Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2019, 04:05:34 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Which USB hub to use with Block Erupters | NanoFury NF1 | BPMC Red Fury | Ant U1  (Read 128274 times)
jago25_98
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 902
Merit: 1000


Crypto Geek


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 01:24:09 AM
Last edit: September 11, 2013, 07:16:08 PM by jago25_98
 #481

400541403960
D-LINK DUB H7 - HUB - 7 PORTS - HI-SPEED USB
Need to update description to "2 USB ports active powered, 5 unpowered"

Then you are doing something wrong. Have you plugged it into your computer?
Several people, myself included run 6 BEs on D-Links (see linked reviews in OP). The two charger-ports you are referring to are powered when the hub is in the charger mode, that is, when it is not connected to the PC. Otherwise, all 7 ports are powered, but it's AC adapter has enough juice for 6 BEs.

Ah, thanks for that!

edit: to avoid bump

If you have this problem it isn't the hub:
D-LINK DUB H7 with Raspberry Pi & cgminer3.3.0a:
Code:
AMU 0:                | 213.9M/91.48Mh/s | A:0 R:0 HW:0 U:0.00/m                                           AMU 1:                | 284.3M/111.6Mh/s | A:2 R:0 HW:0 U:0.27/m

 Fixed with upgrade to 3.4.2a

Crypto supporter!
1571630734
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571630734

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571630734
Reply with quote  #2

1571630734
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 11, 2013, 04:57:06 PM
 #482

Something that came up earlier but we might have glossed over. What you plug your hub into is as important as which hub you use. I have a PCI hub and a PCIe hub. I didn't think of them as hubs because they are in the computer. Bleh. each is rated at 2 amps. I have two hubs plugged into each. three of them are Dlink 7 port hubs. The Dlinks will only support 4 Erupters each. I tried to add a new Anker 9 port Hub and it would only run 1 Erupter. On a whim, i plugged the Anker into one of the Dlinks and was surprised to find that it would run 8 erupters and a fan! Well, 12 hours later it was only happy with 6 erupters, but that is better than one.

Apparently, the power coming into a hub is as important as the power that the Hub supplies. The symptoms exhibited when the erupters did work were the typical low power ones. New plugin, error recognising device.
OldDutchman777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 05:45:32 PM
 #483

Any problem with mixing 2.0 hubs with 3.0 hubs?  Daisy chaining 2.0, 3.0?

TIA
Trongersoll
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490
Merit: 500



View Profile
September 11, 2013, 08:59:46 PM
 #484

Any problem with mixing 2.0 hubs with 3.0 hubs?  Daisy chaining 2.0, 3.0?

TIA

I just don't like Daisy chaining as a concept, so i try to avoid it. Ironically, it was daisy chaining that allowed my new miner to work. Perhaps someone with more flower power will chime in on this.
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1020


Christian Antkow


View Profile
September 11, 2013, 09:03:58 PM
 #485

Any problem with mixing 2.0 hubs with 3.0 hubs?  Daisy chaining 2.0, 3.0?
TIA

 I believe there are problems daisy chaining more than 5 levels deep with USB 2.0, and USB 3.0 supports much less devices than USB 2.0.

 I would recommend using a USB 2.0 hub as your "master" hub and have the USB 3.0 hub children plugged into the 2.0 master hub parent.
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2013, 09:21:53 PM
Last edit: September 12, 2013, 05:19:17 AM by lano1106
 #486

Does anyone have tried out this hub:

http://dipo-electron.en.alibaba.com/product/1036660629-0/19_port_20a_usb_5v_power_outlet_for_phone_tablet_pc.html

It looks really cool!

BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
smiley123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10



View Profile
September 12, 2013, 05:13:15 AM
 #487

Device Name: AITech USB 3.0
Ports Total: 10
Ports Usable: 8
Power from AC: 12v @ 4A
Price USD: 60.99(Black)
Price / Usable Port: 7.62
Sold at:  http://www.amazon.com/Aitech-Adapter-backward-Compatible-aluminum/dp/B009NESU4M

Bought one of these to try, and it works fine with 8+arctic fan (Stable for more than 48hours).
I tried it with 9, and it ran for a while, but ever so often, I'd come back and the light would be on for one of the BErupters.  Occassionally, while stopping and starting mining software, the light would just flicker with 9.  So, I don't recommend 9 as it's unstable.

