Bitcoin Forum
October 20, 2018, 05:54:10 AM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Terminus R808 Miner Official Support Thread  (Read 5578 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 612
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 22, 2018, 11:54:29 PM
 #181

...
Failed to create restart thread errno=12 in cgminer.c restart_threads():5063
... It was up to being the 229th device in cgminer.  ...

It's unhealthy for that number to continually climb.   
The system will eventually prevent new resources from being allocated..

Get the other devices going in its own cgminer with command line option --usb :1, (or total devices - 1) while you work on that last one.
   
As i mentioned a couple of post back, it would be better to test/tune it isolated.

1540014850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540014850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540014850
Reply with quote  #2

1540014850
Report to moderator
1540014850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540014850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540014850
Reply with quote  #2

1540014850
Report to moderator
1540014850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540014850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540014850
Reply with quote  #2

1540014850
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540014850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540014850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540014850
Reply with quote  #2

1540014850
Report to moderator
1540014850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540014850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540014850
Reply with quote  #2

1540014850
Report to moderator
1540014850
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540014850

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540014850
Reply with quote  #2

1540014850
Report to moderator
mwin58747
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 02:06:13 AM
 #182

...
Failed to create restart thread errno=12 in cgminer.c restart_threads():5063
... It was up to being the 229th device in cgminer.  ...

It's unhealthy for that number to continually climb.   
The system will eventually prevent new resources from being allocated..

Get the other devices going in its own cgminer with command line option --usb :1, (or total devices - 1) while you work on that last one.
   
As i mentioned a couple of post back, it would be better to test/tune it isolated.


can this be done with linux? running multiple instances of cgminer for different devices
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1168

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 23, 2018, 01:41:09 PM
 #183

By the way - an update regarding changes to the Terminus sales process.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
mwin58747
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 26, 2018, 12:16:07 PM
 #184

Somebody had asked how to set up more than one Terminus on a single power supply. Here is a pic of mine running on a 200 watt adjustable supply using the PCIe connectors (very solid connection). Testing with a small fan mounted over the Regulator on the right one to keep it cool.
237.50Mhz / 98-103GH/s each.
https://imgur.com/a/FPfMe

hello,

how are you getting more gh/s than me when i clock mine higher than yours? https://i.imgur.com/4NoB85b.jpg

is it just my luck on the with the chip draw or is it something of my doing?? thanks in advance Smiley
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1168

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 26, 2018, 12:30:17 PM
 #185

They're getting choked out somewhere. That's about the speed one would expect from 200MHz. Try setting them at 200MHz and see if it stays about the same or goes down.

My guess is, you'd have to divide them amongst two controllers or something in order to get full throughput (and about 107GH) to all devices.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
QuarterMaster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 2


View Profile
March 26, 2018, 07:34:15 PM
 #186

Somebody had asked how to set up more than one Terminus on a single power supply. Here is a pic of mine running on a 200 watt adjustable supply using the PCIe connectors (very solid connection). Testing with a small fan mounted over the Regulator on the right one to keep it cool.
237.50Mhz / 98-103GH/s each.
https://imgur.com/a/FPfMe

hello,

how are you getting more gh/s than me when i clock mine higher than yours? https://i.imgur.com/4NoB85b.jpg

is it just my luck on the with the chip draw or is it something of my doing?? thanks in advance Smiley



I did notice a slight increase when I switched to the PCIe connector instead of the barrel connector. More stable current to the chips maybe?
It also does fluctuate for me but not that low and the fact that all of  yours are around the the high 80GH/s to low 90GH/s would not mean "luck of the draw". I would try to separate just one miner on it's own system/controller to see what it ramps up to. That way you can rule out that it's the POD but maybe the controller.
mwin58747
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 26, 2018, 09:37:13 PM
 #187

Quote from: sidehack
They're getting choked out somewhere. That's about the speed one would expect from 200MHz. Try setting them at 200MHz and see if it stays about the same or goes down.

My guess is, you'd have to divide them amongst two controllers or something in order to get full throughput (and about 107GH) to all devices.

