Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 07:21:28 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Windows gadget which displays BTC and currency amounts  (Read 31752 times)
Kalroth
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 51


View Profile
February 08, 2014, 08:54:47 PM
 #101


Yeah, Windows gadgets are not really too debugable. Smiley If you have any invalid JSON keys under seconday exchange, try removing them.

That did the trick, thanks a ton for the help!
A donation from 1DNB.. should be ticking in soon. Smiley
1481354488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354488
Reply with quote  #2

1481354488
Report to moderator
1481354488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354488
Reply with quote  #2

1481354488
Report to moderator
1481354488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354488
Reply with quote  #2

1481354488
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481354488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354488
Reply with quote  #2

1481354488
Report to moderator
1481354488
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481354488

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481354488
Reply with quote  #2

1481354488
Report to moderator
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
February 16, 2014, 07:21:27 PM
 #102

Hi,

how could I add a bitcoincharts.com's bitcoin.de ticker to your gadget?

The data is here:
http://bitcoincharts.com/markets/btcdeEUR.html

And the API:
http://bitcoincharts.com/about/markets-api/

I've tried to put http://api.bitcoincharts.com/v1/markets.json for secondary exchange URL (keeping bitstamp USD as primary) and "btcdeEUR.bid" for the sell JSON value but it does not seem to work. I'm quite sure I'm doing something wrong... thanks for any help!
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
February 17, 2014, 09:44:15 PM
 #103

how could I add a bitcoincharts.com's bitcoin.de ticker to your gadget?

The data is here:
http://bitcoincharts.com/markets/btcdeEUR.html

And the API:
http://bitcoincharts.com/about/markets-api/

I've tried to put http://api.bitcoincharts.com/v1/markets.json for secondary exchange URL (keeping bitstamp USD as primary) and "btcdeEUR.bid" for the sell JSON value but it does not seem to work. I'm quite sure I'm doing something wrong... thanks for any help!

Hi Glon,
unfortunately I don't think it's possible. You could do it by using something like json[0].close if the btcdeEUR position was always first (or nth) in the list, but as I can see the position of exchanges is not constant for each call, so you would need to loop over all elements and check symbol to find the right one... sorry.
scottemick
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9

https://localbitcoins.com/p/ScottEmick/


View Profile
February 20, 2014, 06:49:43 PM
 #104

For some reason I can never get the BTC one to work with coinbase.

url: http://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/buy

sample json:
{
  "subtotal": {
    "amount": "577.40",
    "currency": "USD"
  },
  "fees": [
    {
      "coinbase": {
        "amount": "5.77",
        "currency": "USD"
      }
    },
    {
      "bank": {
        "amount": "0.15",
        "currency": "USD"
      }
    }
  ],
  "total": {
    "amount": "583.32",
    "currency": "USD"
  },
  "amount": "583.32",
  "currency": "USD"
}


I try:
json.total.amount
amount

but nothing comes up

Bitrated user: scottemick.
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
February 21, 2014, 01:27:08 AM
 #105

For some reason I can never get the BTC one to work with coinbase.
url: http://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/buy

I try:
json.total.amount
amount

but nothing comes up

It seems that http ends up with CloudFlare redirects so the gadget gets some redirect HTML instead of JSON. Use https - https://coinbase.com/api/v1/prices/buy which is where it ends up after redirects. Only "amount" is not conclusive as there are several amounts, but json.total.amount works fine. And make sure that you you clear your JSON keys for field 1, 2 and 3 (when they cannot be resolved final amount can't be calculated correctly as well).
scottemick
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9

https://localbitcoins.com/p/ScottEmick/


View Profile
February 21, 2014, 09:21:31 PM
 #106

Thanks so much, it works great...

Bitrated user: scottemick.
zigmas
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
February 22, 2014, 04:33:58 PM
 #107

Great gadget! awesome  Smiley
w.a.y.n.e
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 01:41:41 PM
 #108

Just wanted to say thanks, handy looking gadget.

Just one little request if i may....

I use GBP as my primary currency, and was going to use BitPay API/Ticker (https://bitpay.com/api/rates/GBP) but as you can see it's a little short on secondary information. So my plan was to use the BitPay as primary, and then BitStamp as the secondary to get low/high rates.

