 on the engine clock was looking good until this morning when GPU 3, which seems to be my problem child, hung.  So now I've got it at 800 and the other five at 810.  We'll see...
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 10:50:46 PM
 #56

I ran intensity 9 on one GPU and 7 on the other for a few weeks.  The one with 7 consistently had more accepted shares.  Anyone else try this?

Does anyone have any hard numbers about memclock energy savings?  I'm running 300 since that is the default bottom, but cgminer will let me go to 150.  I'll have to plug in my kill-o-watt and take some readings

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 10:54:06 PM
 #57

I ran intensity 9 on one GPU and 7 on the other for a few weeks.  The one with 7 consistently had more accepted shares.  Anyone else try this?

Does anyone have any hard numbers about memclock energy savings?  I'm running 300 since that is the default bottom, but cgminer will let me go to 150.  I'll have to plug in my kill-o-watt and take some readings

My rig w/ 3x 5970s uses 870w @ 825/160.  It uses 885w @ 825/300.  It uses 935W @ 825/1000.  That was about 6 months ago.  It is possible different driver versions have changed that somewhat.  160 seemed as stable and same speed as 300 so I have kept all the rigs @ 160.  15W isn't much (5w per card) but I guess every little bit helps.
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 10:56:44 PM
 #58

I ran intensity 9 on one GPU and 7 on the other for a few weeks.  The one with 7 consistently had more accepted shares.  Anyone else try this?

Does anyone have any hard numbers about memclock energy savings?  I'm running 300 since that is the default bottom, but cgminer will let me go to 150.  I'll have to plug in my kill-o-watt and take some readings

Use -I 8 for 5xxx cards and -I 9 for 6xxx cards.  I believe that was the previous note in CGMiner.

Now it says: "NOTE: Running intensities above 9 with current hardware is likely to only
diminish return performance even if the hash rate might appear better. A good
starting baseline intensity to try on dedicated miners is 9. Higher values are
there to cope with future improvements in hardware."
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 10:58:13 PM
 #59

I ran intensity 9 on one GPU and 7 on the other for a few weeks.  The one with 7 consistently had more accepted shares.  Anyone else try this?

Does anyone have any hard numbers about memclock energy savings?  I'm running 300 since that is the default bottom, but cgminer will let me go to 150.  I'll have to plug in my kill-o-watt and take some readings

My rig w/ 3x 5970s uses 870w @ 825/160.  It uses 885w @ 825/300.  It uses 935W @ 825/1000.  That was about 6 months ago.  It is possible different driver versions have changed that somewhat.  160 seemed as stable and same speed as 300 so I have kept all the rigs @ 160.  15W isn't much (5w per card) but I guess every little bit helps.

I wonder if dropping the mem clocks to a lower value would also decrease the temps of VRMs...in theory, I would say yes.  Agree ?
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 11:04:11 PM
 #60

I ran intensity 9 on one GPU and 7 on the other for a few weeks.  The one with 7 consistently had more accepted shares.  Anyone else try this?

Does anyone have any hard numbers about memclock energy savings?  I'm running 300 since that is the default bottom, but cgminer will let me go to 150.  I'll have to plug in my kill-o-watt and take some readings

My rig w/ 3x 5970s uses 870w @ 825/160.  It uses 885w @ 825/300.  It uses 935W @ 825/1000.  That was about 6 months ago.  It is possible different driver versions have changed that somewhat.  160 seemed as stable and same speed as 300 so I have kept all the rigs @ 160.  15W isn't much (5w per card) but I guess every little bit helps.

I wonder if dropping the mem clocks to a lower value would also decrease the temps of VRMs...in theory, I would say yes.  Agree ?

In theory however temp is linear w/ power right?  Thus the smaller and smaller amounts of power reduction means smaller and smaller decreases in thermal output and thus temps.  It can't hurt though.
Pages: « 1 2 [3] 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!