I have the six connected to a powered usb hub. i removed 4 now there are 2 connected to that hub and they seem to perform better. im guessing the hub's throughput is the bottleneck.

when i get home i will plug another 2 directly into the old laptop that i use as a controller and see whats going to happen. ill also try using 2 cheap unpowered usb hubs and see whats going to happen. (like the ones at '$2 shop' or something')



Quote from: QuarterMaster
I did notice a slight increase when I switched to the PCIe connector instead of the barrel connector. More stable current to the chips maybe?
It also does fluctuate for me but not that low and the fact that all of  yours are around the the high 80GH/s to low 90GH/s would not mean "luck of the draw". I would try to separate just one miner on it's own system/controller to see what it ramps up to. That way you can rule out that it's the POD but maybe the controller.

i do run them via a PCIe connector. Corsair GS800 to be more specific, although i still dont know if i should buy of those kits from parallel miners that comes complete with the server psu, breakout board and cables. i mean whats the difference right? even if on paper it can deliver more watts to the pods, the pods themselves cant handle more maxing out at >250mhz (in a stable manner) :thinking:  aside from other things like longevity of the power supply and all that other stuff
QuarterMaster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 2


View Profile
March 26, 2018, 11:03:32 PM
 #188

Sounds like the right way to go and that power set up should be more than sufficient. I clocked at just under 60 watts each around that frequency. Let us know what you find and I have 2 plugged into a USB controller then the Windows server.
QuarterMaster
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28
Merit: 2


View Profile
March 27, 2018, 03:48:15 AM
 #189

Question for Sidehack and I think I know the answer (regulator limit).

So the S5 with the BM1384 chips has a setting for the frequency and it goes all the way up to 500Mhz! I run one but very underclocked.  That must mean the 1384 chip can handle that with proper cooling and enough stable voltage/current. The terminus for me starts to become unstable at 250Mhz and I am guessing that is because of the voltage regulator. I mean that sucker gets hot at 225Mhz but if we had a way to cool it could we go higher or is there a specific limit to the current it will allow which is why the posted power table stops at 275Mhz.

Just curious is all.
Thank you
Ecnad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 27, 2018, 07:15:28 PM
 #190

Just ordered a 5-pack of these for some mini-mining fun. Don't want to spend the electricity money or deal with the heat of a big miner, so these are perfect to just has away for a few cents a day.
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
March 27, 2018, 08:05:49 PM
 #191

Stress test, 4 hours.  EVGA 600B psu. These things are awesome!
https://i.imgur.com/A4Pwbdd.png


Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 157
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 03:54:07 AM
 #192

...
Failed to create restart thread errno=12 in cgminer.c restart_threads():5063
... It was up to being the 229th device in cgminer.  ...

It's unhealthy for that number to continually climb.   
The system will eventually prevent new resources from being allocated..

Are you referring here to the new GSE device number the miner is assigned? Of my three miners, two are tanking along just great and the third is steadily going up. I get about 30 in a day.
Ecnad
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 29, 2018, 06:37:26 PM
 #193

Just ordered a 5-pack of these for some mini-mining fun. Don't want to spend the electricity money or deal with the heat of a big miner, so these are perfect to just has away for a few cents a day.

And they arrived already!

3 of them hashing away at 200mhz - truly was plug and play with the recommended build of cgminer. Last 2 are waiting on more usb cables.

Using a 550w PSU I bought for a PC build that didn't happen; and a powered USB hub just to avoid any bottlenecks (Probably not a thing, but whatevs)

The pods are smaller than I expected (about a 4 inch by 4 inch cube) which is nice. You could fit quite a few of these on a shelf/rack. Mine are on a bakers rack so there is airflow below the boards as well.
avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 12:18:50 AM
 #194

Just got mine in the mail and playing with them at work before I go home and hook them into my setup.

2 Questions:
1. The Core Voltage Adjuster is full clockwise turn. Is that Minimum or Maximum?
2. Looking through the comments I don't see anything about where to measure the voltage. I found it for the 2pac's but can't figure it out for the R808


So far running off low end hub and a macbook at 200MHz with the supplied barrel power bricks I am getting a lot of resets back to 100MHz and recovery from Zombies but have to say, so nice to see the recovery!

Have to follow all the debugging in the beginning of the thread for one at a time, different hubs, direct connection but this is very exciting.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1168

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 12:26:42 AM
 #195

It could be that the brick is garbage. If you can power it off a known reliable 12V source and the resets go away, let me know and I'll send you a replacement brick.

Let it be known, I'm pretty disappointed with the bricks I bought. 200MHz draws about 3.4 amps, and these are 6A bricks but still crap out to often. I'll be getting better ones in the future.

The voltage knob works just like a volume knob, or the knob on the 2Pac. Clockwise means higher.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 12:32:21 AM
 #196

It could be that the brick is garbage. If you can power it off a known reliable 12V source and the resets go away, let me know and I'll send you a replacement brick.

