Bitcoin Forum
November 14, 2019, 09:20:11 PM *
News: 10th anniversary art contest
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Which USB hub to use with Block Erupters | NanoFury NF1 | BPMC Red Fury | Ant U1  (Read 128276 times)
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 12, 2013, 07:35:10 AM
Last edit: August 12, 2013, 08:09:05 AM by Nemo1024
 #321

My guide is based on other people's experience. 6 was a theoretical limit, given a 3A AC adapter (as per reviews/remarked in footnote). How strong is the adapter that you recevied? What do you connect this hub to (another hub/directly to PC)?

Main table has been updated and split into 3 distinct categories.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
The Bitcoin Forum is turning 10 years old! Join the community in sharing and exploring the notable posts made over the years.
1573766411
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1573766411

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1573766411
Reply with quote  #2

1573766411
Report to moderator
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 349
Merit: 250


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
August 12, 2013, 12:12:13 PM
 #322

Thanks!

I doubt if the ones from your local store have the 3.5A PSU.  For that price, I'm almost sure they come with the inferior 400mA or similar PSU as sold on the Bay.  Have you verified it?  If they do indeed have the 3.5A AC adapter, I sure would like to buy a bunch of them from your local store.  Even with a 2.5A adapter, they'd still be dirt cheap.  Where's your locality, BTW?

I only populated the front ports because I have exactly 35 miners (i.e. 7 x 5 = 35) in hand.  I'll have more BEs coming in tomorrow.

I have personally confirmed that they have the 3.5A PSU (I have 4 in hand).  This is from my campus electronics supply store.

Are you able to fit miners in the back ports?  Have you tried mining with all 7?  Also, how do you have the hubs connected (daisy chain or hub-spoke)?

Great setup once again.

Dan

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
Josue
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 63
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 12, 2013, 12:31:05 PM
 #323

Another cheap Hub USB: aprox 15€

SONYTEC HUB NEXOOS 395

7 Ports (2 vertical behind)

5 V 3 Amp

Test ok with 5 USB Erupters in Windows 7, Windows Xp and Debian (Cgminer (last version) and BFgminer)

visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1071
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 12, 2013, 04:38:43 PM
 #324

Thanks!

I doubt if the ones from your local store have the 3.5A PSU.  For that price, I'm almost sure they come with the inferior 400mA or similar PSU as sold on the Bay.  Have you verified it?  If they do indeed have the 3.5A AC adapter, I sure would like to buy a bunch of them from your local store.  Even with a 2.5A adapter, they'd still be dirt cheap.  Where's your locality, BTW?

I only populated the front ports because I have exactly 35 miners (i.e. 7 x 5 = 35) in hand.  I'll have more BEs coming in tomorrow.

I have personally confirmed that they have the 3.5A PSU (I have 4 in hand).  This is from my campus electronics supply store.

Are you able to fit miners in the back ports?  Have you tried mining with all 7?  Also, how do you have the hubs connected (daisy chain or hub-spoke)?

Great setup once again.

Dan
I guess I misunderstood you.  I thought you said you got the four hubs from MCM.  In that case, I sure would like to buy some at your campus store if I get more miners in the future.  Which campus is that?  Perhaps you should add a link to the guide so people on here can buy them cheap.  Alternatively, I already found a really dirt cheap source in China for the hubs and planning on pairing them with an 8A PSU which should give me some headroom when populating all seven ports.  Like I said in my original post, I tested seven miners on the hub for a few hours and didn't experience any issues except for the fact that the wall wart got very warm though not uncomfortable to the touch.
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1071
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 12, 2013, 04:41:31 PM
 #325

Another cheap Hub USB: aprox 15€

SONYTEC HUB NEXOOS 395

7 Ports (2 vertical behind)

5 V 3 Amp

Test ok with 5 USB Erupters in Windows 7, Windows Xp and Debian (Cgminer (last version) and BFgminer)


That looks like the generic Chinese/MCM hub but with a different PSU and cosmetics.
suprabitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 04:58:14 AM
 #326

I just received a Juiced Systems USB 3.0/2.0   13 (4x3.0, 9x2.0)
Your guide says it can run 6, but that is total bs!
I can run 3 MAX on this thing before I start getting more hardware errors than accepts. As soon as I plug in a 4th I get nonstop errors. Here is a picture from when I woke up this morning. The BAJ is a BFL Jalapeno


I had 5 plugged in. After messing around for a while, I finally got it to stop showing USB AMUx READ BUFFERING XXX EXTRA BYTES and have all of them mining correctly with 1% or less error rate. I had to reduce the number connected through this hub to THREE before the errors went away!


maybe something with the 2.0/3.0 mix. which side were you using 2.0 or 3.0?
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2013, 08:22:39 AM
 #327

I am taking liberty to re-post a comment by philipma1957 from the BitMinter thread.


