Bitcoin Forum
June 25, 2017, 07:18:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: CryptoSlax Linux Mining Distro  (Read 24701 times)
aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 25, 2014, 10:00:18 PM
 #21

Thank you it's a good job but I also can't get this to work running multiple GPU's...

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
1498418311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498418311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498418311
Reply with quote  #2

1498418311
Report to moderator
1498418311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498418311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498418311
Reply with quote  #2

1498418311
Report to moderator
1498418311
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498418311

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498418311
Reply with quote  #2

1498418311
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 10:22:23 PM
 #22

This worked for getting multiple GPU running for me...

aticonfig --adapter=all --initial
aticonfig --adapter=all --initial

(Yes, run twice.  First time only saw one device section, second time saw all.)

amdsetup

aticonfig --adapter=all --initial

(Yes, again.  Should see found device for every card you have)

reboot

Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 11:04:25 PM
 #23

For faster boot/run, modify /slax/boot/syslinux.cfg...

After line 4 (TIMEOUT 40), add the following line:
ONTIMEOUT default

At the end of line 33 (that starts with APPEND vga=normal...) add ,toram

This will cause it to copy itself to RAM at boot time automatically.
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 27, 2014, 11:11:24 PM
 #24

In case you have issues with cgminer and X taking up way to many CPU cycles, modify /slax/boot/syslinux.cfg...

After line 4 (TIMEOUT 40), add the following line:
ONTIMEOUT default

At the end of line 33 (that starts with APPEND vga=normal...) add nohz=off highres=off

I had to do this on one of my rigs (but not all).  The completed line as I have it looks like this...

APPEND vga=normal initrd=/slax/boot/initrfs.img load_ramdisk=1 prompt_ramdisk=0 rw printk.time=0 slax.flags=perch,xmode,toram nohz=off highres=off

This was a problem for me when running I=20 or trying to run multiple instances of cgminer. Hopefully that helps anyone else with the same problem.

I'm starting to like this distro, thanks uray. Lot of potential.

aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:05:16 AM
 #25

I tried these changes but unfortunately my mini rig 2x5970 1x5850 has always a big lag and the cgminer on the terminal windows can't display the stats. I've tried running the "screen" command but nothing... the GPU's runs but I cannot say how it runs, and logging the process with 2>logfile.txt seems to be ok...
The Intesity is 18 on all GPU.
I suppose it's a bad driver + SDK combination for me.

However a PC with only 7850 works flawlessly.


Anyway Thank you  Smiley

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 02:46:37 PM
 #26

I tried these changes but unfortunately my mini rig 2x5970 1x5850 has always a big lag and the cgminer on the terminal windows can't display the stats. I've tried running the "screen" command but nothing... the GPU's runs but I cannot say how it runs, and logging the process with 2>logfile.txt seems to be ok...
The Intesity is 18 on all GPU.
I suppose it's a bad driver + SDK combination for me.

However a PC with only 7850 works flawlessly.


Anyway Thank you  Smiley


I assume you are experience the lag on a local terminal window?  If you start your miner in the background with the screen command, you can then SSH over to watch without the lag.
aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 08:47:43 PM
 #27

I tried these changes but unfortunately my mini rig 2x5970 1x5850 has always a big lag and the cgminer on the terminal windows can't display the stats. I've tried running the "screen" command but nothing... the GPU's runs but I cannot say how it runs, and logging the process with 2>logfile.txt seems to be ok...
The Intesity is 18 on all GPU.
I suppose it's a bad driver + SDK combination for me.

However a PC with only 7850 works flawlessly.


Anyway Thank you  Smiley


I assume you are experience the lag on a local terminal window?  If you start your miner in the background with the screen command, you can then SSH over to watch without the lag.

Ohhh good solution, logged with putty and yes I finally see the cgminer stats but without hardware monitor (GPU temperature and FAN velocity) and with a lot of Hardware Errors from all the GPUs and the Hashrate is less then my cgminer in Windows.

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:07:13 PM
 #28

I tried these changes but unfortunately my mini rig 2x5970 1x5850 has always a big lag and the cgminer on the terminal windows can't display the stats. I've tried running the "screen" command but nothing... the GPU's runs but I cannot say how it runs, and logging the process with 2>logfile.txt seems to be ok...
The Intesity is 18 on all GPU.
I suppose it's a bad driver + SDK combination for me.

However a PC with only 7850 works flawlessly.


Anyway Thank you  Smiley


I assume you are experience the lag on a local terminal window?  If you start your miner in the background with the screen command, you can then SSH over to watch without the lag.

Ohhh good solution, logged with putty and yes I finally see the cgminer stats but without hardware monitor (GPU temperature and FAN velocity) and with a lot of Hardware Errors from all the GPUs and the Hashrate is less then my cgminer in Windows.

