Bitcoin Forum
October 22, 2019, 05:25:57 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 [269] 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 ... 487 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Sia - Decentralized Storage  (Read 1344243 times)
dashingriddler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 26, 2017, 04:27:38 PM
Last edit: July 27, 2017, 12:31:08 AM by mprep
 #5361

If you were upgrading from 1.1.1 (and not 1.2.x) then it is normal it takes a very long time (even several hours) as the client is going to re-scan the whole blockchain to find out the funds you have in the wallet

It can be much longer if you were hosting.  They changed the they manage storage space in the 1.2 upgrade, so if you were hosting, I have heard of people taking 48hrs to upgrade - especially if you were using HDD, rather the SSD.

Also I have found that when you shutdown the client to upgrade, it may take a few minutes for the said process to actually stop.  When you try to start the new client/daemon, it will complain it is already running.

In both cases, the answer is patience, although 48 hours is a lot of patience. Smiley

Alright. I think it is near completion.
Let it run for more than 4 hours just now and it only asked me for the password once then it shut itself down a couple of times. Now it is restarted and still syncing now at block #115975 which I think is almost completely synced after a week now.

But it is still showing v1.1.1 after all of those restarts. Embarrassed

Okay it just completed syncing at #115976  Cheesy

It asked me for the password when I clicked on the wallet tab and now back to unlocking your wallet again. Undecided

Hope it doesn't do this for another 6 hours like yesterday and still not showing the new version showing up.



Joined the slack channel just now
so will continue my progression on getting this upgraded from 1.1.1 to 1.3.1 the latest update on there for anymore problems I encounter.
Thank you!

dashingriddler

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
1571765157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571765157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571765157
Reply with quote  #2

1571765157
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571765157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571765157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571765157
Reply with quote  #2

1571765157
Report to moderator
1571765157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571765157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571765157
Reply with quote  #2

1571765157
Report to moderator
1571765157
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571765157

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571765157
Reply with quote  #2

1571765157
Report to moderator
CryptoWinner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 01:36:42 PM
 #5362

From Taek on Slack:

v1.3.0 is here!

Please see the release notes for a full list of changes. Highlights include greatly improved stability, including better transaction propagation, the ability to restore redundancy without having the file locally, and lots of general bugfixes. We have made more than 500 commits since v1.2.2 spanning thousands of lines of new code, and thousands of lines of new tests.

Sia API: https://github.com/NebulousLabs/Sia/releases/tag/v1.3.0
Sia UI: https://github.com/NebulousLabs/Sia-UI/releases/tag/v1.3.0

Great news for the project and thanks for update. Coders are doing a good job!

   SEMUX   -   An innovative high-performance blockchain platform   
▬▬▬▬▬      Powered by Semux BFT consensus algorithm      ▬▬▬▬▬
Github    -    Discord    -    Twitter    -    Telegram    -    Get Free Airdrop Now!
dashingriddler
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 27, 2017, 01:41:46 PM
 #5363

OKay I saw the problem.
Since I didn't delete the previous verison I was starting the old version of 1.1.1 program. I thought I overwrote all the old files but it installed into the root directory instead.
No big problem but now started using the correct program labelled 1.3.0 now instead and all is good.

Started the program and received an error log telling me to restart the slad.

I have seen this issue encountered by others on the reddit blog about this new release.
So will just follow instructions from there from now on.
Thank you community in any advise given to me here.

Kind regards,

dashingriddler

CENTRA

            ▄▄▄██████████▄▄▄
        ▄▄████████████████████▄▄
      ▄███████▀▀         ▀▀███████▄
    ▄█████▀                  ▀██████
   █████▀      ▄▄▄█████▄▄      ▀█████▄
  █████     ▄██████████████▄     ▀████▄
 █████     ██████▀▀  ▀▀██████▄    ▀████
▐████     █████          █████     █████
█████    ▐████                     ▐████
█████    █████                     ▐████
█████     █████          ▄████▌    █████
 ████▌    ▀█████▄▄    ▄▄█████▀    ▄████▌
 ▀████▄     ▀██████████████▀     ▄████▀
  ▀█████▄     `▀████████▀▀     ▄█████▀
   `██████▄                  ▄██████
     ▀███████▄▄          ▄▄███████▀
       ▀██████████████████████▀
           ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀

.
.
.
.
darval
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 93
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 05:56:03 PM
 #5364

Started the program and received an error log telling me to restart the slad.

I have seen this issue encountered by others on the reddit blog about this new release.

