Bitcoin Forum
May 06, 2024, 07:22:45 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 [122] 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 ... 311 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][RIC] Riecoin: constellations POW *CPU* HARD FORK successful, world record  (Read 684949 times)
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 20, 2014, 10:50:52 PM
 #2421

now time to work on stratum miner?  Grin
Whoever mines the block which ends up containing your transaction will get its fee.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1715023365
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715023365

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715023365
Reply with quote  #2

1715023365
Report to moderator
1715023365
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715023365

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715023365
Reply with quote  #2

1715023365
Report to moderator
1715023365
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1715023365

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1715023365
Reply with quote  #2

1715023365
Report to moderator
northranger79510
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250

Riecoin and Huntercoin to rule all!


View Profile
March 20, 2014, 11:26:15 PM
 #2422

Wow..great progress we are making.

Huntercoin: H9kttkrQidiQMG9NibmTgjgCKqWJMAkAXD
Riecoin: Like us on https://www.facebook.com/TheRiecoinCommunity
tseug
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 70
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 12:02:59 AM
 #2423

Hi, all -

As promised, with ypool's update to address the share-vs-block
fairness issue, I'm releasing as open source my miner code.
I've also placed online binaries with the usual dev fee structure:
2% default, which can be disabled from the command line.

Thanks to everyone who supported this with dev fees over the last
few days.  I've taken the time to clean up the code modestly -
it still needs work, but it's not the total mess it was yesterday.
I've integrated the windows/mingw build into the main line and
added -s <maxSieveSize> parameter on the command line to replace
the former set of multiple builds.

Binary releases:
  http://www.cs.cmu.edu/~dga/crypto/ric/

Source release:
  https://github.com/dave-andersen/fastrie
  (in the xptMiner subdirectory)

Note:  If you're running any other miner, it's important to
upgrade to this one ASAP in order to ensure that you're getting
a fair share of the blocks you find!  The change from "first four"
to "any four" means that the miners will all be finding MANY more
shares per block -- so if you're running old code, you will be at
a serious disadvantage.  Something like 30 to 1.  Upgrade ASAP.
The miner will report a different number of chains/sec than it
did before because of the change to shares, but it's roughly the
same code as before - maybe 1% or less slower because of testing
for multiple primes.

Happy mining, and thanks as always to Gatra for creating a great
proof of work, to jh and clintar for the starting codebase,
and to everyone for participating in it.

Note also that jh is releasing a new miner - compare and find the best
one, I don't know which one is faster. Smiley

Any chance of 32 bit miners, windows and linux?

I'm currently GPU mining scrypt under a windows 32 system and would love to mine RIC alongside. Don't have too much faith on being able to compile for linux either when I finally reboot.

COMM: CWjCf3Pb6vAgpRxbP2CKQQFLBXYuS7axpG
SHA: STpwADnhpYk7ZAMRmJvFDJaXSSby3LpGiu
dddwww
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 01:00:42 AM
 #2424

Had to go back to sse4 b9 from b10

On all my Linux machines I started getting lots and lots of invalid shares, mostly of this type:


[00:05:37] Share found! (Blockheight: 23302)
Invalid share
Reason: Share double submission or work unknown
[00:05:42] Share found! (Blockheight: 23302)
Invalid share
Reason: Share double submission or work unknown


Also a few like this:
[00:01:41] Share found! (Blockheight: 23302)
Invalid share
Reason: Merkleroot is invalid or corrupted. Update your miner.

All is well once I went back to sse4 b9

These are a variety of Linux boxes with Xeon processors, no issues with previous software releases
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 01:25:44 AM
 #2425

You should mine with b10 for sure. It is at least 10 times faster at finding shares. Even if the beginning ones are rejected (that issue happens to everyone).
deadthings
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 255


Betking.io - Best Bitcoin Casino


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 01:30:07 AM
 #2426

Agreed. In my experience, B10 is shaky at first, but then settles down after the first 10 shares or so and is significantly faster than B9 thereafter.

dddwww
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 01:42:41 AM
 #2427

Thanks for the tip about b10's behavior being normal, switching back to it. 
one4many
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 516
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 21, 2014, 03:08:23 AM
Last edit: March 21, 2014, 03:21:50 AM by one4many
 #2428


First of all, thank you for the great work on the miner. I was using b8 for a few days and it worked nicely.

b10 however has a huge memory leak it get killed by the os pretty instantly. Can you fix your build?

