Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2018, 11:07:56 AM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [DIY] - Reward $100 | Antminer S1/S3 Blade on Raspberry Pi  (Read 81359 times)
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 30, 2014, 11:08:48 AM
 #1

[DIY] AllCoinMiner's Power Supply Sizing Guide
[DIY] AllCoinMiner's Solar Energy Setup for Mining DIY Research going on
[DIY] AllCoinMiner's Antminer S1/S3 Blade on Raspberry Pi or on a Single ControlBoardBounty Offered

[GUIDE] Mining Profitablility Discussions



Antminer S1/S3 Blade on Raspberry Pi or on a Single ControlBoard
[DIY][/color]
http://www.raspberrypi.org/

Project Aim:
1. To run Antminer S3 or the previous release Antminer S1, run with the support of a Raspberry-Pi instead of the default controller.
2. To add more than two blades with one Raspberry-Pi or in the same default controller.
3. To consolidate more than two miners in to a single frame or a mod-ed frame

If the project progresses well and anyone can demonstrate and proved a working method/hack to DIY practically, I will have a bounty for them.
1. The Reward is $100 equivalent of BTC
2. Another contribution to the bounty from googlemaster1

Conditions to claim the Reward
1. Give a DIY guide to run more than 2 Antminer "S3" blades in one controller.
2. Any controller like the default one or Raspi or any other can be used.
3. Reward is only if it works in S3, but you can experiment with S1.
4. There is a time limit for this reward. Currently its 3 months. But will extend depending on the situation.
5. If its a group of people achieving this, reward will be given to the top contributor

I'm inviting all expert and novice members active participation to achieve this.
1537528076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537528076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537528076
Reply with quote  #2

1537528076
Report to moderator
1537528076
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537528076

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537528076
Reply with quote  #2

1537528076
Report to moderator
Make a difference with your Ether.
Donate Ether for the greater good.
SPRING.WETRUST.IO
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
denniscdunbar
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 30, 2014, 10:23:11 PM
 #2

This is a great idea. When I upgrade s1 to s3 blades I was hoping I could still use the old blades.  How about running s1 & s3 blades on a single controller.


DoubleDD
cozk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 30, 2014, 10:51:55 PM
 #3

why ?
grn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357
Merit: 252


View Profile
June 30, 2014, 11:26:46 PM
 #4

supply the cgminer source for s3 driver and i will do the job for 2 S3's, pre compiled and ready to install

How is that Lexical analysis working out bickneleski?
googlemaster1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 12:11:26 AM
 #5

I would put BTC on this bounty if the S3 boards were released and I could replace them on the S3's and it was significantly cheaper than buying a full unit

BTC: 15565dcUp4LEWe6KYT7tawMHFRL4cBbFGN
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 03:51:37 AM
 #6

supply the cgminer source for s3 driver and i will do the job for 2 S3's, pre compiled and ready to install

Sorry, I don't understand what you are asking. S3 is a standalone device, are you asking firmware or any driver running in linux of the S1 or S3 ? Be more specific.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 03:52:28 AM
 #7

I would put BTC on this bounty if the S3 boards were released and I could replace them on the S3's and it was significantly cheaper than buying a full unit

Thank you for your support. If you can declare you btc in $ value, I can update it to OP.
grn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357
Merit: 252


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 06:33:39 PM
 #8

supply the cgminer source for s3 driver and i will do the job for 2 S3's, pre compiled and ready to install

Sorry, I don't understand what you are asking. S3 is a standalone device, are you asking firmware or any driver running in linux of the S1 or S3 ? Be more specific.

the source code for the S3 driver in cgminer, unless it will be the same as s1.  Two files, most likely driver-bitmain.h and driver-bitmain.c, need to be updated.

How is that Lexical analysis working out bickneleski?
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 06:39:58 PM
 #9

supply the cgminer source for s3 driver and i will do the job for 2 S3's, pre compiled and ready to install

Sorry, I don't understand what you are asking. S3 is a standalone device, are you asking firmware or any driver running in linux of the S1 or S3 ? Be more specific.

the source code for the S3 driver in cgminer, unless it will be the same as s1.  Two files, most likely driver-bitmain.h and driver-bitmain.c, need to be updated.

Are you trying it in S1?
How will you connect additional blades to the controller?
7queue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 09:21:23 PM
 #10

I was actually thinking about this the other day.

I pulled these schematics to see how the usb hub is setup with the blades,
https://github.com/AntMiner/AntGen1

I was initially going to try one of the 49 port hubs and an intel galileo along with under volting the blades.


