Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:40:57 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Windows gadget which displays BTC and currency amounts  (Read 31761 times)
memyself
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 05:31:01 PM
 #61

ok, so I contacted them and received this response.
Quote
Hi,

Thanks for your enquiry about API access to CoinDesk's Bitcoin Price Index.

As we just launched it, we still need to finalise a few things to ensure the API is stable and performant, as well as provide developer documentation.

We should be able to do this within the next few days, so we will be in touch next week with further information on gaining access.

Please note that this is a free API, and result data will be formatted using JSON.

Kind regards,

Jeremy

Hopefully they will let us know soon.
1481402457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402457
Reply with quote  #2

1481402457
Report to moderator
1481402457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402457
Reply with quote  #2

1481402457
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481402457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402457
Reply with quote  #2

1481402457
Report to moderator
1481402457
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402457

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402457
Reply with quote  #2

1481402457
Report to moderator
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
September 12, 2013, 10:55:55 PM
 #62

Quote
Please note that this is a free API, and result data will be formatted using JSON.

MyBitcoins can chew any kind of JSON, so there should be no problem connecting once this becomes public.

For simple JSON, it works with just a key name, but for more complex JSON where you have several keys with the same name like on MtGox you can access it like in Javascript, i.e. "json.data.sell.value". You can even put some kind of evaluable Javascript in the field (though this has significant limits), like "Math.PI.toFixed(6)" to get PI rounded to 6 decimal places.

Anyway, drop me a line once the API becomes available if you have any trouble with it and we'll figure it out.
memyself
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 02:31:26 PM
 #63

CoinDesk's API has been published (they got back to me with a link).

The api is listed at http://www.coindesk.com/api/

I was able to set mine up with Exchange URL:
http://api.coindesk.com/v1/bpi/currentprice/USD.json

and JSON key:
rate

You can also specify other currencies in place of USD above. 
It seems to work fairly well and I'm glad to have the option to display a composite bitcoin value without the need to choose an exchange.
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 03:37:47 PM
 #64

Memyself, thanks for the update!
bitkoof
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 69


CoinDesker


View Profile WWW
October 09, 2013, 11:08:45 AM
 #65

Let us (CoinDesk) know when it is integrated  Grin
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 11:27:52 AM
 #66

Let us (CoinDesk) know when it is integrated  Grin

This is it, MyBitcoins gadget works with any JSON API. Anyone who wants to use it with CoinDesk just needs to enter the following in settings:
Exchange URL: http://api.coindesk.com/v1/bpi/currentprice/USD.json
JSON key name: rate

Do you perhaps plan to expose high/low/avg/volume values through API at one point?
DonGateley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 20, 2013, 09:25:35 PM
 #67

I am using the exchange URL https://data.mtgox.com/api/2/BTCUSD/money/ticker that was the default on installation of the widget.  I am only getting the BTC and USD rows displayed.  I would like to see the secondary rows sell (json.dat.sell.value), last (json.data.last.value), and buy (json.data.buy.value) but they are not showing up.  I can't figure out what to do to get those secondary rows to show up.  Any help greatly appreciated.
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
October 20, 2013, 10:19:48 PM
 #68

I am using the exchange URL https://data.mtgox.com/api/2/BTCUSD/money/ticker that was the default on installation of the widget.  I am only getting the BTC and USD rows displayed.  I would like to see the secondary rows sell (json.dat.sell.value), last (json.data.last.value), and buy (json.data.buy.value) but they are not showing up.  I can't figure out what to do to get those secondary rows to show up.  Any help greatly appreciated.

Hi Don,

simply hover over the gadget, wait for the icons to appear, and click on the one between the "x" (close gadget) and options icon.
DonGateley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 22, 2013, 08:40:33 PM
 #69

I am using the exchange URL https://data.mtgox.com/api/2/BTCUSD/money/ticker that was the default on installation of the widget.  I am only getting the BTC and USD rows displayed.  I would like to see the secondary rows sell (json.dat.sell.value), last (json.data.last.value), and buy (json.data.buy.value) but they are not showing up.  I can't figure out what to do to get those secondary rows to show up.  Any help greatly appreciated.

Hi Don,

simply hover over the gadget, wait for the icons to appear, and click on the one between the "x" (close gadget) and options icon.

Thanks, I had found that, the wrench icon, but can't figure out what to do within it to make it work.  My interest is trading but If I check "trading" all I get for USD is N/A.  I have to check "mining" to get a value to appear in USD.  This puzzles me.

Also, the default setup within the wrench only gives me the rows labeled BTC and USD.  I'd like also to see sell, last and buy but can't tell how to effect that.  Any help appreciated, thanks.
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
October 22, 2013, 09:40:04 PM
 #70

simply hover over the gadget, wait for the icons to appear, and click on the one between the "x" (close gadget) and options icon.

Thanks, I had found that, the wrench icon, but can't figure out what to do within it to make it work.  My interest is trading but If I check "trading" all I get for USD is N/A.  I have to check "mining" to get a value to appear in USD.  This puzzles me.

Also, the default setup within the wrench only gives me the rows labeled BTC and USD.  I'd like also to see sell, last and buy but can't tell how to effect that.  Any help appreciated, thanks.

