Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 04:07:51 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 ... 159 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [~1000 GH/sec] BTC Guild - 0% Fee Pool, LP, SSL, Full Precision, and More  (Read 358849 times)
Ramokk
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 04:01:37 PM
 #341

When you hit the "Pay Me Now" button, are there any transaction fees? (like 0.01 BTC?)

I just paid out my balance, and I wasn't charged any fees.  It was a little less than 2 BTC, though.  I haven't heard anywhere that fees are charged.  You could try it with a small amount and see what happens.
1481040471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040471
Reply with quote  #2

1481040471
Report to moderator
1481040471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040471
Reply with quote  #2

1481040471
Report to moderator
1481040471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040471
Reply with quote  #2

1481040471
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481040471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040471
Reply with quote  #2

1481040471
Report to moderator
1481040471
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481040471

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481040471
Reply with quote  #2

1481040471
Report to moderator
WilliamJohnson
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 04:33:21 PM
 #342

I see.
I'm fairly new to bitcoin, but according to the wiki (https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Transaction_fees), a transaction fee of 0.01BTC / KB is recommended.
Though I guess it's not really important yet. It will become relevant when transaction fees become the main income for miners.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 04:39:37 PM
 #343

When transaction fees are required (due to the pool sending coins which are only recently created), I absorb the costs of the transaction fees.  Our transactions do not reach the 1 kB amount though (normally 200-300 bytes).

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
adrd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 06:55:08 PM
 #344

Website shows that I mine at 600-700 mhash, even though my miner shows 760-780, why are there so big differences ? Does it mean I get paid for 600-700 mhashes ?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 07:14:33 PM
 #345

Website shows that I mine at 600-700 mhash, even though my miner shows 760-780, why are there so big differences ? Does it mean I get paid for 600-700 mhashes ?

You get paid according to the percentage of shares you submit divided by the overall shares. Shares aren't computed at a constant rate, some take your card longer, some shorter. The server isn't told how fast your card works so it calculates your speed as best it can according to the shares you submit. Sometimes it will show faster, sometimes it will show slower depending on how long it takes to complete calculations and submit to the server.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 07:15:35 PM
 #346

I'm getting idles here on my system.

start /DC:\Bitcoin\phoenix phoenix -v -u http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx@btcguild.com:8332/;askrate=1 -k phatk device=1 WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=13 FASTLOOP=FALSE

Without askrate I was getting lots of idles if only for a short period (<1s it seems). I put on askrate=10 and it helped but had to keep reducing it to =1, and now I still get a few but not as many. This is on a dual 5870 system, while my 2 5850 systems don't seem to be having this problem at all. I was at slush's pool before this and never saw any idles, could this be due to the LP or is it something else?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 07:20:35 PM
 #347

I'm getting idles here on my system.

start /DC:\Bitcoin\phoenix phoenix -v -u http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx@btcguild.com:8332/;askrate=1 -k phatk device=1 WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=13 FASTLOOP=FALSE

Without askrate I was getting lots of idles if only for a short period (<1s it seems). I put on askrate=10 and it helped but had to keep reducing it to =1, and now I still get a few but not as many. This is on a dual 5870 system, while my 2 5850 systems don't seem to be having this problem at all. I was at slush's pool before this and never saw any idles, could this be due to the LP or is it something else?

Askrate is not necessary with Phoenix because it maintains a work queue and only requests work when needed. Phoenix also ignores the askrate setting automatically for RPC servers with long polling support.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
adrd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 07:21:35 PM
 #348

Website shows that I mine at 600-700 mhash, even though my miner shows 760-780, why are there so big differences ? Does it mean I get paid for 600-700 mhashes ?

You get paid according to the percentage of shares you submit divided by the overall shares. Shares aren't computed at a constant rate, some take your card longer, some shorter. The server isn't told how fast your card works so it calculates your speed as best it can according to the shares you submit. Sometimes it will show faster, sometimes it will show slower depending on how long it takes to complete calculations and submit to the server.

So what does it mean if it's constantly lower for me ? Can I do sth with it ?
Clavulanic
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 85


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 08:19:59 PM
 #349

I'm getting idles here on my system.

start /DC:\Bitcoin\phoenix phoenix -v -u http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx@btcguild.com:8332/;askrate=1 -k phatk device=1 WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=13 FASTLOOP=FALSE

Without askrate I was getting lots of idles if only for a short period (<1s it seems). I put on askrate=10 and it helped but had to keep reducing it to =1, and now I still get a few but not as many. This is on a dual 5870 system, while my 2 5850 systems don't seem to be having this problem at all. I was at slush's pool before this and never saw any idles, could this be due to the LP or is it something else?

Askrate is not necessary with Phoenix because it maintains a work queue and only requests work when needed. Phoenix also ignores the askrate setting automatically for RPC servers with long polling support.


Hmmm thanks. What do you suggest I do about it? Shouldn't phoenix have a queue of work so that it doesn't have to go idle?
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 08:28:24 PM
 #350

I'm getting idles here on my system.

start /DC:\Bitcoin\phoenix phoenix -v -u http://xxxxxxxxxxxxx@btcguild.com:8332/;askrate=1 -k phatk device=1 WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT AGGRESSION=13 FASTLOOP=FALSE

Without askrate I was getting lots of idles if only for a short period (<1s it seems). I put on askrate=10 and it helped but had to keep reducing it to =1, and now I still get a few but not as many. This is on a dual 5870 system, while my 2 5850 systems don't seem to be having this problem at all. I was at slush's pool before this and never saw any idles, could this be due to the LP or is it something else?

