Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 07:41:30 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: (OLD) BFGMiner: modular FPGA/GPU, GBT, Stratum, RPC, Avalon/Lnx/OpnWrt/PPA/W64  (Read 245091 times)
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 02:59:03 AM
 #281

Is it possible to support stratum? I'm currently using a proxy.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481312490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312490
Reply with quote  #2

1481312490
Report to moderator
1481312490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312490
Reply with quote  #2

1481312490
Report to moderator
1481312490
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481312490

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481312490
Reply with quote  #2

1481312490
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
October 09, 2012, 03:09:58 AM
 #282

Is it possible to support stratum? I'm currently using a proxy.
Cgminer supports stratum, but I don't know if Luke has any plans to support it or not. He is the author of the competing standard, GBT.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 03:16:49 AM
 #283

Oh i see, i pretty much have to use stratum with bitcoincz for now.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
October 09, 2012, 03:51:18 AM
 #284

Is it possible to support stratum? I'm currently using a proxy.
Better to use a pool that supports standard GBT, but Con wrote Stratum support for cgminer, and it seems like it isn't too much trouble to merge it in for some future BFGMiner version.

bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 03:55:38 AM
 #285

Ok thx, ive always liked slush, tried others numerous times but always came back.

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
burger
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 195


View Profile
October 09, 2012, 07:55:20 AM
 #286

Thanx for all the progress on your miner software!!!

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
October 09, 2012, 09:35:22 AM
 #287

Ok thx, ive always liked slush, tried others numerous times but always came back.
Like most things bad for you - people never kick the habit.

Meanwhile, I don't expect Luke-jr will actually implement stratum since he said it sucks and said no one needs anything but GBT

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
October 09, 2012, 02:58:26 PM
 #288

I've prepared a pre-beta "stratum" branch on the git repository with some minor cleanups and enhancements.
It also contains a workaround (in the form of improved RPC backward compatibility) for Puppet Master's "switching back and forth between pools rapidly" issue that cgminer has had since adding Stratum support.
Test this at your own risk, and report problems (and successes) on this thread. I probably won't merge it into mainline BFGMiner until the 2.9.0 release.
Windows EXE (drop in directory with the DLLs from the usual 2.8.2 ZIP): http://luke.dashjr.org/tmp/code/bfgminer-ba17775.exe

dscotese
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446


I prefer evolution to revolution.


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 08:59:58 PM
 #289

I'm helping soniq out, and you asked him to try:
 
Code:
bfgminer -D -T -d

The output is:
 [2012-10-09 14:57:43] bfgminer.exe: -d: requires an argument

I like to provide some work at no charge to prove my valueAvoid supporting terrorism!
Satoshi Nakamoto: "He ought to find it more profitable to play by the rules."
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 09:01:19 PM
 #290

Thank you amazing miner

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
dscotese
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 446


I prefer evolution to revolution.


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2012, 09:26:33 PM
 #291

Luke, here's the output I got by removing the -d from the command line: http://pastebin.com/6te35me0

We're using the version 2.8.2, and we tried with -dall and -d all but in both cases it said it was an invalid device.  We removed that arg altogether to get the output in that pastebin.  Also, we're on a 64-bit Windows 7 machine, though the BFGMiner says it's for Win32.  That shouldn't be a problem, right?

I like to provide some work at no charge to prove my valueAvoid supporting terrorism!
Satoshi Nakamoto: "He ought to find it more profitable to play by the rules."
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
October 09, 2012, 10:01:23 PM
 #292

I'm helping soniq out, and you asked him to try:
 
Code:
bfgminer -D -T -d

The output is:
 [2012-10-09 14:57:43] bfgminer.exe: -d: requires an argument
There's a question mark in that command:
Code:
bfgminer -D -T -d?

yigga
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile WWW
October 10, 2012, 08:44:13 AM
 #293

thx, good update
mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 05:45:26 AM
 #294

I tested the stratum branch with a mix of stratum pools and GBT pools. bfgminer seems to have the same problem as cgminer (see my cgminer post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.msg1259342#msg1259342). Only the first stratum pool is alive the second one is dead. If the GBT pool ist the first one, both stratum pools are dead.

Mining with the diablo kernel and my test GPU, I started with an intensity of 9. This give me a hashrate of 3MH/s and a CPU utilisation of 70%. Changing the intensity to higher values, I get more hashes and less CPU utilisation with every step. With a intensity of 20 I get 2% CPU utilisation and > 20MH/s. The mining engine seems to run and I get new block updates from time to time, but the miner never finds any share. Compared to cgminer with a hashrate of 11MH/s the hashrate seems to be too high for this my (AMD E350 Zacate). Changing to a GBT pool (elgius.st) does not help - still no shares.
soniq
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 01:47:54 AM
 #295

Ok, got my issues resolved with BFG not detecting BFL single, an error in BFL driver install.   

But still having issues with BFG crashing and freezing computer. Seems to be heat related, everytime GPU reach 81C , BFG  shut down GPU's then shuts down or freezes computer.

From what I read 81C is warm, but not hot.  If I keep the GPU temps below 80C(open window wider here in Canada) the miner software runs fine

Is there a way to correct this? would like to close window and heat part of the house with the heat.

Larry

The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 02:11:30 AM
 #296

From what I read 81C is warm, but not hot.  If I keep the GPU temps below 80C(open window wider here in Canada) the miner software runs fine
Depends on your GPU.  I have one that locks up before 75C.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 02:18:29 PM
 #297

Ok, got my issues resolved with BFG not detecting BFL single, an error in BFL driver install.   

But still having issues with BFG crashing and freezing computer. Seems to be heat related, everytime GPU reach 81C , BFG  shut down GPU's then shuts down or freezes computer.

From what I read 81C is warm, but not hot.  If I keep the GPU temps below 80C(open window wider here in Canada) the miner software runs fine

Is there a way to correct this? would like to close window and heat part of the house with the heat.
I don't think BFGMiner should be trying to shut down the computer by default - are you sure it isn't the GPU hardware overheating and doing crazy things?

Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 06:24:22 PM
 #298

Fixed solo mining via GBT, but it really needs a couple of competent code reviews and some good testing (I suggest on testnet for now).

I've built a Windows ZIP (note that this is NOT compatible with the libblkmaker DLL in 2.8.2!): http://luke.dashjr.org/tmp/code/bfgminer-e333074-win32.zip - the code is in the "gbt_solo" git branch.

To test solo mining, run a recent bitcoind or Bitcoin-Qt (I suggest next-test for longpolling support) and start (this branch of) BFGMiner similar to this:
Code:
bfgminer -o localhost:8332 -O rpcuser:rpcpassword --coinbase-addr 1bitcoinaddress

hashking
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


View Profile
October 13, 2012, 02:37:49 PM
 #299

I was checking with you when you will be including the x6500 in bfgminer. 
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 01:16:46 AM
 #300

I was checking with you when you will be including the x6500 in bfgminer.
I've been busy with everything a lot over the past few months, but I have the code partially done. As nelisky mentioned, it is a lot of code/work compared to other FPGAs. As soon as I have something usable for mining, I will post a beta. I expect this should be within the next 2 weeks, and will definitely make it a priority to get it done before ASICs.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!