I almost wish there was a column in the table for RPi compatibillity.  I'm looking for a good 7 or 10 port hub for Raspbian or MiningPeon (Have both on separate cards, but no compatible hubs!)  :S

When I find RaspberryPi compatible hubs, I'll likely be looking to part with this, and a couple of the 9port Anker's.

This is the USB hub that I'm currently using also.  I have 5 hubs with 9 BE's and 1 arctic fan in each.  I've been running it for about a month continuously and have not had any issues at all.  These are all plugged into a 2.0 usb hub which is then plugged into a cheap laptop running bfgminer.  Don't know if it makes a difference, but they are all plugged into a cheap UPS for power that automatically boosts voltage if it goes low.   The voltage tends go below normal range in my house when the air conditioner turns on.

I probably wont be buying any more of these though, because I'm looking to transition to a Raspberry PI compatible setup also.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
September 15, 2013, 10:58:03 AM
Last edit: September 15, 2013, 07:41:07 PM by Nemo1024
 #488

I have bought 4 of the 13-port hubs through the guys at WTCR (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.msg3091176#msg3091176) along with a few BEs. They are now all installed and hashing away. Here are two of them with all ports loaded:



The hubs connect to power either through floppy connector or through Molex (using the included thick-wired Molex to floppy adapter).

The internal USB connector is of the thin type with 4 wires + 1 sealed slot (1x5 header - http://www.frontx.com/cpx101_2.html). To use only one internal 9-pin connector, I connected both hubs to a 2x5 connector (http://www.frontx.com/cpx108_2.html) that I had lying around.

A special consideration: Molex is rated to deliver 11A, but a single Molex string from a PSU can typically deliver up to 16A. This means that it is safe to connect one such hub per wire string from the PSU (13*0.5A=6.5A), but it might also be OK to have two of these 13-porters on a single string (for 12A load).

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
lano1106
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
September 15, 2013, 03:10:26 PM
 #489

I have bought 4 of the 13-port hubs through the guys at WTCR (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=253749.msg3091176#msg3091176) along with a few BEs. They are now all installed and hashing away. Here are two of them with all ports loaded:


Nemo, thanks for testing this. I was curious how this would be working concerning spacing. The usb connectors seems to be very close to each other. Would you say that this aspect of the hub makes air flow with a fan mandatory?

Anyway nice. I think this picture is the first one fully populated with BEs.

BTC: 1ABewnrZgCds7w9RH43NwMHX5Px6ex5uNR
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
September 15, 2013, 06:22:20 PM
Last edit: September 15, 2013, 07:40:59 PM by Nemo1024
 #490

The spacing is only slightly narrower than on a D-Link.
I would recommend a fan in any case as it slightly reduces HW error count.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 07:20:26 PM
 #491

Just a warning about the Anker 10 port hubs...

It seems like faulty returns are reshipping.  I've had problems with my last 3.  None of them will do 10 USB Erupters (or 9+ fan).

And I've now experienced 2 power supply failures on old working hubs.  Durability and reliability are definitely big concerns with the older squarish style hubs.
OldDutchman777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 07:42:04 PM
 #492

Just a warning about the Anker 10 port hubs...

It seems like faulty returns are reshipping.  I've had problems with my last 3.  None of them will do 10 USB Erupters (or 9+ fan).

And I've now experienced 2 power supply failures on old working hubs.  Durability and reliability are definitely big concerns with the older squarish style hubs.

Thanks for that info.  I have one Anker 9+1 that runs very hot(even with extra cooling on the brick and sticks), will only handle 5-6 stable.  When my latest order of hubs arrives I am sending this back for replacement.  

My best performing hubs are the "GEARMO" 10 port 3.0.  Also, have an AITECH 10 port that does not perform as well as I expected based on reviews here.
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
September 15, 2013, 08:07:17 PM
 #493

I have removed Anker 10-porter from the list, as it is discontinued, leaving only 9+1 version in.

Looks like the AC adapters are starting to feel the heat (literally) of a 24/7 loaded run. I had one AC adapter of my 10 D-Links fail tonight, but the power supply from the master hub (ST-Link handled that gracefully and kept the rest of the hubs running with a reduced number of BEs).

