Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 09:09:19 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Mining rig extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS]  (Read 155804 times)
Spotswood
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 366



View Profile WWW
April 01, 2012, 12:01:29 PM
 #281

...

Second, what app are you using to model the rig frame?  I need to do something similar but don't know what would be good software to use for mocking up ideas.

Its the the free Google Sketchup.  There's a library of computer component models at http://scc.jezmckean.com/home, which you can import into your own model. 

1481360959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360959
Reply with quote  #2

1481360959
Report to moderator
1481360959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360959
Reply with quote  #2

1481360959
Report to moderator
1481360959
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481360959

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481360959
Reply with quote  #2

1481360959
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 01, 2012, 12:38:58 PM
 #282

I'm guessing there still isn't a solution to the lame 8 GPU limit with AMD drivers? I've read through a few of the pages and it sounds like short of AMD adjusting the limits in the drivers you'll be stuck at 8 cores.
Yeah, but I'm going to attempt to experiment with virtualization and things to see what I can do.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 01, 2012, 08:23:49 PM
 #283

I'm guessing there still isn't a solution to the lame 8 GPU limit with AMD drivers? I've read through a few of the pages and it sounds like short of AMD adjusting the limits in the drivers you'll be stuck at 8 cores.
Yeah, but I'm going to attempt to experiment with virtualization and things to see what I can do.

^^ This is perhaps the most interesting part of the whole project from my perspective.  If there is a way to use virtualization but still access the GPU hardware, that could allow for some really interesting ways of doing things.

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
mcorlett
Donator
Sr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 308



View Profile
April 01, 2012, 08:32:36 PM
 #284

If there is a way to use virtualization but still access the GPU hardware, that could allow for some really interesting ways of doing things.
There is, and a lot of commercial virtualization software offers it. It's usually called "GPU pass-through", or something along those lines.

amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 01, 2012, 08:43:34 PM
 #285

If there is a way to use virtualization but still access the GPU hardware, that could allow for some really interesting ways of doing things.
There is, and a lot of commercial virtualization software offers it. It's usually called "GPU pass-through", or something along those lines.

Nice!  I see that Citrix' XenServer has it.  I wonder if that means that Xen (open source version) also has it.

Going to have to do some testing tonight.

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 01, 2012, 09:05:30 PM
 #286

If there is a way to use virtualization but still access the GPU hardware, that could allow for some really interesting ways of doing things.
There is, and a lot of commercial virtualization software offers it. It's usually called "GPU pass-through", or something along those lines.
Yes, but I have yet to hear from anyone that has tested it much. Luke-jr is the only one that I know of that has actually mined with a video card in a virtualized OS, using KVM passthough virtualization. But that was only one card, and the system was somewhat unstable. Others have mentioned that since the drivers run in usermode with X, that I might be able to run multiple X instances. But I don't really know enough about how that works to know how to set it up, or even whether it would work at all.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 01, 2012, 11:54:26 PM
 #287

If there is a way to use virtualization but still access the GPU hardware, that could allow for some really interesting ways of doing things.
There is, and a lot of commercial virtualization software offers it. It's usually called "GPU pass-through", or something along those lines.
Yes, but I have yet to hear from anyone that has tested it much. Luke-jr is the only one that I know of that has actually mined with a video card in a virtualized OS, using KVM passthough virtualization. But that was only one card, and the system was somewhat unstable. Others have mentioned that since the drivers run in usermode with X, that I might be able to run multiple X instances. But I don't really know enough about how that works to know how to set it up, or even whether it would work at all.

I'm fairly swamped at the moment, but if I can find some time I'll give it a try and see how it works, then report my results.

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
Gomeler
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 645



View Profile
April 02, 2012, 06:25:26 AM
 #288

I'm guessing there still isn't a solution to the lame 8 GPU limit with AMD drivers? I've read through a few of the pages and it sounds like short of AMD adjusting the limits in the drivers you'll be stuck at 8 cores.
Yeah, but I'm going to attempt to experiment with virtualization and things to see what I can do.

I see. If you find a solution it'll make for some very interesting possibilities. Wish you the best of luck on that.

Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


What's a GPU?


