Bitcoin Forum
June 22, 2018, 10:09:33 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Terminus R808 Miner Official Support Thread  (Read 4123 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 04:51:16 PM
 #101

Pending new revelations to my situation, I think my controller won't be able to handle more than one of these at a time. Sidehack said he can get 2 running at a time off a raspberry pi, so 2 Pi's should let me run my 4. I tried following the directions on the 2pac thread and couldn't do it.

Anyone with the patience to talk me through a raspberry pi setup? We can do it here to benefit everyone, a new thread if it's tangential, or by private message.

I need to know:

1) do these need drivers on a pi? How do I find and install them properly?

2) instructions I've seen discuss "building" cgminer. How do I do that?
1529662173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662173
Reply with quote  #2

1529662173
Report to moderator
1529662173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662173
Reply with quote  #2

1529662173
Report to moderator
1529662173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662173
Reply with quote  #2

1529662173
Report to moderator
The World's Betting Exchange

Bet with play money. Win real Bitcoin. 5BTC Prize Fund for World Cup 2018.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1529662173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662173
Reply with quote  #2

1529662173
Report to moderator
1529662173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662173
Reply with quote  #2

1529662173
Report to moderator
1529662173
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1529662173

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1529662173
Reply with quote  #2

1529662173
Report to moderator
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1098

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 06:49:18 PM
 #102

The first post says build instructions are the same as for the 2Pac, so I'd check the build instructions in the first post of the 2Pac Support Thread.

ppetrovic68
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 06:51:04 PM
 #103

Pending new revelations to my situation, I think my controller won't be able to handle more than one of these at a time. Sidehack said he can get 2 running at a time off a raspberry pi, so 2 Pi's should let me run my 4. I tried following the directions on the 2pac thread and couldn't do it.

Anyone with the patience to talk me through a raspberry pi setup? We can do it here to benefit everyone, a new thread if it's tangential, or by private message.

I need to know:

1) do these need drivers on a pi? How do I find and install them properly?

2) instructions I've seen discuss "building" cgminer. How do I do that?

If you already have a running RaspPi then https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3009183.0 should help you out.
Look for "or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)". It has listed all the steps needed to build cgminer.

In the post you can also find commands to run cgminer (look for *nix)

What's not said in the post is that you should probably run screen first and then run cgminer so you could disconnect ssh session and leave cgminer running.
CrazyGuy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1966
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 06, 2018, 03:28:40 AM
 #104

I've created a modular tray design for the Terminus, 12v PSU and rpi which should make them easier/neater to run in larger quantities. I should have a limited amount in stock soon.








ASICPuppy.net ASIC Mining Hardware and Accessories - 2Pacs in stock!
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 04:32:44 AM
 #105

Quote
If you already have a running RaspPi then https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=3009183.0 should help you out.
Look for "or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)". It has listed all the steps needed to build cgminer.

All that does is link to the top of this thread. Sidehack says to check out the 2pac thread, but those instructions aren't clear either - they are written for someone with a basic understanding of coding and that is most definitely not me. I had to spend hours trying to figure out how to make sense of that code at the top of the thread in order to even get CGminer on the pi. Basically I can get an instance of CGminer up and running, but I can't get my miners recognized on the raspberry pi. Is there a driver for it? Zadig is Windows specific and nothing else is mentioned on those threads about doing that.

I still have to run cgminer by clicking on the icon in the git folder now that I've followed the steps up above. I can't figure out how to run a .bat file from raspberry pi. I'm not a computer guy so these explanations are somewhat over my head.

What I'm stuck at now is that I can't get my pi to recognize the miners and I don't want to manually copy/paste my information into cgminer each time I start. Is there an equivalent of a .bat file for pi like I run on Windows?
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 04:36:11 AM
 #106

The first post says build instructions are the same as for the 2Pac, so I'd check the build instructions in the first post of the 2Pac Support Thread.

Those instructions are nearly identical to the ones on the top of this thread. I've been able to figure out how to download CGminer following them, but that's about it. The instructions are not simplified to the point where someone like me can follow, which is why I asked here if anyone could help me through it.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1098

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 04:39:43 AM
 #107

You do know that the build instructions are done entirely by typing everything (or copy-pasting) into a terminal, exactly as it's presented, right? Put in one line, hit "Enter", wait for it to do its thing and get you back to the shell prompt, and then punch in the next line. Should take minutes. Except for the "apt-get install" all the dependencies line, I've pretty much got the whole thing memorized by now.

minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 04:46:29 AM
 #108

You do know that the build instructions are done entirely by typing everything (or copy-pasting) into a terminal, exactly as it's presented, right? Put in one line, hit "Enter", wait for it to do its thing and get you back to the shell prompt, and then punch in the next line. Should take minutes. Except for the "apt-get install" all the dependencies line, I've pretty much got the whole thing memorized by now.

