Miner_Willy
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 27, 2013, 09:09:06 AM |
|
I figured it out. Thanks for helping.
Hah - my computer calculated there were over 650 million possibilities from your earlier guidance before running out of disk space. Congratulations at bringing it back - it'd be useful to know what your mistake was?
|
|
|
|
jackjack
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 1176
Merit: 1280
May Bitcoin be touched by his Noodly Appendage
|
|
June 27, 2013, 09:11:41 AM |
|
Is there a way of extracting the private key from the wallet ? Im using the latest QT version i have tried a few methods here in total i have tried 1 million + passwords so far Would it be possible to load an old version of the QT wallet ? i think it has 16 characters + maybe 2-4 more if you have an old (unencrypted) version of the wallet, copy it several times, before you do anything you can use pywallet to extract all the keys. For the record, pywallet handles encrypted wallet for several months
|
Own address: 19QkqAza7BHFTuoz9N8UQkryP4E9jHo4N3 - Pywallet support: 1AQDfx22pKGgXnUZFL1e4UKos3QqvRzNh5 - Bitcointalk++ script support: 1Pxeccscj1ygseTdSV1qUqQCanp2B2NMM2 Pywallet: instructions. Encrypted wallet support, export/import keys/addresses, backup wallets, export/import CSV data from/into wallet, merge wallets, delete/import addresses and transactions, recover altcoins sent to bitcoin addresses, sign/verify messages and files with Bitcoin addresses, recover deleted wallets, etc.
|
|
|
HeroC
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 858
Merit: 1000
|
|
June 27, 2013, 01:46:50 PM |
|
If it was once un-encrypted, you can roll-back the folder, and hopefully find an unencrypted one. Edit: I figured it out. Thanks for helping.
Didn't see that, Good Job!
|
|
|
|
kentt
Member
Offline
Activity: 103
Merit: 10
|
|
June 28, 2013, 03:02:49 AM |
|
I figured it out. Thanks for helping.
Hah - my computer calculated there were over 650 million possibilities from your earlier guidance before running out of disk space. Congratulations at bringing it back - it'd be useful to know what your mistake was? all lowercase, no spaces. I 'never' make passwords like that. I got it from generating only 2^14 passwords.
|
|
|
|
Miner_Willy
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 13
Merit: 0
|
|
June 28, 2013, 05:28:06 PM |
|
I figured it out. Thanks for helping.
Hah - my computer calculated there were over 650 million possibilities from your earlier guidance before running out of disk space. Congratulations at bringing it back - it'd be useful to know what your mistake was? all lowercase, no spaces. I 'never' make passwords like that. I got it from generating only 2^14 passwords. That's some good luck right there. Well done!
|
|
|
|
byte1
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 45
Merit: 0
|
|
August 15, 2013, 04:08:01 PM |
|
I have for the last 24hrs tried some of the solutions listed here to recover my password but cannot seem to get anything working. I cannot find my unencrypted wallet either from backups over the last few years. anyone here can help?
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 12, 2013, 04:36:30 PM Last edit: September 12, 2013, 05:36:35 PM by Thistled |
|
The thing is, and I am really confused here.
I don't run bitcoind, I only run Bitcoin-QT, so where do I put the brute.rb file?
The thing is, if I install bitcoind and place the brute.rb file in the newly created bitcoind folder, how the hell is that supposed to find my passphrase, as the passphrase was created using bitcoin-qt.
Aggggghhhhh!
To make matters worse. I have just installed bitcoind, and it hasn't created a .bitcoind folder. WTF?
Using Gentoo with systemd here.
|
|
|
|
Luke-Jr
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 2576
Merit: 1186
|
|
September 12, 2013, 06:26:48 PM |
|
Just add a few lines to your ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf file (create it if it doesn't exist): rpcuser=bitcoinrpc rpcpassword=somethingsecure server=1 Then run Bitcoin-Qt, and it will behave like bitcoind as well.
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 12, 2013, 07:53:35 PM Last edit: September 12, 2013, 08:07:33 PM by Thistled |
|
This will mean the original ruby script will need changed, as it refers to the existence of /.bitcoind which I do not have.
Should I change the system=/.bitcoind reference in the ruby script to bitcoin-qt ? Should I run the brute.rb script from the parent directory of .bitcoin, because if I don't it will reside in the same folder as wallet.dat, which as far as I understand, you should not do.
Also, because I am not running bitcoind, but bitcoin-qt with the settings Luke-Jnr suggested, then how do I "getinfo" before running the script?
So many frustrating questions.
TIA.
Thistled.
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 12, 2013, 11:07:14 PM |
|
So if system=./bitcoind does not exist, what should I replace it with?
