Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 04:25:39 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ... 159 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [~1000 GH/sec] BTC Guild - 0% Fee Pool, LP, SSL, Full Precision, and More  (Read 358698 times)
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 04:42:11 PM
 #201

For anybody that saw RPC errors last night around 9-10 PM (PST), this was due to a database update on the shares table which may have caused share/authentication issues during a few small windows of 2 minutes.

Another small window of RPC errors this morning around 6 AM (PST) when the mysql server was restarted.  There may have been a few miner idles around 9 AM, due to the pool calculating rewards on 2 blocks in quick succession.  This will be resolved this weekend when I optimize the way the server calculates rewards to split the processing time into multiple small chunks rather than all at once.

For now, the only time you should see a communication error or miner idle is when:  A) Your connection (or a node en route to the server) goes down or B) A block was just solved and is being calculated.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
1480868739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868739
Reply with quote  #2

1480868739
Report to moderator
1480868739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868739
Reply with quote  #2

1480868739
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480868739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868739
Reply with quote  #2

1480868739
Report to moderator
1480868739
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480868739

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480868739
Reply with quote  #2

1480868739
Report to moderator
ChaosFox
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 172


Certified fox posing as a cat posing as a human


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 04:52:20 PM
 #202

Hmm, I'm having a different sort of problem, though.  Undecided I can't connect using the Ufasoft bitcoin-miner 0.10 CPU miner, it stays at 0 MHash/sec.

These are the contents of the .bat I'm using to connect:

Code:
start /D "C:\Users\ChaosFox\Documents" bitcoin-miner.exe -o http://btcguild.com:8332 -u ChaosFox_xxxxxxxx -p xxxxxxxx

I can't spot any mistake, and it's pretty much the same I've been using to connect to other pools before.

EDIT: I found the possible cause of the issues:

After some work with luke-jr, I can now say that ufasoft now works with his pool (Eligius).

Typical command line

bitcoin-miner.exe -a 5 -o http://pool.bitcoin.dashjr.org:8337 -u <your bitcoin address> -p <whatever>

what i like about luke's pool is that you can use port 80 too (great for NATs) and you don't need to register on a website,
you just send the payment address in the user and you receive payments when they go above 1 BTC.

I saw there were posts here having problems with bitpenny pool too so i will write what solved the issue here (it might be the same problem there).

The problem used to be:  Shocked
after running bitcoin-miner.exe, it would just get stuck on 0 MH/sec.

the problem was with the pool because it didn't obey this requirement:
"The response MUST include a WWW-Authenticate header field (section 14.47) containing a challenge applicable to the requested resource."

This was fixed.
 Smiley Smiley Smiley




If you liked what I said: 1Chaosb1cafG3RYPhdFF8BMmQHZuuxmJY

The Fading Fox
shat
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:08:49 PM
 #203

Yesterday I was running strong and now for whatever reason neither of my GPUs are doing squat against the pool:

http://b.oss.im//a6/a7wvlita80gsw.png


I average ~320Mh/s on each GPU but I either get connection issues or only a few Khash/s.

Ideas Sad 
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 05:11:48 PM
 #204

Yesterday I was running strong and now for whatever reason neither of my GPUs are doing squat against the pool:




I average ~320Mh/s on each GPU but I either get connection issues or only a few Khash/s.

Ideas Sad 

Have you tried stopping/starting?  We're still running strong with over 25 gH/sec right now.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 05:44:27 PM
 #205

Thank you for all the support, especially the generous donators giving above and beyond the 2.5% amount I've set as the "invalid protection+instant payout" threshold.

When I started the pool, I did not expect to see anywhere near this level of generosity, which is why I decided to consider the pool 0% fee (nothing off the top), and just rounding the user rewards down at the 0.000X level.  The donations being received completely dwarf the rounding kept by the pool, which was already very insignificant [0.024%].  As a result, I will be changing the pool to round down to the 8th decimal, the limit of what BitCoin supports.

This change will be going live this evening, and be applied to all future blocks.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Muhahahahaz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 05:51:57 PM
 #206

Thank you for all the support, especially the generous donators giving above and beyond the 2.5% amount I've set as the "invalid protection+instant payout" threshold.