Uhmmm. Maybe? I think I followed the directions up above by copy/pasting each command serially as you say. When I was done there was just a new command prompt, no cgminer. Does that mean I built it? How do I know if I did it correctly?

I had to open the git file it linked to and find the cgminer executable file, which I can bring up but it won't recognize the miners and I have to copy/paste everything into it to get it started (pool address, my Bitcoin address, etc.  The same stuff I use a Windows .bat file to do).
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1098

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 05:08:31 AM
 #109

The "make -j 2" line is where it compiles the program. Once that line runs, your terminal should be pointing to the folder where cgminer was compiled.

After that, you run the "./cgminer -o"whateverelse line like under the "How to Run" part of the post. With your pool configs instead of the sample ones.

If you're following the directions and somewhere you think you're required to click on something with a mouse, you're probably doing something wrong.

Also what you're doing is not coding, has very little to do with coding, so coding knowledge is mostly irrelevant. What you want to learn is how to navigate a Unix/Linux terminal. Basically equivalent to DOS shell in Windows, just a whole lot better.

DKirk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 61
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 01:14:42 PM
 #110

You do know that the build instructions are done entirely by typing everything (or copy-pasting) into a terminal, exactly as it's presented, right? Put in one line, hit "Enter", wait for it to do its thing and get you back to the shell prompt, and then punch in the next line. Should take minutes. Except for the "apt-get install" all the dependencies line, I've pretty much got the whole thing memorized by now.

Uhmmm. Maybe? I think I followed the directions up above by copy/pasting each command serially as you say. When I was done there was just a new command prompt, no cgminer. Does that mean I built it? How do I know if I did it correctly?

I had to open the git file it linked to and find the cgminer executable file, which I can bring up but it won't recognize the miners and I have to copy/paste everything into it to get it started (pool address, my Bitcoin address, etc.  The same stuff I use a Windows .bat file to do).

If you followed the instructions, cgminer should be living in the git/vthoang directory within your home directory. When you open up a new terminal, type " cd git/vthoang" and then to start cgminer type the run syntax "./cgminer -o (POOL INFO) -u (USERNAME) -p (PASSWORD)". Worse case if it doesn't want to work properly, recompile everything and try again. All the instructions worked like a charm for me running a few 2pacs for fun on a Pi and I literally knew nothing about Linux at the time so there is no reason it shouldn't work.

I'm sure there is a way to make it all run automatically along the lines of a .bat file but since you should not have to be starting/stopping the program all the time I never bothered to figure it out.

I love lamp
thehypnominer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 06, 2018, 02:26:45 PM
 #111

Well heck, looks like you got the very first one off the line. Check that serial number.

If it's detecting all 8 chips, the issue almost has to be with your hardware or software setup rather than the miner. Those numbers don't make sense to be a miner issue.

I'm honored!

Also, I solved the issue. Turns out that (maybe just with my particular setup) the Terminus really dislikes USB 3.0 ports. I tried 3.0 ports both on the case and mobo and it always seemed to be capped out at hashing about 10GH regardless of the frequency or V. However, when I plugged it into one of the mobo 2.0 ports it immediately began hashing about 75GH at 175Mhz - right where it should be.
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 04:01:58 AM
 #112

Quote
Also what you're doing is not coding, has very little to do with coding, so coding knowledge is mostly irrelevant. What you want to learn is how to navigate a Unix/Linux terminal. Basically equivalent to DOS shell in Windows, just a whole lot better.

See? I'm enough of a computer illiterate I didn't even know that.

I followed the instructions here and I have been able to get CGMiner to run, but it isn't recognizing my miner. Any advice?

 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.276] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to access - BSC device 1:8
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] See README file included for help
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] GekkoScience detect (1:Cool failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] failed usb_init
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] No devices detected!
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] Waiting for USB hotplug devices or press q to quit
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] Probing for an alive pool
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.912] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4000
 [2018-03-06 19:09:38.260] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to ckpool.org 15rN7atb8w7avfQH7PUjh6zEmForXvDr2x!
 [2018-03-06 19:09:38.496] Network diff set to 3.29T
 [2018-03-06 19:09:38.631] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 40
 [2018-03-06 19:09:43.712] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to access - BSC device 1:8
 [2018-03-06 19:09:43.712] See README file included for help
 [2018-03-06 19:09:43.713] GekkoScience detect (1:Cool failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2018-03-06 19:09:43.713] failed usb_init
 [2018-03-06 19:09:49.045] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to access - BSC device 1:8
 [2018-03-06 19:09:49.046] See README file included for help
 [2018-03-06 19:09:49.047] GekkoScience detect (1:Cool failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2018-03-06 19:09:49.047] failed usb_init
 [2018-03-06 19:09:54.379] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to access - BSC device 1:8
 [2018-03-06 19:09:54.381] See README file included for help
 [2018-03-06 19:09:54.381] GekkoScience detect (1:Cool failed to initialise (incorrect device?), resetting
 [2018-03-06 19:09:54.382] failed usb_init
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1098

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 04:14:50 AM
 #113

The error, and to a certain extent its solution, is here:

Code:
[2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to access - BSC device 1:8
 [2018-03-06 19:09:37.494] See README file included for help

I bet if you look into cgminer's included README file for that error you'll find some advice.

