Bitcoin Forum
October 23, 2019, 08:52:13 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Which USB hub to use with Block Erupters | NanoFury NF1 | BPMC Red Fury | Ant U1  (Read 128274 times)
klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1705
Merit: 1028

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile
April 21, 2014, 11:31:20 AM
Last edit: September 03, 2014, 12:40:43 AM by klintay
 #761

Amazon has their own custom built 7 port usb 2.0 hubs with 5v/4a adapter for $19 shipped (prime). Ordered 7 for an antminer project, i'll report back how they work out.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DQFGJR4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Actually they were $12 at some point ... I should've ordered more of them at that time. I've been using them for testing various quantities of NanoFury boards and so far they've been performing pretty well.

A follow-up :

I've been using those Amazon ones for testing of the dual-chip design and I am very impressed by them - I've plugged them into USB3 ports and 3 miners are happily hashing there when pushed to the limit.


And a very disappointing observations from this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817111981
(and there are a lot of similar ones with 2.5A power brick)
The power brick is a piece of junk and as soon as you add some load to the hub (let's say 1-1.5A) the voltage drops to 4.6-4.7V and if you push it even harder it goes even below 4V.
This was a nasty surprise for my desktop which in essence ended up having to provide all the power as that power brick's voltage was well below the PC's 5V.

Hi do you recommend me that  usb hub for mining with antminers u2+? or what usb hub can you guys recommend me? because antminers u2+ have heat sink and are harder to fit Wink thanks

This 49 port hub from eyeboot.com can do it:
http://www.eyeboot.com/Bitcoin-miner-Accessories

19 port hubs and 49 port hubs are available Smiley

It is cheaper if you buy it here on the bitcointalk forum thread though.

49 Port Hubs
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=528371

19 Port Hubs
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=418087

10 Port 5A USB Hub
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=767550


EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
1571820733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571820733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571820733
Reply with quote  #2

1571820733
Report to moderator
1571820733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571820733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571820733
Reply with quote  #2

1571820733
Report to moderator
1571820733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571820733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571820733
Reply with quote  #2

1571820733
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571820733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571820733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571820733
Reply with quote  #2

1571820733
Report to moderator
1571820733
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571820733

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571820733
Reply with quote  #2

1571820733
Report to moderator
CDNinATL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 03:08:49 AM
 #762

Amazon has their own custom built 7 port usb 2.0 hubs with 5v/4a adapter for $19 shipped (prime). Ordered 7 for an antminer project, i'll report back how they work out.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00DQFGJR4/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&psc=1&smid=ATVPDKIKX0DER

Actually they were $12 at some point ... I should've ordered more of them at that time. I've been using them for testing various quantities of NanoFury boards and so far they've been performing pretty well.

A follow-up :

I've been using those Amazon ones for testing of the dual-chip design and I am very impressed by them - I've plugged them into USB3 ports and 3 miners are happily hashing there when pushed to the limit.


And a very disappointing observations from this one: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817111981
(and there are a lot of similar ones with 2.5A power brick)
The power brick is a piece of junk and as soon as you add some load to the hub (let's say 1-1.5A) the voltage drops to 4.6-4.7V and if you push it even harder it goes even below 4V.
This was a nasty surprise for my desktop which in essence ended up having to provide all the power as that power brick's voltage was well below the PC's 5V.

Hi do you recommend me that  usb hub for mining with antminers u2+? or what usb hub can you guys recommend me? because antminers u2+ have heat sink and are harder to fit Wink thanks
I just bought Gearmo USB 3.0 10 port hub from Amazon. It comes with 12V, 4 amp power supply. I know Amazon says it's a 3 amp one but I got a 4 amp one. Amazon has it for $33 and is Prime eligible. I just finished hooking it up and was able to plug in 10 Antminers U2's and there is a bit of a gap between each miner. Very nicely arranged. Also there is a power button on the side. It's a small thing but I like having that.

