Bitcoin Forum
February 28, 2017, 07:39:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.2  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 5970 mining thread  (Read 22766 times)
Sant001
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
June 27, 2012, 03:14:04 AM
 #141

How much power one needs to power 3x to 5x 5970s?

I have 2x 5970 at 1200W, the moment I try use 3x the thing gets really unstable and I can just assume it's due to insufficient power.

Running them with under clocked memory/default core/default voltage.

Plan for 200-300 W for each card. I'd say that PSU can handle 3 5970s at stock settings, or 4 if you undervolt. Do you have a killawatt?

I think my PSU needs a replacement... What's a good PSU to run 4x 5970s? Perhaps I will need to use 2x psu's on my setup
1488267591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488267591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488267591
Reply with quote  #2

1488267591
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1488267591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488267591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488267591
Reply with quote  #2

1488267591
Report to moderator
1488267591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488267591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488267591
Reply with quote  #2

1488267591
Report to moderator
1488267591
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1488267591

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1488267591
Reply with quote  #2

1488267591
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 27, 2012, 04:10:49 AM
 #142

How much power one needs to power 3x to 5x 5970s?

I have 2x 5970 at 1200W, the moment I try use 3x the thing gets really unstable and I can just assume it's due to insufficient power.

Running them with under clocked memory/default core/default voltage.

Plan for 200-300 W for each card. I'd say that PSU can handle 3 5970s at stock settings, or 4 if you undervolt. Do you have a killawatt?

I think my PSU needs a replacement... What's a good PSU to run 4x 5970s? Perhaps I will need to use 2x psu's on my setup

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817341046

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Madazam
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 01:45:56 PM
 #143

has anyone found any major difference between mining of different flavors of 5970 like arctic cooler, black edition sapphire ?
melmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 213


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 02:02:11 PM
 #144

has anyone found any major difference between mining of different flavors of 5970 like arctic cooler, black edition sapphire ?

I have a reference and non-reference running in one rig, no real problems other than the fact that after changing the fan on the non-reference version, one gpu runs much hotter than the other.

Sorry, I don't have experience with arctic cooler or black edition 5970s.
Madazam
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 115



View Profile
May 28, 2013, 05:05:56 PM
 #145

has anyone found any major difference between mining of different flavors of 5970 like arctic cooler, black edition sapphire ?

I have a reference and non-reference running in one rig, no real problems other than the fact that after changing the fan on the non-reference version, one gpu runs much hotter than the other.

Sorry, I don't have experience with arctic cooler or black edition 5970s.

thx man ......just for info Arctic cooler is with 3 fans ..and black edition is the one scored the highest with Diablo on the wiki page for performance..863 MH.... 
Gasai Yuno
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154

Yukki Yukki Yukki!


View Profile
December 27, 2013, 08:23:18 AM
 #146

sorry for bump

i got two readon 5970

i trying them for two days for litecoin mining.

i tried many .bat configs but i couldnt made them stable.

sometimes they get 90 temperature, sometimes they suddenly stop mining.

finally i put them off and inserted my powercolor 7950s

actually 5970s are mining about 700khs

7950s are mining 580khs

is there a way to run my 5970 stable?
dmcurser
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 502


View Profile
December 31, 2013, 04:59:44 AM
 #147

im guessing you got them used have they been rethermal pasted is the fan spinning up to speed and holding rpm?Huh

1Q7TPBHHVmGCvqffYHpXCCBgbcBQ4NwXdW
deepceleron
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484



View Profile WWW
December 31, 2013, 05:10:14 AM
 #148

is there a way to run my 5970 stable?

90 is to hot.

You should use software that can control the GPU fan speed and crank it up to max, and put big fans blowing on the cards.

Old-skool mining pic of what is appropriate:


Also, 5970s are power hogs, the max power rating at stock is 290 watts per card, your power supply might not be able to keep up.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!