Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2019, 08:41:52 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Dollemizer Firmware ASICBOOST Comming! [custom s9, s9i, t9 Firmware upgrade]  (Read 11108 times)
jfaubin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2018, 08:05:27 PM
Last edit: March 27, 2018, 01:02:16 AM by frodocooper
 #21

Hi Dolle Team,

Do you have a good news from your custom Firmware?

Thanks!

J-F



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove an unnecessary quote.
1548060112
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548060112

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548060112
Reply with quote  #2

1548060112
Report to moderator
1548060112
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1548060112

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1548060112
Reply with quote  #2

1548060112
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
FatAnt
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 06, 2018, 12:38:11 AM
Last edit: April 06, 2018, 04:07:06 AM by frodocooper
 #22

We have developed a tuning to switch off Fans (for immersed cooling systems), set MHz and set mV
Maximum possible hashrate (depending on your basic ASIC quality) is about 19-21 TH/s
questions?

Does your firmware work on all versions of S9's?  Is it available to order?  At what price?



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to correct erroneous quote formatting.
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 05:07:09 AM
Last edit: April 07, 2018, 05:36:19 AM by frodocooper
 #23

Does your firmware work on all versions of S9's?  Is it available to order?  At what price?

This firmware runs on all S9 machines. You can order. Send me PM.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to trim the quote from FatAnt.
chucklaw
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 09:12:04 AM
 #24

I am interested in your firmware, but I can’t pm u. Can u pm me for the details?
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 11:04:51 AM
Last edit: July 31, 2018, 01:03:49 AM by frodocooper
 #25

I am interested in your firmware, but I can’t pm u. Can u pm me for the details?

please send me a mail - see the symbol below my username
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 07, 2018, 02:00:07 PM
Last edit: July 31, 2018, 01:04:09 AM by frodocooper
 #26

please send me a mail - see the symbol below my username

viennacalling@me.com
ForumMan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 02:34:29 PM
Last edit: July 31, 2018, 01:04:23 AM by frodocooper
 #27

Dear community,

Like Dolle said we are verry bussy. I will try to keep you guys updated from time to time.

Right now we are able to undervolt / controll fanspeed and set freqencys on the S9 miner. We are testing multiple machines to see what settings are "safe" in normal opperation so we can adjust the web interface in such way the risks will stay to a minimum to the users. About the BMminer, yes Bitmain did a verry good job at putting some "Bitmain beneficial" software into the BMminer and the OS itselve as well.
I wont go into details about those things for now. All i can tell so far is that Bitmain is getting more and more creative to avoid people making there own software for their miners, atleast for their sha256 miners.

Is it work fine on S9 with 13,5 THs builded in autumn 2017?
This solution from this forum didnt work in real testing:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2809499.msg34536940#msg34536940

May I test it on one of my miners?
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 12, 2018, 03:35:08 PM
Last edit: April 14, 2018, 12:36:04 AM by frodocooper
 #28

Is it work fine on S9 with 13,5 THs builded in autumn 2017?
This solution from this forum didnt work in real testing:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=2809499.msg34536940#msg34536940

May I test it on one of my miners?

How many miner do you run?
My minimum quantity to sell is 100 upgrades.
There are lots to change in the miner´s file system and I have to exchange the bmminer.
Finally you are able to set MHz, mV and are able to unplug the fans ....
It is fully functional and running without HW errors



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove a nested quote.
titans00983
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 08:00:48 AM
Last edit: April 14, 2018, 12:37:04 AM by frodocooper
 #29

How many miner do you run?
My minimum quantity to sell is 100 upgrades.
There are lots to change in the miner´s file system and I have to exchange the bmminer.
Finally you are able to set MHz, mV and are able to unplug the fans ....
It is fully functional and running without HW errors

Can you share results of your firmware?

On average, what % increase in hashrate will the firmware produce?

A 13.5TH machine could potentially achieve what hashrate?

What are the affects on fanspeeds and temps? Etc

Very interested but would like to know what, if any, successful results the firmware has achieved.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove nested quotes.
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 13, 2018, 07:45:23 PM
Last edit: April 14, 2018, 12:38:07 AM by frodocooper
 #30

Can you share results of your firmware?

