Bitcoin Forum
December 11, 2017, 03:49:44 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: BITBURNER FURY Technical discussion  (Read 17996 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
hephaist0s
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 621



View Profile
January 21, 2014, 08:25:08 PM
 #141

I have one Bitburner Fury which has been running fine for months, but the USB port finally snapped off. What are my options, if any?

Tips graciously accepted on my behalf by Mr. Pig. | object2212.com | 1H78y8FVeQrWY6KnxA6WLFQGUoajCuiMAu
1513007384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513007384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513007384
Reply with quote  #2

1513007384
Report to moderator
1513007384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513007384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513007384
Reply with quote  #2

1513007384
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513007384
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513007384

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513007384
Reply with quote  #2

1513007384
Report to moderator
zulover
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 582


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 09:01:05 PM
 #142

buy one with a port and canbus cable and link the two
hephaist0s
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 621



View Profile
January 23, 2014, 12:58:23 AM
 #143

buy one with a port and canbus cable and link the two

Thanks -- I was afraid of that. If anyone's selling one at a decent price...

Tips graciously accepted on my behalf by Mr. Pig. | object2212.com | 1H78y8FVeQrWY6KnxA6WLFQGUoajCuiMAu
bbxx
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728


cryptoshark


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 04:04:28 PM
 #144

buy one with a port and canbus cable and link the two

Thanks -- I was afraid of that. If anyone's selling one at a decent price...

I can sell you one with canbus and working usb
Price is 1 BTC
phatchance
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 01:44:04 AM
 #145

hey guys,  got my miner today, i had my pi setup and ready
im at the stage now of entering the command
"./autogen.sh –enable-avalon"

after following these instructions: https://www.asic-hardware.com/assembly-instructions-part-2/

but each time it gets the the 3rd or 4th chip im guessing its trying to configure it keeps failing, may there be a problem with the board or is anyone able to point me in thr giht direction?

here is where it is failing:
http://s23.postimg.org/l4ngdbs5z/013f79b1_3b87_4a81_936f_68075805c6ed.jpg

i have tried updating the firmware, deleting cg miner and re installing it to try and re build but nothing seems to be working

any help or suggestions would be much appreciated

phatchance.
scotjam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 268


View Profile
March 05, 2014, 10:01:28 PM
 #146

buy one with a port and canbus cable and link the two

Or sell the broken one to someone who already has one and a canbus; selling mining hardware is often much more profitable than running it

scotjam
Gator-hex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 490


View Profile
March 05, 2014, 10:42:57 PM
 #147

Quote
im at the stage now of entering the command
"./autogen.sh –enable-avalon"

That first minus sign looks longer than the second one, maybe it's a different ASCI character?

–enable-avalon

try

-enable-avalon or --enable-avalon

warhawk187
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 332



View Profile
March 06, 2014, 12:19:37 AM
 #148

I have 4 out of 8 boards that have issues. 3 of them simply do not turn on anymore. My best guess is the fuse on them are blown, but the photos/documentation on these specific boards are not very descriptive and I do not have the proper tools and do not have enough confidence in my soldering to tackle it myself. One of the 5 hashing boards has a raised chip, but manages to hash at ~13-14Gh/s. And to add to the issues, 4 of them have broken USB ports.

Does anyone have experience working on these boards? And if so, what kind of turnaround time can you anticipate given the problems that I described. Let me know if you can help, at worst, I would be willing to sell the stack of 8 for BTC2 if you are interested. I have a reliable/reputable escrow person(s) who we can work with and I have successful transactions with other members of this forum.

I am located in Brooklyn, NY.

Thanks,

J

CaptEmulation
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 09:46:13 PM
 #149

I purchased 3 bitburner bitfury boards in an ebay auction.  The seller packaged them poorly and one board was damaged in shipping (inductor and capacitor knocked off).  I purchased and successfully installed new components for the busted board which for me was fun and an adventure as I have not used my electrical engineering workstation in years. 

Then, like a total dumb-ass, I managed to cross power lines to one of the other previously working boards.  It received reverse 12V long enough to pop the internal circuit breaker in the power supply (1-2 seconds) afterwhich I noticed the problem and corrected the wiring.  Now I have this board which does not power up (no lights, no response).  I am looking for a fuse or something obvious that I can replace.  However, since the board is on the bottom of the stack, I have not taken the time to disassemble and more closely inspect.  I ended up after the exercise with a net zero hashrate change-- as I ended up breaking while repairing a board. 

Can anyone provide any guidance or pointers on what I might have burnt out?

