Bitcoin Forum
January 19, 2019, 07:00:13 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [DIY] - Reward $100 | Antminer S1/S3 Blade on Raspberry Pi  (Read 81371 times)
DumDumz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100

★☆★Bitin.io★☆★


View Profile
July 21, 2014, 02:13:40 PM
 #21

very good idea, combining more than 1 1 S3 in the roof.

1547881213
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547881213

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547881213
Reply with quote  #2

1547881213
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 04, 2014, 07:59:42 AM
 #22

The new Antminer S3s are out and the project can be done in S3 too.
You can order additional control boards for test purpose from bitmaintech along with your S3 orders.
It came at very low cost or bitmaintech may contribute some for testing with your S3 order.
I did a look into the S1 control board and need a PCB design and circuit diagram of the controllable.
Can anyone send me the PCB design and Circuit Diagram of S1 or S3 control board?
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 05, 2014, 09:08:49 AM
 #23

Bump
herbiehasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 09:42:52 PM
 #24

Bump

I will contribute $20 to the pot for this, as I'm providing upgrade service to others and will charge keeping the S1 boards for me as the fee.
tarmi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 19, 2014, 10:23:42 PM
 #25

adding 10 $
volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 20, 2014, 05:02:24 PM
 #26

I probably can do this if you supply me with parts. I have few RPi available, don't have any S1s.
Terms - I will keep the hardware and make the software opensource when it is ready.

PM.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 01:05:47 PM
 #27

I will contribute $20 to the pot for this, as I'm providing upgrade service to others and will charge keeping the S1 boards for me as the fee.
adding 10 $

Thank you for your offers.
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 01:08:38 PM
 #28

I probably can do this if you supply me with parts. I have few RPi available, don't have any S1s.
Terms - I will keep the hardware and make the software opensource when it is ready.

PM.

Thank you for your willingness. Which region you are from?
Someone from the same area can contribute.
I think soon we will get S1 hardware to experiment as S1 boards will be freely available from those who are opting S1 upgrade option from bitmaintech.
https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 02:56:45 PM
 #29

As things stand this is, to an extent, pie in the sky because bitmain REFUSED to release the code for cgminer that they used for the S3. This is important because the code contains the driver for the new chip that is used in the S3.
What is astonishing is that cgminer is opensource and though the author / maintainer of cgminer tried to prevail over bitmain to release the source as per terms of license, last I knew was that bitmain were adamant not to release their code into public domain. I am quietly confident that they will change their stance soon as no organisation can take on the opensource movement and come out of it unscathed.

On a positive note, this can definitely be done with the S1 as the code (and thus driver for the chips) was released and is publicly available. Additionally, the S1 blades are connected by a single flat cable, so in the crudest form, a similar cable but with one end "stacked" with a female / male and the other end being the male would be sufficient to form the chain. Then we need to look at how the mining software uses the driver software to poll / find the chips, and whether we need to make any changes to that.

I am confident that this can be accomplished with an S1 controller board and no need to design a new one.

herbiehasher
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 100
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 22, 2014, 03:04:50 PM
 #30

As things stand this is, to an extent, pie in the sky because bitmain REFUSED to release the code for cgminer that they used for the S3. This is important because the code contains the driver for the new chip that is used in the S3.
What is astonishing is that cgminer is opensource and though the author / maintainer of cgminer tried to prevail over bitmain to release the source as per terms of license, last I knew was that bitmain were adamant not to release their code into public domain. I am quietly confident that they will change their stance soon as no organisation can take on the opensource movement and come out of it unscathed.

On a positive note, this can definitely be done with the S1 as the code (and thus driver for the chips) was released and is publicly available. Additionally, the S1 blades are connected by a single flat cable, so in the crudest form, a similar cable but with one end "stacked" with a female / male and the other end being the male would be sufficient to form the chain. Then we need to look at how the mining software uses the driver software to poll / find the chips, and whether we need to make any changes to that.