On average, what % increase in hashrate will the firmware produce?

A 13.5TH machine could potentially achieve what hashrate?

What are the affects on fanspeeds and temps? Etc

Very interested but would like to know what, if any, successful results the firmware has achieved.

13,5 TH miner achieves between 19,5 - 20,5 TH/s
BUT this is mandatory to a submerged cooling system and a 2800W PSU
Power consumption is about 2,5kW @ 20TH/s
Fan - OFF
temperatur is up to your needs: we can regulate it between 50°C and 110°C
All temp settings are running without any HW errors



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove nested quotes.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 56

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 12:43:39 AM
 #31

13,5 TH miner achieves between 19,5 - 20,5 TH/s
BUT this is mandatory to a submerged cooling system and a 2800W PSU
Power consumption is about 2,5kW @ 20TH/s
Fan - OFF
temperatur is up to your needs: we can regulate it between 50°C and 110°C
All temp settings are running without any HW errors

So 2500 watts for 20Th = 125 watts/TH right?  A normal 13.5 S9 draws ~1452 watts for about 108 watts/TH.  So running at that speed decreases efficiency about 16%, and requires submerged cooling.  Other than bragging rights and maybe noise control, why would one want to do this?

I mined bitcoin for a living at Kano.is until the recent slump
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 12:53:38 AM
Last edit: April 14, 2018, 02:07:41 AM by frodocooper
 #32

So 2500 watts for 20Th = 125 watts/TH right?  A normal 13.5 S9 draws ~1452 watts for about 108 watts/TH.  So running at that speed decreases efficiency about 16%, and requires submerged cooling.  Other than bragging rights and maybe noise control, why would one want to do this?

I do not know what your mining facility is looking alike, but modern data centers are cooled and that needs energy.
For example: a room with 60m3 (similar to one 40" sea container) equipped with 100 units of S9 is regular heated with 150kW.
That means you have to get rid of the heat produced. Assume you would not open the windows and the ambient temperature would be 25°
(which is the reference temperature of the energy efficiency of any electronic), the 100 units of S9 would let increase the temperature of
that room up to 120°C within minutes. Finally you have to blow out that heat with big fans and try to cool down.

Such cooling system needs lots of kW. In average air cooled mining farms need about 25-35% of their total energy costs for cooling. And the result is hot air released to the atmosphere ....

We are exchanging the heat with water and that could be used pretty easy and is way cheaper than old fashioned air cooling.

by the way: as energy is only 10-35% of the revenue, increase of TH is increase of profit. You will never increase TH that much without liquid cooling!



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove a nested quote.
ccgllc
Copper Member
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 392
Merit: 56

Math doesn't care what you believe.


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 01:37:07 AM
Last edit: July 31, 2018, 01:04:48 AM by frodocooper
 #33

I do not know what your mining facility is looking alike, but modern data centers are cooled and that needs energy.
For example: a room with 60m3 (similar to one 40" sea container) equipped with 100 units of S9 is regular heated with 150kW.
That means you have to get rid of the heat produced. Assume you would not open the windows and the ambient temperature would be 25°
(which is the reference temperature of the energy efficiency of any electronic), the 100 units of S9 would let increase the temperature of
that room up to 120°C within minutes. Finally you have to blow out that heat with big fans and try to cool down.

Such cooling system needs lots of kW. In average air cooled mining farms need about 25-35% of their total energy costs for cooling. And the result is hot air released to the atmosphere ....

We are exchanging the heat with water and that could be used pretty easy and is way cheaper than old fashioned air cooling.

by the way: as energy is only 10-35% of the revenue, increase of TH is increase of profit. You will never increase TH that much without liquid cooling!

My mining facility currently has about 125 S9s in it and is air cooled, similar to the way Yahoo data centers do it.  I recirculate hot aisle air in the winter to keep the cold aisle around 55F.  The rest of the heat, and all of it during warmer seasons, is vented out the top of the roof by natural convection.  Only fans other than the recirculating one are those on the miners, plus two small units at the top of the cold aisle that exhaust any accumulated hot air at the ceiling of that aisle.  e.g. My facility was designed for mining, its not a retrofitted data center.