Will do.

Quote
The voltage knob works just like a volume knob, or the knob on the 2Pac. Clockwise means higher.

So full clockwise is how is arrived. Maybe i am starving them with default 200 MHz?

What is the spot to measure the voltage?
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1168

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 12:59:34 AM
 #197

"starving" what now? Whatever it is you're thinking is likely not the case. They're all tested at 200MHz stable for at least 1 hour before I ship them.

Each node has a small testpad for measuring voltage. The voltage between ground and Vc3 will give you the full string voltage, or you can measure across Vc pads to get node voltages.

Got a new 28-90GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 01:20:14 AM
 #198

Great thanks. Ill find the right pads.

Yeah I don't know much if anything about electoronics.
All conjecture here. Thinking that if I need to increase the voltage for higher MHz like on a 2Pac, then too much voltage with not enough MHz would also be bad.

avulsionist
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39
Merit: 1


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 06:51:11 PM
 #199

Did some isolation testing with my two. Ran into issues with one.

Unit One just runs no problem or errors.
Unit Two has some issues. I used the same power and USB connection from unit one on unit two to make sure that was not it.

Steps:
Run unit One with no error for 4 hours.
shut down CGMiner and swap usb and power to Unit Two
Run CGMiner with no extras
cgminer -o stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.slushpool.com:3333 -u avulsionist.terminus -p x

Results:

Code:
[2018-03-30 11:47:54.833] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-03-30 11:47:54.836] Loaded configuration file /Users/bryankiechle/.cgminer/cgminer.conf
 [2018-03-30 11:47:55.737] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030157)
 [2018-03-30 11:47:57.057] Probing for an alive pool
 [2018-03-30 11:47:57.167] Pool 2 difficulty changed to 4000
 [2018-03-30 11:47:57.222] Pool 2 message: Authorised, welcome to solo.ckpool.org 3B6LTrJmkEVhiY5p
i9TzmKf4Ah9dDoYcaH!
 [2018-03-30 11:47:57.223] Switching to pool 2 stratum+tcp://solo.ckpool.org:3333 - first alive po
ol
 [2018-03-30 11:47:57.342] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:47:58.034] GSE 0: open cores @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:47:58.060] Network diff set to 3.46T
 [2018-03-30 11:48:06.309] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 8192
 [2018-03-30 11:48:09.357] Pool 0 stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.slushpool.com:3333 alive, testing
stability
 [2018-03-30 11:48:09.357] Switching to pool 0 stratum+tcp://us-east.stratum.slushpool.com:3333
 [2018-03-30 11:48:10.083] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2018-03-30 11:48:10.499] Pool 1 difficulty changed to 8192
 [2018-03-30 11:48:22.146] GSE 0: setting frequency to 200.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:48:22.845] GSE 0: open cores @ 200.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:48:33.266] GSE 0 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-30 11:48:33.266] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:48:38.261] GSE 1: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030157)
 [2018-03-30 11:48:39.588] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 1
 [2018-03-30 11:48:39.874] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:48:40.548] GSE 1: open cores @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:48:57.709] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 1638
 [2018-03-30 11:49:02.701] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2018-03-30 11:49:04.660] GSE 1: setting frequency to 200.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:49:05.362] GSE 1: open cores @ 200.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:49:15.698] GSE 1: start work @ 200.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:49:23.538] Accepted 261d0b1f Diff 1.72K/1638 GSE 1 pool 0
 [2018-03-30 11:49:27.583] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 512
 [2018-03-30 11:49:45.893] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
 [2018-03-30 11:49:46.119] Accepted 16f47483 Diff 2.85K/1638 GSE 1 pool 0
 [2018-03-30 11:50:00.709] GSE 1: asic(s) went offline
 [2018-03-30 11:50:00.734] GSE 1 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-30 11:50:00.734] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-30 11:50:00.908] GSE 2: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030157)
 [2018-03-30 11:50:02.222] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 2

Let me know if I can provide any other info.
goose1072
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 236
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 30, 2018, 07:45:39 PM
 #200

I having the same issue from one of the ones I just got back, It starts up at Zombie and stays there.

I have tried multiple computers / psu /usb cables to run it on and still no luck.

I ran the ones I got back on there own on different computer with there own psu, one is working beautifully the other not so much.

I'm going to have to sent this one back again.







Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!