I am confident that this can be accomplished with an S1 controller board and no need to design a new one.

As far as I know reading the site, the S1 controller board is to be re-used with the kit.
volosator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 274
Merit: 250



View Profile
August 22, 2014, 03:47:02 PM
 #31

I probably can do this if you supply me with parts. I have few RPi available, don't have any S1s.
Terms - I will keep the hardware and make the software opensource when it is ready.

PM.

Thank you for your willingness. Which region you are from?
Someone from the same area can contribute.
I think soon we will get S1 hardware to experiment as S1 boards will be freely available from those who are opting S1 upgrade option from bitmaintech.
https://bitmaintech.com/productDetail.htm?pid=0002014081313175081722f1GeUO063F

MA, USA

pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 03:57:00 PM
 #32

As far as I know reading the site, the S1 controller board is to be re-used with the kit.

Are the controller boards different from the S1 and S3? Visual inspection tells me they are one and the same.

padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400
Merit: 1000


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 04:33:19 PM
 #33

As things stand this is, to an extent, pie in the sky because bitmain REFUSED to release the code for cgminer that they used for the S3. This is important because the code contains the driver for the new chip that is used in the S3.
What is astonishing is that cgminer is opensource and though the author / maintainer of cgminer tried to prevail over bitmain to release the source as per terms of license, last I knew was that bitmain were adamant not to release their code into public domain. I am quietly confident that they will change their stance soon as no organisation can take on the opensource movement and come out of it unscathed.

On a positive note, this can definitely be done with the S1 as the code (and thus driver for the chips) was released and is publicly available. Additionally, the S1 blades are connected by a single flat cable, so in the crudest form, a similar cable but with one end "stacked" with a female / male and the other end being the male would be sufficient to form the chain. Then we need to look at how the mining software uses the driver software to poll / find the chips, and whether we need to make any changes to that.

I am confident that this can be accomplished with an S1 controller board and no need to design a new one.

They uploaded the code includign the S3 support earlier this week, take a look since I may be wrong but I think it's been done and is on github..

1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 22, 2014, 04:45:04 PM
 #34

They uploaded the code includign the S3 support earlier this week, take a look since I may be wrong but I think it's been done and is on github..

It was just a matter of time before they released their code .... thanks for the headsup!
Sooooo then .... FULL STEAM AHEAD!!!!

Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 27, 2014, 03:44:35 AM
 #35

Interested.  Will chip in BTC0.05 to whoever is successful and releases it open source.  Would be handy to run all the old S1 blades underclocked in a different housing with minimal cooling.

What would you think is the maximum amount of blades controllable by Bitmain's control boards, just the 2?

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
grn
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 357
Merit: 252


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 04:29:34 AM
 #36

Interested.  Will chip in BTC0.05 to whoever is successful and releases it open source.  Would be handy to run all the old S1 blades underclocked in a different housing with minimal cooling.

What would you think is the maximum amount of blades controllable by Bitmain's control boards, just the 2?

6 - 8 blades and its going to cost you $110 to do it. i have tested 6 but not 8

How is that Lexical analysis working out bickneleski?
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
August 27, 2014, 04:43:59 PM
 #37

6 - 8 blades and its going to cost you $110 to do it. i have tested 6 but not 8

Would you care to expand?  I looked through your previous posts to find any reference to your solution.  Thanks in advance

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
bmoscato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 257
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 27, 2014, 06:07:31 PM
 #38

This is an interesting project...
pekatete
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 27, 2014, 06:31:54 PM
 #39

6 - 8 blades and its going to cost you $110 to do it. i have tested 6 but not 8

Spill the beans on this one then .... $110 seems a bit steep, does your mod entail scrapping the S1 control boards?

powersup
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 28, 2014, 05:29:12 AM
 #40

I'm happy to contribute 0.025 BTC to whoever can get this working. I have a few Pi's and a couple of S1's I could pull apart. i'm good with a soldering iron, but not so good at writing code.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!