Askrate is not necessary with Phoenix because it maintains a work queue and only requests work when needed. Phoenix also ignores the askrate setting automatically for RPC servers with long polling support.


Hmmm thanks. What do you suggest I do about it? Shouldn't phoenix have a queue of work so that it doesn't have to go idle?

Remove the askrate. The miner is idle errors is a bug they are still working out. They think they might have finally figured it out and it will hopefully finally be squashed in the next release. Make sure you are running the most current version 1.48 http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=6458.0 or if you are still getting excessive idles try GUIminer http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=3878.0 or poclbm.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
lebish
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 36


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 08:50:48 PM
 #351

Website shows that I mine at 600-700 mhash, even though my miner shows 760-780, why are there so big differences ? Does it mean I get paid for 600-700 mhashes ?

Like Eleuthria mentioned, you get paid based on shares.

But it's interesting to note -- the rate my miner displays is much higher than what the BTC Guild site reports. This hasn't been the case with other pools I've used in the past though.
adrd
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 39


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 09:12:45 PM
 #352

nvm, it's much higher now so it should break even
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 09:14:46 PM
 #353

nvm, it's much higher now so it should break even

I think the whole site swings back and forth because mine is up ~60 MH now. The only thing that matter is when your Estimated Rewards changes, well, down at least. I don't think anyone will complain about it going up. 

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
Andris
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 09:16:37 PM
 #354

Website shows that I mine at 600-700 mhash, even though my miner shows 760-780, why are there so big differences ? Does it mean I get paid for 600-700 mhashes ?

Mine has varied between 80 mHash and over 110, personally. It's dependent on how many shares you solve, so it will only match your actual speed (98 mhash in my case) in the long run.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
May 22, 2011, 11:48:33 PM
 #355

Miner idles should have stopped yesterday for most users, however it is possible for them to start showing up as the hash rate of the pool has been increasing rapidly and is straining the hardware when a large number of shares + a block solve happen simultaneously.

I have a dedicated hosting provider lined up and they are going to be setting up a server with the specs I need this week.  This will be a significantly more powerful system than what the pool is currently running on, has a 100 mbps connection, and very strong DDoS protection.  The switch to the new server should happen on Thursday or Friday this week.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
grndzero
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 392


View Profile
May 22, 2011, 11:54:47 PM
 #356

Miner idles should have stopped yesterday for most users, however it is possible for them to start showing up as the hash rate of the pool has been increasing rapidly and is straining the hardware when a large number of shares + a block solve happen simultaneously.

I have a dedicated hosting provider lined up and they are going to be setting up a server with the specs I need this week.  This will be a significantly more powerful system than what the pool is currently running on, has a 100 mbps connection, and very strong DDoS protection.  The switch to the new server should happen on Thursday or Friday this week.

Wow! Growing pains your first week out. Sweet.

Ubuntu Desktop x64 -  HD5850 Reference - 400Mh/s w/ cgminer  @ 975C/325M/1.175V - 11.6/2.1 SDK
Donate if you find this helpful: 1NimouHg2acbXNfMt5waJ7ohKs2TtYHePy
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 12:43:51 AM
 #357

Nice, I like the simplicity of your website.

Pointing 1Gh/s towards your pool.

Hope more people join!

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
IlbiStarz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 12:59:26 AM
 #358

I'm pretty sure there is no difference between how much you make if you join a faster pool or slower pool correct?

However, does variance get affected? I think the slower pool would have more variance, as there as less blocks solved.

It's better to be pissed off, than to be pissed on.
BTC : 1UgM1rqL9mFtH4PHF8TgvAaceymaKmhmP         LTC : LgCGw2WrRphr94RYS1qXHj2PUuYrTap4vk
FC : 6jc9PEmqxpMSxydfepHtshE4f2jMom1dAJ
kjj
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1302



View Profile
May 23, 2011, 01:36:08 AM
 #359

I'm pretty sure there is no difference between how much you make if you join a faster pool or slower pool correct?

However, does variance get affected? I think the slower pool would have more variance, as there as less blocks solved.

Pretty much.  With a bigger pool, you get more frequent smaller payments.  With a smaller pool, you get less frequent larger payments.  Sorta.  In practice, you probably make a tiny, tiny fraction more in a larger pool, over time, than you would in a smaller pool.

p2pcoin: a USB/CD/PXE p2pool miner - 1N8ZXx2cuMzqBYSK72X4DAy1UdDbZQNPLf - todo
I routinely ignore posters with paid advertising in their sigs.  You should too.
milesc
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 7


View Profile
May 23, 2011, 12:18:55 PM
 #360

Site bug: I have a single worker who was active roughly 8 hours ago, before I turned him off for the night.  This morning, the worker's Last Share shows 362820 hours, which is off by about 362812 hours Cheesy

Keep up the good work!  Any chance you'd consider open-sourcing the backend RPC server code?

Thanks!
milesc
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 [18] 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 ... 159 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!