Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 10:09:53 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 232 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Armory - Discussion Thread  (Read 481566 times)
OneMINER
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 13, 2012, 06:46:13 PM
 #701

Thanks, works great.   Grin
1480802993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802993
Reply with quote  #2

1480802993
Report to moderator
1480802993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802993
Reply with quote  #2

1480802993
Report to moderator
1480802993
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480802993

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480802993
Reply with quote  #2

1480802993
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
terrytibbs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560



View Profile
May 14, 2012, 12:09:16 AM
 #702

Armory uses the standard linux command-line options, '--' for long options.  I'm not sure why bitcoin-qt/bitcoind does not follow  (it's supposed to be '-X' for one-letter options, '--LongX" for long options.)
Ah, I share your pain on this.
jg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 01:34:31 AM
 #703

Where is the option to import private keys? I saw various pages mentioning that it is located in the wallet properties page but I can't seem to find it.

Also, is there a way to import a public key as a "Watch only" type of address?
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 16, 2012, 01:41:51 AM
 #704

Where is the option to import private keys? I saw various pages mentioning that it is located in the wallet properties page but I can't seem to find it.

Also, is there a way to import a public key as a "Watch only" type of address?

You have to create a wallet first, and then select the wallet into which you want to import the keys.  From the wallet properties, there's an option on the bottom right for importing private keys.

Unfortunately, there is no way to import public keys into a watch-only wallet.  There's a couple reasons for this, and not all of them are laziness Smiley


Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
jg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 01:53:31 AM
 #705


You have to create a wallet first, and then select the wallet into which you want to import the keys.  From the wallet properties, there's an option on the bottom right for importing private keys.

Unfortunately, there is no way to import public keys into a watch-only wallet.  There's a couple reasons for this, and not all of them are laziness Smiley


I just realized that you can't import private keys in to an offline wallet.

I created a new wallet and now the option shows up.

Thanks!
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 16, 2012, 01:55:52 AM
 #706


You have to create a wallet first, and then select the wallet into which you want to import the keys.  From the wallet properties, there's an option on the bottom right for importing private keys.

Unfortunately, there is no way to import public keys into a watch-only wallet.  There's a couple reasons for this, and not all of them are laziness Smiley


I just realized that you can't import private keys in to an offline wallet.

I created a new wallet and now the option shows up.

Thanks!

do u mean u can't import keys to a watching only wallet?
jg
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 16, 2012, 02:23:46 AM
 #707

Quote
do u mean u can't import keys to a watching only wallet?

Right, the option isn't there for an offline wallet.
Red Emerald
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742



View Profile WWW
May 17, 2012, 12:06:49 AM
 #708

My Armory branded USB key showed up in the mail today! Very cool!

etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 17, 2012, 12:16:39 AM
 #709

My Armory branded USB key showed up in the mail today! Very cool!

Yeah, I finally got all the rewards together and organized.  Plus it gave me some time to put together a solid offline bundle for Ubuntu 10.04-32bit and put them on the keys.

The keys are only 128 MB, which is just enough for distributing all the different installers for Armory, and using it for offline transactions.  The keys have also been "vaccinated" to help reduce the risk of auto-run viruses.  I don't know what the true risk, and risk-mitigated is, but it doesn't hurt!

Btw, do not order from ooshirts.com!  They messed up the shirts, then didn't respond to inquiries for 3 weeks!  The final shirts were fine, but definitely not very good customer service (well it was good, starting 3 weeks later).




Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 17, 2012, 05:42:50 PM
 #710

My Armory branded USB key showed up in the mail today! Very cool!

just got mine too!  very cool.

thanks eto!  Armory is performing great! Cheesy Cheesy Cheesy

oh, i forgot that the T shirts are awesome!!!
Mysil2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
May 22, 2012, 06:30:42 PM
 #711

Great work on Armory, etotheipi!

I've been playing around with some vanitygen-adresses and I see that you only can import them into an existing wallet. Is it possible with the nature of how a wallet is created, to create a wallet based on a private key/address generated by vanitygen? I'm questioning this because you obviously can't paper copy the imported keys in the wallet.

1BLUeBirdV2RBnyJBQZvNXsCMm3VVqoPTj
cypherdoc
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1764



View Profile
May 22, 2012, 06:36:13 PM
 #712

I'm questioning this because you obviously can't paper copy the imported keys in the wallet.

yes you can.  "Backup Individual Keys".
Mysil2
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
May 22, 2012, 06:53:38 PM
 #713

I'm questioning this because you obviously can't paper copy the imported keys in the wallet.

yes you can.  "Backup Individual Keys".

You are right, I was unclear. What I meant was that the imported keys are not included in the paper copy of the wallet.

If I make a paper copy of only the imported keys, is it possible to not have it send some to a newly generated address when sending transactions? I've noticed when I send an amount, some end up in a new address in the wallet - but this is maybe only for very small transactions (<1 btc?)?

