Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 03:39:28 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Windows gadget which displays BTC and currency amounts  (Read 31746 times)
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 795


View Profile
November 17, 2012, 05:02:27 PM
 #21

this is cool, thank you!
1481297968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297968
Reply with quote  #2

1481297968
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481297968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297968
Reply with quote  #2

1481297968
Report to moderator
1481297968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297968
Reply with quote  #2

1481297968
Report to moderator
1481297968
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481297968

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481297968
Reply with quote  #2

1481297968
Report to moderator
yucca
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 217



View Profile WWW
February 27, 2013, 12:42:53 AM
 #22

This is an oldish thread, but what the hey:

Nice work on the gadget! Cool

It would be nice if double clicking the gadget caused system to open URL of primary exchange.

baggyp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70


View Profile
March 04, 2013, 02:35:10 AM
 #23

This is pretty neat! I haven't downloaded it yet because I would like to hear from someone with a higher post count that it can be trusted, but it does seem like a great gadget!
hmmmstrange
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 668


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 12:04:26 AM
 #24

{"error":"This API is not available directly anymore, please replace mtgox.com with data.mtgox.com in the url"}

You need to change your exchange url to

https://data.mtgox.com/api/0/data/ticker.php
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
March 24, 2013, 05:07:51 PM
 #25

{"error":"This API is not available directly anymore, please replace mtgox.com with data.mtgox.com in the url"}

You need to change your exchange url to

https://data.mtgox.com/api/0/data/ticker.php

Thanks hmmmstrage!

Everybody,

the new version of the gadget is out; it connects to the new MtGox API and fixes one minor refresh-related bug as well. Please upgrade: http://domchi.cc/mybitcoins/

What hmmmstrange says is one way to do it but will still use the old MtGox API which will probably stop working at one point. On MyBitcoins home page (http://domchi.cc/mybitcoins/) I've published a way to switch to the new MtGox API without upgrading.
Clock Loop
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


...2,951,413.141592...


View Profile
April 11, 2013, 11:04:08 AM
 #26

Still something wrong with the gadget..   When you select trading mode, and then back to mining, the url switches back to old url.
Also, this gadget won't work with correct url manually entered also.

I located the problem in the "Settings.js" file.  Even your new version has this error still.

I "fixed" the js file with the proper url "http://data.mtgox.com/api/1/BTCUSD/ticker" in two places where the old url was, but the ticker still doesn't work for me at all. (although after fixing the settings.js file, the url now always shows the proper url, but the USD box always shows N/A, for both mining and trading.   If I choose mining, I get N/A in both BTC and USD boxes too.

So I tried to use as my exchange url: https://api.bitfloor.com/ticker/1
I entered into the exchange rate JSON key: price
And deleted all other entries below.
And now it shows USD value properly.

Something is messed up majorly with the new version and the new mt.gox ticker url and JSON keys that its using.

Feel free to send me bitcoins. 1KSwVC3intr4KJK36bQ5NDMmyuxAcpzEY9
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fFYHWYaT_oo
spudy12
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 46


View Profile WWW
April 12, 2013, 11:23:42 PM
 #27

ahh just what i've been looking for.. thanks!

Has the above helped you? Consider buying my a coffee Smiley BTC: 18AcGgzE6CBVzTphKFVdvHEzQctCG2wCi6 LTC: LP3NHLsAUEjGPDteDQLjviZRPeyTmvqXAH DVC: 1Cvf4NNwFoVB5wnBwoFEU7dwrSXPFK7rLR

Earn Devcoins by Writing
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
April 15, 2013, 09:49:18 PM
 #28

New update is available.

This follows the undocumented change in behavior of MtGox API which broke the gadget - MtGox started actively refusing rand parameter which gadget uses to make sure that MtGox response is not cached.

As a bonus, I've added a new note field to settings screen which you can use for anything you like. For example, in this field you can store the last date when you updated the correction amount...
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 09:59:52 AM
 #29

Hi,

did the Gox API change something again? As of today, the gadget is no longer able to fetch Gox values...

Thanks!
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 06:54:06 PM
 #30

Hi,

did the Gox API change something again? As of today, the gadget is no longer able to fetch Gox values...

Thanks!

