Bitcoin Forum
December 02, 2016, 08:24:27 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 mining thread  (Read 22445 times)
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2012, 08:55:09 AM
 #81

Whatever, a GPU pushed too hard will produce errors, not rejects.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1480710267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710267
Reply with quote  #2

1480710267
Report to moderator
1480710267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710267
Reply with quote  #2

1480710267
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480710267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710267
Reply with quote  #2

1480710267
Report to moderator
1480710267
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480710267

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480710267
Reply with quote  #2

1480710267
Report to moderator
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
January 04, 2012, 12:59:49 AM
 #82

Forking thread from Mining Support to here...


also,  who said that running the fan at 100% is good...  good for the guy that is going to sell you another card maybe.
Generally good idea to keep card as cool as possible for longest lifespan. Fans are cheap to replace and if fan fails, the card will soon shut off, likely without damage. I've had 7 5850s running 100% w/ fan @ 100% since last April, no problem. Heat will also reduce PSU efficiency in some cases, and max wattage output.

100%?  Comments?  (Replacement fans are US$ 15 each on eBay.)
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 04, 2012, 07:44:50 AM
 #83

Fan bearings will wear out sooner or later. I strongly suspect the relationship with fan speed is at least linear, possibly super linear as vibration is likely a very important factor (avoid speeds which produce more mechanical noise, humming etc).

Of course you can get lucky. Or maybe that poster has some advantages most other miners do not, like a dust free environment or he lubricates them regularly. Either way there is little doubt in my mind a fan at 100% wont last as long as one on 50% and its not like fan failure is a rare thing. Its equally true low temps will help the card live longer, but it all depends how high your temps are. I get <60C with fans at 50% (non ref cards), its pointless to increase fan speed in those circumstances.

minero1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145



View Profile
March 24, 2012, 05:03:31 PM
 #84

2 x 5970s + 3 x 5850s
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
CPU PHenomII x4 965 (i know, it was a combo deal)
BAMT 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1-2
#01
core: 750MHz
mem: 250MHz
Vddc: 1.0 Volts
Temps: 66ºC
hashrate: 690MH/s

#02
core: 725MHz
mem: 250MHz
Vddc: 1.0 Volts
Temps: 66ºC
hashrate: 666MH/s

They were working on windows until i installed the third 5850, then the whole rig kept BSODing so i installed BAMT instead
trouserless
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
March 25, 2012, 04:47:23 PM
 #85

3x5970

all configured the same, MH/s is +/- 2% between all three

bamt 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1f
clocks/mem 835/300
vddc 1.050 (not 1.163 as I previously mistakenly posted)
temps: 68-72C
MH/s 758
minero1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 145



View Profile
March 26, 2012, 12:58:13 AM
 #86

3x5970

all configured the same, MH/s is +/- 2% between all three

bamt 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1f
clocks/mem 835/300
vddc 1.163
temps: 68-72C
MH/s 758


wonder whats you MHash/W with that amount of voltage
trouserless
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 11:18:55 AM
 #87

3x5970

all configured the same, MH/s is +/- 2% between all three

bamt 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1f
clocks/mem 835/300
vddc 1.163
temps: 68-72C
MH/s 758


wonder whats you MHash/W with that amount of voltage

Two of them are in the same rig with two 5870s running at 950/300/1.05V for ~437MH each  - total with a 1250W PS pull 1KW +/- 10W.  The whole rig crunches ~2367MH/s which makes for nice round math @ 2.36MH/W
portron
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
March 26, 2012, 03:27:52 PM
 #88

2 x 5970s + 3 x 5850s
Motherboard MSI 790FX-GD70
CPU PHenomII x4 965 (i know, it was a combo deal)
BAMT 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1-2
#01
core: 750MHz
mem: 250MHz
Vddc: 1.0 Volts
Temps: 66ºC
hashrate: 690MH/s

#02
core: 725MHz
mem: 250MHz
Vddc: 1.0 Volts
Temps: 66ºC
hashrate: 666MH/s

They were working on windows until i installed the third 5850, then the whole rig kept BSODing so i installed BAMT instead

Anything over 11.12 with BSOD with more then 4 GPU's on windows.
The-Real-Link
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 530



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 09:07:52 PM
 #89

  Hey guys, sorry to bump this general 5970 thread but had an interesting issue come up.

  Been mining with a few of them fine for months now.  Two were starting to show massive crashes and instability (810 core, 500 memory, stock volts) despite temps being in the low to mid 70s.  Bumped everything back down to stock but the issues remained.

  Thankfully they were both Diamond models from Newegg so I could show legit purchase receipts.  So anyway, pulled the cards, sent 'em back...and waiting.  This was maybe a month and a half ago.

  Once stuff arrived at their RMA office, I figure testing does take time so I wanted to be patient.

  Now that it's been a month, I finally was back in touch with Diamond seeing as how I've heard nothing via email back.  Their tech, Chris, was quite helpful and apologized.  Now here's the concern for others of us out there with these cards.

  He said normally if a card is bad (and both of mine were confirmed as being such), they'd replace it immediately (makes sense).  But Diamond themselves are still waiting from AMD for more cards and they are either not coming or taking forever.  As such, we can only wait.

  An upgrade was offered but since they also have no stock of 6990s, I can't go that route.  He said he'd look into offering a 6970 or a 7970 which, given the price, warranty and newness of a 7970, would seem stupid for me not to accept should they validate it.  

  I know I'd probably get maybe 75% of the hashing power of a 5970 out of a 7970 but at this rate, I can't see any other choices open to me.

  Just a heads up for anyone else running on these old cards.  Should they bite the dust, you might be in for quite a wait in terms of a replacement, if any, or maybe an upgrade.  