I opened the failed adapter, but cannot see any damage inside:



It simply did not deliver any power out. Maybe the transformer coils burned out...

Anyway, I salvaged the cable with the barrel plug and connected it to a Molex splitter. I'll attempt loading it with 7 BEs running off PC PSU. Or maybe I'll use it as a master hub.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
Xian01
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1020


Christian Antkow


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 08:29:11 PM
 #494

My best performing hubs are the "GEARMO" 10 port 3.0.  Also, have an AITECH 10 port that does not perform as well as I expected based on reviews here.

 +1 on the Gearmo 10 ports. Very nice hubs. Looking to purchase a couple more, but can't seem to find them available on Amazon.com at this time Sad
OldDutchman777
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 15, 2013, 08:59:56 PM
 #495

My best performing hubs are the "GEARMO" 10 port 3.0.  Also, have an AITECH 10 port that does not perform as well as I expected based on reviews here.

 +1 on the Gearmo 10 ports. Very nice hubs. Looking to purchase a couple more, but can't seem to find them available on Amazon.com at this time Sad

There is a online distributor/retailer in Florida that goes by three names but all the same company/location.  I am fairly certain that the "GEARMO" brand is only that, not a manufacturer.  They told me they expect another shipment of 10 ports in about 3 weeks.  If anyone is interested perhaps we could organize one large purchase and get a better price.  The GEARMO 10 is very good but also very pricy.  The added expense of any hub obviously makes the cost/benefit of USB Sticks even sketchier than the cost of just the sticks.  The sticks price at least is coming down as difficulty rises-not so with hubs.
flbtlgx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 05:58:22 AM
 #496

My best performing hubs are the "GEARMO" 10 port 3.0.  Also, have an AITECH 10 port that does not perform as well as I expected based on reviews here.

 +1 on the Gearmo 10 ports. Very nice hubs. Looking to purchase a couple more, but can't seem to find them available on Amazon.com at this time Sad

There is a online distributor/retailer in Florida that goes by three names but all the same company/location.  I am fairly certain that the "GEARMO" brand is only that, not a manufacturer.  They told me they expect another shipment of 10 ports in about 3 weeks.  If anyone is interested perhaps we could organize one large purchase and get a better price.  The GEARMO 10 is very good but also very pricy.  The added expense of any hub obviously makes the cost/benefit of USB Sticks even sketchier than the cost of just the sticks.  The sticks price at least is coming down as difficulty rises-not so with hubs.

I'm about 110% certain that these in fact are the same ubs as the GearMo, just different label.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1DS0PS1238
flbtlgx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile
September 16, 2013, 06:45:30 AM
 #497

Btw, what do you guys think of these?

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Sedna-10-Port-USB-2-0-Internal-Hub-Floppy-bay-/331012588382?pt=US_USB_Cables_Hubs_Adapters&hash=item4d11e3435e

They're on newegg as well.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=9SIA1JM0FD2367
bbxx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


cryptoshark


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2013, 07:05:08 AM
 #498


Too tight ports, you will fit only 5 usbs there...
Nemo1024
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1624
Merit: 1004



View Profile WWW
September 16, 2013, 07:15:43 AM
 #499

Updated GearMo to GearMo/Orico in the table, as they indeed seem to be the same.

As for the Floppy bay hub, the distance between the ports on the horizontal plane is to narrow, so you'd have to use angled adapters. Better buy 13-port 5.25" bay hub, which I reviewed earlier if you want an internal solution.

“Dark times lie ahead of us and there will be a time when we must choose between what is easy and what is right.”
“We are only as strong as we are united, as weak as we are divided.”
“It is important to fight and fight again, and keep fighting, for only then can evil be kept at bay, though never quite eradicated.”
m-sean
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0



View Profile
September 16, 2013, 04:39:30 PM
Last edit: September 19, 2013, 12:51:32 AM by m-sean
 #500

For good measure here's some pictures of my setup using the 13 port hubs provided by WTCR:

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54696378/Keepers/AMUSBs.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54696378/Keepers/AMUSBRigLighted.jpg

https://dl.dropboxusercontent.com/u/54696378/Keepers/AMUSBRig.jpg
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 [25] 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!