When I started the pool, I did not expect to see anywhere near this level of generosity, which is why I decided to consider the pool 0% fee (nothing off the top), and just rounding the user rewards down at the 0.000X level.  The donations being received completely dwarf the rounding kept by the pool, which was already very insignificant [0.024%].  As a result, I will be changing the pool to round down to the 8th decimal, the limit of what BitCoin supports.

This change will be going live this evening, and be applied to all future blocks.

Wow, thank you! This will help many lower production users. Cheesy
JohnDn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 06:01:50 PM
 #207

Hi,

I've added support for your pool in my Worker status monitor, but I'm having a few problems with your API:

-No unit for pool hash rate and worker hash rate: pool=24.95, my worker=171.80
obviously I can't be faster than the pool, so I could manage that on my side (but, then, what to say about users doing 10Ghash/s or 10Mhash/s, how to tell?), I think it would be better to put both speeds in Mhash/s

-Time since last share: easy to read, but it could be better if it were formatted differently, for example hh:mm or something like that
OR maybe you could incorporate a dead/alive status (as in Deepbit, depending on time since last share

Besides that, great job on the web site, I really like how all the important information can be seen in a glimpse on the account page  Wink

Check your Pooled worker status (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6525.msg95277) (BTCguild/BTCmine/Deepbit)
1JEJZ4BF56ExAhm9yP9gHRqSMLdvTZASmF
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 06:08:30 PM
 #208

Hi,

I've added support for your pool in my Worker status monitor, but I'm having a few problems with your API:

-No unit for pool hash rate and worker hash rate: pool=24.95, my worker=171.80
obviously I can't be faster than the pool, so I could manage that on my side (but, then, what to say about users doing 10Ghash/s or 10Mhash/s, how to tell?), I think it would be better to put both speeds in Mhash/s

-Time since last share: easy to read, but it could be better if it were formatted differently, for example hh:mm or something like that
OR maybe you could incorporate a dead/alive status (as in Deepbit, depending on time since last share

Besides that, great job on the web site, I really like how all the important information can be seen in a glimpse on the account page  Wink

Pool hash rate is in gH/sec, since it will never drop below 1 gH/sec unless something breaks.  Worker hash rates are mH/sec.  I set them that way for easy printing for people who didn't want to convert speeds based on size.  I will swap them both to mH/sec though for consistency.  Anybody who is parsing out a JSON API should have the ability to divide by 1000 as needed Smiley.

I'll convert time since last share to HH:MM:SS as well.


UPDATE:  The changes mentioned above are now in effect.  Time since last share is now H:MM:SS, pool speed is sent as mH/sec to stay consistent with worker speeds.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 06:21:00 PM
 #209

something with your Worker Speed calculations must be wrong (or maybe it just doesn't do anything at all).
it's only the Speed display though, nothing for users to worry about.

i just noticed that it shows very low numbers according to my miners and actually doesnt change at all, even after half an hour (which seemed strange if it's an estimate based on the last 15minutes),
so i did a short test,
reset my worker-stats, wrote down the Round Duration Time,
waited a couple of minutes and reloaded the page,
checked the Round Duration Time, Shares in that timeframe and did some maths.

share-count is fine and fits to my workers work (aprox. 1.7Ghash/s), Worker Speed still shows 978.30Mhash/s (like written in stone, for about the last hour or so).

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 06:22:59 PM
 #210

something with your Worker Speed calculations must be wrong (or maybe it just doesn't do anything at all).
it's only the Speed display though, nothing for users to worry about.

i just noticed that it shows very low numbers according to my miners and actually doesnt change at all, even after half an hour (which seemed strange if it's an estimate based on the last 15minutes),
so i did a short test,
reset my worker-stats, wrote down the Round Duration Time,
waited a couple of minutes and reloaded the page,
checked the Round Duration Time, Shares in that timeframe and did some maths.

share-count is fine and fits to my workers work (aprox. 1.7Ghash/s), Worker Speed still shows 978.30Mhash/s (like written in stone, for about the last hour or so).

