Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 12:02:18 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: FS: PCI-Express Extender Cables(w/ Molex)*GPU Dummy Plugs*PSU Adapters  (Read 78966 times)
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 08:05:25 PM
 #101

Can you daisy chain these together?  I've already got a case and was thinking about sticking a couple of GPUS on the outside panel but I would need longer then 7 inches.
19cm is the maximum supported length for PCIe extension. However with a Mining Chassis you would be able to reach the cards without issue.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
1481284938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284938
Reply with quote  #2

1481284938
Report to moderator
1481284938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284938
Reply with quote  #2

1481284938
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481284938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284938
Reply with quote  #2

1481284938
Report to moderator
1481284938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284938
Reply with quote  #2

1481284938
Report to moderator
1481284938
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481284938

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481284938
Reply with quote  #2

1481284938
Report to moderator
nelisky
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 09:09:55 PM
 #102

I can't really tell from the pictures, does it have place for 2 PSUs?

Also, and more importantly, what would be the shipping cost to Portugal? Smiley
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 09:36:12 PM
 #103

Those look good, but I see some issues with them that are a real deal breaker for these in quantity (which may be fine if you aren't looking to do higher quantities):

1. It's about 1" too high and looks like it could be lowered 1" without causing clearance problems.  The 1" would facilitate it being able to be put into a 1/4 cab rack in pairs.  With the current height, you can only get 1 in a 1/4 cab with 90% of the space needed for a 2nd one going to waste.
2. They don't look like they can be stacked and have no provisions for mounting in a rack from the pictures.  Ideally, being able to stack them in a rack would be awesome.
3. Is there space for 2 PSUs?
4. With #2 the hard drive placement makes stacking difficult.
5. Nice to have the option to move the cards closer together to have 5 (or 6?) cards in one machine.  I would like to run 5 cards per mobo, but 4 is nothing to sneeze at. You don't need a lot of space between cards to cool them, which brings me to the final #6
6. There doesn't appear to be any place to mount fan(s).  Regardless of it's open air design, if you put these in a rack, you absolutely need to get some airflow going from front to back.  Being able to mount a couple 120mm fans on the front blowing across the cards towards the back would be important.

Otherwise, these look pretty cool and I'll probably get at least one for my own personal use if not a couple.  If nothing else, they'll make interesting desktop cases Smiley

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 10:54:11 PM
 #104

Thanks for the excellent feedback, we will be redesigning to accomodate. Preorders will be delayed until the redesign is complete soon.

Question for Inaba and others, how much concern is there over the ability to house an optical drive?

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 11:38:18 PM
 #105

Absolutely none for a rack case/mining rig.  As a desktop case, I'd say somewhat important. 

I think that you could mount both an HD/set of HDs and an optical drive on the side and "inside" the case, so even if you wanted to rack it or stack it and still maintain your drives, that would be ideal.  Now that I think about it, actually would be pretty awesome to be able to stack theses even on a desk where the bottom of one will fit into the top of the other one to provide some stability. 

Just for reference, 1/4 cab is usually 10U, giving you 17.5" of vertical space.  Most cabs are 19" wide, though I hear there are 23" ones, but I've not ever used those variants. 

If you were so inclined and needed more room, you could stretch it out a bit, since there's plenty of room in a cabinet from front to back.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 04:43:29 AM
 #106

Just bought an adapter from the website with btc. Let's see if it works.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
minerX
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 08:28:43 PM
 #107

I need a mining chasis that supports 7 cards.  Maybe you can take the idea and have a 7 card "special order" option. 
Kris
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 645


View Profile
May 24, 2011, 02:42:34 PM
 #108

Receive my package of 16 cables in 7 days to Denmark.

You just forgot to write the business name on the package so I had to move my ass down to the post office.

Anyhow thanks.

Kind regards
Kris
dishwara
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372

Truth may get delay, but NEVER fails


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 07:03:49 AM
 #109

Received cables i ordered on 16th in 7 days to my home, India with customs clearance.
I was in fear that 27% customs has to be paid, but courier guy just gave parcel & went.

But, small mistake.
I ordered 21 nos. 1x to 16x modified extender & 2 nos. 16x to 16x extender, & i received the same only. I counted it to verify.
But, the customs dispatch deceleration note says, 15 + 2 =17 only with a value of 240+ USD.