Now that i can do, however it won't give me the option to convert using yahoo financial in the secondary exchange Sad so i tried setting it up as BitStamp primary, and also set the currency conversion to GBP, and then in the secondary i left the api address blank, that worked as far as converting went, but only for the current rate, not the low/high

any chance you could include the conversion option for each field please ?
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
February 25, 2014, 01:58:56 PM
 #109

MTGox ticker does not seem to work, what gives?
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
February 25, 2014, 02:09:09 PM
 #110

MTGox ticker does not seem to work, what gives?

MTGox is dead forever, use one of the other exchanges, I use bitstamp

Primary Exchange: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
JSON Key: last

Secondary Exchange
JSON Keys: ask, last & bid

Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 10:02:15 PM
 #111

I use GBP as my primary currency, and was going to use BitPay API/Ticker (https://bitpay.com/api/rates/GBP) but as you can see it's a little short on secondary information. So my plan was to use the BitPay as primary, and then BitStamp as the secondary to get low/high rates.

Now that i can do, however it won't give me the option to convert using yahoo financial in the secondary exchange Sad so i tried setting it up as BitStamp primary, and also set the currency conversion to GBP, and then in the secondary i left the api address blank, that worked as far as converting went, but only for the current rate, not the low/high

any chance you could include the conversion option for each field please ?

Hey wayne,

I'm not quite sure that I understood what you want to display - why do you need spread info in a currency you're not trading in? Could you please explain a bit more?

Secondary fields are intentionally not convertible through Yahoo! finance, but you can always spin up several instances of the gadget if you want to convert several amounts.
w.a.y.n.e
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile
March 03, 2014, 09:05:10 AM
 #112

whilst all trading is USD based, as you pointed out, however in realities for me, the value in GBP is more understandable/comparable, and as such i use your bitcoin gadget to display my wallet content, and it's value in GBP and then i use your other gadget to display the current GBP exchange rate.

I use the BitPay exchange api because one of the PC accessory sites i use accept bitcoin, and use that site for their conversion rates.

THe high / low rates being in GBP would just have been a nicety

oddly enough nobody does this, even the BitPay widget for your phone, that they make only ever works in USD yet their site is a global concern that supplies exchange rates in multiple currencies.


this is basically what i have on the screen....

http://s27.postimg.org/rtv36ktn7/Picture0017.png


which by chance also shows a second issue, the secondary info does not populate unless the gadget is expanded and left for the update period to complete (i also noticed a similar failure to load automatically on the primary info if you used 2 wallets in gadget)

leaving for the time it took to screenshot and upload resulted in it updating....

http://s14.postimg.org/4jqyhdw8h/Picture0018.png



i guess it just boils down to the fact i'm used to working in GBP, what i pay for with bitcoin is likely to have a comparable GBP value
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
March 04, 2014, 12:50:29 AM
 #113

whilst all trading is USD based, as you pointed out, however in realities for me, the value in GBP is more understandable/comparable, and as such i use your bitcoin gadget to display my wallet content, and it's value in GBP and then i use your other gadget to display the current GBP exchange rate.

I use the BitPay exchange api because one of the PC accessory sites i use accept bitcoin, and use that site for their conversion rates.

THe high / low rates being in GBP would just have been a nicety

oddly enough nobody does this, even the BitPay widget for your phone, that they make only ever works in USD yet their site is a global concern that supplies exchange rates in multiple currencies.

i guess it just boils down to the fact i'm used to working in GBP, what i pay for with bitcoin is likely to have a comparable GBP value

Well, not a scenario I would have thought of, and officially not supported, but I think it can be done. Use this settings. I might add conversion option in the next version to make this simpler.

Primary exchange: https://bitpay.com/api/rates/GBP
Primary exchange JSON key: json.rate / conversionRate
Ticker currency: USD
Target currency: GBP

Secondary exchange: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
Field 1 JSON label: high
Field 1 JSON key: json.high * conversionRate
Field 2 JSON label: last
Field 2 JSON key: json.last * conversionRate
Field 3 JSON label: low
Field 3 JSON key: json.low * conversionRate

which by chance also shows a second issue, the secondary info does not populate unless the gadget is expanded and left for the update period to complete (i also noticed a similar failure to load automatically on the primary info if you used 2 wallets in gadget)

leaving for the time it took to screenshot and upload resulted in it updating....