Setup for a lot of sticks is tricky.

What is your pc? (mobo if it is diy)

What are your hubs?

 most hubs have an inadequate power brick.
 A 10 port hub is better off with a 12v 6 amp brick.
 No hub comes with that brick.
most 10 port hubs have a 12 volt 4 amp or a 12 volt 5 amp brick.  I tested a shit load of hubs.

  the best one in terms of  stock brick watts to ports is this one

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B59BFVI/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1  it has a 12 volt 4 amp brick or 48 watt to 7 port or 6.857 watts to 1 port


here is one with 10 ports and the same brick

http://www.amazon.com/Aitech-Adapter-backward-Compatible-aluminum/dp/B009NESU4M/ref=sr_1_1_m?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1376240347&sr=1-1&keywords=orico+usb+3.0

 so that  is 48 watts by 10 or 4.8 watts a port.     


   next is a root hub rule   what the f is that rule  simple chaining of ports has a limit of 5 hubs

   1st hub is the plug

2nd hub is  the first hub you attach >>>>>>>>>>>> lets say 10 jacks - 1 to chain  = 9

3rd hub is the hub you plug into the first  hub lets say 10 jacks - 1 to chain  = 9

 4th hub is the one that plugs into that  lets say 10 jacks - 1 to chain = 9


 5th hub would be the one that plugs in to the fourth 10 jacks = 10 total of 37 sticks to one plug    may not do this depends on your mobo may only do 3 hubs or 9 + 9 =10 = 28 to a jack


   I did find a good brick for the 10 port hubs


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VE7GQQ/ref=oh_details_o05_s01_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


 has more available power for a 10 port hub.


  so let us say   you have 6x  10 port hubs  with better bricks then stock.  you get a 56 stick pc.

  restart is power off via the screen power button lower left windows screen.   turn off all hubs.  then boot back.  once the windows screen comes up power on all the hubs.

then call bitminter up via windows 7 using  the explorer  browser sign in  go to the bitminter button engine start press it. click the accept for the risk question then wait for the 56 sticks to come up.  takes me about 10 minutes to do 84 sticks on 2 machines

forgot a good trick for counting sticks.
start 3
skip 3
start 3
skip 3     

3 sticks = 1gh

6 sticks = 2gh

9 sticks = 3gh 

12 sticks = 4gh   


After playing with gear tonight I am now running 80 sticks on 1 machine.

   the first piece of gear is this

http://usb.brando.com/usb-20-port-hub_p03123c039d015.html 

it will run 10 sticks and 6 hubs of 10 sticks so that is 70 sticks 


 I have 6 of these plugged int the above 20 port gear I have the other 4 ports empty. I use the better power brick. I linked to.

http://www.amazon.com/Aitech-Adapter-backward-Compatible-aluminum/dp/B009NESU4M/ref=pd_cp_pc_1


   I use this mobo

http://www.amazon.com/LGA1155-USB3-0-Mini-ITX-Motherboard-Z77E-ITX/dp/B007RS71O6/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1376277717&sr=1-1&keywords=asrock+z77+itx 

 I plug into the 2 usb 2.0 jacks in back of the board.  So that is 70 sticks.

 I plugged 2  of these 7 port  hubs

 http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Professional-Premium-Quality-Chipset/dp/B00B59BFVI/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1376277811&sr=1-2&keywords=viewhd+7+port

 I use the 2 back usb 3.0 ports   I can only use 14 usb 3 sticks with this board so I use the 2x 7 port hubs...


I am at 80 sticks but I could run 4 more for sure or 84 sticks..

I think that is the max on this mobo due to hub limits. 


Still 80 sticks and 320 watts with the screen turned off is a money maker for now.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1071
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 08:48:47 AM
 #328

I am taking liberty to re-post a comment by philipma1957 from the BitMinter thread.


Setup for a lot of sticks is tricky.