CaptEmulation
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 09:53:25 PM
 #150

I have found the fuse.


scotjam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 268


View Profile
March 12, 2014, 01:35:29 AM
 #151

hey guys,  got my miner today, i had my pi setup and ready
im at the stage now of entering the command
"./autogen.sh –enable-avalon"

after following these instructions: https://www.asic-hardware.com/assembly-instructions-part-2/

but each time it gets the the 3rd or 4th chip im guessing its trying to configure it keeps failing, may there be a problem with the board or is anyone able to point me in thr giht direction?

here is where it is failing:


i have tried updating the firmware, deleting cg miner and re installing it to try and re build but nothing seems to be working

any help or suggestions would be much appreciated

phatchance.

Isn't it "--enable-avalon" rather than "-enable-avalon" (i.e. two hyphens at the start rather than one?)

scotjam
zuqka
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137


View Profile
March 28, 2014, 10:31:17 PM
 #152

hey guys,  got my miner today, i had my pi setup and ready
im at the stage now of entering the command
"./autogen.sh –enable-avalon"

after following these instructions: https://www.asic-hardware.com/assembly-instructions-part-2/

but each time it gets the the 3rd or 4th chip im guessing its trying to configure it keeps failing, may there be a problem with the board or is anyone able to point me in thr giht direction?

here is where it is failing:


i have tried updating the firmware, deleting cg miner and re installing it to try and re build but nothing seems to be working

any help or suggestions would be much appreciated

phatchance.

Isn't it "--enable-avalon" rather than "-enable-avalon" (i.e. two hyphens at the start rather than one?)


scotjam

It is --enable-avalon, got stuck too..thx a lot

nxt: NXT-2V7G-C8BY-KTYY-CAHNU * btc: 19UcQHepGvXb2fDcAMBJo1a3iduqBNXaGw * byte: XJBP46RQ7OZ6KKY4IXKL73VQBDKRIYJ4
voyo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
April 03, 2014, 12:25:27 PM
 #153

Hi guys,
Unfortunately my BBF a while ago has stopped working - its not detectable anymore on USB bus, however LEDs are suggesting that device itself it fine.  I found this thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294735.msg3371051#msg3371051
I bought PIcKIT3 programmer, downloaded firmwares from this thread (URLs are some posts above)
But unfortunately Im unable to fix the device properly - while trying to load Serials_7FFA.num file Im getting such messages :

2014-03-31T22:13:52+0200- Loading hex file. Please wait...
Loading code from C:\Users\voyo\Downloads\bitburnet fury\BitBurnerFury_for_production.hex...
2014-03-31T22:13:54+0200- Hex file loaded successfully.

2014-03-31T22:13:56+0200- Loading SQTP file. Please wait...
2014-03-31T22:13:56+0200- The SQTP file contains address which is invalid for this device.

Seems I have wrong SQTP file ?  Please advice ....
Killerloop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile WWW
May 01, 2014, 06:58:55 PM
 #154

Hi, I have two boards which run at approximately 12-15 GHs no matter what firmware or connection I use.

Upon thermal inspection I noticed that only less than half of the ASIC chips actually warm up when CGMiner runs.

Any hints on fixing the problem?

Loan request: "I need 7 BTC because We hired an archaelogist and asked him: Is there a treasure? And he said yes!"
ZBC3
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360



View Profile
May 01, 2014, 07:14:55 PM
 #155

Pickit instructions from ASIC-HARDWARE

Here are some guidelines to install the firmware onto the board:

If there was an install CD, you should install the drivers.
You will need to install MPLAB X IPE ( http://www.microchip.com/mplabx-ide-windows-installer ).

Startup MPLABX IPE (if you have version 1.9, you will need to downgrade to v1.8 as it has a bug).
You can downgrade by replacing the ipe.jar (in attachment) located in C:\Program Files (x86)\Microchip\MPLABX\mplab_ide\bin

If downgrade is successful, start up MPLABX IPE again, select 'Settings' -> 'Advanced Mode' -> enter password 'microchip' -> 'logon'

on the screen select the following options:
- Family: 32-Bit MCUs
- Device: PIC32MX564F128H
- Tool: select available PICKIT3 tool (make sure it is inserted into the USB)

Press 'Apply'

Source: use the browse button to select the 'BitBurnerFury_for_production.hex' file (see attachment)
SQTP / Serial: use the browse button to select 'Serials_7FFA.num' file

Power up the board and place the PicKit3 on the 5 pins on the board (you see 5 pins aligned on the board, first pin is the one closest to you, the front-side of the pickKit3 (side with the text ans arrow) should be faced towards the left side of the board (the side where the CAN-BUS is located).