  While I figured this was true to an extent when buying the cards, I had presumed manufacturers still had some stock left.  Apparently not.  

Oh Loaded, who art up in Mt. Gox, hallowed be thy name!  Thy dollars rain, thy will be done, on BTCUSD.  Give us this day our daily 10% 30%, and forgive the bears, as we have bought their bitcoins.  And lead us into quadruple digits
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 09:24:34 PM
 #90

Thanks for the info.   Yeah I figured the 5970 would eventually be out of stock but I always assumed they would give you a 6990.  A 6970 is a dog of a deal.  At least with 7970 you get some improves power efficiency and easier cooling (due to single GPU design).

MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 09:28:15 PM
 #91

Does anyone know of a source for the VT1157SF VRMs used in this cards? I had one go out, and need a replacement. Emailing Volterra didn't help, since they do not have distributors for their chips.

Quote
We do not have any distributors.   Volterra only sells to select approved customers under a NDA due to limited resources.  We intentionally limit the # of customers we work with in order to provide superior customer support. At this time, we are unable to engage with your company. We apologize for the inconvenience.
Mousepotato
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896


Seal Cub Clubbing Club


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 10:59:06 PM
 #92

3x5970

all configured the same, MH/s is +/- 2% between all three

bamt 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1f
clocks/mem 835/300
vddc 1.163
temps: 68-72C
MH/s 758


Why do you run them so high?

Mousepotato
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 635



View Profile
April 13, 2012, 11:02:55 PM
 #93

Does anyone know of a source for the VT1157SF VRMs used in this cards? I had one go out, and need a replacement. Emailing Volterra didn't help, since they do not have distributors for their chips.

Quote
We do not have any distributors.   Volterra only sells to select approved customers under a NDA due to limited resources.  We intentionally limit the # of customers we work with in order to provide superior customer support. At this time, we are unable to engage with your company. We apologize for the inconvenience.

Good luck. Volterra makes great VRMs but they are a pain in the ass to deal with. EVERYTHING is under NDA from them. People have spent countless hours searching for the pinouts on their controllers to remove OCP/OVP. If the documentation is that difficult to acquire I imagine the chips are impossible to get short of yanking them off another card.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
April 13, 2012, 11:06:13 PM
 #94


If the documentation is that difficult to acquire I imagine the chips are impossible to get short of yanking them off another card.

That is likely the only place you are going to find them.  Ebay routinely has dead (for parts only) 5870s and 5970s.  Tend to go for $150 or so each.  Annoys me when I am searching because I think I found a deal.
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
April 13, 2012, 11:54:30 PM
 #95

3x5970

all configured the same, MH/s is +/- 2% between all three

bamt 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1f
clocks/mem 835/300
vddc 1.163
temps: 68-72C
MH/s 758


Why do you run them so high?

1.163?  wtf..

i have 5 5970's, and 7 of the cores can do 830 @ around 1.02V

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 05:13:56 AM
 #96

Interestingly, I removed the offending VRMs, and I went from measuring a short across the GPU to a more expected ~4 ohms. I just couldn't wait to win an auction on a parts card so I buttoned it up and fired it up. It won't display an image and I can't control the fan, but the other GPU is detected and I can mine on the other GPU. I was expecting the BIOS to detect the missing VRMs and simply not post.

Now I'll just wait to try and pick up a completely dead card for $20 if I can. Trying to repair the extra GPU isn't worth dropping $100 on a card for 3 VRMs. Tongue
this time
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 55


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 06:02:45 AM
 #97

Interestingly, I removed the offending VRMs, and I went from measuring a short across the GPU to a more expected ~4 ohms. I just couldn't wait to win an auction on a parts card so I buttoned it up and fired it up. It won't display an image and I can't control the fan, but the other GPU is detected and I can mine on the other GPU. I was expecting the BIOS to detect the missing VRMs and simply not post.

Now I'll just wait to try and pick up a completely dead card for $20 if I can. Trying to repair the extra GPU isn't worth dropping $100 on a card for 3 VRMs. Tongue

How do you measure a short across a 5970 gpu? I have a 5970 with a bad core.
MrTeal
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


View Profile
April 14, 2012, 02:23:51 PM
 #98

Interestingly, I removed the offending VRMs, and I went from measuring a short across the GPU to a more expected ~4 ohms. I just couldn't wait to win an auction on a parts card so I buttoned it up and fired it up. It won't display an image and I can't control the fan, but the other GPU is detected and I can mine on the other GPU. I was expecting the BIOS to detect the missing VRMs and simply not post.

Now I'll just wait to try and pick up a completely dead card for $20 if I can. Trying to repair the extra GPU isn't worth dropping $100 on a card for 3 VRMs. Tongue

How do you measure a short across a 5970 gpu? I have a 5970 with a bad core.

I just measured using a DMM across one of the ceramic caps on the back of the GPU. With the bad VRMs the card wouldn't boot though,so your issue is likely not the same. Doesn't hurt to test though, you don't even have to remove the backplate.
johnyj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806


Beyond Imagination


View Profile
April 16, 2012, 07:49:13 PM
 #99

Did anyone tested 5970 voltage stages and what is the maximum stable clock for each stage?

This one is a big heat and noise generator, I guess reduce the voltage can help a lot ...

trouserless
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65


View Profile
April 17, 2012, 01:34:06 PM
 #100

3x5970

all configured the same, MH/s is +/- 2% between all three

bamt 0.5
cgminer 2.3.1f
clocks/mem 835/300
vddc 1.163
temps: 68-72C
MH/s 758


Why do you run them so high?

1.163?  wtf..

i have 5 5970's, and 7 of the cores can do 830 @ around 1.02V


I messed that up, I have 5870's in that rig and read those voltages instead (which are 1.163).  The 5970's are all set to 1.050.  Good eye
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!