Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 12:25:30 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [WTS] ATX PSU to 2.5 or 2.1/5.5mm 12V coaxial plug power cables [New Product!!]  (Read 63421 times)
Morblias
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 576


View Profile
March 29, 2013, 12:57:37 AM
 #121

And thank you as well Cablez! Your cables are extremely well made and save me from running power strip into power strip into another power strip into wall outlet! Grin

Tips / Donations accepted: 1Morb18DsDHNEv6TeQXBdba872ZSpiK9fY
1480854330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854330
Reply with quote  #2

1480854330
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480854330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854330
Reply with quote  #2

1480854330
Report to moderator
1480854330
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480854330

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480854330
Reply with quote  #2

1480854330
Report to moderator
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
March 29, 2013, 02:20:02 AM
 #122

Very nice

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
witherworth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
April 01, 2013, 11:29:40 PM
 #123

With BFL shipping way over power spec, how would one modify existing cables to make them compatible with the new hardware? From what I saw, they will draw upwards of 160w, which is more than what 1 line can offer.

Would it be possible to splice something up where for every 3 12bv lines, you can run 2 BFL ASIC? The theory being that each 6 pin adaptor provides 3 12v lines, for a max of 360w, while 2 BFLs will consume 320w. Would that be safe to run 24/7? Or would you suggest 2 dedicated 12v lines per BFL to be safe? Most PSUs have pairs of 6 pins, which would give you 3 BFLs powered total.
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 02:26:53 AM
 #124

With BFL shipping way over power spec, how would one modify existing cables to make them compatible with the new hardware? From what I saw, they will draw upwards of 160w, which is more than what 1 line can offer.

Would it be possible to splice something up where for every 3 12bv lines, you can run 2 BFL ASIC? The theory being that each 6 pin adaptor provides 3 12v lines, for a max of 360w, while 2 BFLs will consume 320w. Would that be safe to run 24/7? Or would you suggest 2 dedicated 12v lines per BFL to be safe? Most PSUs have pairs of 6 pins, which would give you 3 BFLs powered total.

Without final numbers on what will be delivered by BFL I can only speculate.  The good bet would be to make an adapter that takes the +12v from my cable and creates a 'Y' to go to two +12v leads on the PCIe cable. This would mean only one BFL device per 6pin PCIe unfortunately. Trying to squeeze more BFL devices on would only overload the 18AWG wires on the PSU cable.  It is not ideal and has too many points of failure for my liking but it should work.

Ideally what needs to happen is BFL get their act together and deliver a unit with the specs they promised but that is another story.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
witherworth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 02:52:29 AM
 #125

With BFL shipping way over power spec, how would one modify existing cables to make them compatible with the new hardware? From what I saw, they will draw upwards of 160w, which is more than what 1 line can offer.

Would it be possible to splice something up where for every 3 12bv lines, you can run 2 BFL ASIC? The theory being that each 6 pin adaptor provides 3 12v lines, for a max of 360w, while 2 BFLs will consume 320w. Would that be safe to run 24/7? Or would you suggest 2 dedicated 12v lines per BFL to be safe? Most PSUs have pairs of 6 pins, which would give you 3 BFLs powered total.

Without final numbers on what will be delivered by BFL I can only speculate.  The good bet would be to make an adapter that takes the +12v from my cable and creates a 'Y' to go to two +12v leads on the PCIe cable. This would mean only one BFL device per 6pin PCIe unfortunately. Trying to squeeze more BFL devices on would only overload the 18AWG wires on the PSU cable.  It is not ideal and has too many points of failure for my liking but it should work.

Ideally what needs to happen is BFL get their act together and deliver a unit with the specs they promised but that is another story.

My 6 pins are all 6+2 pins, which have 3 12v lines. That may not be common, so I guess I misspoke. My intention was with an 8 pin setup.

However, If I run a Y-splitter to a set of your cables, won't all 160ish watts run through your single cable? Wouldn't that overload your cable at 18 guage? What would be the max load capable with a 16 guage?

My thought was that I'd have to disassble the cables and manually connect 2 12v lines to the barrel plugs and 2 grounds as well. Or am I misunderstanding something?

Also, thanks for the quick response!
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 07:30:30 PM
 #126

My 6 pins are all 6+2 pins, which have 3 12v lines. That may not be common, so I guess I misspoke. My intention was with an 8 pin setup.

However, If I run a Y-splitter to a set of your cables, won't all 160ish watts run through your single cable? Wouldn't that overload your cable at 18 guage? What would be the max load capable with a 16 guage?