Is this made me customs clearance easy?

I give +1 or +23 to cablesaurus for door delivered to me in one week in perfect condition.
Thanks.
niooron
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 190


View Profile
May 25, 2011, 02:26:32 PM
 #110

You should start reselling newegg graphics cards too. You are the first to take shipping hardware seriously for btc and you have an automated website.

14dxwuQwkQiLbZjJFfciZ26xSGdRU5mKEp
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 02:50:07 AM
 #111

I wish I had seen this last week Sad  I bought a few extenders from some chinese seller on ebay and its taking forever to get them Sad

Do you have any pics of the mining chasis yet?
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2011, 03:44:28 AM
 #112

But, small mistake.
I ordered 21 nos. 1x to 16x modified extender & 2 nos. 16x to 16x extender, & i received the same only. I counted it to verify.
But, the customs dispatch deceleration note says, 15 + 2 =17 only with a value of 240+ USD.
Thanks.

Hey there Dishwara,
Actually that was just an issue with getting the label to print in Paypal with an old method, as each cable does not weigh 1oz. Paypal shipping is weird sometimes.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
Cablesaurus
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 302



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2011, 03:51:48 AM
 #113

My partners and I have taken several suggestions into account and are working on several changes to the Chassis to be released imminently. We will have pictures and tons of details available soon.

PCIe Extender Cables; Dummy Plugs, Fans; PSU Cables; Cases & More
Visit www.Cablesaurus.com and our forum thread at http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6128.0
SchizophrenicX
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126

"I'm not psychic; I'm just damn good"


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 04:05:05 AM
 #114

Hi I've briefly gone thru the thread, I know some mods are done and stuff but are the 1->16x extender adapters readily available in stores? I've been meaning to build my first rig and have been trying to skim on the MOBO and other peripherals to mining as much as possible. I don't think I can wait for ordering this to arrive.

And does using PCI -> PCIe adapters hurt the MOBO in anyway? I'm trying to get 5/6 slots total (PCIe + PCI) and get 8 GPU (2x5970 + 4x4850) on 1 rig with 2 PSU which I still have no idea how I'm going to hook them up yet.

Is this possible?

inh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 157


View Profile
May 26, 2011, 07:44:46 PM
 #115

Another vouch for great service, got my cables fast + great communication!
darvil
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:55:33 AM
 #116

Got my 3 cables (16x extender) and +1 1x to 16x on the way.

Tested it today and installed another video card on my mining rig.  The cables were shorter then expected (7 inches) but I manage to fit the card by balancing it on another card.  Works great!  Thanks.

Will test daisy chaining them later on.

+100 on fast shipping and excellent communications.
Chris Acheson
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 07:53:36 AM
 #117

Daisy chaining DOES NOT WORK.  If you get it to work at all, your system will be horribly unstable.  This is unfortunate, because as far as I can tell, it's impossible to get longer cables than the ones Cablesaurus sells for a reasonable price.

That said, I've bought several cables from Cablesaurus, and they work just fine, and service has been great.  There was a small miscommunication in which I was sent a x1->x16 w/ molex cable instead of a full x16 w/ molex cable.  He sent out the proper cable immediately at no charge, and I used to x1->x16 in the meantime.

By the way Cablesaurus, I picked up some envelopes today, so I'll send the x1->x16 cable back to you as soon as I get a chance to go to the post office.
airdata
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
May 27, 2011, 02:35:51 PM
 #118

bought 1 of them Smiley

Thanks.
demonofelru
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
May 27, 2011, 05:14:52 PM
 #119

Bought a couple of them a while ago great service and communication.

Names do not matter; however, if you insist...id...
CubedRoot
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295


View Profile
May 28, 2011, 05:44:20 PM
 #120

19cm is about the max you can go with PCIe. THats why Cablesaurus doesnt make them any longer, and its also why you cant daisy chain them. IF you wanted a longer cable you would have to HEAVILY shield each of the many wires of the extender.  PCIe was never meant to be used over long distances so there is almost no noise filtering in the bus, it just wasn't designed for that. 

If the extenders I ordered from the chinese seller on ebay doesnt show up by Tuesday, I will order them from Cablesaurus.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!