Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 09:41:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: (OLD) BFGMiner: modular FPGA/GPU, GBT, Stratum, RPC, Avalon/Lnx/OpnWrt/PPA/W64  (Read 245096 times)
mining4fun11
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
January 06, 2013, 09:30:26 PM
 #521

For some reason any version newer then bfgminer 2.9.1 starts reporting my x6500's dead slowly over time. 
1481319675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319675
Reply with quote  #2

1481319675
Report to moderator
1481319675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319675
Reply with quote  #2

1481319675
Report to moderator
1481319675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319675
Reply with quote  #2

1481319675
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481319675
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481319675

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481319675
Reply with quote  #2

1481319675
Report to moderator
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 06, 2013, 09:54:38 PM
 #522

For some reason any version newer then bfgminer 2.9.1 starts reporting my x6500's dead slowly over time. 
Quite a bit changed for X6500 between 2.9.1 and 2.9.2; are you able to compile and git bisect yourself? If not, we could meet on IRC and go through it with me building each test revision.

joinmicah
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


Crypto-Commodities are the People's Money!


View Profile WWW
January 11, 2013, 11:39:27 PM
 #523

I am having a very weird issue when I use your miner only... I am mining Litecoins and for some reason my Hash Rate is showing in GH/S there is no way I am going 16 - 20+ GH/S on a ATI 5770 what is going on when I use CGMiner it shows KH/S as it should. Can you please look into this.

bfgminer version 2.10.2 - Started: [2013-01-11 18:34:50] - [  0 days 00:03:54]
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
5s:0.000 avg:0.000 u:6.478 Gh/s | A:117 R:4 S:0 HW:0 U:30.2/m
ST: 4  DW: 4  GW: 20  LW: 0  GF: 0  NB: 2  AS: 0  RF: 0  E: 6.43
Connected to mine.pool-x.eu diff 3 with LP as user unknown
Block: bb675e769af3b5f9...  Diff:1.91M  Started: [18:38:20]  Best share: 251
------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[P]ool management [G]PU management ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
OCL 0:  64.0C  48%    | 0.000/0.000/6.533Gh/s | A:118 R:4 HW:0 U: 30.42/m


Do you believe in supporting Crypto-Commodities show some Love!

NXT: 4115487167251540440
NEM: TD2G6N-LNKTRK-ANCMTX-PY2L6N-CLZMBW-GYEUPO-YK77
marketersales
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112



View Profile
January 12, 2013, 07:29:02 PM
 #524

Wow i am impressed. Well done.
witherworth
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 155


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 01:55:40 AM
 #525

I recently switched away from using Phoenix which I'd been using since GUI miner had some issues connecting for a lot of people. I'm the type of person that finds something that works and sticks with it. However, needing to prepare for some new FPGAs and ASICs, I needed to upgrade my mining software. As a test, I put it on my desktop first to play around with, and I noticed a slight performance increase, but I waived it off as a fluke. After I set it up remotely on my dedicated rack, however, I figured out that I got a decently significant increase in performance. Im currently running at 10% faster than with Phoenix, but it'll vary from 5%-15% faster. So, I'm please to say that I've found a new miner. I also like tr fact I can make changes to my mining program without having to stop and restart the process. It makes testing (and saving) different settings really easily. So, a big thanks, and job well done!
kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 14, 2013, 02:17:58 AM
 #526

I recently switched away from using Phoenix which I'd been using since GUI miner had some issues connecting for a lot of people. I'm the type of person that finds something that works and sticks with it. However, needing to prepare for some new FPGAs and ASICs, I needed to upgrade my mining software. As a test, I put it on my desktop first to play around with, and I noticed a slight performance increase, but I waived it off as a fluke. After I set it up remotely on my dedicated rack, however, I figured out that I got a decently significant increase in performance. Im currently running at 10% faster than with Phoenix, but it'll vary from 5%-15% faster. So, I'm please to say that I've found a new miner. I also like tr fact I can make changes to my mining program without having to stop and restart the process. It makes testing (and saving) different settings really easily. So, a big thanks, and job well done!
The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 12:30:08 AM
 #527

And then improved upon...