+1 down for me as well

Dev was last active here on 15th april. Looks like we're screwed...
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 07:41:46 PM
 #31

Looks like the solution is to use https for the Gox API?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=164404.msg2090533#msg2090533
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
May 09, 2013, 11:06:08 PM
 #32

Hi all,

sorry for not updating sooner, was offline until now. Yep, MtGox turned off http API and started redirecting it to https, and IE which has to be used in gadgets unfortunately doesn't follow redirects. New version of gadget is available for download, but you can simply change exchange URL to https://data.mtgox.com/api/1/BTCUSD/ticker

A few quick tips on API changes (and MtGox seems to change API pretty often). If gadget stops updating, you can force update by going to settings and clicking OK without changing anything. If you see N/A, then one of the URLs that are polled is not working - try loading them manually in browser to see which one. If you understand JSON you can also figure out if JSON changed and update accordingly and please feel free to post it here for others to see.

Gadget is completely configurable and should work with most APIs for precisely this reason, APIs change and exchanges come and go... and hopefully we'll see more people using alternate exchanges so that MtGox doesn't hold that much of BTC exchange traffic and stops being the central place for attacking decentralized currency. Smiley

Actually, let me give some settings for alternate exchanges (just change it in settings):

BTC-E
exchange URL: https://btc-e.com/api/2/btc_usd/ticker
exhange rate JSON key: sell
field 1 JSON key: sell
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: buy

Vircurex
exchange URL: https://vircurex.com/api/get_info_for_1_currency.json?base=BTC&alt=USD
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: lowest_ask
field 2 JSON key: last_trade
field 3 JSON key: highest_bid

Bitstamp
exchange URL: https://www.bitstamp.net/api/ticker/
exhange rate JSON key: lowest_ask
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid

Jesteroth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
May 10, 2013, 06:06:19 AM
 #33

Thanks for the update  Wink
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 11, 2013, 08:51:37 AM
 #34

Thanks for the update!

One more thing though:

Not sure if it's just on my PC, but if I manually close the gadget and open it again, all my settings are lost and I have to re-enter them. In between reboots however the gadget can keep the settings which is a little weird. Is this a known thing?
Jesteroth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
May 17, 2013, 06:46:18 PM
 #35

It's not working again  Cry
glon
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 181


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 06:53:20 AM
 #36

Seems to be working fine here, using the URL https://data.mtgox.com/api/1/BTCEUR/ticker ...
Tigggger
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952



View Profile
May 18, 2013, 09:31:54 AM
 #37

It's not working again  Cry

Down and out here as well.  Huh

Same here for the last couple of days, it's strange as if I open up the URL https://data.mtgox.com/api/1/BTCUSD/ticker everything appears fine, just not reading the data for some reason and I have no knowledge of JSON to know why.

EDIT:
Changing to https://data.mtgox.com/api/1/BTCGBP/ticker works fine, must be something on the USD page

Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 10:36:38 AM
 #38

Thanks for the update!

One more thing though:

Not sure if it's just on my PC, but if I manually close the gadget and open it again, all my settings are lost and I have to re-enter them. In between reboots however the gadget can keep the settings which is a little weird. Is this a known thing?

This is how gadget settings in Windows work; you can have multiple instances of the gadget on the desktop, and each has its own settings. When you close the gadget though, those settings are lost. I'd be grateful for a bit of input from you guys on this - especially with recent and constant MtGox API changes, is changing settings manually on each new version becoming a problem? What default options do you usually change in settings?
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
May 18, 2013, 11:02:13 AM
 #39

It's not working again  Cry

Yep. I've posted the update, please download the new version. This one is fixed by switching to MtGox API v2.

Sorry for slow update on this; it took me a while to crack this one. For technical details read on...

There was another undocumented change in behavior of MtGox API. The gadget automatically adds random number in parameter when calling exchange URL. This is needed since it's the only way to force IE (which powers Windows gadgets) to reload the page. However, MtGox is becoming more and more strict regarding parameters - first they added parameter validation, which I circumvented by using parameter with empty name. Now the empty name parameter is not accepted which forces me to switch to v2 API which is not yet officially documented, where this works. The constant MtGox API changes are however becoming a problem; I'm contacting MtGox to try to work this out with them and considering alternatives (such as switching to Blockchain API for MtGox ticker).
Jesteroth
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19



View Profile
May 19, 2013, 12:41:54 AM
 #40

Thnx for update, much appreciated  Wink
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!