Bitcoin Forum
June 21, 2024, 05:39:02 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 516 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S3+ Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 709850 times)
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027


View Profile WWW
July 09, 2014, 05:27:41 PM
Last edit: July 09, 2014, 05:45:44 PM by windpath
 #361

Ant S3 Overclocking asic-freq File

I put this together from the BM1382 datasheet provided by Bitmain here:

https://bitmaintech.com/files/download/BM1382_Datasheet_v3.0.pdf

I have no idea what the default settings will be; so be sure to rename, save, and take a look at the default asic-freq settings from Bitmain...

Assuming the S3 has the same file structure as the S1 follow these instructions:

SSH to your miner and run:
Code:
clear
cd /etc/config
mv asic-freq asic-freq.original
wget -O asic-freq http://minefast.coincadence.com/ant-s3-asic-freq.txt
chmod 664 asic-freq

Note: As I don't know the default values yet all settings in this file are commented out!

You MUST use vi to un-comment at least 1 setting by removing the "#" from before the 3 options.

Once you have un-commented your options restart the Ant.

Here is the complete file in the wget above:

Code:
#####################################
#    Coin Cadence P2Pool Mining     #
#  http://minefast.CoinCadence.com  #
#                                   #
#  Ant Miner S3/BM1382 asic-freq    #
#  Based on BM1382 datasheet        #
#  (uncomment the desired setting)  #
#      USE AT YOUR OWN RISK         #
#####################################
package 'cgminer'

config 'asic-freq' 'default'

##
# Clock Frequency 100 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '100'
#option 'freq_value' '0783'
#option 'timeout' '38'

##
# Clock Frequency 125 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '125'
#option 'freq_value' '0983'
#option 'timeout' '31'

##
# Clock Frequency 150 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '150'
#option 'freq_value' '0b83'
#option 'timeout' '26'

##
# Clock Frequency 175 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '175'
#option 'freq_value' '0d83'
#option 'timeout' '22'

##
# Clock Frequency 200 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '200'
#option 'freq_value' '0782'
#option 'timeout' '19'

##
# Clock Frequency 225 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '225'
#option 'freq_value' '0882'
#option 'timeout' '17'

##
# Clock Frequency 250 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '250'
#option 'freq_value' '0982'
#option 'timeout' '15'

##
# Clock Frequency 275 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '275'
#option 'freq_value' '0a82'
#option 'timeout' '14'

##
# Clock Frequency 300 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '300'
#option 'freq_value' '0b82'
#option 'timeout' '13'

##
# Clock Frequency 325 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '325'
#option 'freq_value' '0c82'
#option 'timeout' '12'

##
# Clock Frequency 350 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '350'
#option 'freq_value' '0d82'
#option 'timeout' '11'

##
# Clock Frequency 375 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '375'
#option 'freq_value' '0e82'
#option 'timeout' '10'

##
# Clock Frequency 400 (M)
##
#option 'chip_freq' '400'
#option 'freq_value' '08f2'
#option 'timeout' '10'

Once batch 1 arrives from Bitmain I'll update this with default values and any other frequency settings provided in the default file...
contactlight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 05:29:55 PM
 #362

Thanks windpath. I'll give them a try once my Batch1 order arrives.

I hope they'll start shipping today or tomorrow.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 3794
Merit: 3994



View Profile
July 09, 2014, 05:37:51 PM
 #363

Thanks windpath. I'll give them a try once my Batch1 order arrives.

I hope they'll start shipping today or tomorrow.

I thought that Bitmain commented that they will start shipping on 14th.
contactlight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 05:44:53 PM
 #364

Thanks windpath. I'll give them a try once my Batch1 order arrives.

I hope they'll start shipping today or tomorrow.

I thought that Bitmain commented that they will start shipping on 14th.

They said:
Quote
The bulk PCB will be arriving tonight, and we will start first batch production tomorrow. First batch usually takes a longer time than later. We may ship the S3 -B1 on or before 14th.