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 03:24:42 AM
 #528

The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
And then improved upon...
LJR's advertisement campaign was that he was the one who added FPGA support into CGMiner. Kano is specifically pointing out the GPU and API portions of BFGminer, which were copied from CGMiner. IIRC, LJR hasn't touched those areas of his clone BFGminer all that much, if at all.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 04:05:06 AM
 #529

The GPU mining and API are copied from cgminer - he didn't write them Smiley
And then improved upon...
LJR's advertisement campaign was that he was the one who added FPGA support into CGMiner. Kano is specifically pointing out the GPU and API portions of BFGminer, which were copied from CGMiner. IIRC, LJR hasn't touched those areas of his clone BFGminer all that much, if at all.
Let's not have an argument where there isn't one. With regard to the OpenCL driver and RPC API, there is little different in BFGMiner.
Not to dismiss the bugfixes and minor improvements that are there (or the many driver-independent improvements and fixes), but the bulk of this code is still Con (OCL) / Kano (RPC) as-is.

joinmicah
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


Crypto-Commodities are the People's Money!


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2013, 02:26:20 PM
 #530

No answer regarding the big I found with the GH/S showing instead of KH/S?

Do you believe in supporting Crypto-Commodities show some Love!

NXT: 4115487167251540440
NEM: TD2G6N-LNKTRK-ANCMTX-PY2L6N-CLZMBW-GYEUPO-YK77
RoboCoder
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


Save A Life, Adopt a Pet Today!


View Profile WWW
January 15, 2013, 05:01:26 PM
 #531

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 15, 2013, 06:43:41 PM
 #532

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.
Avalon and Deepbit don't seem interested in third-party development this time around, so support for those will likely depend on someone else donating a device or maintaining the code.

kano
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1932


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
January 15, 2013, 10:08:12 PM
 #533

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.
Avalon and Deepbit don't seem interested in third-party development this time around, so support for those will likely depend on someone else donating a device or maintaining the code.
Avalon have Xiangfu doing it.
Avalon comes with cgminer in it, since it is a complete computer, not just a mining device.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 16, 2013, 10:03:19 PM
 #534

I was curious - have you received an asic from any of the companies that plan to release them for use in adding support to BFGMiner or specs at least?
Haven't received any yet, but will be receiving boards from Butterfly Labs, ASICMINER, and bASIC when they're ready.

Unless there was a change, bASIC is out ... gonne ... hasta la vista, baby!
There has been numerous changes; I'm not ruling bASIC out of the game just yet.

mezzomix
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 20, 2013, 12:37:07 PM
 #535

Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Luke-Jr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 01:12:34 PM
 #536

Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Which version were you using before? WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Thistled
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 04:01:32 PM
 #537

Hey Luke-Jr

Any idea why I can't log on to bitminter using stratum?
I am trying to connect using:
stratum+tcp://mint.bitminter.com:3333/
and all I get in return is
"No servers were found that could be used to get work from"

I initially tried bfgminer-2.10.* but Doc Haribo says try it with 2.9.* as it worked for him.

Whatever you do, do it properly!
purelithium
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 04:52:54 PM
 #538

Try using http instead of stratum+tcp. It's worked for me for other pools.

Like my post? 1H7bfRYh7F89mfmFgsRCdn4awDaUHQmYqY
Thistled
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39



View Profile
January 20, 2013, 05:03:50 PM
 #539

Would that be http with port 3333?

Whatever you do, do it properly!
mezzomix
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1610


View Profile
January 20, 2013, 06:03:09 PM
 #540

Yesterday, I changed my bfgminer from an fairly old version to 2.10.2. Now I have the problem that the GPU miner just stops hashing. One GPU thread is on WAIT and the other one is doing a few kh/s. When I stop bfgminer and start it again, it starts hashing again with both threads in the Mh/s area. Pool is eligius.st (getblocktemplate), intensity is 11.
Which version were you using before?

It was one of the early 2.9 versions. Unfortunately I just deleted the old version after the new version started to work.

WAIT means it's waiting on new work from the miner core, which suggests the work producing thread is getting stuck somehow. Can you make a debug log?
Code:
bfgminer all your options first --debuglog 2>debug.log
It would also be helpful to try versions in between (start with half way in between) to narrow down the range of changes that could be responsible.

Is there something indicator that I can search for in the log? Typically it runs for several hours until the mining tasks stop working.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 [27] 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!