Water cooling is efficient, in terms of extracting heat, but your still releasing it into the environment.  Any hot water you eject is either going into a ground loop and heating the soil, or into a stream and heating that water with associated environmental impacts (reduced oxygen capacity of the water until it radiates the extra heat to the atmosphere for you).  Hopefully your using a closed ground loop.

I mined bitcoin for a living at Kano.is until the recent slump
Blokforge Affiliate:  https://blokforge.com/?ref=21
Linux since 0.96 kernel and Slackware distributions on (4) floppies...
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 14, 2018, 03:50:48 AM
Last edit: April 14, 2018, 08:03:39 PM by frodocooper
 #34

My mining facility currently has about 125 S9s in it and is air cooled, similar to the way Yahoo data centers do it.  I recirculate hot aisle air in the winter to keep the cold aisle around 55F.  The rest of the heat, and all of it during warmer seasons, is vented out the top of the roof by natural convection.  Only fans other than the recirculating one are those on the miners, plus two small units at the top of the cold aisle that exhaust any accumulated hot air at the ceiling of that aisle.  e.g. My facility was designed for mining, its not a retrofitted data center.

Water cooling is efficient, in terms of extracting heat, but your still releasing it into the environment.  Any hot water you eject is either going into a ground loop and heating the soil, or into a stream and heating that water with associated environmental impacts (reduced oxygen capacity of the water until it radiates the extra heat to the atmosphere for you).  Hopefully your using a closed ground loop.

interesting how you are keeping even in winter only with natural convection the air that cool. And more interesting how that works in summer. The building size is a factor and the region as well. I know farms in Iceland, but that isn't smart as everybody knows. We designed a solution for maximum mobility, easy to roll out and possible to be placed everywhere at places with cheap energy.



Moderator's note: This post was edited by frodocooper to remove a nested quote.
star_anise
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 23, 2018, 07:50:54 PM
 #35

Bitmain's GitHub provides enough code to build your own bmminer, and that means enough code to hack your own bmminer.

Voltage can go as low as 7.94V or as high as 9.43V. So yes, you can undervolt, and it remains stable but not full speed.

Data points: 13.5TH S9 @ 575MHz fixed frequency and 8.4V gives me a consistent 12.05TH/s. Same hardware @ 600MHz and 8.55V gives me 12.7TH/s. These are both significant undervolts; a stock 13.5TH/s S9 at fixed frequency will take 9.00V.
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 04:17:00 PM
 #36

strange:

I was just testing your info: 575MHz, 840mV, 12,4 GH/s (ideal) - 12,2 GH/S (RT)

And I was testing that: 600MHz, 840mV, 12,9 GH/s (ideal) - 12,6 GH/s (RT)

Finally at 631MHz, 865mV, 13,5 GH/s (ideal) - 13,5 GH/s (RT)
star_anise
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 05:45:47 PM
 #37

What S9 batch did you get? You said 631MHz, so auto-tune, but at what stock speed? You may just have better hardware than I do. I can only get 12.2TH/s @ 600MHz, 840mV.

I'm on North American electrical, so staying under 1440W total power is critical to me.
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 06:20:44 PM
 #38

I testet it on a March 2018 Batch - it is a 13,5 TH S9
No, I selectet 631MHz, as I know, that this is 13,5 TH in total. Stock speed??? There is no "stock speed", there is usually "autotune" and the controller board is checking, which avarage of frequency each hashing board (chain) with the 63 ASICS is able to perform to reach maximum 13,5 TH.
If you have read the bmminer source code, you will have recognized, that the firmware is limiting the possible hashingrate with a maximum of 13,5 TH. So any increase of defined parameter which would lead to a higher hashing rate is not possible.

star_anise
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 07:51:27 PM
 #39

Your stock speed is 13.5TH/s. There are 14TH/s auto-tune machines out there, after all.
vonRau
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31
Merit: 2


View Profile
April 25, 2018, 10:11:53 PM
 #40

so what?
even 14TH machines are running the same firmware and the results with same freq/mV are same as well .....
ASIC chips are same make, same foundry but different quality (which is a normal matter of production process).
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!