Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 01:24:43 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience Terminus R808 Miner Official Support Thread  (Read 5555 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1163

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 02:44:56 PM
 #81

Moonie -when you say the white LED is blinking, is it flashing on about a 3-second cycle?

1539696283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539696283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539696283
Reply with quote  #2

1539696283
Report to moderator
1539696283
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539696283

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539696283
Reply with quote  #2

1539696283
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
vh
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 607
Merit: 554


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 02:55:59 PM
 #82

Hey VH, I saw some wierdness with one of my units yesterday during testing. It spun up great on the first try and was chugging along at 150Mhz. I closed and restarted cgminer and the damn thing just crapped out. It was weird because the only change was restarting cgminer.
It ran through hundreds of re-enumerations until it randomly just started working again. Any idea on what I can give you for diganostics? I've already talked with sidehack about it and know what he needs the next time it happens.

"When it drops out, check the voltage across the two pins on the reset header. If it's flatlined at zero volts, that indicates an issue with the temperature sensor. The onboard controller won't enable the mining chips without valid temperature data. If it cycles between zero and around 1.4 volts, there's an issue with the chips and the string isn't turning on right."

...

its been running strong since (~11 hours now) but I want to make sure you have everything you need for diagnostics.

that's perfect, thanks.

just a couple of notes...

first: look for any "frequency changed" messages in the log.   it's also a sign that the temperature sensor kicked in a few time before the pc restarted.
second: if it is a cooldown issue, you can pass in a --hotplug 30 so that cgminer give it a longer break before trying to start it back up.


419mining
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 05:09:32 PM
 #83

just had a failure.
interesting its not respecting the --gekko-start-freq 80 command.
@Sidehack, I checked the reset header,  its still showing 1.4v event though it says 0 chips.

Quote
[2018-03-03 12:05:27.645] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.647] GSE 0 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.649] GSE 0 TX: 84:00:00:11
[2018-03-03 12:05:27.853] GSE 0: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.853] Probing for an alive pool
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.855] GSE 0 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.855] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
[2018-03-03 12:05:27.855] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.857] GSE 0 TX: 82:07:83:1C
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.859] GSE 0 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 12:05:27.993] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4000
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.045] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to ckpool.org 1DtRzACnDAr2SPXMyAp3pLMfREPch3PbhA!
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.045] Stratum authorisation success for pool 0
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.047] Pool 0 stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 alive
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.102] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 32
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.102] Network diff set to 3.01T
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.103] New block: 00000000000000000000e499bf7fa30e87a9d2542885276cb80fb2fdeab1ffdb... diff 3.01T
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.855] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 12:05:28.855] Work update message received
 [2018-03-03 12:05:32.857] Work update message received
 [2018-03-03 12:05:33.856] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.115] GSE 1: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.116] GSE 1 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.120] GSE 1 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.321] GSE 1: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.322] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.323] GSE 1 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.323] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.325] GSE 1 TX: 82:07:83:1C
 [2018-03-03 12:05:34.326] GSE 1 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 12:05:38.857] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.688] GSE 2: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.689] GSE 2 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.694] GSE 2 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.897] GSE 2: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.897] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 2
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.900] GSE 2 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.900] GSE 2: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.901] GSE 2 TX: 82:07:83:1C
 [2018-03-03 12:05:39.902] GSE 2 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 12:05:43.857] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 12:05:45.262] GSE 3: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 12:05:45.264] GSE 3 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:45.267] GSE 3 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 12:05:45.468] GSE 3: found 0 chip(s)
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1163

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 05:37:22 PM
 #84

Hm. If the clock line isn't getting to the first node, it won't get propagated all the way down. If that's the case, the string would still settle to balanced voltage even with a high reset line, in which case the reset controller won't see the issue and won't try to cycle another reset, and since the chips aren't getting a clock line they're not operating so any IO commands will fall on deaf ears.

Are you sure the reset line stays pulled high? If the controller sees a problem it pulls reset low for one second, then high for two seconds, then rechecks, so if the problem persists the reset line cycles low and back to high every 3 seconds.

Also, "setting frequency to 100MHz" is default behavior for a "failure, disabling" event. You'll see the same thing if you unplug a running miner.