I'm running bfgminer running them at x0A01. I'm getting around 20.5 GH/s right now. I can get a bit more if I'm not also mining X-11 coin using my vid card.

http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00BZABGWK/ref=oh_details_o00_s00_i00?ie=UTF8&psc=1

I'll see if I get a pic with the Antminers plugged in and running.
CDNinATL
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 03:56:21 AM
 #763

Here is the hub with Antminers plugged in:

http://knudtson.org/images/mining/10-port-hub.jpg
klintay
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1705
Merit: 1028

I thought we all equal -_-


View Profile
May 29, 2014, 07:59:19 AM
 #764

Here is the hub with Antminers plugged in:



Nice, that is about 2 gh/s on average per miner.

EYE




██████████

████
████
█████████
███████
███████
█████
█████████
█████████
BOOT
   Online Mining Hardware Store   
█████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████████
Industrial-Grade USB HubsBTC/LTC MinersPower SuppliesAdapter Cables

Like us on Facebook
Follow us on Twitter
Contact Us Now
EsBitcoin.org
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 167
Merit: 100



View Profile
May 29, 2014, 04:35:01 PM
 #765

Here is the hub with Antminers plugged in:


Simple and good worker
s1lentb0b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 05, 2014, 09:10:04 PM
 #766

Hi

Just bought the following 5v 20A power supply and was wondering if anyone can help me out. 

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-5V-20A-Universal-Switching-Power-Supply-for-LED-Strip-CCTV-or-other-use-UK-/261384206965?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item3cdbb67a75

As there are no instructions can anyone help with the wiring specifically the input wire.  Also it does say I have to set the input voltage, can anyone advise how to do this i.e which position it should be in.

I am from the UK.
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 05, 2014, 09:44:27 PM
 #767

Hi

Just bought the following 5v 20A power supply and was wondering if anyone can help me out. 

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-5V-20A-Universal-Switching-Power-Supply-for-LED-Strip-CCTV-or-other-use-UK-/261384206965?pt=UK_BOI_Electrical_Test_Measurement_Equipment_ET&hash=item3cdbb67a75

As there are no instructions can anyone help with the wiring specifically the input wire.  Also it does say I have to set the input voltage, can anyone advise how to do this i.e which position it should be in.

I am from the UK.

It has a simple switch to select 50 Hz or 60 Hz but may be labeled 110 V / 220 V. I can't remember what standard the U.K. is on.
s1lentb0b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 06:03:20 PM
 #768

Cheers I got their in the end.
s1lentb0b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 10, 2014, 08:34:25 PM
 #769

ok so after a week of research I finally purchased the power supply below. (for the UK)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5V-20A-100W-A ... 3a8d5bf76a

I wired it up and connected it to two usb hubs that I have.

The first being a cheap and nasty one.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/131089848975? ... 1497.l2649

The second is a much nicer one

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/121285549705? ... 1497.l2649

I connected the power supply to the hubs using the following barrel connectors

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-Barrel-Jac ... 4ad65b7ff9

Now at this point I would expect to be able to comfortably run my 11 ant miner U2's at 2Gh each totalling approx 22Gh, but I can't!!!!

Minepeon reports 22Gh but my pool doesn't it reports about 17Gh, does anyone now why? If I connect the same hubs to my iMac (where the usb ports also supply power) the Gh matches at 22 Gh between mine peon and the pool. There is a power issue somewhere but I have no idea now.

I am currently running some tests. I have one hub connected (the better one) with 6 miners in, the hash rate over the previous hour still didn't match with the pool which reports a lower hash rate that mine peon. I have therefore removed another miner and will wait an hour to see if they equal just so I can get an idea of what my hubs can hold.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.
hurricandave
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 961
Merit: 1000



View Profile
June 10, 2014, 11:47:31 PM
 #770

Use a multi-meter to ensure the new PSU is adjusted correctly to 5 volts. The Evil-bay link doesn't show your PSU any longer but many of those LED PSU's have an adjustable pot next to the output which needs dialed in.
movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 324
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 04:36:20 AM
 #771

ok so after a week of research I finally purchased the power supply below. (for the UK)

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/5V-20A-100W-A ... 3a8d5bf76a

I wired it up and connected it to two usb hubs that I have.