Which doesn't particularly sound assuring.
Mart0n
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 06:32:05 PM
 #365

Does anyone know if Bitmain are going to release Batch4 soon?
The third batch is sold out:(
Thanks
jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 07:34:23 PM
 #366

Ant S3 Overclocking asic-freq File

Once you have un-commented your options restart the Ant.


It's not necessary to reboot the ant (at least assuming the S3 functions like the S1 or S2) just reload the process:

Code:
/etc/init.d/cgminer reload
allcoinminer
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 504


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 07:55:44 PM
 #367

You guys are wonderful. Do we actually need to discuss this now?
Take a look at the HWE (Not HWE%) in the bitmains product page, the last image, its the miner stats screenshot.
I expect an HWE% above 1 when overclocked to 504Ghs.
iglasses
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 08:27:22 PM
 #368

Pretty discouraging to see the updated ship date.  This means we will be 4-5 days into the next difficulty before getting them plugged in.   

I only have a signature because I'm allowed.
Threader
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 09, 2014, 09:09:16 PM
 #369

Pretty discouraging to see the updated ship date.  This means we will be 4-5 days into the next difficulty before getting them plugged in.   


the next difficulty change will be pretty easy on ROI since I can remember when. Wish they were all like that.
vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 09, 2014, 09:09:32 PM
 #370

what programs do you guys use to ssh?

The reason I ask it that I use filezilla to manage my linux based HTPC, and i was wondering if I could use that instead of Putty to update configs etc?
iglasses
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 09, 2014, 09:33:51 PM
 #371

I use putty for my S1's...works like a charm.

I only have a signature because I'm allowed.
edonkey
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1150
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 10, 2014, 02:50:17 AM
 #372

Even with the delays and possible loss of ROI, I'm still irrationally looking forward to getting my S3's. I just wish they'd throw us a manual or something else to read while we're waiting.

As it is, this is like waiting at the DMV for our turn. Very boring...

Was I helpful?   BTC: 3G1Ubof5u8K9iJkM8We2f3amYZgGVdvpHr
vulgartrendkill
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2014, 06:01:58 AM
 #373

I use putty for my S1's...works like a charm.

I`ll gen up on linux commands then!!! (linux newbie-I like shiny GUI`s)
DumDumz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126
Merit: 100

★☆★Bitin.io★☆★


View Profile
July 10, 2014, 10:42:34 AM
 #374

Bitmain please do all that you can to ship batch one orders as soon as possible.  We need them in our farms ASAP to break even!

TyrTheAlpha
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 10, 2014, 01:49:06 PM
 #375

Does the S3 have wifi?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4158
Merit: 8051


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
July 10, 2014, 01:54:30 PM
Last edit: July 10, 2014, 03:01:37 PM by philipma1957
 #376

Does the S3 have wifi?



no it does not.  you need a work around.    they are quite a few ways to work around it.     A switch like this

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833156251&cm_re=trendnet_teg-s80g-_-33-156-251-_-Product


and this item


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833109056


this will allow up to 7 s-3's

I happen to have the switch and  cables for it .  I do not have the tp-link

My listing for the switch is here

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=683435.msg7751340#msg7751340

I charge the same and toss in free cables.  my switch is new and sealed


▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 539
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2014, 10:24:32 PM
 #377

Alternately, plug your S3, or switch, or anything with ethernet into one of these...

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16833122373

I'm running 3 S-1's, a Dragon, 2 mining controllers, and a windows lap on a crappy 8 port switch with one of these.

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
-droid-
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 10, 2014, 10:27:12 PM
 #378

Better deal: http://www.amazon.com/Linksys-Powerline-Network-Adapter-PLSK400/dp/B006JG5S6U

comes with built in 4 port switch
contactlight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2014, 11:09:31 PM
 #379

And surprise surprise, they are not shipped yet!
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1002



View Profile
July 11, 2014, 03:14:09 AM
 #380

And surprise surprise, they are not shipped yet!
They stated earlier it would be the 14th.  Let's not freak out yet, this is BITMAIN we're talking about.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 [19] 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 ... 516 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!