Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2019, 03:29:47 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
Author Topic: (OLD) BFGMiner: modular FPGA/GPU, GBT, Stratum, RPC, Avalon/Lnx/OpnWrt/PPA/W64  (Read 259092 times)
witherworth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 01:55:40 AM
 #521

I recently switched away from using Phoenix which I'd been using since GUI miner had some issues connecting for a lot of people. I'm the type of person that finds something that works and sticks with it. However, needing to prepare for some new FPGAs and ASICs, I needed to upgrade my mining software. As a test, I put it on my desktop first to play around with, and I noticed a slight performance increase, but I waived it off as a fluke. After I set it up remotely on my dedicated rack, however, I figured out that I got a decently significant increase in performance. Im currently running at 10% faster than with Phoenix, but it'll vary from 5%-15% faster. So, I'm please to say that I've found a new miner. I also like tr fact I can make changes to my mining program without having to stop and restart the process. It makes testing (and saving) different settings really easily. So, a big thanks, and job well done!
1555601387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555601387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555601387
Reply with quote  #2

1555601387
Report to moderator
1555601387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555601387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555601387
Reply with quote  #2

1555601387
Report to moderator
1555601387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555601387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555601387
Reply with quote  #2

1555601387
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555601387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555601387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555601387
Reply with quote  #2

1555601387
Report to moderator
1555601387
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555601387

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555601387
Reply with quote  #2

1555601387
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1151


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 02:17:58 AM
 #522

I recently switched away from using Phoenix which I'd been using since GUI miner had some issues connecting for a lot of people. I'm the type of person that finds something that works and sticks with it. However, needing to prepare for some new FPGAs and ASICs, I needed to upgrade my mining software. As a test, I put it on my desktop first to play around with, and I noticed a slight performance increase, but I waived it off as a fluke. After I set it up remotely on my dedicated rack, however, I figured out that I got a decently significant increase in performance. Im currently running at 10% faster than with Phoenix, but it'll vary from 5%-15% faster. So, I'm please to say that I've found a new miner. I also like tr fact I can make changes to my mining program without having to stop and restart the process. It makes testing (and saving) different settings really easily. So, a big thanks, and job well done!
The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 12:30:08 AM
 #523

And then improved upon...

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 03:24:42 AM
 #524

The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
And then improved upon...
LJR's advertisement campaign was that he was the one who added FPGA support into CGMiner. Kano is specifically pointing out the GPU and API portions of BFGminer, which were copied from CGMiner. IIRC, LJR hasn't touched those areas of his clone BFGminer all that much, if at all.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1012



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 04:05:06 AM
 #525

The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
And then improved upon...
LJR's advertisement campaign was that he was the one who added FPGA support into CGMiner. Kano is specifically pointing out the GPU and API portions of BFGminer, which were copied from CGMiner. IIRC, LJR hasn't touched those areas of his clone BFGminer all that much, if at all.
Let's not have an argument where there isn't one. With regard to the OpenCL driver and RPC API, there is little different in BFGMiner.
Not to dismiss the bugfixes and minor improvements that are there (or the many driver-independent improvements and fixes), but the bulk of this code is still Con (OCL) / Kano (RPC) as-is.

joinmicah
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81
Merit: 16


Crypto-Commodities are the People's Money!


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2013, 02:26:20 PM
 #526

No answer regarding the big I found with the GH/S showing instead of KH/S?

Do you believe in supporting Crypto-Commodities show some Love!

NXT: 4115487167251540440
NEM: TD2G6N-LNKTRK-ANCMTX-PY2L6N-CLZMBW-GYEUPO-YK77
RoboCoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387
Merit: 250


Save A Life, Adopt a Pet Today!


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2013, 05:01:26 PM
 #527

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1012



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 06:43:41 PM
 #528

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.
Avalon and Deepbit don't seem interested in third-party development this time around, so support for those will likely depend on someone else donating a device or maintaining the code.

kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1151


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 15, 2013, 10:08:12 PM
 #529

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.
Avalon and Deepbit don't seem interested in third-party development this time around, so support for those will likely depend on someone else donating a device or maintaining the code.
Avalon have Xiangfu doing it.
Avalon comes with cgminer in it, since it is a complete computer, not just a mining device.

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
Discord support invite at https://kano.is/ Majority developer of the ckpool code
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks - and NO empty blocks!
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1012



View Profile
January 16, 2013, 10:03:19 PM
 #530

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.

Unless there was a change, bASIC is out ... gonne ... hasta la vista, baby!
There has been numerous changes; I'm not ruling bASIC out of the game just yet.

mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1165


View Profile
January 20, 2013, 12:37:07 PM
 #531

Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1012



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 01:12:34 PM
 #532

Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Which version were you using before? WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Thistled
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 04:01:32 PM
 #533

Hey Luke-Jr

Any idea why I can't log on to bitminter using stratum?
I am trying to connect using:
stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333/
and all I get in return is
"No servers were found that could be used to get work from"

I initially tried bfgminer-2.10.* but Doc Haribo says try it with 2.9.* as it worked for him.
purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 04:52:54 PM
 #534

Try using http instead of stratum+tcp. It's worked for me for other pools.

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
Thistled
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 0



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 05:03:50 PM
 #535

Would that be http with port 3333?
mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1165


View Profile
January 20, 2013, 06:03:09 PM
 #536

Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Which version were you using before?

It was one of the early 2.9 versions. Unfortunately I just deleted the old version after the new version started to work.

WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1012



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 06:06:35 PM
 #537

WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
If I knew that, I wouldn't need to get a debug log Smiley

purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 08:43:04 PM
 #538

Would that be http with port 3333?

exactly.

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
mezzomix
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2240
Merit: 1165


View Profile
January 20, 2013, 09:53:46 PM
 #539

WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
If I knew that, I wouldn't need to get a debug log Smiley

There is no error in the log, but it seems that the GPU clock and voltages is sometimes going down and in the end it stays low. Seems to be a power management problem. I already set DPMS to false in my xorg.conf but there must be other power managent switches to keep the GPU running at full speed.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1012



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 10:00:04 PM
 #540

WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
If I knew that, I wouldn't need to get a debug log Smiley

There is no error in the log, but it seems that the GPU clock and voltages is sometimes going down and in the end it stays low. Seems to be a power management problem. I already set DPMS to false in my xorg.conf but there must be other power managent switches to keep the GPU running at full speed.
Does it work fine if you disable --auto-gpu and --auto-fan? Finding the first version with this problem is probably crucial...

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!