419mining
Copper Member
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 18
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 06:06:13 PM
 #85

Are you sure the reset line stays pulled high? If the controller sees a problem it pulls reset low for one second, then high for two seconds, then rechecks, so if the problem persists the reset line cycles low and back to high every 3 seconds.
yes, I let it sit for a while, it has a VERY minor fluctuation 1.409 to 1.410 volts but it never drops.

while writing this, it just kicked off a single cycle of work then failed again.
Quote
[2018-03-03 13:00:31.406] GSE 402: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.408] GSE 402 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.411] GSE 402 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.612] GSE 402: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.612] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 402
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.613] GSE 402 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.613] GSE 402: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.615] GSE 402 TX: 82:07:83:1C
 [2018-03-03 13:00:31.617] GSE 402 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:35.705] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:00:36.981] GSE 403: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:36.982] GSE 403 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:36.984] GSE 403 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:37.186] GSE 403: found 0 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:37.186] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 403
 [2018-03-03 13:00:37.186] GSE 403 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 13:00:37.186] GSE 403: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:37.188] GSE 403 TX: 82:07:83:1C
 [2018-03-03 13:00:37.190] GSE 403 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:40.706] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.649] GSE 404: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030050)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.650] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.652] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.861] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 404
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.863] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:00:11
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:BF:12
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.870] GSE 404 RX: 13:82:90:FF:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:42.972] GSE 404: found 8 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.088] GSE 404: setting frequency to 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.090] GSE 404 TX: 82:06:03:18
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.092] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.093] GSE 404: sending chain inactive for 8 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.094] GSE 404 TX: 85:00:00:0F
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.096] GSE 404 TX: 01:00:00:19
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404 TX: 01:20:00:01
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.098] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.099] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.099] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.099] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.099] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.099] GSE 404 RX: 80:0C:00:03:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.099] GSE 404: chip reported frequency of 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.100] GSE 404 TX: 01:40:00:0C
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.103] GSE 404 TX: 01:60:00:14
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.105] GSE 404 TX: 01:80:00:16
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.107] GSE 404 TX: 01:A0:00:0E
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.109] GSE 404 TX: 01:C0:00:03
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.111] GSE 404 TX: 01:E0:00:1B
 [2018-03-03 13:00:43.112] GSE 404: open cores @ 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:45.329] GSE 404: start work @ 81.25MHz
 [2018-03-03 13:00:45.706] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:00:50.348] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:50.707] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:00:55.420] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:00:55.707] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:00:55.763] Work update message received
 [2018-03-03 13:01:00.428] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:01:00.707] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:14.751] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:19.752] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:19.821] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00                    R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
 [2018-03-03 13:01:24.752] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:24.847] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:01:26.755] Work update message received
 [2018-03-03 13:01:29.753] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:29.881] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00                    R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
 [2018-03-03 13:01:34.753] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:34.895] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:01:39.753] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:39.966] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00                    R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
 [2018-03-03 13:01:44.754] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:45.026] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:01:49.754] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:50.031] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00                    R:0 HW:0 WU:0.0/m
 [2018-03-03 13:01:54.755] Testing pool stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333
 [2018-03-03 13:01:55.046] GSE 404 TX: 84:00:04:00
 [2018-03-03 13:01:58.772] Work update message received

im going to build a quick jumper connector so i can watch the voltage for an extended period so i can catch it again when it starts responding(without having to hold the meter leads to the 2 pins by hand).
itzmoonie
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 06:18:53 PM
 #86

Moonie -when you say the white LED is blinking, is it flashing on about a 3-second cycle?

Yes, its about 3 seconds in between when it blinks.  It constantly does it.. ideas?  Undecided
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1163

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 03, 2018, 06:42:07 PM
 #87

Hardware issue. I suggest you take advantage of GekkoScience's warranty repair service.

minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 03:22:43 AM
 #88

Hardware issue. I suggest you take advantage of GekkoScience's warranty repair service.

Unfortunately I think I also have to take advantage of your warranty -

I have 2 miners which I can't get functioning any more. Is this a hardware issue?

1) Is not recognized no matter what USB port I plug it into. Other miners work fine.

2) Another one has a solid white light on whenever its plugged in. It is recognized when I plug it in, but it can't mine and gets a "zombie" error.
minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 03:46:57 AM
 #89

Quote
plugging in the second device causing the first one to fail is odd since there should be no real activity at all going to it with the --usb :1 setting.

First off, just let me thank you guys for helping a novice out. I am new to this and appreciate the help. I agree this is odd, but it is indeed happening. I have 4 miners (2 now defunct) and 3 usb ports. Following your directions below I can only get miner #2 in USB #1 and Miner #1 and USB #3 to not give an error. Every other combination leads to an error.

