Bitcoin Forum
July 23, 2017, 02:58:00 AM *
News: Due to BIP91, it would starting now be prudent to require 5x more confirmations than usual before trusting transactions.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 mining thread  (Read 24148 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 02:45:52 AM
 #21


interesting how those with 5970 clocks at 850, or 930 seamed to have disappeared...  I would love to run mine at that, I have 21 of those cards..  anything over 820 is unstable for me.

w/ memclock down to 190 I can get 835 on 12 5970s.  I have 4 watercooled and I can push all of them to 865 w/o problem except one.  Temps are <50C but anything higher than 865 requires more voltage. I had them 100% solid at 880 watercooled but overvolting doesn't seem worth it w/ current prices.  The GPU driving the physical monitors can't be pushed beyond 830 without lots of instability.

So yes higher clocks are possible. 
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1500778680
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1500778680

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1500778680
Reply with quote  #2

1500778680
Report to moderator
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:01:13 AM
 #22


interesting how those with 5970 clocks at 850, or 930 seamed to have disappeared...  I would love to run mine at that, I have 21 of those cards..  anything over 820 is unstable for me.

w/ memclock down to 190 I can get 835 on 12 5970s.  I have 4 watercooled and I can push all of them to 865 w/o problem except one.  Temps are <50C but anything higher than 865 requires more voltage. I had them 100% solid at 880 watercooled but overvolting doesn't seem worth it w/ current prices.  The GPU driving the physical monitors can't be pushed beyond 830 without lots of instability.

So yes higher clocks are possible. 

fair enough...  I upped mine to 825/350  so far so good..  i guess when I first started using them, I had trouble with mems less then 420, but it must have been other issues.  each core getting a solid 370-372 now Smiley  txs

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:06:28 AM
 #23

I have my 5970 running at 830/300 w/ stock voltage at 63c and 3800 RPMs

No problems....yet Wink
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:10:17 AM
 #24

I have a rig with three 5970s which just came up and which is now on a 24-hour shakedown cruise at stock engine speed (725), 190 mem speed, before I subject it to overclocking.  I'm OK with software but hardware is magic to me.  I'd appreciate a brief tutorial (a sentence or three) on how the voltage parameter relates to the other ones.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:21:37 AM
 #25

I have a rig with three 5970s which just came up and which is now on a 24-hour shakedown cruise at stock engine speed (725), 190 mem speed, before I subject it to overclocking.  I'm OK with software but hardware is magic to me.  I'd appreciate a brief tutorial (a sentence or three) on how the voltage parameter relates to the other ones.

burning them in at stock is a good to do.  I also used them for a while at lower clocks.  I probably will not mess with the volting. happy to let them cruise at 745Mh per card

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 06:18:53 AM
 #26

I just have one 5970 that is unbranded (so Dell).  I almost bought a second but then they became impossible to find.

I first had it set to 835/300, but it crashed after a few days.  It's been really stable at 830/300 since June on stock air cooling in an ACd server room so it never gets above 75C with 85% fans.  It's in a spare antec 1200.  I would love to build a custom case for the nerdgasm, but I have other projects to work on.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 08:52:09 PM
 #27

I just have one 5970 that is unbranded (so Dell).  I almost bought a second but then they became impossible to find.

I first had it set to 835/300, but it crashed after a few days.  It's been really stable at 830/300 since June on stock air cooling in an ACd server room so it never gets above 75C with 85% fans.  It's in a spare antec 1200.  I would love to build a custom case for the nerdgasm, but I have other projects to work on.

The box I upped from 820 to 825 has died about 15 hours after pressing the accelerator...  I will probably back them all down to 820.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 08:53:17 PM
 #28

I just have one 5970 that is unbranded (so Dell).  I almost bought a second but then they became impossible to find.

I first had it set to 835/300, but it crashed after a few days.  It's been really stable at 830/300 since June on stock air cooling in an ACd server room so it never gets above 75C with 85% fans.  It's in a spare antec 1200.  I would love to build a custom case for the nerdgasm, but I have other projects to work on.

The box I upped from 820 to 825 has died about 15 hours after pressing the accelerator...  I will probably back them all down to 820.

You may want to try dropping memclock further.  Then again 820 vs 825 = <1% so it might not matter.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 11:03:17 PM
 #29



I didn't think I  could get the mem down to 350, so putting it at 300 will definitely help. I dont think it is the heat of the main GPU that is the problem, I suspect the VRM

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 09:52:29 PM
 #30

My three 5970s ran OK for a day at 800 engine, 190 mem after the previous OK day at 725/190.  So I upped the engine speed to 820.  After a short while one of the cores hung.  Should I...

(a) Try again with the other five at 820 but the one that hung at 800 (810?); or
(b) Set them all back to 800 (810?) and be happy; or
(c) Something else?
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 09:59:52 PM
 #31

hmm i dont know why you guys are having such hangs heres my gpuz of my one card

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 10:00:51 PM
 #32

knock on wood none of them have hung for the last month or so lol

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1694



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 02:44:17 AM
 #33

nice temp what is the ambient air like ?
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:48:17 AM
 #34

My three 5970s ran OK for a day at 800 engine, 190 mem after the previous OK day at 725/190.  So I upped the engine speed to 820.  After a short while one of the cores hung.  Should I...

(a) Try again with the other five at 820 but the one that hung at 800 (810?); or
(b) Set them all back to 800 (810?) and be happy; or
(c) Something else?

each set of cards is different for me..  I have one rig running stable with them set at 825,  but miner9 will only hold the 800.  still get about 2850Mh from the rig at 800


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:51:40 AM
 #35

About 70 degrees

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:54:25 AM
 #36

hmm i dont know why you guys are having such hangs heres my gpuz of my one card

something is up with your fan speed...  4500 RPM is like 100%  not 30% as reported..  must sound like a jet engine Smiley

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:56:54 AM
 #37

That I thinks its a glitch BC in afterburner it say 100 percent

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1820


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:11:55 AM
 #38

That I thinks its a glitch BC in afterburner it say 100 percent

I see you have overvolted it (alot) and have the fan at 100%,  may I ask what hashrate your getting?

and do you know how much power your pulling at the wall?

this is an old pic, I use cgminer now, but when I first set these rigs up, I would get 2900Mhash pulling 1190watts at the wall (2 sea sonic 750 gold psu's)

https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/112408294399222065988/albums/5658727447810944545



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:13:08 AM
 #39

That I thinks its a glitch BC in afterburner it say 100 percent

I see you have overvolted it (alot) and have the fan at 100%,  may I ask what hashrate your getting?

Better question would be what temps are the VRMs running at...I bet they are smoking with that overvolt and clock increase :/
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:15:06 AM
 #40

3 of the 4 grams are at about 80 degree and one is at 103_108

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!