Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:12:25 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] New alternate cryptocurrency - Geist Geld  (Read 66421 times)
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:09:14 PM
 #181

Err, what? we're at block 1373 and difficulty 66.46.
Make sure you have the new build and enablefullretargetperiod=1 in your GG bitcoin.conf

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
1480831945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831945
Reply with quote  #2

1480831945
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480831945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831945
Reply with quote  #2

1480831945
Report to moderator
1480831945
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480831945

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480831945
Reply with quote  #2

1480831945
Report to moderator
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2011, 06:09:24 PM
 #182

I'm out, sorry but no blocks appear on the balance someone is betting on a majority of hashing power while refusing others to connect it seems. Or whatever it is, good luck with it.

I got 500 on my balance in 90 minutes, I guess it's working like it should.
wallet.dat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:12:32 PM
 #183

Ok I think I have everything running now.  I'm getting a lot of stales, but I'm not sure if it's the chain itself or my GPU which has been acting strange lately.  So has GG patched the possible 51% exploit along with the timewarp exploits that Art talked about?

"MOOOOOOOM! THE MEATLOAF!!! F**K!"
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:14:24 PM
 #184

It fixed the timewarp exploit. So now a 51% attacker can do what a 51% attacker is supposed to be able to do. But no longer "create 10000 blocks in 5 minutes"

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
MaGNeT
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Founder of Orlycoin | O RLY? YA RLY!


View Profile WWW
September 13, 2011, 06:15:02 PM
 #185

Ok I think I have everything running now.  I'm getting a lot of stales, but I'm not sure if it's the chain itself or my GPU which has been acting strange lately.  So has GG patched the possible 51% exploit along with the timewarp exploits that Art talked about?

High stales are normal at low difficulty.
I think it has something to do with the time between finding new blocks, also.
If you submit a share (or is it a nonce?) for a block that already was found by someone else, yours is too late and probably becomes a stale.

I had a lot of stales when mining i0coin and solidcoin with high networkpower and low difficulty too.
wallet.dat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:16:54 PM
 #186

It fixed the timewarp exploit. So now a 51% attacker can do what a 51% attacker is supposed to be able to do. But no longer "create 10000 blocks in 5 minutes"

Ah, excellent.  Good work, Lolcust!

"MOOOOOOOM! THE MEATLOAF!!! F**K!"
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:19:00 PM
 #187

To get a "acceptable" stale rate at 15s/block you pretty much need a local poold w/ longpolling + cgminer. (at 15 s/block and with poclbm+friends 5s askrate and no LP, you're looking at something like 20% stales)

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:21:45 PM
 #188

well my blocks disappear after 10 conformations without showing up on the balance.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:24:43 PM
 #189

Weird, not seeing this here, so far had roughly 3% orphans.

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
wallet.dat
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 253


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:25:00 PM
 #190

To get a "acceptable" stale rate at 15s/block you pretty much need a local poold w/ longpolling + cgminer. (at 15 s/block and with poclbm+friends 5s askrate and no LP, you're looking at something like 20% stales)

That would explain things.  Have the Bitcoin devs fixed the timewarp (sorry for lack of a better description, that's the only word I could think of) issue and what's there to stop someone from doing it right now?  Or is there still a bit of muscle required to overcome the existing 10-12TH/s on the network?

"MOOOOOOOM! THE MEATLOAF!!! F**K!"
gw4tt
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 126



View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:31:22 PM
 #191

To get a "acceptable" stale rate at 15s/block you pretty much need a local poold w/ longpolling + cgminer. (at 15 s/block and with poclbm+friends 5s askrate and no LP, you're looking at something like 20% stales)

That would explain things.  Have the Bitcoin devs fixed the timewarp (sorry for lack of a better description, that's the only word I could think of) issue and what's there to stop someone from doing it right now?  Or is there still a bit of muscle required to overcome the existing 10-12TH/s on the network?

Bitcoin doesn't adjust based on time - it adjusts based on block rates, so this problem never existed.
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:34:29 PM
 #192

It fixed the timewarp exploit. So now a 51% attacker can do what a 51% attacker is supposed to be able to do. But no longer "create 10000 blocks in 5 minutes"


Tested and confirmed fixed!

cool !

Now I guess is time to invite pools... Or maybe make one...Decisions, decisions.

Oh, guys, BTW.

I forgot (silly me!) to turn Artz's NTP on in the config. It is strongly advised that everyone activate the ntp since otherwise shenanigans would eventually happen.

To do so, simply put the following line into your config:

ntp=1


Yup, that's all, then you're free to mine on!

P.S.:
I will update the git and the config coming with Win files when I get out of GPRS land...


Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
johnj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:35:10 PM
 #193

Got a new card, now I'm at ~400 mh/s

Still can't get any work in.  Cards will chug away, but even after 10m still at 0/0.  Using poclbm, win7x64, 2.1sdk

I still think I may be doing something wrong... but I can't tell.  So my best guess is 400 is still too low.