I tested each miner solo and they can each run > 24 hours at 88 ghash. Together, they can't break 78 or so between the two of them.

Quote
start up miner1.bat, then plug in one miner.   wait until avg 66GH/s, then plug in the second miner.   if it breaks, stop cgminer and unplug all.
start up miner1.bat, then plug in one miner.   wait until avg 66GH/s, then plug in the second miner into "other" usb port.   if it breaks.  stop.

Each time I did this (except for the exact scenario I mentioned up above), the first USB crashed within seconds of plugging in the second. This was rotating 2 miners across 3 USBs in every possible combination and sequence. (I included the log file below if it helps).

Quote
if still breaking, repeat with a different unit for the second miner in the case above.

if it miner1.bat doesn't show errors after plugging in the second device, start up miner2.bat.

Only one configuration didn't break it. With that configuration, I still can't open a second instance of CGminer. I have two .bat files (equivalent to your miner1 and miner2.bat above). One pointed at CK's pool and one at CK's solo pool. Each works fine, but if I try to start a second one if another is already running the window pops up and immediately closes within fractions of a second. There is no log file as the first one is busy mining still.

I'm just a simple guy who wanted to point 3 of these at a pool and one as a solo lottery miner because I love bitcoin. Now I'm getting sad I'll only be able to get one functional at a time. Thanks in advance for any help!

Log errors:

I plug in the first unit and it reaches goal rate pretty quickly. I plug in the second unit and:
 ...
[2018-03-03 16:44:55.499] Accepted 02de1b87 Diff 89/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:44:56.015] Accepted 059aa843 Diff 46/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:44:56.515] Accepted 0175c034 Diff 175/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:44:57.311] Accepted 01ebfe25 Diff 133/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:44:57.921] GSE 0: usb failure (-1)
 [2018-03-03 16:44:57.921] GSE 0 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 16:44:57.921] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:45:02.171] GSE 1: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030013)
 [2018-03-03 16:45:02.390] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:45:02.499] GSE 1: found 8 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 16:45:02.608] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:45:02.655] GSE 1: open cores @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:45:04.421] GSE 1: start work @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:45:05.077] Accepted 2df9b14a Diff 1.43K/40 GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:45:05.374] Accepted 5acf1a50 Diff 722/40 GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:45:09.186] Shutdown signal received.
 [2018-03-03 16:45:09.233]

That says error -1. More often I get error -9:

 [2018-03-03 16:47:26.921] Accepted 05df968a Diff 44/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:47:26.936] Accepted 02cc4bef Diff 91/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:47:27.093] Accepted 045b1a05 Diff 59/40 GSE 0
 [2018-03-03 16:47:28.483] GSE 0: usb failure (-9)
 [2018-03-03 16:47:28.483] GSE 0 failure, disabling!
 [2018-03-03 16:47:28.483] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:47:32.796] GSE 1: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030013)
 [2018-03-03 16:47:33.015] Hotplug: GekkoScience added GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:47:33.140] GSE 1: found 8 chip(s)
 [2018-03-03 16:47:33.249] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:47:33.296] GSE 1: open cores @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:47:35.046] GSE 1: start work @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:47:41.015] Accepted 0151f19b Diff 194/40 GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:47:42.702] Accepted d64dba3a Diff 306/40 GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:47:50.061] GSE 1: setting frequency to 125.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:47:50.561] Accepted 02b1f845 Diff 95/40 GSE 1
 [2018-03-03 16:47:53.468] GSE 1: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-03 16:47:54.530] Shutdown signal received.
 [2018-03-03 16:47:54.577]
kipper01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 207
Merit: 100

1KippERXwH1PdBxKNt1ksgqh89WBv6CtWQ


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 10:58:54 PM
 #90

 One pod is not working correctly as it only detects 4 chips.  Just wondering if it is a bad pod?
Code:
  [2018-03-04 12:43:51.340] Started cgminer 4.10.0
 [2018-03-04 12:43:51.809] GSE 0: Terminus BM1384 Bitcoin Miner (10030025)
 [2018-03-04 12:43:52.018] Probing for an alive pool
 [2018-03-04 12:43:52.126] GSE 0: found 4 chip(s)
 [2018-03-04 12:43:52.184] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 4000
 [2018-03-04 12:43:52.243] GSE 0: setting frequency to 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-04 12:43:52.252] GSE 0: open cores @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-04 12:43:52.269] Pool 0 message: Authorised, welcome to solo.ckpool.org xxx.kipper01
 [2018-03-04 12:43:53.019] Network diff set to 3.01T
 [2018-03-04 12:43:55.633] GSE 0: start work @ 100.00MHz
 [2018-03-04 12:44:56.038] GSE 0: frequency changed 100.00MHz -> 175.00MHz

I have 5 pod miners running on a USB hub all running successfully on separate batch files.


sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1163

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 04, 2018, 11:02:06 PM
 #91

Yep, ain't working right.

thehypnominer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 01:21:32 AM
 #92

Good evening all!