Stop the miner and run the following...

export DISPLAY=:0
/opt/cgminer/cgminer -n


What are your results?
maraJ
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:19:21 PM
 #29

Please help.My fan CPU is spinning at high speed.I want to install lm sensors.But the steps used in ubuntu does not work.
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:26:12 PM
 #30

Please help.My fan CPU is spinning at high speed.I want to install lm sensors.But the steps used in ubuntu does not work.

Check your BIOS.  Many motherboards come with fan set to full speed, and you can change it to auto instead.
aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:42:09 PM
 #31

I tried these changes but unfortunately my mini rig 2x5970 1x5850 has always a big lag and the cgminer on the terminal windows can't display the stats. I've tried running the "screen" command but nothing... the GPU's runs but I cannot say how it runs, and logging the process with 2>logfile.txt seems to be ok...
The Intesity is 18 on all GPU.
I suppose it's a bad driver + SDK combination for me.

However a PC with only 7850 works flawlessly.


Anyway Thank you  Smiley


I assume you are experience the lag on a local terminal window?  If you start your miner in the background with the screen command, you can then SSH over to watch without the lag.

Ohhh good solution, logged with putty and yes I finally see the cgminer stats but without hardware monitor (GPU temperature and FAN velocity) and with a lot of Hardware Errors from all the GPUs and the Hashrate is less then my cgminer in Windows.

Stop the miner and run the following...

export DISPLAY=:0
/opt/cgminer/cgminer -n


What are your results?

Have done infinite number of times:
OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP 1214.3
Always All the GPU has the "harware monitoring enabled" and always all seems ok!

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 09:53:40 PM
 #32


Have done infinite number of times:
OpenCL 1.2 AMD-APP 1214.3
Always All the GPU has the "harware monitoring enabled" and always all seems ok!

Weird.  I've yet to see cgminer not display temps when hardware monitoring is enabled.  Have you tried running without any settings beyond pool?

I believe the first version he released was 13.4 driver version, so maybe see if that one works?

Sorry, don't know what else it could be.
aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:04:47 PM
 #33

Going around in linux forums I realized that is a bad combination of SDK + Driver version for series 5xxx Undecided

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:09:02 PM
 #34

Going around in linux forums I realized that is a bad combination of SDK + Driver version for series 5xxx Undecided

Try both versions of the distro?  Considering that one is using 13.4 and the other is using 13.8, I would think one of them might work!
aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:15:30 PM
 #35

Done! Smiley Now I need to try these other:
http://www.slax.org/it/modules.php?category=drivers

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 28, 2014, 10:31:57 PM
 #36

Done! Smiley Now I need to try these other:
http://www.slax.org/it/modules.php?category=drivers


The "catalyst" module is in the first version.  The "experimental" module is in the latest version.  I guess you could try the "legacy" (13.1) module.
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 02:54:09 AM
 #37

uray, thanks for the builds.  Working well on 2 new rigs here.  Appreciate the efforts.

https://blockchain.info/tx/c2f7211f373705077e4faa1b890f3e56add9a9378ddc35cc46d1856c939d2671
aleargbtc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20

2.000Mh/s scrypt


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 02:51:52 PM
 #38

Yes, thank you uray for my future rigs!

- Visual designer 2D & 3D / 3D Modeler
- Electronic Music Producer
- WEB Designer
cyberfixy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
January 30, 2014, 06:40:34 PM
 #39

Hello,

my cgminer/bfgminer can't detect any gpu.
When i run aticonfig --odgt it's can show my GPU and also show the temperature.

when i run ./cgminer -n nothing error, gpu and opencl showing perfectly.

How to solve this problem ??

And also, how i can make a persisten change for cgminer, so when it reboot i don't have to add pool again.

Thank's

Get Daily Free SignatureCoins. T55tqAZtzRNJcfbD6SwyhnMEVtRYk83Yd4
Zoella
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
January 31, 2014, 05:42:54 AM
 #40

Hello,

my cgminer/bfgminer can't detect any gpu.
When i run aticonfig --odgt it's can show my GPU and also show the temperature.

when i run ./cgminer -n nothing error, gpu and opencl showing perfectly.

How to solve this problem ??

And also, how i can make a persisten change for cgminer, so when it reboot i don't have to add pool again.

Thank's

I wish I could help, but I've never seen cgminer not recognize a card after seeing it with the -n argument.

Regarding persistent changes, that is a default boot option. You do not have to do anything. I'm guessing the problem is that you are creating your startup scripts or configs in the /opt/cgminer/ directory? If so, that directory gets overwritten at boot. You either have to add the files offline (/slax/rootcopy/opt/cgminer/), or save them elsewhere. I just create scripts in /root/ (which is persistent) using command line arguments to start cgminer.
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!