What is your pc? (mobo if it is diy)

What are your hubs?

 most hubs have an inadequate power brick.
 A 10 port hub is better off with a 12v 6 amp brick.
 No hub comes with that brick.
most 10 port hubs have a 12 volt 4 amp or a 12 volt 5 amp brick.  I tested a shit load of hubs.

  the best one in terms of  stock brick watts to ports is this one

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00B59BFVI/ref=oh_details_o01_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1  it has a 12 volt 4 amp brick or 48 watt to 7 port or 6.857 watts to 1 port


here is one with 10 ports and the same brick

http://www.amazon.com/Aitech-Adapter-backward-Compatible-aluminum/dp/B009NESU4M/ref=sr_1_1_m?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1376240347&sr=1-1&keywords=orico+usb+3.0

 so that  is 48 watts by 10 or 4.8 watts a port.     


   next is a root hub rule   what the f is that rule  simple chaining of ports has a limit of 5 hubs

   1st hub is the plug

2nd hub is  the first hub you attach >>>>>>>>>>>> lets say 10 jacks - 1 to chain  = 9

3rd hub is the hub you plug into the first  hub lets say 10 jacks - 1 to chain  = 9

 4th hub is the one that plugs into that  lets say 10 jacks - 1 to chain = 9


 5th hub would be the one that plugs in to the fourth 10 jacks = 10 total of 37 sticks to one plug    may not do this depends on your mobo may only do 3 hubs or 9 + 9 =10 = 28 to a jack


   I did find a good brick for the 10 port hubs


http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B000VE7GQQ/ref=oh_details_o05_s01_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1


 has more available power for a 10 port hub.


  so let us say   you have 6x  10 port hubs  with better bricks then stock.  you get a 56 stick pc.

  restart is power off via the screen power button lower left windows screen.   turn off all hubs.  then boot back.  once the windows screen comes up power on all the hubs.

then call bitminter up via windows 7 using  the explorer  browser sign in  go to the bitminter button engine start press it. click the accept for the risk question then wait for the 56 sticks to come up.  takes me about 10 minutes to do 84 sticks on 2 machines

forgot a good trick for counting sticks.
start 3
skip 3
start 3
skip 3     

3 sticks = 1gh

6 sticks = 2gh

9 sticks = 3gh 

12 sticks = 4gh   


After playing with gear tonight I am now running 80 sticks on 1 machine.

   the first piece of gear is this

http://usb.brando.com/usb-20-port-hub_p03123c039d015.html 

it will run 10 sticks and 6 hubs of 10 sticks so that is 70 sticks 


 I have 6 of these plugged int the above 20 port gear I have the other 4 ports empty. I use the better power brick. I linked to.

http://www.amazon.com/Aitech-Adapter-backward-Compatible-aluminum/dp/B009NESU4M/ref=pd_cp_pc_1


   I use this mobo

http://www.amazon.com/LGA1155-USB3-0-Mini-ITX-Motherboard-Z77E-ITX/dp/B007RS71O6/ref=sr_1_1?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1376277717&sr=1-1&keywords=asrock+z77+itx 

 I plug into the 2 usb 2.0 jacks in back of the board.  So that is 70 sticks.

 I plugged 2  of these 7 port  hubs

 http://www.amazon.com/ViewHD-Professional-Premium-Quality-Chipset/dp/B00B59BFVI/ref=sr_1_2?s=electronics&ie=UTF8&qid=1376277811&sr=1-2&keywords=viewhd+7+port

 I use the 2 back usb 3.0 ports   I can only use 14 usb 3 sticks with this board so I use the 2x 7 port hubs...


I am at 80 sticks but I could run 4 more for sure or 84 sticks..

I think that is the max on this mobo due to hub limits. 


Still 80 sticks and 320 watts with the screen turned off is a money maker for now.
Pardon me.  I'm not an electrical engineer nor an electrician but common sense tells me that if a 12V current is applied to a 5V device, such a device would fry.  No?
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2013, 09:03:22 AM
 #329

Pardon me.  I'm not an electrical engineer nor an electrician but common sense tells me that if a 12V current is applied to a 5V device, such a device would fry.  No?

Are you referring to 12V adapters which follow USB 3.0 hubs? The USB ports themselves feed 5V with the hubs doing conversion.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1071
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 09:39:11 AM
 #330

Pardon me.  I'm not an electrical engineer nor an electrician but common sense tells me that if a 12V current is applied to a 5V device, such a device would fry.  No?

Are you referring to 12V adapters which follow USB 3.0 hubs? The USB ports themselves feed 5V with the hubs doing conversion.
I didn't know USB hubs have built-in 12V to 5V converter.  If so, why are most if not all of them are powered with 5V wall warts instead of 12V?  I'm confused.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
August 13, 2013, 09:41:00 AM
 #331

It seems only the USB 3.0 ones do as they are required to be able to supply 0.9A per port (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_3.0).