The first being a cheap and nasty one.

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/131089848975? ... 1497.l2649

The second is a much nicer one

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/121285549705? ... 1497.l2649

I connected the power supply to the hubs using the following barrel connectors

http://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/DC-Barrel-Jac ... 4ad65b7ff9

Now at this point I would expect to be able to comfortably run my 11 ant miner U2's at 2Gh each totalling approx 22Gh, but I can't!!!!

Minepeon reports 22Gh but my pool doesn't it reports about 17Gh, does anyone now why? If I connect the same hubs to my iMac (where the usb ports also supply power) the Gh matches at 22 Gh between mine peon and the pool. There is a power issue somewhere but I have no idea now.

I am currently running some tests. I have one hub connected (the better one) with 6 miners in, the hash rate over the previous hour still didn't match with the pool which reports a lower hash rate that mine peon. I have therefore removed another miner and will wait an hour to see if they equal just so I can get an idea of what my hubs can hold.

Any help or advice is greatly appreciated.

The PS you referenced is a 5V unit, and you are connecting it to hubs that run on 12V? I don't know about the cheap hub, but I have the same Orico running U1 & U2 Antminers using this PS.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Meanwell-12V-29A-350W-AC-DC-Switching-Power-Supply-NES-350-12-UL-USA-SHIPPING-/251528330438?pt=LH_DefaultDomain_0&hash=item3a9041bcc6

Perhaps you can find it cheaper in the UK.


s1lentb0b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 04:47:07 PM
 #772

Hi thanks for the info.

I therefore changed my more expensive 12V hub with a cheap one, so I now have a matching pair.  I re-connected the miners and now have 6 in one and 5 in the other.

I still don't get the full hash rate?  It drops about 6GH between mine peon and the pool, is this a problem with mine peon as my new power supply supplies 5V at 20Amps.  I want to use the pi as its low powered especially compared to my iMac but I want the full hash rate from my miners.

EDIT --  I checked the voltage coming from my power supply and its 5.2V across both connections.

Any other advice?  Greatly appreciated.
movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 324
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 01:33:05 AM
 #773

Hi thanks for the info.

I therefore changed my more expensive 12V hub with a cheap one, so I now have a matching pair.  I re-connected the miners and now have 6 in one and 5 in the other.

I still don't get the full hash rate?  It drops about 6GH between mine peon and the pool, is this a problem with mine peon as my new power supply supplies 5V at 20Amps.  I want to use the pi as its low powered especially compared to my iMac but I want the full hash rate from my miners.

EDIT --  I checked the voltage coming from my power supply and its 5.2V across both connections.

Any other advice?  Greatly appreciated.

Are you saying you tapped the 5V directly into the 12V hubs? Perhaps I'm missing the point that you have modified the hubs to work with 5V instead of 12v.

s1lentb0b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 05:06:07 PM
 #774

no I have 3 hubs one of which is 12v the others are 5v.  I removed the 12v hub from my setup and am now using two 5v hubs.

Last night I did a further test I hooked up both hubs to an old windows 8 pc i had, i installed bfgminer and set it going.  as of now I am getting a total GH from bfgminer of 22 and my pool shows 22.

Therefore there is either problem with the pi not being able to handle what I have plugged in or the power is not set up correctly.
movellan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 324
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 06:21:42 PM
 #775

no I have 3 hubs one of which is 12v the others are 5v.  I removed the 12v hub from my setup and am now using two 5v hubs.

Last night I did a further test I hooked up both hubs to an old windows 8 pc i had, i installed bfgminer and set it going.  as of now I am getting a total GH from bfgminer of 22 and my pool shows 22.

Therefore there is either problem with the pi not being able to handle what I have plugged in or the power is not set up correctly.