This often happens when you close the client and immediately try to reopen it.  Basically the old daemon is still running (shutting down) and you try to start the new one.  This fails and tells you to restart the daemon.

It sometimes takes a while to shutdown and the only way to tell is to see if siad is still running.  If it is, best to probably just wait, although I have been known to kill the process if it takes too long.  Doesn't seem to hurt but your mileage may vary.

BTC Kano Pool ❱❱ Looking for Profitable Bitcoin Mining? ❱❱ Join Kano Pool!
0.9% feePPLNSBest Support ✓  kano.is
Tip Jar: 1Darva1PUnXre7hySVBFCHzhCYQMVLEbRq
Lucky7btc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1237
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 06:22:30 PM
 #5365

Yes be sure when you close your wallet to allow a few moment before restarting it...
digaran
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 910
Merit: 613

111113DUwES2ZNWSJztA3oBuhzfcdmiaG


View Profile
July 27, 2017, 09:03:02 PM
 #5366

Why am I not surprised? in order to host files and earn money I'd need to have 2000 tokens in my wallet, this is like steemit, have some steem to have power when you up vote people and then earn money, no thanks.

HOWEYCOINS   ▮      Excitement and         ⭐  ● TWITTER  ● FACEBOOK   ⭐      
  ▮    guaranteed returns                 ●TELEGRAM                         
  ▮  of the travel industry
    ⭐  ●Ann Thread ●Instagram   ⭐ 
✅    U.S.Sec    ➡️
✅  approved!  ➡️
Dr Charles
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1080



View Profile WWW
July 27, 2017, 10:44:26 PM
 #5367

Why am I not surprised? in order to host files and earn money I'd need to have 2000 tokens in my wallet, this is like steemit, have some steem to have power when you up vote people and then earn money, no thanks.

Uh.... yea you have to have SC in your wallet in order to host files for others. The SC in your wallet becomes collateral so if you have a shit computer/connection and the files are never online then you lose your collateral. You dont just earn SC for nothing.

If you didnt have to provide collateral to host files then the whole network would be garbage and you wouldnt be able to access your files when you need to.

narrrf
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 271
Merit: 101


View Profile
July 28, 2017, 10:56:19 AM
 #5368

Siacoin's deposite and withdraws freezed on Poloniex?


"SC is currently under maintenance or experiencing wallet/network issues. Deposits and withdrawals will remain disabled until a solution is found, which may require an update from the SC team. Any updates must be tested and audited before enabling."

Why?

How long is it freezed
xurious
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 413
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 28, 2017, 11:57:28 AM
 #5369

Why am I not surprised? in order to host files and earn money I'd need to have 2000 tokens in my wallet, this is like steemit, have some steem to have power when you up vote people and then earn money, no thanks.

Uh.... yea you have to have SC in your wallet in order to host files for others. The SC in your wallet becomes collateral so if you have a shit computer/connection and the files are never online then you lose your collateral. You dont just earn SC for nothing.

If you didnt have to provide collateral to host files then the whole network would be garbage and you wouldnt be able to access your files when you need to.

Bingo!

SiaMining.com -- First PPS SiaMining Pool! 3%, VarDiff, Stratum Support
unusualfacts30
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 28, 2017, 12:15:57 PM
 #5370

Is it still lucrative to "mine" Sia by providing disk space? How much will I need in order to make good revenues?

Offering your disk space is called "hosting" or "farming" (In opposition to "mining"). You set up your own pricing, but you have to be competitive in order to get file contracts. Top hosts target to $1-2/Tb/month.

If have access to cheap HDDs, under certain scales and setups you could make ROI in less than a year. Right now the network is still underused, but the usage is growing fast, so probably in half year or 1 year good hosts will be able to host dozens of Terabytes an be profitable. Of course you'll still need cheap hardware (24/7 server-like infrastructure) and good bandwidth. But the advantages, compared to mining, is that electricity costs are minimal and there is not a increase in difficulty over time: if you remain competitive, you keep getting contracts

Do you leave your computer on all the time? What about the cost of electricity? What happens if your hard drive crashes and you lose their files? Do you lose the tokens from your collateral? I have a junk pc set up that I don't use, perhaps I should use it for this.
Hakkane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422
Merit: 270



View Profile
July 28, 2017, 02:04:08 PM
 #5371

Do you leave your computer on all the time? What about the cost of electricity? What happens if your hard drive crashes and you lose their files? Do you lose the tokens from your collateral? I have a junk pc set up that I don't use, perhaps I should use it for this.