Press 'Connect'.
If connection is succesfull, press 'Program'

After 'Program' is completed, the new firmware is installed and you can disconnect the PicKit and use your board for mining.
Killerloop
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294


View Profile WWW
May 05, 2014, 07:14:32 AM
 #156

Does this solve the 12~14 GHs issue?  Huh

Loan request: "I need 7 BTC because We hired an archaelogist and asked him: Is there a treasure? And he said yes!"
mpellet771
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10


View Profile
May 07, 2014, 06:26:34 PM
 #157

Hi, guys,
  I tried to pawn off my Bitburner Fury with the broken USB port and the buyer is shipping it back. I'd love to use this thing if I could, but following the steps to use the PickIt don't seem to work. What mining software do you all use?

Any tips for me? Even if I buy a second one with an unbroken USB port, I'd be happy. Unless I screwed up the firmware trying to fix this one.

I used the information in this article: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294735.msg3371051#msg3371051

If you've been successful at this kind of installation, please let me know. Otherwise, want my miner when the buyer ships it back?

--Mpellet771
CaptEmulation
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 135


View Profile
May 07, 2014, 11:22:05 PM
 #158

This is all AFAIK as a second hand BBF owner.  I don't think there is any reason to update boards with broken USB port.  To connect a board without a USB port you will need a board with a USB port, 4 jumpers and a CANBUS cable.   You only need to update boards with a USB port that you want to connect to the latest cgminer versions.

rapcorejoe
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
May 24, 2014, 04:24:01 PM
 #159

Hi guys,

I have the same problem with my Bitburner Fury. Green LED is blinking and my pc can't detect Bitburner board. But, when I moving USB cable on USB port I noticed this in my syslog (connected, disconnected, conencted, disconnected): http://pastebin.com/pVZTshqg and then red LED comes up and after that green LED and so on (device reboot Huh)
Any clues ? Is there a usb port problem, firmware issue ?
Thanks for your answer in advance.






Hi guys,
Unfortunately my BBF a while ago has stopped working - its not detectable anymore on USB bus, however LEDs are suggesting that device itself it fine.  I found this thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294735.msg3371051#msg3371051
I bought PIcKIT3 programmer, downloaded firmwares from this thread (URLs are some posts above)
But unfortunately Im unable to fix the device properly - while trying to load Serials_7FFA.num file Im getting such messages :

2014-03-31T22:13:52+0200- Loading hex file. Please wait...
Loading code from C:\Users\voyo\Downloads\bitburnet fury\BitBurnerFury_for_production.hex...
2014-03-31T22:13:54+0200- Hex file loaded successfully.

2014-03-31T22:13:56+0200- Loading SQTP file. Please wait...
2014-03-31T22:13:56+0200- The SQTP file contains address which is invalid for this device.

Seems I have wrong SQTP file ?  Please advice ....
juve4v
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 506


View Profile
May 26, 2014, 08:58:00 AM
 #160

Hi guys,

I have the same problem with my Bitburner Fury. Green LED is blinking and my pc can't detect Bitburner board. But, when I moving USB cable on USB port I noticed this in my syslog (connected, disconnected, conencted, disconnected): http://pastebin.com/pVZTshqg and then red LED comes up and after that green LED and so on (device reboot Huh)
Any clues ? Is there a usb port problem, firmware issue ?
Thanks for your answer in advance.






Hi guys,
Unfortunately my BBF a while ago has stopped working - its not detectable anymore on USB bus, however LEDs are suggesting that device itself it fine.  I found this thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=294735.msg3371051#msg3371051
I bought PIcKIT3 programmer, downloaded firmwares from this thread (URLs are some posts above)
But unfortunately Im unable to fix the device properly - while trying to load Serials_7FFA.num file Im getting such messages :

2014-03-31T22:13:52+0200- Loading hex file. Please wait...
Loading code from C:\Users\voyo\Downloads\bitburnet fury\BitBurnerFury_for_production.hex...
2014-03-31T22:13:54+0200- Hex file loaded successfully.

2014-03-31T22:13:56+0200- Loading SQTP file. Please wait...
2014-03-31T22:13:56+0200- The SQTP file contains address which is invalid for this device.

Seems I have wrong SQTP file ?  Please advice ....


It happened to me  too 1 week ago when just stopped out of the blue.The board  turns on ok, green led blinking but no pc can detect it anymore . I'd like to mention that my micro usb connector is firm and tight, soldered onto the board as I ironed & hot glued it first time after I unpacked  6 months ago. Any suggestions are welcomed, thx!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8] 9 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!