Bitcoin Forum
September 21, 2021, 09:35:33 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 »
  Print  
Author Topic: SRBPolaris V3.5 - BIOS editor for AMD RX4XX and RX5XX cards  (Read 124532 times)
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 279


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 05:31:19 AM
 #561

Hi doktor83

I try pimp my strap from SRBPolaris, it really boost performance but not stable. Cryptonight V7 from 850 h/s become 920 h/s. even ethash algorithm also improve a bit.
out of 10 card RX 580 8 GB Hynix(H5GQ8H24MJR) memory, 9 of them is not stable so only 1 card is stable.

any advice how to make it stable?

Thanks.

Lower memory frequency?
1632260133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260133
Reply with quote  #2

1632260133
Report to moderator
1632260133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260133
Reply with quote  #2

1632260133
Report to moderator
1632260133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260133
Reply with quote  #2

1632260133
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1632260133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260133
Reply with quote  #2

1632260133
Report to moderator
1632260133
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1632260133

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1632260133
Reply with quote  #2

1632260133
Report to moderator
lebuawu2
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 176
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 05:59:15 AM
 #562

Hi doktor83

I try pimp my strap from SRBPolaris, it really boost performance but not stable. Cryptonight V7 from 850 h/s become 920 h/s. even ethash algorithm also improve a bit.
out of 10 card RX 580 8 GB Hynix(H5GQ8H24MJR) memory, 9 of them is not stable so only 1 card is stable.

any advice how to make it stable?

Thanks.

Lower memory frequency?

I prefer to set higher some value in memory strap rather than lowering the memory clock. because with one click timing from Polaris editor 1.6.7 I can set memory clock 2250 and stable no memory error. So I also expect with SRBPolaris Pimp My Strap I can set the same memory clock.
I even able to make custom from one click timing Polaris Editor 1.6.7 to get higher hash rate with same memory clock 2250 and stable.
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
April 30, 2018, 05:58:25 PM
 #563

PLEASE EXPLAIN "PIMP MY STRAP"--

Over the weekend I have read the entire thread.  I have not modified GPU BIOS much, but I am considering taking my 6 Sapphire Nitro RX 460 cards off of the shelf and building a low-power rig with them (again).  They have been kept in stock condition.  I'd like to unlock the shaders and mod the straps.

Stepwise, how should I approach this?  I have not used any Polaris BIOS editor yet,  if I click "Pimp My Straps", what happens internally with the editor?  Is a stored database searched for a match?

Not trolling, just really curious.  I am going to set up a dual-boot Win 7/Lubuntu 16.04 box for modding and mining with the six cards.  I want to mod the cards in Win 7, then reboot to linux and mine.  Ideally, I'd like to mine with either OS.  Will the ATIKMDAG patcher work with the latest AMD Adrenaline drivers on the Win 7 OS?

Hope that I am not asking too many questions.  Thank you for any response.       --scryptr


TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
Bixbitecoin
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 3


View Profile WWW
April 30, 2018, 06:06:19 PM
 #564

We are waiting for a new version for a new videocard

BIXBITE COIN (https://bixbite.pro)
TELEGRAM (https://t.me/bixbitecoin)
citronick
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1834
Merit: 1080


---- winter*juvia -----


View Profile
May 08, 2018, 09:42:25 AM
Merited by scryptr (12)
 #565

doktor - can you consider supporting R9 cards for this tool? thanks

If I provided you good and useful info or just a smile to your day, consider sending me merit points to further validate this Bitcointalk account ~ useful for future account recovery...
doktor83
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764
Merit: 611


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2018, 05:06:33 PM
 #566

doktor - can you consider supporting R9 cards for this tool? thanks

No, this is it guys, nothing more to add Smiley

SRBMiner-MULTI thread - HERE
http://www.srbminer.com
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
May 13, 2018, 01:08:06 PM
Last edit: May 13, 2018, 04:30:30 PM by scryptr
 #567

doktor - can you consider supporting R9 cards for this tool? thanks

No, this is it guys, nothing more to add Smiley

WOULD YOU ADD A "HOW-TO" POST? --

Or a brief explanation of the "Pimp my Strap" process?   Is a database searched?      --scryptr

EDIT:  A brief post explaining how to unlock the compute units on an RX 460/560 would be appreciated.  This stuff may seem obvious to you, but I need to set up a Windows box from scratch to use your modding utility.  Is Win 10 or Win 7 better?  