I'll take a look when I get home from work today.  I just checked on my account and my worker speed changes every minute in line with the pool stats update.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
cschmitz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 09:58:30 PM
 #211

click, added 1gh/s to pool.
i have 2 requests/ideas for features though:
allow to check worker status via api so this very nice sidebar gadget can be used:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7071.0
and also i would love if i could check miner status on the go with the android app
http://www.appbrain.com/app/miner-status/me.davidgreene.minerstatus

proud 5.x gh/s miner. tips welcome at 1A132BPnYMrgYdDaRyLpRrLQU4aG1WLRtd
JohnDn
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 10:06:51 PM
 #212

@cschmitz you could otherwise use my own tool and add it into your android bookmarks Wink

Check your Pooled worker status (https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=6525.msg95277) (BTCguild/BTCmine/Deepbit)
1JEJZ4BF56ExAhm9yP9gHRqSMLdvTZASmF
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 10:09:24 PM
 #213

click, added 1gh/s to pool.
i have 2 requests/ideas for features though:
allow to check worker status via api so this very nice sidebar gadget can be used:
http://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7071.0
and also i would love if i could check miner status on the go with the android app
http://www.appbrain.com/app/miner-status/me.davidgreene.minerstatus


Worker status is part of the API (go to "My API Settings" for your URL).  My pool was added to the sidebar gadget you linked this morning Smiley.  I'll send a message to the guys that make the miner status app to see if they can get BTC Guild included.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
cschmitz
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 10:14:54 PM
 #214

@cschmitz you could otherwise use my own tool and add it into your android bookmarks Wink

brilliant, thx, will use it!

proud 5.x gh/s miner. tips welcome at 1A132BPnYMrgYdDaRyLpRrLQU4aG1WLRtd
steelhouse
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 11:11:25 PM
 #215

I think you should have

Pool Information
o Block Statistics
o Hall of Fame
o Api Support

BTCGuild
o What is BTC Guild
o How to Connect
o FAQ - Frequently Asked Questions
ape
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
May 12, 2011, 11:29:49 PM
 #216

Just updated my stats gadget to show the correct pool hashrate again (since it changed from gH to kH).
matteumayo
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 52



View Profile
May 12, 2011, 11:47:32 PM
 #217

Just joined with 305 m/hash since deepbit has been giving me shitty shares Tongue

Inaba
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260



View Profile WWW
May 12, 2011, 11:57:07 PM
 #218

Okay the miner status gadget is done, let me know what you guys think. You need .net 4.0 runtimes to use it.
I'm probably going to add a tab with graphs for hash rate and stale % tomorrow.
https://github.com/apeape/BTCGuild-Stats-Gadget


Nice app, but I have a few things that are causing problems:

1.  I have a lot of miners, the scrolling is tedious and annoying, you can only display 6.5 miners on the screen at a time.  It would be nice to be able to resize it. This includes vertical and horizontal, since there's lots of extra room on the right, so I have a completely mismatched window with not enough room vertically and too much room horizontally and no way to change it.
2. Miner colors configurable.  Maybe green for good and red for broken.  Being able to set thresholds for colors would be nice, too.  I have occasionally had miners overheat and start throttling, I'd like to see them listed in yellow.
3. Some graphical glitches when you try to resize the columns.  Makes the window borders blocky and broken.

This should probably be in another thread, though, so I apologize for hijacking this thread.

If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
Muhahahahaz
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
May 13, 2011, 12:07:40 AM
 #219

The BTC Guild's average (expected) generation time is just 6 hours now! Cheesy
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2011, 12:57:20 AM
 #220

update on that WorkerSpeed bug:

have been mining some namecoins for a few hours,
when i switched my miners to it, the Worker Speed finaly changed and dropped from that 978.30Mhps to 0Mhps.  Grin
however, put them back on the guild right after my namecoin-session, the WorkerSpeed went up to 944.89Mhps and now, about 30minutes later, still shows exactly 944.89Mhps (while workers crunch at ~1.7Ghps, based on share-calc).

it's 6 miners on a single worker-account, just for info.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 [11] 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 ... 159 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!