I wanted to see if anyone might be able to help me out with what I think is an issue with my pod (or maybe an issue with how I have it setup). I received it a few days ago, and I have not been able to get it to hash at anywhere near what it should be able to do. The most I have been able to get out of it running at 175Mhz and stock V is an average of about 10GH. I have tried to adjust both the frequency and V across the board but nothing seems to work. I feel like I must be doing something wrong. Also, anytime I adjust the V above stock, it Zombies on me. I am controlling it with a Win10 PC, and providing power through a VGA cable off of my 800w PSU. I know that's not a lot to go off of, but I would appreciate any help!
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1163

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 01:32:03 AM
 #93

Adjusting the V above stock isn't possible without breaking something. It was shipped with the voltage already at full, unless it came from a reseller who jacked around with it.

You are using the correct cgminer, and it detects 8 chips?

minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 01:48:31 AM
 #94

Quote
I have 5 pod miners running on a USB hub all running successfully on separate batch files.

What USB hub are you using?
thehypnominer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 01:51:43 AM
 #95

Adjusting the V above stock isn't possible without breaking something. It was shipped with the voltage already at full, unless it came from a reseller who jacked around with it.

You are using the correct cgminer, and it detects 8 chips?

Hi sidehack,

No, no reseller. Direct from you. I didn't realize it was set to full V out-of-the-box.

Yeah, I'm using the latest Windows build that was posted on 2/27. It is detecting all 8 chips.

https://imgur.com/8iR4b1u


sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1163

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 02:18:16 AM
 #96

Well heck, looks like you got the very first one off the line. Check that serial number.

If it's detecting all 8 chips, the issue almost has to be with your hardware or software setup rather than the miner. Those numbers don't make sense to be a miner issue.

kipper01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 207
Merit: 100

1KippERXwH1PdBxKNt1ksgqh89WBv6CtWQ


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 01:29:35 PM
 #97

Quote
I have 5 pod miners running on a USB hub all running successfully on separate batch files.

What USB hub are you using?

Klintay's hub on EyeBoot.
https://www.eyeboot.com/19-port-40a-usb3-hub.html


minerbobbert
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 156
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 03:29:55 PM
 #98

Quote
I have 5 pod miners running on a USB hub all running successfully on separate batch files.

What USB hub are you using?

Klintay's hub on EyeBoot.
https://www.eyeboot.com/19-port-40a-usb3-hub.html



Wow that's pricey. I could buy 2 extra miners for that price.
jameseisenhauer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 03:35:28 PM
 #99


3) is it possible to mine different pools off the same control unit? Or will I need a new unit? I'd like to point one of these and my old USB miners at ck's solo pool for "hey, why not??" reasons and haven't been able to get two instances of cgminer up at the same time...

I use the load balance feature in cg miner to run 10% of my 2 - 2pacs on ck solo  my config file:

Code:
pi@raspberrypi:~/git/vthoang/cgminer $ cat jim-config.conf
{
"pools": [
        {
            "url": "stratum+tcp:\/\/solo.ckpool.org:3333",

            "user": "1Ep47x2LKi2dabW6W6xDRrbERPodqf8ZFT.worker1",

            "pass": "1234"
        },
        {
            "quota": "9;stratum+tcp:\/\/stratum.bcc.pool.bitcoin.com:3333",

            "user": "jameseisenhauer",

            "pass": "1234"
        }
    ]
}
kipper01
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 207
Merit: 100

1KippERXwH1PdBxKNt1ksgqh89WBv6CtWQ


View Profile
March 05, 2018, 03:39:06 PM
 #100

Quote
I have 5 pod miners running on a USB hub all running successfully on separate batch files.

What USB hub are you using?

Klintay's hub on EyeBoot.
https://www.eyeboot.com/19-port-40a-usb3-hub.html



Wow that's pricey. I could buy 2 extra miners for that price.

It is but I used it at my work to offset the cost when I needed to update 500+ motorola scanners that needed a firmware update.  Smiley

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!