1AeW7QK59HvEJwiyMztFH1ubWPSLLKx5ym
TradeHill Referral TH-R120549
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:37:13 PM
 #194

That would explain things.  Have the Bitcoin devs fixed the timewarp (sorry for lack of a better description, that's the only word I could think of) issue and what's there to stop someone from doing it right now?  Or is there still a bit of muscle required to overcome the existing 10-12TH/s on the network?
1. No.
2. You still roughly need 51% to do it, so something like 15Th/s for bitcoin...

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
ArtForz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:39:02 PM
 #195

Got a new card, now I'm at ~400 mh/s

Still can't get any work in.  Cards will chug away, but even after 10m still at 0/0.  Using poclbm, win7x64, 2.1sdk

I still think I may be doing something wrong... but I can't tell.  So my best guess is 400 is still too low.
    "blocks" : 1494,
    "difficulty" : 111.50074768,
= about 20min expected average at 400Mh/s

bitcoin: 1Fb77Xq5ePFER8GtKRn2KDbDTVpJKfKmpz
i0coin: jNdvyvd6v6gV3kVJLD7HsB5ZwHyHwAkfdw
Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:41:48 PM
 #196

Got a new card, now I'm at ~400 mh/s

Still can't get any work in.  Cards will chug away, but even after 10m still at 0/0.  Using poclbm, win7x64, 2.1sdk

I still think I may be doing something wrong... but I can't tell.  So my best guess is 400 is still too low.

Did you do the NTP thing  above ? How many connections ? I've fired up a ghettobox with 250 mhashes some time ago (to test Cosbycoin's complaints of "orphan storm") and it gets an occasional block, though only one so far (GUIminer w poc on Wx64)

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
johnj
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:52:31 PM
 #197

NTP Thingy - Done

Number of connections - no idea. A lot of this stuff is over my head.  However, I'm good at screenshots, so I'll post this:

http://i.imgur.com/aPfc6.png

1AeW7QK59HvEJwiyMztFH1ubWPSLLKx5ym
TradeHill Referral TH-R120549
Cosbycoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:57:24 PM
 #198

Got a new card, now I'm at ~400 mh/s

Still can't get any work in.  Cards will chug away, but even after 10m still at 0/0.  Using poclbm, win7x64, 2.1sdk

I still think I may be doing something wrong... but I can't tell.  So my best guess is 400 is still too low.

Did you do the NTP thing  above ? How many connections ? I've fired up a ghettobox with 250 mhashes some time ago (to test Cosbycoin's complaints of "orphan storm") and it gets an occasional block, though only one so far (GUIminer w poc on Wx64)

Well that would be my problem. The ntp setting wasn't in the config. Thanks.

Lolcust
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


Hillariously voracious


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 06:59:05 PM
 #199

Got a new card, now I'm at ~400 mh/s

Still can't get any work in.  Cards will chug away, but even after 10m still at 0/0.  Using poclbm, win7x64, 2.1sdk

I still think I may be doing something wrong... but I can't tell.  So my best guess is 400 is still too low.

Did you do the NTP thing  above ? How many connections ? I've fired up a ghettobox with 250 mhashes some time ago (to test Cosbycoin's complaints of "orphan storm") and it gets an occasional block, though only one so far (GUIminer w poc on Wx64)

Well that would be my problem. The ntp setting wasn't in the config. Thanks.



Oky, sorry for missing it   on first go.

P.S.:
This also nicely confirms that we did, indeed, succeed at evicting timetravellers, lol Smiley

Geist Geld, the experimental cryptocurrency, is ready for yet another SolidCoin collapse Wink

Feed the Lolcust!
NMC: N6YQFkH9Gn9CTm4mpGwuLB5zLzqWTWFw67
BTC: 15F8xbgRBA1XZ4hmtdFDUasroa2A5rYg8M
GEG: gK5Lx6ypWgr69Gw9yGzE6dsA7kcuCRZRK
Cosbycoin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140


View Profile
September 13, 2011, 07:00:21 PM
 #200

Got a new card, now I'm at ~400 mh/s

Still can't get any work in.  Cards will chug away, but even after 10m still at 0/0.  Using poclbm, win7x64, 2.1sdk

I still think I may be doing something wrong... but I can't tell.  So my best guess is 400 is still too low.

Did you do the NTP thing  above ? How many connections ? I've fired up a ghettobox with 250 mhashes some time ago (to test Cosbycoin's complaints of "orphan storm") and it gets an occasional block, though only one so far (GUIminer w poc on Wx64)

Well that would be my problem. The ntp setting wasn't in the config. Thanks.



Oky, sorry for missing it   on first go.

P.S.:
This also nicely confirms that we did, indeed, succeed at evicting timetravellers, lol Smiley

The block generation rate appears much more stable. Good work lolcust!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 [10] 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!