Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 05:14:39 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Bitcoin Windows gadget which displays BTC and currency amounts  (Read 31750 times)
ikydesu
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


fb.com/Bitky.shop | Bitcoin Merch!Premium Quality!


View Profile WWW
June 22, 2015, 08:31:04 AM
 #141

Ouch, when i search for bitcoin widget price for windows, then i find this thread. When i scanned the site found this: https://www.virustotal.com/id/url/c1814dab7842c5ecf697e632d497e763cdabd3c76bf832d7a004efcf098d90f8/analysis/1434958587/ 1 Malicious.
~iki

What you're looking at is a false positive. Please note that the other 62 scanners on the same page say it's clean. I don't know where Websense ThreatSeeker is getting its info, but I can assure you that site is legit and without viruses.

But you don't have to take my word for it - check the page source, there's nothing suspicious in it. Also, the .gadget file itself is a simple ZIP with a few images, HTML and Javascript packed inside - you can unzip it before you install it and check it out. Search .js files in js folder for "http://" and "https://" to see where it connects.

Also, here's the antivirus scan of .gadget file on two separate online virus scanners - clean as a whistle. Don't trust me? Scan it yourself, you'll get the same result.

https://www.metascan-online.com/en/scanresult/file/636263b8c0674f9297b969288d7196c0

https://www.virustotal.com/id/file/443918b479a51bb957503805c5585688986ad66f94cae42b65c2c2bd919e32d4/analysis/

Easy, I do not mean to denigrate your site, as far as i see guys here looks like they haven't any problem. Oke i will check carefully, but make sure to check the site always clean.


~iki

1481346879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346879
Reply with quote  #2

1481346879
Report to moderator
1481346879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346879
Reply with quote  #2

1481346879
Report to moderator
1481346879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346879
Reply with quote  #2

1481346879
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481346879
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481346879

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481346879
Reply with quote  #2

1481346879
Report to moderator
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
June 22, 2015, 08:45:36 AM
 #142

Easy, I do not mean to denigrate your site, as far as i see guys here looks like they haven't any problem. Oke i will check carefully, but make sure to check the site always clean.
~iki

Oh, sorry if it seemed that way - don't take me wrong, I'm glad (and thankful) you've reported this. If you didn't, I wouldn't know about it, and people would be afraid to use (hopefully) useful gadget.

Site is clean, that's the first thing I checked, files haven't been modified since my last update. There's always a possibility that someone has hacked it and embedded some sort of malware on it.
japerry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 16, 2015, 11:04:15 AM
 #143

I was wondering if anyone has gotten this gadget to work with Bitfinex? I'm not a programmer by any means but I'd like to be able to use btcusd on Bitfinex? Can anyone help?


Hi japerry,

it's simple, go to gadget settings (wrench icon) and set change the following options:

Bitfinex
exchange URL: https://api.bitfinex.com/v1/pubticker/BTCUSD
exhange rate JSON key: last_price
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last_price
field 3 JSON key: bid


Works like a dream! Thanks!!


Hmm... Looks like it stopped working about a week ago. All I get is N/A now. Would it be possible for someone to help guide me to see if Bitfinex has changed their API or something? I've unloaded and reloaded/reconfigured the gadget per the instructions in the previous message. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

UPDATE: Nevermind! It's working now!!



Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 16, 2015, 02:03:15 PM
 #144

Hmm... Looks like it stopped working about a week ago. All I get is N/A now. Would it be possible for someone to help guide me to see if Bitfinex has changed their API or something? I've unloaded and reloaded/reconfigured the gadget per the instructions in the previous message. Any help would be greatly appreciated!

UPDATE: Nevermind! It's working now!!

I've noticed this a few days ago and went investigating. It seems that Bitfinex is using some sort of new anti-DDoS system - when the gadget doesn't update it is actually getting message that it's blocked. I haven't been able to find out what triggers it, but it's not just IP block, it's based on type of browser as well. It seems they blocked Internet Explorer (which is used by gadget) specifically. After a while this went away for me as well.

Perhaps choosing larger update interval in gadget would help, but there is no way of telling. I think that it's not about frequency of requests. Some sort of heuristics figured out that IE should be blocked for a while. Maybe they had DDoS attack that used or emulated IE.
japerry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 17, 2015, 08:03:45 AM
 #145


I've noticed this a few days ago and went investigating. It seems that Bitfinex is using some sort of new anti-DDoS system - when the gadget doesn't update it is actually getting message that it's blocked. I haven't been able to find out what triggers it, but it's not just IP block, it's based on type of browser as well. It seems they blocked Internet Explorer (which is used by gadget) specifically. After a while this went away for me as well.

Perhaps choosing larger update interval in gadget would help, but there is no way of telling. I think that it's not about frequency of requests. Some sort of heuristics figured out that IE should be blocked for a while. Maybe they had DDoS attack that used or emulated IE.

Thanks! Let us know if you find anything? BTW I've decreased the polling rate to 120 seconds and it seems to work much better now.


Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 17, 2015, 05:50:15 PM
 #146

Thanks! Let us know if you find anything? BTW I've decreased the polling rate to 120 seconds and it seems to work much better now.

Well, Bitfinex is using Incapsula (https://www.incapsula.com/) which uses who-knows-what voodoo to detect suspicious connections. In this case it presents captcha and MyBitcoins gadget (obviously) fails the captcha test.

It's not due to number of requests - I've had it happen when gadget is set to poll Bitfinex once in 10 minutes, and their official API limit is 60 times per minute.