8 )

8 )
grn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357
Merit: 252


View Profile
July 01, 2014, 10:20:56 PM
 #11

until we know how S3 works any effort toward the task is irrelevant

How is that Lexical analysis working out bickneleski?
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 07:29:36 AM
 #12

until we know how S3 works any effort toward the task is irrelevant

Both might be similar. I will ask bitmain about this.
S3 will be available in days and those who are experimenting should proceed in my opinion.
The efforts will not be worthless anyway.
Lucky7Gaming
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 02:07:31 PM
 #13

until we know how S3 works any effort toward the task is irrelevant

Both might be similar. I will ask bitmain about this.
S3 will be available in days and those who are experimenting should proceed in my opinion.
The efforts will not be worthless anyway.

I'm just confused, what's wrong about the old controller boards on the s1 and s3?

http://talk.multiminerapp.com/t/how-to-use-mobileminer-with-network-devices-antminer-s1-raspberry-pi-etc/149

You could access and check the miners this way.

Earn BTC investing in Peer to Peer Loans on BTCJam.
http://tinyurl.com/lc4wmvx
7queue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 06:02:52 PM
 #14

until we know how S3 works any effort toward the task is irrelevant

Both might be similar. I will ask bitmain about this.
S3 will be available in days and those who are experimenting should proceed in my opinion.
The efforts will not be worthless anyway.

I'm just confused, what's wrong about the old controller boards on the s1 and s3?

http://talk.multiminerapp.com/t/how-to-use-mobileminer-with-network-devices-antminer-s1-raspberry-pi-etc/149

You could access and check the miners this way.

Nothing wrong with them, I see some fun here combining a couple hobbies together.

8 )

8 )
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 06:09:17 PM
 #15

until we know how S3 works any effort toward the task is irrelevant

Both might be similar. I will ask bitmain about this.
S3 will be available in days and those who are experimenting should proceed in my opinion.
The efforts will not be worthless anyway.

I'm just confused, what's wrong about the old controller boards on the s1 and s3?

http://talk.multiminerapp.com/t/how-to-use-mobileminer-with-network-devices-antminer-s1-raspberry-pi-etc/149

You could access and check the miners this way.

Please carefully read OP again and further posts.
Its to use 1 controller and more than 2 ASIC blades.
This kind of a setup will possibly have many benefits.
Cost base, Customs duty, J/Ghs rate etc.
w3e30us
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 02, 2014, 06:53:47 PM
 #16

I'm just confused, what's wrong about the old controller boards on the s1 and s3?

http://talk.multiminerapp.com/t/how-to-use-mobileminer-with-network-devices-antminer-s1-raspberry-pi-etc/149

You could access and check the miners this way.

For example, you can run only 1 network cord to this rather than 4, plus possibly lower power consumption (minimal), less wires etc:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=675068.0

I'd happily contribute towards the project.
7queue
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 03, 2014, 04:44:16 AM
 #17

I'm just confused, what's wrong about the old controller boards on the s1 and s3?

http://talk.multiminerapp.com/t/how-to-use-mobileminer-with-network-devices-antminer-s1-raspberry-pi-etc/149

You could access and check the miners this way.

For example, you can run only 1 network cord to this rather than 4, plus possibly lower power consumption (minimal), less wires etc:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=675068.0

I'd happily contribute towards the project.

Nice work!

8 )

8 )
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 13, 2014, 12:52:39 PM
 #18

I'm just confused, what's wrong about the old controller boards on the s1 and s3?

http://talk.multiminerapp.com/t/how-to-use-mobileminer-with-network-devices-antminer-s1-raspberry-pi-etc/149

You could access and check the miners this way.

For example, you can run only 1 network cord to this rather than 4, plus possibly lower power consumption (minimal), less wires etc:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=675068.0

I'd happily contribute towards the project.

You are a good candidate for this project.
I like to see some good movement in this project.
Slaine
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 09:15:31 AM
 #19

If I can get my hands on some extra s1 blades to play with, I'm happy to contribute.

It a shame the s1 upgrades aren't already out, as there should be at least a few peeps looking to offload redundant blades.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 10:30:50 AM
 #20

If I can get my hands on some extra s1 blades to play with, I'm happy to contribute.

It a shame the s1 upgrades aren't already out, as there should be at least a few peeps looking to offload redundant blades.

Appreciating your willingness to do it.
Hope you will become a frequenter here.
What have you done so far?
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!