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 13, 2013, 04:09:07 PM |
|
Here's one for mik3 @ https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=170137 . Anyone on Windows or who's had trouble getting these scripts to run may want to grab the test() function from this one. It uses JSON-RPC instead of calling bitcoind, as suggested by 2112 above. #!/usr/bin/ruby require "net/http" require "json"
# Fill in your RPC username and password from your bitcoin.conf here. $rpc_auth = "user", "pass"
max_bangs = 10 words = [ [ "one" , "One" , "ONE"] , [ "two" , "Two" , "TWO"] , [ "three" , "Three" , "THREE"] , [ "four" , "Four" , "FOUR"] , ]
def test(passphrase) puts passphrase request = Net::HTTP::Post.new("/") request.basic_auth *$rpc_auth request.body = { method:"walletpassphrase", params:[passphrase, 1] }.to_json response = Net::HTTP.new("localhost", 8332).request(request) if response.code == "401" ; puts "Incorrect RPC user/pass" ; exit 1 ; end ret = JSON.parse response.body if ret["error"].nil? ; puts "\nFound it! #{passphrase.inspect}" ; exit ; end return if ret["error"]["code"] == -14 # wrong passphrase raise "WTF? #{ret.inspect}" end
def spin(phrase, array) return phrase if array.empty? array.first.map do |word| p = phrase.dup.push word spin(p, array[1,99]) end end
spin([], words).flatten(words.count - 1).each do |phrase| phrase.permutation(words.count) do |shuffled| (max_bangs + 1).times do |bangs| test shuffled.join(" ") + ("!" * bangs) end end end
puts "No luck."
When I attempt to run this I get... json.rb:20: syntax error, unexpected tSYMBEG, expecting kDO or '{' or '(' request.body = { method:"walletpassphrase", params:[pas... ^ is this because I am trying to run the script on Linux. I aint a programmer but got the idea the " should be replaced with ( but that didn't make any difference either.
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 13, 2013, 07:08:58 PM |
|
** UPDATE ** Okay, as I am using Gentoo Linux, I checked out which version of Ruby my system was set to use. I have ruby 20 installed, but the system was using 18. It is now set to 20 and I think the script is working. (The syntax errors have gone) However I think I might have to play around with the "words" in the script. I am currently having to rebuild the block index again so I am not sure if the script will succeed while thats going on. Should I wait until it has finished re-indexing?
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 14, 2013, 01:15:35 AM |
|
Okay, thanks for all the advice / suggestions. Still rebuilding the index. So, I suppose it will be tomorrow now before I can try this script. TIA. Thistled.
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 15, 2013, 04:41:15 PM |
|
Would you believe I am still reindexing. It seems there is a problem with 0.8.4 and there are a few posts in here suggesting the same problem with 0.8.5.
Anyhow, the scripts provided seem to be moving characters around as opposed to substituting an e with a 3. How the hell do I achieve this? I know my passphrase, I just can't remember which characters are replaced with numbers.
Any clever ruby scripters in here?
|
|
|
|
Thistled
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 39
Merit: 0
|
|
September 16, 2013, 08:05:07 PM |
|
** UPDATE **
I have fixed it and found the passphrase. I was only 2 digits out.
Looks like the Ruby script was not very good at finding my passphrase until I substituted lower case with upper case. Man, I thought that was what the script was supposed to do.
I more or less had the passphrase correct before it actually found it. In the end I was only out by about 2 characters.
Thanks for all the help and support.
Thistled.
|
|
|
|
gmaxwell
Staff
Legendary
Offline
Activity: 4270
Merit: 8805
|
|
September 16, 2013, 09:21:01 PM |
|
Congrats!
FWIW, there are john the ripper patches for wallet.dat passphrases (which can attempt about 8 tries per second) ... also support for bc.i passphrases, with speeds more like 10 million per second.
|
|
|
|
Liquid
|
|
September 29, 2013, 02:32:02 PM |
|
Congrats!
FWIW, there are john the ripper patches for wallet.dat passphrases (which can attempt about 8 tries per second) ... also support for bc.i passphrases, with speeds more like 10 million per second.
any word on this bc.i passphrases ?
|
Bitcoin will show the world what hard money really is.
|
|
|
cycloid
|
|
September 30, 2013, 03:29:08 AM |
|
meh i am still dicking around with my 15k ltc wallet any progress on litecoin wallet tools?
|
|
|
|
captchunk
Member
Offline
Activity: 112
Merit: 10
|
|
November 07, 2013, 04:33:06 AM |
|
Are Electrum wallets doable as well? I've lost my pass and seed. Couldn't even get a dump with pywallet and an electrum.dat file.
Bounty for anyone who can help of course.
|
|
|
|
nobbie
Newbie
Offline
Activity: 6
Merit: 0
|
|
November 08, 2013, 05:29:50 AM |
|
revalin?? can you please help me?
your ruby scripts seam to be working okay for my windows pc *if i delete the exit if found it section and change /.bitcoind to /.multibit and i can get it to do what i require almost im just unsure if its testing my pass word
i think i may know the first part well, thiers about 10- 20 diffrent possibilities but i can run and attemtempt each one after much thought im almost 100% of the phrase and pretty sure it has a #after it but i cant seam to get the number combination right its between 1 and 4 numbers on the end between 20-30 charcters long all together
can you help? im running windows but the earlier scripts you posted seam to work the best becuse i dont have a rpc or user name for multibit
CAN YOU PLEASE HELP??
i dont have much invested but its all i have i can pay 0.01 or 0.001 if i must
|
|
|
|
|