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 04:00:47 AM
 #289

First of all - this has been really interested to watch it develop.  The more rigs I've accumulated the more management of rigs becomes an issue and higher density setups look more appetizing.  Can't wait to see how it turns out.  Specifically how well it works and what the final bill is.

Second, what app are you using to model the rig frame?  I need to do something similar but don't know what would be good software to use for mocking up ideas.

Solidworks is great for doing stuff like that, I don't know what he's using though.

This is progressing really well though. Looks awesome!

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 04:02:36 AM
 #290

Solidworks is great for doing stuff like that, I don't know what he's using though.

This is progressing really well though. Looks awesome!
Read up the page just a little bit...:

Its the the free Google Sketchup.  There's a library of computer component models at http://scc.jezmckean.com/home, which you can import into your own model. 
Grin

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 05, 2012, 04:04:47 AM
 #291

Solidworks is great for doing stuff like that, I don't know what he's using though.

This is progressing really well though. Looks awesome!
Read up the page just a little bit...:

Its the the free Google Sketchup.  There's a library of computer component models at http://scc.jezmckean.com/home, which you can import into your own model. 
Grin

That made my day right there.  Not just a cool free tool, but a library with computer part models.  Yay!!

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
Garr255
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952


What's a GPU?


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:53:47 PM
 #292

Yeah, I need to get into the habit of reading the thread before replying Tongue

“First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they fight you, then you win.”  -- Mahatma Gandhi

Average time between signing on to bitcointalk: Two weeks. Please don't expect responses any faster than that!
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 05, 2012, 08:57:15 PM
 #293

Yeah, I need to get into the habit of reading the thread before replying Tongue
I think the issue is that most folks don't realize that they can click the little tiny word "NEW" the appears at the end of the thread title. What that does is bring you straight to the most recent message in the thread that you haven't read. So it doesn't go all the way to the end, it starts where you left off. It makes my forum-browsing life so much easier.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
bulanula
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518



View Profile
April 05, 2012, 10:24:24 PM
 #294

Yeah, I need to get into the habit of reading the thread before replying Tongue
I think the issue is that most folks don't realize that they can click the little tiny word "NEW" the appears at the end of the thread title. What that does is bring you straight to the most recent message in the thread that you haven't read. So it doesn't go all the way to the end, it starts where you left off. It makes my forum-browsing life so much easier.

Thank you for the helpful forum usage tips !

Any other such features that may not be obvious but highly useful ?

Thanks again !
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 07, 2012, 01:37:14 PM
 #295

Guys, check out the pure awesome radiating from this thing. What a beast.


Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
April 07, 2012, 01:42:46 PM
 #296

Guys, check out the pure awesome radiating from this thing. What a beast.



Nice Cheesy now get those components in !

Cablez
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


I owe my soul to the Bitcoin code...


View Profile
April 07, 2012, 02:05:56 PM
 #297

That thing is a beast!!!!   What are the outer dimensions if I might ask?

Tired of substandard power distribution in your ASIC setup???   Chris' Custom Cablez will get you sorted out right!  No job too hard so PM me for a quote
Check my products or ask a question here: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=74397.0
ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
April 07, 2012, 02:11:14 PM
 #298

Hi, can you provide more info on the power supply please ? (the Dell 2000w) how did you wire it up and is it running now ?

Thanks.
amazingrando
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 546



View Profile
April 07, 2012, 03:10:01 PM
 #299

Guys, check out the pure awesome radiating from this thing. What a beast.



 Shocked

Beauty!

Bitbond - 105% PPS mining bond - mining payouts without buying hardware
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile
April 07, 2012, 03:26:14 PM
 #300

That thing is a beast!!!!   What are the outer dimensions if I might ask?
I'm not actually 100% sure of the exact dimensions, but Spotswood could probably tell us.

Hi, can you provide more info on the power supply please ? (the Dell 2000w) how did you wire it up and is it running now ?

Thanks.
I haven't even messed with them yet. Sad I need to find a c19 plug somewhere, and then a multimeter so I can start poking around the signal pins hoping it doesn't blow up. I also need to find out the best way to make a common 12v bus for so many amps, as well as a way to attach all the 6/8-pin connectors to it. It will probably be some manner of copper bus bar, with the connectors scavenged from old power supplies.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 [15] 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!