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
visdude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1071
Merit: 1001


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 09:57:28 AM
 #332

It seems only the USB 3.0 ones do as they are required to be able to supply 0.9A per port (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_3.0).
Oh, OK.  Thanks for clarifying.  I was stuck at 2.0.
dyingdreams
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 03:17:11 PM
Last edit: August 13, 2013, 03:50:44 PM by dyingdreams
 #333

I just received a Juiced Systems USB 3.0/2.0   13 (4x3.0, 9x2.0)
Your guide says it can run 6, but that is total bs!
I can run 3 MAX on this thing before I start getting more hardware errors than accepts. As soon as I plug in a 4th I get nonstop errors. Here is a picture from when I woke up this morning. The BAJ is a BFL Jalapeno


I had 5 plugged in. After messing around for a while, I finally got it to stop showing USB AMUx READ BUFFERING XXX EXTRA BYTES and have all of them mining correctly with 1% or less error rate. I had to reduce the number connected through this hub to THREE before the errors went away!


I have the same exact hub and the same exact issue. The power supply specs are as advertised, and it ran 5 for a while without errors (never tried 6). After a few days I was only able to run 3, then after another day or so that changed to 2; I've been running 2 for a few days without incident. I will be returning it as soon as I receive the new hubs I ordered, but in the meantime I will experiment with 2.0/3.0 ports both on the hub as well as the host to see if it makes any difference. As of now it's been running on a netbook running xubuntu 12.04 plugged directly into a 2.0 port.

Update: I tried plugging the hub into a 3.0 port on my Windows PC, and cgminer would not detect the devices at all. I also tried switching between the 2.0 and 3.0 ports on the hub and it made no difference. I opened up device manager and saw that it was constantly refreshing, with "Etron USB2 (HS) Hub" repeatedly disappearing and reappearing. I unplugged the hub and went to plug it back into my netbook when I noticed that, with the USB cable unplugged, the hub seemed to be receiving no power whatsoever; neither the LEDs on the hub nor the LEDs on the block erupters were lighting up. I tried plugging my tablet into the charging port and it didn't get any power. I then plugged the hub back into the netbook, removed the AC adapter from the hub, and it made no difference; it still ran 2 block erupters without error, which is quite surprising, especially since its a netbook.

TLDR: Power supply is completely dead. As far as I can tell the hub itself is fine.

elite.mafia
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 04:19:14 PM
 #334

I just received a Juiced Systems USB 3.0/2.0   13 (4x3.0, 9x2.0)
Your guide says it can run 6, but that is total bs!
I can run 3 MAX on this thing before I start getting more hardware errors than accepts. As soon as I plug in a 4th I get nonstop errors. Here is a picture from when I woke up this morning. The BAJ is a BFL Jalapeno
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v239/mikestrike/wat_zps9a9b5f86.png

I had 5 plugged in. After messing around for a while, I finally got it to stop showing USB AMUx READ BUFFERING XXX EXTRA BYTES and have all of them mining correctly with 1% or less error rate. I had to reduce the number connected through this hub to THREE before the errors went away!


maybe something with the 2.0/3.0 mix. which side were you using 2.0 or 3.0?

I only tried using the USB 2.0 ports
galtbit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 235
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 13, 2013, 06:04:18 PM
 #335

It seems only the USB 3.0 ones do as they are required to be able to supply 0.9A per port (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_3.0).

Is there a way to measure the amount of power coming froma USB port?
suprabitz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 148
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 12:18:56 AM
 #336

wow how many devices you got to hit 39 GHs?
xjack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 539
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 14, 2013, 02:07:01 AM
 #337

It seems only the USB 3.0 ones do as they are required to be able to supply 0.9A per port (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/USB_3.0).

Is there a way to measure the amount of power coming froma USB port?

Cut up a USB cable and put a meter on it.

xjack - 1xjackDMgJCLn1LDtbgh51DYw6uRgeHVb
Reputation thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=482124.0
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569
Merit: 500


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 04:07:45 PM
 #338

no idea why people pay so much for Hubs...

I use 12 year old USB 1.1 Xircom 7 port hubs. Their supply is 5v 3.7amps. I do 6 per hub and they are stackable.
KyrosKrane
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 295
Merit: 250


View Profile WWW
August 14, 2013, 04:21:22 PM
 #339

no idea why people pay so much for Hubs...

I use 12 year old USB 1.1 Xircom 7 port hubs. Their supply is 5v 3.7amps. I do 6 per hub and they are stackable.

Link on where to buy them, please?  Grin

Tips and donations: 1KyrosREGDkNLp1rMd9wfVwfkXYHTd6j5U  |  BTC P2Pool node: p2pool.kyros.info:9332
dyingdreams
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 175
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 14, 2013, 06:55:32 PM
 #340

wow how many devices you got to hit 39 GHs?

That's just a display error.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 [17] 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!