Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 04:21:06 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 mining thread  (Read 22468 times)
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 02:45:52 AM
 #21


interesting how those with 5970 clocks at 850, or 930 seamed to have disappeared...  I would love to run mine at that, I have 21 of those cards..  anything over 820 is unstable for me.

w/ memclock down to 190 I can get 835 on 12 5970s.  I have 4 watercooled and I can push all of them to 865 w/o problem except one.  Temps are <50C but anything higher than 865 requires more voltage. I had them 100% solid at 880 watercooled but overvolting doesn't seem worth it w/ current prices.  The GPU driving the physical monitors can't be pushed beyond 830 without lots of instability.

So yes higher clocks are possible. 
1481257266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481257266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481257266
Reply with quote  #2

1481257266
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481257266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481257266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481257266
Reply with quote  #2

1481257266
Report to moderator
1481257266
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481257266

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481257266
Reply with quote  #2

1481257266
Report to moderator
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:01:13 AM
 #22


interesting how those with 5970 clocks at 850, or 930 seamed to have disappeared...  I would love to run mine at that, I have 21 of those cards..  anything over 820 is unstable for me.

w/ memclock down to 190 I can get 835 on 12 5970s.  I have 4 watercooled and I can push all of them to 865 w/o problem except one.  Temps are <50C but anything higher than 865 requires more voltage. I had them 100% solid at 880 watercooled but overvolting doesn't seem worth it w/ current prices.  The GPU driving the physical monitors can't be pushed beyond 830 without lots of instability.

So yes higher clocks are possible. 

fair enough...  I upped mine to 825/350  so far so good..  i guess when I first started using them, I had trouble with mems less then 420, but it must have been other issues.  each core getting a solid 370-372 now Smiley  txs

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:06:28 AM
 #23

I have my 5970 running at 830/300 w/ stock voltage at 63c and 3800 RPMs

No problems....yet Wink
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:10:17 AM
 #24

I have a rig with three 5970s which just came up and which is now on a 24-hour shakedown cruise at stock engine speed (725), 190 mem speed, before I subject it to overclocking.  I'm OK with software but hardware is magic to me.  I'd appreciate a brief tutorial (a sentence or three) on how the voltage parameter relates to the other ones.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 03:21:37 AM
 #25

I have a rig with three 5970s which just came up and which is now on a 24-hour shakedown cruise at stock engine speed (725), 190 mem speed, before I subject it to overclocking.  I'm OK with software but hardware is magic to me.  I'd appreciate a brief tutorial (a sentence or three) on how the voltage parameter relates to the other ones.

burning them in at stock is a good to do.  I also used them for a while at lower clocks.  I probably will not mess with the volting. happy to let them cruise at 745Mh per card

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
December 27, 2011, 06:18:53 AM
 #26

I just have one 5970 that is unbranded (so Dell).  I almost bought a second but then they became impossible to find.

I first had it set to 835/300, but it crashed after a few days.  It's been really stable at 830/300 since June on stock air cooling in an ACd server room so it never gets above 75C with 85% fans.  It's in a spare antec 1200.  I would love to build a custom case for the nerdgasm, but I have other projects to work on.

jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 08:52:09 PM
 #27

I just have one 5970 that is unbranded (so Dell).  I almost bought a second but then they became impossible to find.

I first had it set to 835/300, but it crashed after a few days.  It's been really stable at 830/300 since June on stock air cooling in an ACd server room so it never gets above 75C with 85% fans.  It's in a spare antec 1200.  I would love to build a custom case for the nerdgasm, but I have other projects to work on.

The box I upped from 820 to 825 has died about 15 hours after pressing the accelerator...  I will probably back them all down to 820.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


Gerald Davis


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 08:53:17 PM
 #28

I just have one 5970 that is unbranded (so Dell).  I almost bought a second but then they became impossible to find.

I first had it set to 835/300, but it crashed after a few days.  It's been really stable at 830/300 since June on stock air cooling in an ACd server room so it never gets above 75C with 85% fans.  It's in a spare antec 1200.  I would love to build a custom case for the nerdgasm, but I have other projects to work on.

The box I upped from 820 to 825 has died about 15 hours after pressing the accelerator...  I will probably back them all down to 820.

You may want to try dropping memclock further.  Then again 820 vs 825 = <1% so it might not matter.
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 27, 2011, 11:03:17 PM
 #29



I didn't think I  could get the mem down to 350, so putting it at 300 will definitely help. I dont think it is the heat of the main GPU that is the problem, I suspect the VRM

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Proofer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 09:52:29 PM
 #30

My three 5970s ran OK for a day at 800 engine, 190 mem after the previous OK day at 725/190.  So I upped the engine speed to 820.  After a short while one of the cores hung.  Should I...

(a) Try again with the other five at 820 but the one that hung at 800 (810?); or
(b) Set them all back to 800 (810?) and be happy; or
(c) Something else?
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 09:59:52 PM
 #31

hmm i dont know why you guys are having such hangs heres my gpuz of my one card

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 28, 2011, 10:00:51 PM
 #32

knock on wood none of them have hung for the last month or so lol

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
Transisto
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624



View Profile WWW
December 29, 2011, 02:44:17 AM
 #33

nice temp what is the ambient air like ?
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:48:17 AM
 #34

My three 5970s ran OK for a day at 800 engine, 190 mem after the previous OK day at 725/190.  So I upped the engine speed to 820.  After a short while one of the cores hung.  Should I...

(a) Try again with the other five at 820 but the one that hung at 800 (810?); or
(b) Set them all back to 800 (810?) and be happy; or
(c) Something else?

each set of cards is different for me..  I have one rig running stable with them set at 825,  but miner9 will only hold the 800.  still get about 2850Mh from the rig at 800


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:51:40 AM
 #35

About 70 degrees

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:54:25 AM
 #36

hmm i dont know why you guys are having such hangs heres my gpuz of my one card

something is up with your fan speed...  4500 RPM is like 100%  not 30% as reported..  must sound like a jet engine Smiley

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 02:56:54 AM
 #37

That I thinks its a glitch BC in afterburner it say 100 percent

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:11:55 AM
 #38

That I thinks its a glitch BC in afterburner it say 100 percent

I see you have overvolted it (alot) and have the fan at 100%,  may I ask what hashrate your getting?

and do you know how much power your pulling at the wall?

this is an old pic, I use cgminer now, but when I first set these rigs up, I would get 2900Mhash pulling 1190watts at the wall (2 sea sonic 750 gold psu's)

https://plus.google.com/u/0/photos/112408294399222065988/albums/5658727447810944545



1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Eveofwar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:13:08 AM
 #39

That I thinks its a glitch BC in afterburner it say 100 percent

I see you have overvolted it (alot) and have the fan at 100%,  may I ask what hashrate your getting?

Better question would be what temps are the VRMs running at...I bet they are smoking with that overvolt and clock increase :/
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 29, 2011, 03:15:06 AM
 #40

3 of the 4 grams are at about 80 degree and one is at 103_108

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!