It makes no sense to have captcha protecting API endpoint, but that's how it goes with those CDNs that are optimized to work with websites instead of APIs... I've contacted Bitfinex support and reported this, I'll update here if it goes anywhere.
japerry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 17, 2015, 06:21:30 PM
 #147

Thanks! Let us know if you find anything? BTW I've decreased the polling rate to 120 seconds and it seems to work much better now.

Well, Bitfinex is using Incapsula (https://www.incapsula.com/) which uses who-knows-what voodoo to detect suspicious connections. In this case it presents captcha and MyBitcoins gadget (obviously) fails the captcha test.

It's not due to number of requests - I've had it happen when gadget is set to poll Bitfinex once in 10 minutes, and their official API limit is 60 times per minute.

It makes no sense to have captcha protecting API endpoint, but that's how it goes with those CDNs that are optimized to work with websites instead of APIs... I've contacted Bitfinex support and reported this, I'll update here if it goes anywhere.

Thanks! I noticed the gadget is not displaying N/A but it's not updating either. It just shows the last price it was able to get whenever that was Sad


Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 19, 2015, 05:06:29 PM
 #148

It makes no sense to have captcha protecting API endpoint, but that's how it goes with those CDNs that are optimized to work with websites instead of APIs... I've contacted Bitfinex support and reported this, I'll update here if it goes anywhere.

I've talked Bitfinex and they basically say that they've had a large-scale DDoS attack for the last week or so, and that captcha will go away once the DDoS ceases.

Unfortunately nothing can be done in the meantime except perhaps switching to Bitstamp or some other ticker.  Sad
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
August 05, 2015, 09:00:32 PM
 #149

To anyone having problems with MyBitcoins gadget and Bitfinex prices - after a few weeks of back and forth with them, I'm happy to say that Bitfinex has removed the rule blocking IE and thus the gadget from fetching prices. Please let me know either here or in PM if anyone is still experiencing issues with Bitfinex.
japerry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
August 06, 2015, 11:19:31 AM
 #150

To anyone having problems with MyBitcoins gadget and Bitfinex prices - after a few weeks of back and forth with them, I'm happy to say that Bitfinex has removed the rule blocking IE and thus the gadget from fetching prices. Please let me know either here or in PM if anyone is still experiencing issues with Bitfinex.

Excellent Domchi! Thanks for the update!


japerry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 29, 2016, 11:55:07 AM
 #151

Does anyone have an example of how to get the gadget to work with BTC-USD on bitcoinaverage.com? I don't understand their API  Cry

Shiroslullaby
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238



View Profile
July 29, 2016, 12:07:32 PM
 #152

Very cool project!
I'll have a look at it later today, but have a quick question-

is this just connecting to the sites like a normal web browser- port 80 http connection?
(wondering from a security perspective as I might try to connect at work behind a strict firewall that may not allow all traffic out.)

Also I think having it update once every one to five minutes is probably fine.
Unless you are doing real-time trading the price of BTC moving over five minutes is probably not that much to cause any issues.

Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 10:18:20 PM
 #153

Does anyone have an example of how to get the gadget to work with BTC-USD on bitcoinaverage.com? I don't understand their API  Cry

This should do it, using their BETA API. (For v1 API that is to be depreciated, the link is https://api.bitcoinaverage.com/ticker/USD/ and other values the same, but they recommend using BETA.)

BitcoinAverage
exchange URL: https://apiv2.bitcoinaverage.com/indices/global/ticker/BTCUSD
exhange rate JSON key: last
field 1 JSON key: ask
field 2 JSON key: last
field 3 JSON key: bid
Domchi
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 111


View Profile
July 29, 2016, 10:28:10 PM
 #154

is this just connecting to the sites like a normal web browser- port 80 http connection?
(wondering from a security perspective as I might try to connect at work behind a strict firewall that may not allow all traffic out.)

Also I think having it update once every one to five minutes is probably fine.
Unless you are doing real-time trading the price of BTC moving over five minutes is probably not that much to cause any issues.

The gadget is using Internet Explorer in the background, with all your current IE proxy and other settings, so it should work for any URL that is not blocked by your company firewall. Depending on exchange, this is usually either http (port 80) or https (port 443) GET connection, which are usually enabled by default unless specifically blocked by your network administrator. If you can access URL in browser, gadget will also be able to access it.

And you're correct, by default gadget updates every 10 minutes (mining defaults) which is enough for non-traders, and if you choose trading setup it will update once every minute, which can be changed to less. Exchanges usually have minimum period between requests that you should respect while setting up update frequency.
japerry
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 304



View Profile
July 30, 2016, 08:54:50 AM
 #155

is this just connecting to the sites like a normal web browser- port 80 http connection?
(wondering from a security perspective as I might try to connect at work behind a strict firewall that may not allow all traffic out.)

Also I think having it update once every one to five minutes is probably fine.
Unless you are doing real-time trading the price of BTC moving over five minutes is probably not that much to cause any issues.

The gadget is using Internet Explorer in the background, with all your current IE proxy and other settings, so it should work for any URL that is not blocked by your company firewall. Depending on exchange, this is usually either http (port 80) or https (port 443) GET connection, which are usually enabled by default unless specifically blocked by your network administrator. If you can access URL in browser, gadget will also be able to access it.

And you're correct, by default gadget updates every 10 minutes (mining defaults) which is enough for non-traders, and if you choose trading setup it will update once every minute, which can be changed to less. Exchanges usually have minimum period between requests that you should respect while setting up update frequency.

Thanks again! I LOVE this widget!

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 [8]  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!