No, not the wrench icon. You need to click the larger size icon (arrow in a frame icon) which is above wrench icon. Or I'm completely misunderstanding you. Smiley



Re trading, this is actually an outdated preset, thanks for noticing. I'll fix it in the next version. In the meantime, after you choose "trading" and click apply button, go to Primary exchange section and change Exchange rate JSON key form 'json["return"].last.value' to 'json.data.last.value'.
DonGateley
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
October 23, 2013, 09:12:22 PM
 #71


No, not the wrench icon. You need to click the larger size icon (arrow in a frame icon) which is above wrench icon. Or I'm completely misunderstanding you. Smiley

http://i.imgur.com/2AZCpBz.png

Re trading, this is actually an outdated preset, thanks for noticing. I'll fix it in the next version. In the meantime, after you choose "trading" and click apply button, go to Primary exchange section and change Exchange rate JSON key form 'json["return"].last.value' to 'json.data.last.value'.

Got it.  The size icon made it right.  The trading fix worked perfectly.


Many Thanks
40-Pin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
November 15, 2013, 10:47:07 PM
 #72

BTC-E
exchange URL: https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker
exhange rate JSON key: sell
field 1 JSON key: sell
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: buy

Vircurex
exchange URL: https://vircurex.com/api/get_info_for_1_currency.json?base=BTC&alt=USD
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: lowest_ask
field 2 JSON key: last_trade
field 3 JSON key: highest_bid

Bitstamp
exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid

Trying to figure out which settings to use for coinbase from their API page https://coinbase.com/api/doc not sure I am on the right track.

4x SAPPHIRE 100352-3L 7950 using 75 omh resistor dummy plugs.
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 11:53:24 PM
 #73

Trying to figure out which settings to use for coinbase from their API page https://coinbase.com/api/doc not sure I am on the right track.

exchange URL: https://coinbase.com/api/v1/currencies/exchange_rates
exchange rate JSON key: btc_to_usd

Clear JSON keys for secondary exchange.
hieroglyph
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70



View Profile
November 16, 2013, 02:21:49 PM
 #74

I won't be downloading this but I do appreciate the work you put into this tool.  Looks like something I'd think about using in the future.

40-Pin
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13



View Profile
November 16, 2013, 05:22:23 PM
 #75

Trying to figure out which settings to use for coinbase from their API page https://coinbase.com/api/doc not sure I am on the right track.

exchange URL: https://coinbase.com/api/v1/currencies/exchange_rates
exchange rate JSON key: btc_to_usd

Clear JSON keys for secondary exchange.

Thanks so much, works perfect. Your gadget is the best one out there!

On a side note I made some changes to its look to make it match the darker theme of my other gadgets. Bright gold can be distracting, thought I would show you a screenshot. You should think of adding some skins somewhere down the line Smiley
http://i.imgur.com/9zpYE4x.jpg

4x SAPPHIRE 100352-3L 7950 using 75 omh resistor dummy plugs.
mulderfox
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile WWW
November 19, 2013, 05:55:50 AM
 #76

I tried setting bitstamp as primary exchange with the https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/ address and "last" (without ") but I still get N/A in the price field..

Why is that?

thanks!

Bitcoin Tips are welcome: 1KXZp5JSGGXtygaL87bdotzAzx6vTVE8s6
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
November 21, 2013, 01:09:29 AM
 #77

I tried setting bitstamp as primary exchange with the https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/ address and "last" (without ") but I still get N/A in the price field..

Why is that?

thanks!

Hm, it seems that Bitstamp is not allowing extra parameter that MyBitcoins is sending to avoid ticker results being cached. I'll see what I can do in the next version, I'm not using Bitstamp so I wasn't aware that this doesn't work with their API.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
November 26, 2013, 02:07:15 PM
 #78

With the rising value of BTC could the next release be slightly bigger, ie take it up from 8 to 10 digits, that would allow USD amounts up to 999,999.99 (including a , for nicer formatting) and more decimals on the btc field.

Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
November 27, 2013, 01:15:43 AM
 #79

With the rising value of BTC could the next release be slightly bigger, ie take it up from 8 to 10 digits, that would allow USD amounts up to 999,999.99 (including a , for nicer formatting) and more decimals on the btc field.

Well, if you have more than thousand USD, gadget rounds it to one decimal place, and if you have more than million USD, it assumes that you're not interested in small change and allows you to display up to hundred million. I know there are many new Bitcoin millionaires, but hopefully this is enough even for them. Smiley

BTC field displays up to 8 digits, rounding decimal places for larger amounts to fit in allocated space. So, you can display up to 99999999 BTC which is pretty hefty sum by today's exchange rate, or up to 7 decimal places for small amounts of bitcoins.

Width is actually recommended width for Windows gadgets so that they can be stacked vertically, so the current design is kind of compromise between displaying the most information, in sufficiently large font, at a standard width, and I'm reluctant to change it unless more users find it constraining.
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
November 27, 2013, 01:36:51 AM
 #80

It was more for the dollar amount, just thought it would be nice to have it as 123,456.78 rather than 123456.7 just an aesthetic thing really it's probably only me that's so anal Smiley

I didn't think about the width restriction, but one option could be to use symbols so BTC would be BTC and USD would be $ etc that would free up 2 more characters

Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!