Or you could check the FAQ section, which includes this little tidbit:

Quote
Q. How to get past "USB init, open device failed" ... "you don't have privilege to access" error.
Code:
cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`
sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo reboot

minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 149
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 05:09:26 AM
 #114

Yup! That was it!

I got both units running at a breakneck 84 ghash on a single Raspberry pi.

Thank you so much for your help everyone in getting a dunce up and running.

When my 2 new units arrive, I could always just set up a second pi to get them running.

I eagerly await your next project!

A couple of final questions:

1) Sidehack himself said he couldn't get more than two running to a pi. Given that there's only 4 usb drives and you need a keyboard and mouse I'm not even sure how you could pull that off without a USB splitter. If anyone figures out how to run 4 off a single pi, let me know.

2) Maintenance on these guys: is there any need to unplug them occasionally? Or does running 24/7 until they break not matter?
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 189
Merit: 10

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 05:30:03 AM
 #115

Yup! That was it!

I got both units running at a breakneck 84 ghash on a single Raspberry pi.

...

1) Sidehack himself said he couldn't get more than two running to a pi. Given that there's only 4 usb drives and you need a keyboard and mouse I'm not even sure how you could pull that off without a USB splitter. If anyone figures out how to run 4 off a single pi, let me know.


I just got my first Pi. Haven't been able to pull it off with these ... yet.

I have three open USB ports on the Pi - USB wireless keyboard/mouse, so I'll shoot for that, someday.

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
Jgreen0708
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 07:57:00 AM
 #116

Apologies in advance for asking this as I have difficulty finding the answer..

What algo can it handle? Scrypt or SHA-256? The expected 66 GH/s is for what algo?

Many thanks in advance
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1736
Merit: 1098

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 10:38:49 AM
 #117

Is it a good enough hint that this is posted in the Bitcoin section?

Jgreen0708
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 11:41:27 AM
 #118

Is it a good enough hint that this is posted in the Bitcoin section?

Ok, then I presume it's SHA-256 only? I don't want to assume, that's all as sometimes miner hardware can do multi algo,

Thanks for replying..
thehypnominer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2018, 08:29:44 PM
 #119

Well heck, looks like you got the very first one off the line. Check that serial number.

If it's detecting all 8 chips, the issue almost has to be with your hardware or software setup rather than the miner. Those numbers don't make sense to be a miner issue.

I'm honored!

Also, I solved the issue. Turns out that (maybe just with my particular setup) the Terminus really dislikes USB 3.0 ports. I tried 3.0 ports both on the case and mobo and it always seemed to be capped out at hashing about 10GH regardless of the frequency or V. However, when I plugged it into one of the mobo 2.0 ports it immediately began hashing about 75GH at 175Mhz - right where it should be.

So it turns out that I shouldn't have spoken so soon. I only managed to get it working for a short time. Now cgminer is failing to detect any of the chips on the Terminus. My log file reads as follows:

[2018-03-07 14:20:34.593] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-03-07 14:20:34.858] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030000)
 [2018-03-07 14:20:35.064] GSE 0: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-07 14:20:35.064] Probing for an alive pool
 [2018-03-07 14:20:35.064] GSE 0 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-07 14:20:35.065] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-07 14:20:35.299] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4000
 [2018-03-07 14:20:35.323] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to solo.ckpool.org
 [2018-03-07 14:20:36.066] Network diff set to 3.29T
 [2018-03-07 14:20:41.322] GSE 1: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030000)
 [2018-03-07 14:20:41.527] GSE 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-07 14:20:41.527] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 1
 [2018-03-07 14:20:41.527] GSE 1 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-07 14:20:41.530] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
And so on and so on...

I'm using the most recently posted build of cgminer, and I have tried reinstalling and troubleshooting the Zadig drivers. Any suggestions?
kipper01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205
Merit: 100

1KippERXwH1PdBxKNt1ksgqh89WBv6CtWQ


View Profile
March 08, 2018, 10:07:15 PM
 #120

Been running at 200Mhz for 3 days.  Average has been steady right around the reported rate for 200Mhz.  My question is the HW errors normal?  Core voltage is set at the 'factory setting'  Would adjusting that decrease or increase errors?


Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!