Are any of the hubs USB 3? Pi will only work with USB 2.
s1lentb0b
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 08:25:10 PM
 #776

nope all usb 2.
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 01, 2014, 08:32:46 PM
Last edit: September 01, 2014, 10:05:41 PM by RobMozza
 #777

hmmm, I'm possibly in a similar boat.. I ordered this from Amazon, then found it on eBay - but cheaper.. :-( However it's not powering all of my ASIC's so I have a question, can I just upgrade the power supply for a stronger 5A one? or should I RMA it and get a different hub for my Raspberry Pi?

EDIT : It's actually taken me, err well I can't see because of the time difference but I'd guess 1h 30m plus to read through from around page 16 to this page.

Along the way I've saved at least 18 pictures which although most were from 2013, I'd still say "wow" to now (hence my noob'ness) but taking that aside, it would seem I've really over paid for my hub.. damn you lack of knowledge.. and seemingly it'll be heading back soon, but still the problem persists, which hub to get?

The bad boy I had earmarked wont work with the Raspberry Pi.. so maybe I'm best off getting two eBay versions of my current hub with the Amazon refund? Dunno, still no clear and concise answer to the question (although I am new and I've a lot of catching  to do) appreciate any help offer, thanks in advance.
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 05:42:26 PM
 #778

hmmm, I'm possibly in a similar boat.. I ordered this from Amazon, then found it on eBay - but cheaper.. :-( However it's not powering all of my ASIC's so I have a question, can I just upgrade the power supply for a stronger 5A one? or should I RMA it and get a different hub for my Raspberry Pi?

EDIT : It's actually taken me, err well I can't see because of the time difference but I'd guess 1h 30m plus to read through from around page 16 to this page.

Along the way I've saved at least 18 pictures which although most were from 2013, I'd still say "wow" to now (hence my noob'ness) but taking that aside, it would seem I've really over paid for my hub.. damn you lack of knowledge.. and seemingly it'll be heading back soon, but still the problem persists, which hub to get?

The bad boy I had earmarked wont work with the Raspberry Pi.. so maybe I'm best off getting two eBay versions of my current hub with the Amazon refund? Dunno, still no clear and concise answer to the question (although I am new and I've a lot of catching  to do) appreciate any help offer, thanks in advance.
D-Link 7 port powered hub was a good one for the Pi

There are lots of others

on page 1 there was a very good guide on which to avoid

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
RobMozza
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 12
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 02, 2014, 06:20:19 PM
 #779


D-Link 7 port powered hub was a good one for the Pi

There are lots of others

on page 1 there was a very good guide on which to avoid

Aye, although that only has six usable ports and they do look rather close together :-( I assume it's probably not a great hub for the larger Bitfury's and newer USB devices? should I upgrade later..

Looking at the list on page one, it only comes down to the two 5A hubs, the Anker or the Juiced but both are USB3 which probably wont work with my Pi.. hence I'm stumped in to what will work.. surely somebody knows of a 10 port USB 2 hub with a 4.5A or 5A power supply confirmed working on a Raspberry Pi?
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 02, 2014, 06:33:02 PM
Last edit: September 02, 2014, 06:44:51 PM by Mudbankkeith
 #780


D-Link 7 port powered hub was a good one for the Pi

There are lots of others

on page 1 there was a very good guide on which to avoid

Aye, although that only has six usable ports and they do look rather close together :-( I assume it's probably not a great hub for the larger Bitfury's and newer USB devices? should I upgrade later..

Looking at the list on page one, it only comes down to the two 5A hubs, the Anker or the Juiced but both are USB3 which probably wont work with my Pi.. hence I'm stumped in to what will work.. surely somebody knows of a 10 port USB 2 hub with a 4.5A or 5A power supply confirmed working on a Raspberry Pi?

USB3 generally do not work with the Pi

The d-link will happily support 4 antminers or 4 furies,          with an angled usb adapter, sometimes it will run 5 sticks.

the main one I have been using is a 49 port block erupter USB2,    which will happily accommodate 35 devices(this seems to be the limit for my Pi)

EDIT:- photo on dropbox   https://www.dropbox.com/s/paifqw0mxsys5yn/IMG_20140902_193547.jpg?dl=0


BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 [39] 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!