- Yes, you need to leave it on 24/7. Hosts need to fulfill Proofs of Storage over the course of the contract. If they don't (uptime of 97%) they lose both the potential earnings of the contract and the collateral put on that contract

- If done properly, electricity costs can be negligible (under 50Watts). Consider low TDP CPUs, 5.4k rpm instead of 7.2k rpm disks...

- If it crashes and you lose the data, you miss the Proofs of Storage and so you lose the contract and the collateral. If you have a multi-disk setup, using some RAID redundancy is a great idea to prevent data loss
BillCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 259



View Profile
July 28, 2017, 02:15:29 PM
 #5372

Why am I not surprised? in order to host files and earn money I'd need to have 2000 tokens in my wallet, this is like steemit, have some steem to have power when you up vote people and then earn money, no thanks.
Ofcrouse u would have to.
It's a kind of collateral, in order to be a part of the network you have to invest in the network, it is also helps to prevent attacks by nodes, which will keep out from attacking because they have a collateral to lose.
SC is pretty cheap now and 2000 tokens worth less then 2$, can't see a reason why someone who wants to earn from hosting files will give up on it just because he has to have a small collateral
PorcoRosso
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 28, 2017, 09:37:31 PM
 #5373

Guys tell please, i load old 0.3.3 wallet with command "siac wallet load 033x" and see all transaction, but balance is 0.
luksbit
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 28, 2017, 09:46:12 PM
 #5374

Guys tell please, i load old 0.3.3 wallet with command "siac wallet load 033x" and see all transaction, but balance is 0.


I do not understand, is this an old version? And when you load your balance is zeroed? Did you backup the old wallet?
Hakkane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 422
Merit: 270



View Profile
July 28, 2017, 09:56:05 PM
 #5375

Guys tell please, i load old 0.3.3 wallet with command "siac wallet load 033x" and see all transaction, but balance is 0.


Is your client fully synchronized to the blockchain? If not synchronized, it will not show the Tx until the block it was included in is downloaded
unusualfacts30
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 29, 2017, 05:44:47 AM
 #5376

Do you leave your computer on all the time? What about the cost of electricity? What happens if your hard drive crashes and you lose their files? Do you lose the tokens from your collateral? I have a junk pc set up that I don't use, perhaps I should use it for this.

- Yes, you need to leave it on 24/7. Hosts need to fulfill Proofs of Storage over the course of the contract. If they don't (uptime of 97%) they lose both the potential earnings of the contract and the collateral put on that contract

- If done properly, electricity costs can be negligible (under 50Watts). Consider low TDP CPUs, 5.4k rpm instead of 7.2k rpm disks...

- If it crashes and you lose the data, you miss the Proofs of Storage and so you lose the contract and the collateral. If you have a multi-disk setup, using some RAID redundancy is a great idea to prevent data loss

Interesting. Thanks for the valuable info, I'll see if I can set it up and get at least one contract running to see how things work. IfI use 20 TB, what's ROI on that with lets say $1/TB
BillCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 259



View Profile
July 29, 2017, 07:48:44 AM
 #5377

Guys tell please, i load old 0.3.3 wallet with command "siac wallet load 033x" and see all transaction, but balance is 0.


I suggest you to update your wallet to the 1.3 version, it could be the problem.
Anyway you should wait your wallet to sync with the network so you can see your last transactions
xtyling
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588
Merit: 250

Crypto is Life!


View Profile
July 29, 2017, 08:44:58 AM
 #5378

Is Siacoin the next big ROI on longterm for year 2018 ?
obszoenling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 29, 2017, 09:55:25 AM
 #5379

I asked the magic conch shell and it says "yes". So you can invest now.

★ ★ ★ ★ ★   DeepOnion    Anonymous and Untraceable Cryptocurrency    TOR INTEGRATED & SECURED   ★ ★ ★ ★ ★
› › › › ›  JOIN THE NEW AIRDROP ✈️        VERIFIED WITH DEEPVAULT  ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹ ‹
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   ANN  WHITEPAPER  FACEBOOK  TWITTER  YOUTUBE  FORUM   ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬
BillCoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 259



View Profile
July 29, 2017, 01:19:40 PM
 #5380

Is Siacoin the next big ROI on longterm for year 2018 ?
I think SIA has a very bright future.
The idea is genius and it opens the way to the cloud storage market which is very large, once one of the big companies find out and invest on it, it could skyrocket the price to new levels, just as happened with xrp.
Sia market is pretty small now and has huge potential to grow.
Pages: « 1 ... 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 [269] 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 ... 487 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!