Also tried building b10 out of the source you provided. But the build fails as well with
Code:
xptMiner/main.cpp:7:18: error: atomic: No such file or directory
It is currently 4am and I haven't investigated anything yet ... my guess is that my standard CentOS gmp version is too old.

UPDATE1: Bizarrely enough b10 works on some machines but not on others. The machine will the most memory 32 GB crashes within 3 seconds, so does a VM with 1 GB. But one with 8GB works fine! any advice?
UPDATE2: The build still fails with a missing atomic include, despite the GMP upgrade. Sad
 
All the best!

   one4many
dddwww
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 03:40:26 AM
 #2429

I don't see a memory leak on my Linux machines (equivalent of CentOS 6.4).  On my 4GB machines it is using about 68% of the memory, on my machines with > 32GB it is using about 15%.  I running the raw binary, not rebuilding.

Unfortunately ypool seems stuck on block 23373
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:02:31 AM
 #2430

The difficulty is going to crash if ypool doesn't start running again.  Cool
Bigtruck45
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:09:52 AM
 #2431

Is there a new Minerd for solo mining?
Or is it possible to set up B10 for solo mining? If so then what settings

istudy92
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:16:13 AM
 #2432

ypool is down right?
Bigtruck45
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:18:56 AM
 #2433

ypool is down right?

yes
antonio8
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:20:12 AM
 #2434

The difficulty is going to crash if ypool doesn't start running again.  Cool

Is that why I am getting a connection server error with dga's new miner?

If you are going to leave your BTC on an exchange please send it to this address instead 1GH3ub3UUHbU5qDJW5u3E9jZ96ZEmzaXtG, I will at least use the money better than someone who steals it from the exchange. Thanks Wink
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:40:36 AM
 #2435

The difficulty is going to crash if ypool doesn't start running again.  Cool

Is that why I am getting a connection server error with dga's new miner?
If you are attempting to connect to ypool, yes.

Is there a new Minerd for solo mining?
Or is it possible to set up B10 for solo mining? If so then what settings


a00k's miner is good for solo mining. I believe it is as good as dga's B10 pool miner. B10 didn't improve on finding blocks, it only improved on finding shares.

Also: it's been 40 minutes since a block was found. No significant computing power is going towards solo mining. The only entity finding blocks currently is ric.upcpu.com. This needs to be fixed asap or no transactions will be confirmed  Undecided

gatra: I think this shows we should reduce difficulty adjustment to 1 block.
goodluck0319
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 21, 2014, 05:45:50 AM
 #2436

shall I stop mining the new version of miner? and go to B9 version?

what shall I do?
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 06:03:26 AM
 #2437

shall I stop mining the new version of miner? and go to B9 version?

what shall I do?
Either mine on ric.upcpu.com or solo mine. Use B10 if you mine on a pool.
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 06:16:32 AM
 #2438

Riecoin is currently prone to double spending attacks. Upcpu controls 100% of the network. Please solo mine if you have significant amounts of processing power. Thanks.
istudy92
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 06:29:29 AM
 #2439

Riecoin is currently prone to double spending attacks. Upcpu controls 100% of the network. Please solo mine if you have significant amounts of processing power. Thanks.

What is double spending attacks? and why would Riecoin be in such a prone to it now?
surfer43
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 250


"Trading Platform of The Future!"


View Profile
March 21, 2014, 06:37:37 AM
 #2440

Riecoin is currently prone to double spending attacks. Upcpu controls 100% of the network. Please solo mine if you have significant amounts of processing power. Thanks.

What is double spending attacks? and why would Riecoin be in such a prone to it now?
This is also known as a 51% attack.

A 51% attack is where an entity confirms transactions involving double spending of coins in their blocks, and the entity finds blocks faster than the rest of the network. The network automatically accepts blocks and if there is a tie it accepts the first block to have another block built on top of it, and so on until the tie is broken. So, with 51% of block solving capabilities, one is able to make the network accept transactions involving double spending coins.

upcpu is solving all of the blocks, so if they wanted to, they could double spend their coins.

More on Double Spending
Pages: « 1 ... 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 [122] 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 ... 311 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!