Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 02:26:23 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: 896 mh/s firmware release - Butterfly Labs  (Read 17153 times)
Buckwheet
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 108


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 03:52:44 AM
 #21

Flashed one cool one of mine and it is now 857 up from 816.  Temps still around 56 degrees. Grin  Very nice work BFL.

Flashed one of mine and also getting 857, but my temps are 49C.
1480861583
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861583

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861583
Reply with quote  #2

1480861583
Report to moderator
1480861583
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861583

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861583
Reply with quote  #2

1480861583
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480861583
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480861583

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480861583
Reply with quote  #2

1480861583
Report to moderator
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 05:45:43 AM
 #22

Flashed one cool one of mine and it is now 857 up from 816.  Temps still around 56 degrees. Grin  Very nice work BFL.

Flashed one of mine and also getting 857, but my temps are 49C.

Third person also getting 857 MH. Out of 6 rev3's and 2 rev2's, three of the rev3's will run (at 857) without throttling.

Temps are ~55,57,62C on the ones with the higher clocks.

Also interesting note, all units are spaced roughly the same distance apart, and the 857 units do not have significantly higher temps than the stock units.

Fefox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 161



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 08:36:49 AM
 #23



so far 857.7Mh/s with the bitminter miner and no throttling....

when does the 900 Mh/s firmware come out?  Grin
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 09:05:55 PM
 #24

Flashed one cool one of mine and it is now 857 up from 816.  Temps still around 56 degrees. Grin  Very nice work BFL.

Flashed one of mine and also getting 857, but my temps are 49C.

Third person also getting 857 MH. Out of 6 rev3's and 2 rev2's, three of the rev3's will run (at 857) without throttling.

Temps are ~55,57,62C on the ones with the higher clocks.

Also interesting note, all units are spaced roughly the same distance apart, and the 857 units do not have significantly higher temps than the stock units.



In a fairly cold room; also getting 857.7 at around 43-43.7C. Nice work BFL!
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
May 10, 2012, 09:38:01 PM
 #25

This may be surprising to some, but I'm generally more interested in the slower firmware.

I've replaced the stock fans with (much) quieter ones, accepting that some units will occasionally throttle due to the lowered CFM. By loading the 800 or 792 firmware onto those marginal units, I'm able to eliminate throttling and increase their effective speed.

The various firmware versions give me a way to optimize speed vs. noise that wasn't available before. Much appreciated.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
bombo999
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 107


View Profile
May 10, 2012, 09:47:44 PM
 #26

has anyone else encountered a firmware integrity failure ... after attempting to upgrade the firmware ... the following message is listed in the device information ... "Firmware integrity test failed.  Reflash required."
BFL-Engineer
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 227



View Profile WWW
May 10, 2012, 10:07:21 PM
 #27

has anyone else encountered a firmware integrity failure ... after attempting to upgrade the firmware ... the following message is listed in the device information ... "Firmware integrity test failed.  Reflash required."


This happens if during the firmware upload something goes wrong ( power failure, device disconnect, etc).
Once this happens, the unit must be re-flashed.


Regards,
BF Labs Inc.

BF Labs Inc.  www.butterflylabs.com   -  Bitcoin Mining Hardware
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 03:27:19 AM
 #28

Although I'm seeing more MH/s wit the 863 firmware, My "U" in cgminer has gone down and the pools reported GH/s is down too. My average MH/s as reported by cgminer is up about 300MH/s across my 10 singles.

Any thoughts on why the cgminer reported MH/s is up but less work being reported by the pool?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 03:41:24 AM
 #29

Although I'm seeing more MH/s wit the 863 firmware, My "U" in cgminer has gone down and the pools reported GH/s is down too. My average MH/s as reported by cgminer is up about 300MH/s across my 10 singles.

Any thoughts on why the cgminer reported MH/s is up but less work being reported by the pool?
Most likely: U is random - just like block finding.
Check it again in a few days Smiley

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 03:45:10 AM
 #30

Although I'm seeing more MH/s wit the 863 firmware, My "U" in cgminer has gone down and the pools reported GH/s is down too. My average MH/s as reported by cgminer is up about 300MH/s across my 10 singles.

Any thoughts on why the cgminer reported MH/s is up but less work being reported by the pool?
Most likely: U is random - just like block finding.
Check it again in a few days Smiley

Ok, but they have always reported as 8+GH/s on the pools but now only 7.x GH/s.
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 03:46:34 AM
 #31

Although I'm seeing more MH/s wit the 863 firmware, My "U" in cgminer has gone down and the pools reported GH/s is down too. My average MH/s as reported by cgminer is up about 300MH/s across my 10 singles.

Any thoughts on why the cgminer reported MH/s is up but less work being reported by the pool?
Most likely: U is random - just like block finding.
Check it again in a few days Smiley

Ok, but they have always reported as 8+GH/s on the pools but now only 7.x GH/s.
The pools report based on your U. So if you're unlucky for a while, your U goes down, and your pool reports it slower. Doesn't mean you're actually hashing slower for that period.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 03:52:49 AM
 #32

Although I'm seeing more MH/s wit the 863 firmware, My "U" in cgminer has gone down and the pools reported GH/s is down too. My average MH/s as reported by cgminer is up about 300MH/s across my 10 singles.