I'll look into it - I did notice similar problems with Google Docs. It fires out several requests and waits for responses, and updates as response is received. I think it might not update if response received is not valid. One thing you can do is simply open settings and click OK - this forces an update.
Jesteroth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
March 09, 2014, 11:32:41 AM
 #114

How can i get the BTC/USD from BTC-E ? I have the url but can't figure out the json.Huh

https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker

/EDIT

Ok i figured out now, mybitcoins gadget can't get btc_usd from BTCE but my litecoins gadget can get it. Very weird problem Smiley
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
March 09, 2014, 01:36:42 PM
 #115

How can i get the BTC/USD from BTC-E ? I have the url but can't figure out the json.Huh

https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker

/EDIT

Ok i figured out now, mybitcoins gadget can't get btc_usd from BTCE but my litecoins gadget can get it. Very weird problem Smiley

This is indeed strange. What are your JSON values, are they either "last" or "json.ticker.last"? Do you have the latest version of MyBitcoins gadget (4.0) - you can check this out when you go to desktop gadget gallery and click on "show details"?
Coin.millionair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2014, 05:55:18 PM
 #116

Hi.

My gadget still shows MtGox price of BTC which is not the real value on the markjet as we all know Smiley

Could someone let me know how to set coinbase or bitstamp price in the gadget settings ?
Im lost and not familiar with API and Json at all Sad


Thanks in advance...

Cheers Smiley

Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
March 09, 2014, 06:14:44 PM
 #117

My gadget still shows MtGox price of BTC which is not the real value on the markjet as we all know Smiley
Could someone let me know how to set coinbase or bitstamp price in the gadget settings ?
Im lost and not familiar with API and Json at all Sad

Bitstamp
exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid

BTC-E
exchange URL: https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker
exhange rate JSON key: sell
field 1 JSON key: sell
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: buy
ChiangYay
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66


View Profile
March 10, 2014, 09:49:38 AM
 #118

exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
is not sending data to me, I GET GOX OLD DATA ask 136.3901,
last 135, bid 135, USD N/A
Anyone have the same problem.

It would be nice if Domci could make a downloadable basic gadget version with bitstamp anyway gox is defunct. 

Thanks in advance.

ChiangYay


My gadget still shows MtGox price of BTC which is not the real value on the markjet as we all know Smiley
Could someone let me know how to set coinbase or bitstamp price in the gadget settings ?
Im lost and not familiar with API and Json at all Sad

Bitstamp
exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid

BTC-E
exchange URL: https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker
exhange rate JSON key: sell
field 1 JSON key: sell
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: buy

Coin.millionair
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2014, 09:44:42 PM
 #119

exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
is not sending data to me, I GET GOX OLD DATA ask 136.3901,
last 135, bid 135, USD N/A
Anyone have the same problem.

It would be nice if Domci could make a downloadable basic gadget version with bitstamp anyway gox is defunct. 

Thanks in advance.

ChiangYay


My gadget still shows MtGox price of BTC which is not the real value on the markjet as we all know Smiley
Could someone let me know how to set coinbase or bitstamp price in the gadget settings ?
Im lost and not familiar with API and Json at all Sad

Bitstamp
exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid

BTC-E
exchange URL: https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker
exhange rate JSON key: sell
field 1 JSON key: sell
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: buy



Same for me, here Sad
-Downloaded 4.0
-Copy pasted the lines above (by Domici) but with them, there is no value (N/A) showing.
In case i close gadget and add it again from gadghet gallery, it shows MtGox price (136.3901)

Downloadable version with Coinbase or Bitstamp data would be more than welcome.... !!!

Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
March 11, 2014, 01:03:37 AM
 #120

Sorry guys, my copypasta mistake.

Exchange rate JSON key for Bitstamp is not "lowest_ask" - but just "ask", same as the field 1 key. So:

Bitstamp
exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
exhange rate JSON key: ask
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid

I've wanted to release a new version for weeks now but as I'm in crunch mode with a big project somehow just can't find the time to actually do it. Sad
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!