1BLUeBirdV2RBnyJBQZvNXsCMm3VVqoPTj
etotheipi
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428


Core Armory Developer


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2012, 07:09:52 PM
 #714

I'm questioning this because you obviously can't paper copy the imported keys in the wallet.

yes you can.  "Backup Individual Keys".

You are right, I was unclear. What I meant was that the imported keys are not included in the paper copy of the wallet.

If I make a paper copy of only the imported keys, is it possible to not have it send some to a newly generated address when sending transactions? I've noticed when I send an amount, some end up in a new address in the wallet - but this is maybe only for very small transactions (<1 btc?)?

All Armory wallets you create are deterministic, regardless of your intentions.  And all wallets are designed to use the next address in the deterministic wallet for transaction change, which means you will end up using addresses that were not imported every time you send coins.  This is because I don't want to default to sending change back to any existing addresses, for a variety of reasons.    In the future I will add a way to specify  change outputs, but it's not there yet.

Luckily, every deterministic address is captured in the single "Paper backup" printout (which you can copy by hand, if you want).  So, you really only need to back up one more piece of information in addition to the imported keys...

Founder and CEO of Armory Technologies, Inc.
Armory Bitcoin Wallet: Bringing cold storage to the average user!
Only use Armory software signed by the Armory Offline Signing Key (0x98832223)

Please donate to the Armory project by clicking here!    (or donate directly via 1QBDLYTDFHHZAABYSKGKPWKLSXZWCCJQBX -- yes, it's a real address!)
Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 08:33:36 AM
 #715

Brilliant client, just switched to it.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
JJJJust
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 10:11:40 AM
 #716

I guess the only thing I can say is: Thank god I have 6 GBs of RAM and happened not to be running much (relatively speaking), otherwise this program would have brought my computer to its knees... not that I can get it to get beyond "Loading Blockchain. Please Wait...", but it's the thought that counts, I guess.

ABSURD memory suckage: http://picpaste.com/pics/iiBPAcLr.1337767611.png
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 10:35:02 AM
 #717

I guess the only thing I can say is: Thank god I have 6 GBs of RAM and happened not to be running much (relatively speaking), otherwise this program would have brought my computer to its knees... not that I can get it to get beyond "Loading Blockchain. Please Wait...", but it's the thought that counts, I guess.

ABSURD memory suckage: http://picpaste.com/pics/iiBPAcLr.1337767611.png

On my linux with only 4GB of RAM it takes a little more than 1GB of it and less than 1min to open the window.
Also, it seems you are forgeting that Armory it's still in Alpha stage, not even Beta.
It's not to use as your everyday wallet, not a chance.

JJJJust
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 11:38:09 AM
 #718

I guess the only thing I can say is: Thank god I have 6 GBs of RAM and happened not to be running much (relatively speaking), otherwise this program would have brought my computer to its knees... not that I can get it to get beyond "Loading Blockchain. Please Wait...", but it's the thought that counts, I guess.

ABSURD memory suckage: http://picpaste.com/pics/iiBPAcLr.1337767611.png

On my linux with only 4GB of RAM it takes a little more than 1GB of it and less than 1min to open the window.
Also, it seems you are forgeting that Armory it's still in Alpha stage, not even Beta.
It's not to use as your everyday wallet, not a chance.

I found -- after a long search -- the reason why it's using so much memory. If I had known when I wrote my previous post that it loaded the entire block chain into memory, it wouldn't have been such a shock.
Raoul Duke
aka psy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1442



View Profile
May 23, 2012, 12:02:10 PM
 #719

I guess the only thing I can say is: Thank god I have 6 GBs of RAM and happened not to be running much (relatively speaking), otherwise this program would have brought my computer to its knees... not that I can get it to get beyond "Loading Blockchain. Please Wait...", but it's the thought that counts, I guess.

ABSURD memory suckage: http://picpaste.com/pics/iiBPAcLr.1337767611.png

On my linux with only 4GB of RAM it takes a little more than 1GB of it and less than 1min to open the window.
Also, it seems you are forgeting that Armory it's still in Alpha stage, not even Beta.
It's not to use as your everyday wallet, not a chance.

I found -- after a long search -- the reason why it's using so much memory. If I had known when I wrote my previous post that it loaded the entire block chain into memory, it wouldn't have been such a shock.

It doesn't load the whole blockchain into memory anymore. But the more memory you have available in your comouter, the more it will use.

Clipse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504


View Profile
May 23, 2012, 12:53:20 PM
 #720

Uses just under 2GB of memory here, initial load <20seconds. This is however on a dedicated server with 128GB of memory Wink

I cant really complain about that.

...In the land of the stale, the man with one share is king... >> Clipse

We pay miners at 130% PPS | Signup here : Bonus PPS Pool (Please read OP to understand the current process)
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 [36] 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 ... 232 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!