I mine with Linux.  Thank you for any response...       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
scryptr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1785
Merit: 1025



View Profile WWW
May 15, 2018, 04:28:19 PM
Last edit: May 16, 2018, 12:14:39 PM by scryptr
 #568

SIMPLE "HOW-TO" POST--

After waiting for a reply, I went ahead and BIOS-modded my cards.  My miners are on Linux boxes, Ubuntu based.  I did not want to attach/re-attach GPUs and mod them on Windows boxes.  So, this is what I did:

      I ported into the Linux box with BitVise SSH client from my Win 7 X64 box.  From the command line, using ATIFLASH for Linux and after hard reboot, I saved the stock BIOS of each card in the rig.  Command line - "sudo atiflash -s 0  580-0.rom".  This is a 4-card rig, so I  repeated the step for each card,  changing the number after the "-s" flag, and the number in the BIOS filename to match each time. This produced four files, each named "580-X.rom", where "X" is the number 0 through 3 and matches the GPU mining position.  At this point, I copied all BIOS files to a backup directory.    In the backup directory, each of the files could be re-named to include the serial number of the appropriate card.

     Using BitVise SSH client, I copied the original saved BIOS files to my Win 7 X64 box.  A thumb drive could also be used, but it takes more time.

     Using SRBPolaris (a Windows program),  I opened each BIOS file one-at-a-time, went to the second tab in the editor, and clicked on "Pimp MY Strap".  I then saved the files as "580-XPIMP.rom", where "X" matched the GPU number as described above.

     Using BitVise, the files were transferred back to the Linux mining box.  Using ATIFLASH, each newly modded 580-XPIMP.rom was flashed on to the GPUs, one-at-a-time.  Command line - "sudo atiflash -p 0 580-0PIMP.rom", where the number before the "PIMP" text matched the number after the "-p" flag and the GPU number as described above.

NO other programs were running on the mining box while saving or programming the BIOS files.  After writing the BIOS mods to the cards, I rebooted.  Mining started on reboot, and I noticed a 20-25% increase in XMR hashrate on my Sapphire Nitro+ rig with Samsung memory.  A similar rig, with Sapphire Nitro+ cards and Hynix/Elpida memory, got a 10-15% increase in Ethereum hashrate.  These are all dual-BIOS  cards, and the stock BIOS is still in place on the second position.  And, Linux does not require the ATIkmdag patcher, it just mines.

I am still not clear on how to unlock compute units on GTX 460 cards.  Is this done with only the "Pimp my Straps" button?  Please inform me before I ruin my cards.  Thank you...       --scryptr

NOTE: My Win 7 X64 box has nVidia drivers and a GTX 1080ti card for graphics.  AMD drivers are not required while simply editing the RX Series BIOS file.  There is also a Linux version of Polaris BIOS Editor (PBE).  It works just fine but needs to be compiled from Git and launched with Mono. Linux PBE needs a desktop display, it is not a console tool for a headless system.  My Linux mining boxes are all headless.       --scryptr

TIPS:  BTC - 1Fs4uZ6a9ABYBTaHGUfqcwCQmeBRxkKRQT    DASH - XrK81tW31SLsVvZ2WX9VhTjpT6GXJPLdbQ
          SCRYPTR'S NOTEBOOK: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=5035515.msg46035530#msg46035530
          GITHUB: "github.com/scryptr"  MERIT is appreciated, also.  Thanks!
cirlama
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 1


View Profile
May 18, 2018, 03:09:48 PM
 #569

Hi all,
trying to further optimize the straps  of my old sapphire nitro+ rx-480 4g elpida, I tried to flash it and got an error

even I run in admin: atiflash -fm -fs -fa -fp -f -p 0 2018-05-18-rx480.rom, it runs a few seconds and I get "read rom error 0FL01", and the same with atiwinflash...

atiflash -i gets

adapter bn dn fn dID       asic           flash      romsize test    bios p/n
======= == == == ==== =============== ============== ======= ==== ==============
   0    01 00 00 67DF Polaris10       W25X40           80000 pass       -

I managed to flash back the original rom once, and now error 0FL01 each time

If I do it we the GUI of atiwinflash, same error

Any nice idea?
(I don't think the shorting of pins 1-8 applies, I understand it allows to see the card, but I see it and the card runs and mine...)
Milosh V
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 20, 2018, 11:40:39 AM
 #570