Any thoughts on why the cgminer reported MH/s is up but less work being reported by the pool?
Most likely: U is random - just like block finding.
Check it again in a few days Smiley

Ok, but they have always reported as 8+GH/s on the pools but now only 7.x GH/s.
The pools report based on your U. So if you're unlucky for a while, your U goes down, and your pool reports it slower. Doesn't mean you're actually hashing slower for that period.

Thank you for the explanation. Makes perfect sense. Does the U also go down when the difficulty goes up?
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 03:56:10 AM
 #33

Although I'm seeing more MH/s wit the 863 firmware, My "U" in cgminer has gone down and the pools reported GH/s is down too. My average MH/s as reported by cgminer is up about 300MH/s across my 10 singles.

Any thoughts on why the cgminer reported MH/s is up but less work being reported by the pool?
Most likely: U is random - just like block finding.
Check it again in a few days Smiley

Ok, but they have always reported as 8+GH/s on the pools but now only 7.x GH/s.
The pools report based on your U. So if you're unlucky for a while, your U goes down, and your pool reports it slower. Doesn't mean you're actually hashing slower for that period.

Thank you for the explanation. Makes perfect sense. Does the U also go down when the difficulty goes up?

Statistically - no.
(but of course, the value of your shares will drop)

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
-ck
Staff
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2012, 05:05:37 AM
 #34

Thank you for the explanation. Makes perfect sense. Does the U also go down when the difficulty goes up?
The utility is based on the difficulty shares you are mining for. Most pools work with difficulty one shares, regardless of the overall bitcoin block difficulty. About the only time you are mining for different difficulty shares is when you're mining on p2pool. (unrelated) However p2pool is a terrible choice to mine with these devices on because of the ~25% work lost.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 03:49:56 PM
 #35

This may be surprising to some, but I'm generally more interested in the slower firmware.

I've replaced the stock fans with (much) quieter ones, accepting that some units will occasionally throttle due to the lowered CFM. By loading the 800 or 792 firmware onto those marginal units, I'm able to eliminate throttling and increase their effective speed.

The various firmware versions give me a way to optimize speed vs. noise that wasn't available before. Much appreciated.


@Epoch:

Just curious, what brand / model fan did you replace the stock one with?


-nbtcminer
abbeytim
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 05:14:18 PM
 #36

heres screenshot with new firmware http://i.imgur.com/dqOYX.jpg  Grin
Epoch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 917



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 05:30:29 PM
 #37

This may be surprising to some, but I'm generally more interested in the slower firmware.

I've replaced the stock fans with (much) quieter ones, accepting that some units will occasionally throttle due to the lowered CFM. By loading the 800 or 792 firmware onto those marginal units, I'm able to eliminate throttling and increase their effective speed.

The various firmware versions give me a way to optimize speed vs. noise that wasn't available before. Much appreciated.

Just curious, what brand / model fan did you replace the stock one with?

I've tried nearly 10 different fans on my Singles; the one I ended up using is the Silenx Effizio EFX-09-15. For what I was looking for, it had the best balance of silence and airflow of the models I've tried.

Out of nine 832Mhps Singles that I have so far retrofitted, 4 run without throttling even up to 27C ambient but the 5 others throttle.

For the 5 throttling ones, I've loaded 800Mhps firmware which allows them to run full-speed (no throttling). Your mileage may vary, of course.

BTC: 1DJVUnLuPA2bERTkyeir8bKn1eSoRCrYvx
NMC: NFcfHSBBnq622pAr1Xoh9KtnBPA5CUn6id
xDGDZEx
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 08:58:56 PM
 #38

This may be surprising to some, but I'm generally more interested in the slower firmware.

I've replaced the stock fans with (much) quieter ones, accepting that some units will occasionally throttle due to the lowered CFM. By loading the 800 or 792 firmware onto those marginal units, I'm able to eliminate throttling and increase their effective speed.

The various firmware versions give me a way to optimize speed vs. noise that wasn't available before. Much appreciated.


I too, am glad for this. Three of my singles would do this thing where they would clearly throttle (reduced output on cgminer) but they wouldn't blink their LEDs. I just installed the 816 MH firmware and now they are sitting at 811 MH and are rock solid. Actually increased my (avg) hash rate from ~6200 to ~6500
jddebug
Sr. Member
****
Online Online

Activity: 420



View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:21:20 PM
 #39

heres screenshot with new firmware http://i.imgur.com/dqOYX.jpg  Grin

 I posted this on another thread too but its best here.

864 runs great on mine too. However, even though the Hash rate is increased, the performance is decreased. I can not figure out why but when I went back to 832 I am doing better than at 862. If mine were throttling I could not tell. No blinking light and hash rate was at expected rate. Just very low U.
Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
May 11, 2012, 09:58:23 PM
 #40

If you run the easyminer test sequence it will tell you if the unit throttles.  Maybe that is worth a try.

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!