My thought was that I'd have to disassble the cables and manually connect 2 12v lines to the barrel plugs and 2 grounds as well. Or am I misunderstanding something?

Also, thanks for the quick response!

If you have my 18AWG cables then we really need to see what the final power numbers from BFL are. There is a lot of talk that they will ship more units at lower chip counts and power. This should be satisfactory up to 10amps which will be over the maximum for the minifit jr connectors on my cable and the PSU. Very short runs of 18awg out in the open so there is some cooling should be able to go to 14amps and be still within spec. It is not my comfort zone but the handbook does say it can work.

16AWG wire can go upto almost 20amps safely in short runs and out in the open. The problem still lies with the minifit connectors though, as with 16AWG they can do a max of 11Amps. Your last statement is correct by the way.  Smiley

Let us just be patient and see what the final delivered specs for the BFL singles will be. I can help you more when all the question marks are gone.  Smiley

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
witherworth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
April 02, 2013, 10:09:03 PM
 #127

Sounds good, thanks!
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile
April 27, 2013, 07:58:58 AM
 #128

Awesome cables Cablez!!!!!!!!! Thank you very much!!!!!!! Fast shipping & fantastic craftsmanship!!!!!!!!!

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
April 27, 2013, 08:37:43 AM
 #129

FYI the BFL FPGA cable works fine with the BFL SC Jalapeno (I'm only using 32W on my Jalapeno)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
April 27, 2013, 01:46:41 PM
 #130

FYI the BFL FPGA cable works fine with the BFL SC Jalapeno (I'm only using 32W on my Jalapeno)

It is good to know my original cables still have a use in this ASIC world. Thank you Jalapenos! Grin

Originally they were also intended for the SC singles but it looks like that ship has sailed.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
whitefeather
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 97



View Profile
May 27, 2013, 10:20:38 AM
 #131

I have been using two cables (three barrel plugs each) to power 6 BFL FPGA units for about two weeks now, and everything is working perfectly. Where these 6 units are located, sometimes the power is not clean, so switching over to a PSU and Chris' cables have given the units consistent, clean power and may have even contributed to helping one of the units get over its incessant throttling. I have tried to fix that throttling with everything I could think of, including upgrading the internal fans (it runs the coolest temps of the group), but couldn't get it to behave until I hooked it up to the PSU with Chris' cable. Problem solved. Thanks Chris, for a quality product.
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 12:34:38 PM
 #132

Hey whitefeather.  I am glad that my cables are working out well for you in your setup.  Happy Mining! Grin

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
chanberg
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 05:53:52 PM
 #133

Just wanted to say if you want quality service and quality cables, Chris is the guy to go to!

I realized i made a mistake with the type of plug i wanted after Chris already made the cable, and he had no problem fixing my mistake for FREE!

all around good service, and nice guy!





Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
May 28, 2013, 06:25:07 PM
 #134

Nice clean setup chanberg, that's what I like to see. Cheesy  Well done!

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
Preschoolv2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14



View Profile
May 29, 2013, 04:08:04 AM
 #135

Would your cables work for the BFL Singles coming out ?
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
May 29, 2013, 12:55:04 PM
 #136

My cables will only work for the BFL FPGAs and SC Jalapeno units currently.  The SC Little Single and 'Big' Single will use 6pin PCIe connectors instead of a dc coaxial plug as they draw too much power now.

Originally my plan was to do the whole BFL lineup in addition to other FPGAs but that plan has fallen through.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
pluMmet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
June 14, 2013, 11:16:38 PM
 #137

Thanks for hooking me up with cables for my submerged Jally tank Cablez Smiley

Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
June 15, 2013, 12:42:32 AM
 #138

No problem pluMmet.  I cannot wait to see your Jally tank in action. Cheesy

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
June 15, 2013, 03:39:16 AM
 #139

No problem pluMmet.  I cannot wait to see your Jally tank in action. Cheesy
Oooh I am VERY interested in that.  Shocked Shocked

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
notme
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


View Profile
July 08, 2013, 01:14:11 AM
 #140

Cablez, if you are willing to do special orders, I would be interested in a cable.

I would like you to start with one of your switches like this:


But, in addition to the switch, I would like you to use the available 5V lines to give me as many 5V 3.5mm plugs as possible (up to 10).  Each plug needs to be capable of 3 amps.

I need about 8 feet before the first connector and at least 3 inches between the plugs.  If you can do something like this, pm me a quote.

https://www.bitcoin.org/bitcoin.pdf
While no idea is perfect, some ideas are useful.
12jh3odyAAaR2XedPKZNCR4X4sebuotQzN
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 [7] 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!