SRBPolaris reports some crazy default frequencies for Gigabyte RX560 5120 core, 70126 memory,vddc state flag 232,and same problem with asus rx470 8GB..

http://www.mediafire.com/file/9aqc39ji1a91bot/Asus_RX470_8GB.rom

http://www.mediafire.com/file/kv52dy7e1wfbwi6/Gigabyte%20rx560%20Hynix.rom
svdinu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 34
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 22, 2018, 05:13:01 PM
 #571

SRBPolaris reports some crazy default frequencies for Gigabyte RX560 5120 core, 70126 memory,vddc state flag 232,and same problem with asus rx470 8GB..

http://www.mediafire.com/file/9aqc39ji1a91bot/Asus_RX470_8GB.rom

http://www.mediafire.com/file/kv52dy7e1wfbwi6/Gigabyte%20rx560%20Hynix.rom

They look ok in PBE 2.2
Milosh V
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 23, 2018, 12:11:37 PM
 #572

SRBPolaris reports some crazy default frequencies for Gigabyte RX560 5120 core, 70126 memory,vddc state flag 232,and same problem with asus rx470 8GB..

http://www.mediafire.com/file/9aqc39ji1a91bot/Asus_RX470_8GB.rom

http://www.mediafire.com/file/kv52dy7e1wfbwi6/Gigabyte%20rx560%20Hynix.rom

They look ok in PBE 2.2


I know, work in PBE 1.6.8 and in PBE 2.2 by mattthew also work in PBE 3.2 Tweaked, work ok because there is no Def. Freq. option..
Iamtutut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 128


View Profile
May 28, 2018, 06:43:51 AM
 #573

Well, it's time to try it.
cingibi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 28, 2018, 11:39:20 PM
 #574

@doktor83

i have this card
GV-RX560GAMING OC-4GD/FY0/05B8
https://www.techpowerup.com/vgabios/196888/196888
def bios link  https://drive.google.com/open?id=1RXn1F8izHjh6w_quZvr2_Cm9gsy4KaIP

srbpolaris Error when trying to open my bios
please help me
thnks
chieftech
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 30, 2018, 11:10:24 PM
 #575

Hi @doktor83

Got a gigabyte gpu from a friend few days ago.
GV-RX580GAMING-8GD/F91/068B
Here is the stock bios: https://drive.google.com/file/d/19RL7fIsFMaQlPAieBYxFEThy4to4Grab/view?usp=sharing

Can u pls help me modding it.
thanks in advance

Moonwalkers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 01, 2018, 09:21:48 PM
 #576

I have 6 RX580 8gb cards.. I just finished modding one.. but for some reason my original mhs was 20-21.5 now it went up to 23.5mh/s ... How are some people getting close to or over 30mh/s??

any help will be highly appreciated.
Branko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 279


View Profile
June 01, 2018, 09:23:15 PM
 #577

I have 6 RX580 8gb cards.. I just finished modding one.. but for some reason my original mhs was 20-21.5 now it went up to 23.5mh/s ... How are some people getting close to or over 30mh/s??

any help will be highly appreciated.


Easily...find good strap, flash bios, OC as far as it go, use latest drivers and mining program, don't forget to choose "compute"
Iamtutut
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 128


View Profile
June 01, 2018, 10:16:51 PM
 #578

Doctor, winatiflash 2.77 being broken with win 10 1803 build, do you think you can transform your editor to also make it flash bioses ?
Moonwalkers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2018, 06:48:01 PM
 #579

I have 6 RX580 8gb cards.. I just finished modding one.. but for some reason my original mhs was 20-21.5 now it went up to 23.5mh/s ... How are some people getting close to or over 30mh/s??

any help will be highly appreciated.


Easily...find good strap, flash bios, OC as far as it go, use latest drivers and mining program, don't forget to choose "compute"




thanks Branko! I'm really new on the mining world.. I am currently using SMOS with suprnova mining pool. when i was mining ether my hash/card were about 26mhs-27mhs.... still not mining, where i want it to be
Smokeyw
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 229
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
June 09, 2018, 12:27:39 PM
 #580

i have the asus rx 480 strix 8 gb i dont get higher then 27mh/s what i change with the memory the hashrate dont change at all
maybe anyone can help me ??
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 [29] 30 31 32 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!