Bitcoin Forum
September 24, 2018, 02:28:36 PM *
News: ♦♦ New info! Bitcoin Core users absolutely must upgrade to previously-announced 0.16.3 [Torrent]. All Bitcoin users should temporarily trust confirmations slightly less. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 94 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER C1 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 128267 times)
BITMAIN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 741
Merit: 502


https://www.bitmain.com


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 03:37:58 AM
 #1

Quote
Liquid Cooled Miner C1: It is not only cool, but it is cool
Only Available at bitmaintech.com

The density of miners is becoming more and more important as the rapid growth of the bitcoin hash rate continues. The industry is trending towards industrial level mining, which leaves home miners without much choice for compact and quiet miners.

In response to this problem, Bitmain has developed a solution. The high end PC industry has used water cooling for years, and this expertise has been transferred to mining equipment. Bitmain is proud to announce our first Liquid Cooled Miner – the C1.

The 1st Batch of C1s are priced at 1 BTC per unit (excluding shipping), with dispatch estimated Oct. 25th


Specifications:
* Hash Rate: 1,008 GH/s guaranteed
* Power Efficiency: 0.8 Watt/GH/s at the wall
* Voltage: DC 12V input, 70A recommended, no PSU
* Water cooling block’s interface: G1/4-8 thread screw
* One 14038 Fan working with water cooling block
* Temperature: 38~40 °C at 25 °C ambient temperature
* Noise: 40~45 DB at 25 °C ambient temperature
* Ethernet connection, Stand alone
* Certificate Compliance: FCC/CE


Recommend Accessories:
Note: Bellow recommend parts are not included in C1, but a purchase links recommended on bitmaintech.com.
* Water cooling pump: Flow 450L/H, Head Pressure 3.0m, DC12V/0.5A, G1/4-8 screw threads, 1 unit
* Radiator: Aluminum, 389mm * 128mm * 36mm, G1/4-8 screw threads, 1 unit
* Fan 12025: DC12V/1A, including grills, 3 units
* Transparent tubing (ID/OD): 5/16” / 3/8” (10/8mm), 3 meters
* Coolant: If you choose an aluminum radiator, you can use deionized water with an additive, or specialist coolant. If you buy a copper radiator, you must only use specialist coolant.
* Connectors: G1/4” thread 10/8mm fittings to connect the C1 to the pump and radiator. Either compression fittings or barbs 4 units
* Spring clamps or worm drive fittings if you chose barbs, 6 units

Note:
1)   Power consumption: Quoted figures depend on your PSUs efficiency, the ambient temperature and the accuracy of the power meter.
2)   PSU: You must provide your own ATX PSU. There are 4 PCI-e connectors for +12V DC input and all are required.

Features:

Stone alone: C1 mines are stand alone and do not require a proxy server or external controller. Setup consists of installing the water pump, radiator, filling the coolant, connecting a PSU and an Ethernet cable.

Cool: Skving technology is used to design New-Style water cooling block. This allows for a large heat-transfer area, which keeps the PCBs exceptionally cool. Thermal Images’ comparing liquid cooling and air cooling at 1TH/s hashing power

Quiet: Four hashing PCBs with 16 BM1382 chips per board are mounted to the both sides of two aluminum water cooling blocks, which are 250mm-long, 115mm-high and 13mm-thick. Each water cooling block contains 24 water channels for efficient heat transfer. A quiet fan works in tandem with the water cooling blocks in order to keep other board components on the C1 cool.

Stable and Accurate: Customized and optimized from the design of the S3+, the C1 is designed with the same PCBs and is supported by Serious-Double-Block Liquid Cooling technology. This allows C1s to benefit from the stability and accuracy of S3+ required to run 24 hours a day with minimal downtime.

Exquisite:
Die Casting Forming technology integrates the common heatsink with a water cooling block, compacts two water cooling blocks working in tandem. These technologies are saving space and allow for 1TH/s of power in a case the same as the S3.

C1 Pictures:











Cloud Mining? Just Go to Hashnest.com          Best Liquidity   Lowest Price   100% Real Mining Back Up
1537799316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799316
Reply with quote  #2

1537799316
Report to moderator
1537799316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799316
Reply with quote  #2

1537799316
Report to moderator
1537799316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799316
Reply with quote  #2

1537799316
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1537799316
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1537799316

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1537799316
Reply with quote  #2

1537799316
Report to moderator
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 03:38:08 AM
 #2

FAQ and Technical Support

What you need to get started
___________________________________________________________________________
Special C1 watercooling kit[Syscooling.com]| $50 + ~$40
1L of coolant[Amazon.com*]| $12.95 + $0
1KW PSU + ethernet cable[Amazon.com*]| $152.19 + $0
 
*Includes affiliate link!

Dogie's comprehensive setup guide in super HD!

Configuration
Quote
Wiring:
  • Prepare the paperclip for the PSU's 24 pin connector.
  • Prepare the watercooling for the miner.
  • Plug in the eight PCI-E cables to the miner.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to you router.

Configuration:
  • Power on the power supply using its switch at the back.
  • Make sure that your router's subnet is 1, ie 192.168.1.x. If not then change it to 1, this is just temporary. ***If this is not possible, see below***
  • Using a browser, navigate to 192.168.1.99 - this goes to the C1's configuration page.
  • Login using "root" as both the username and password.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> WAN -> Edit.
  • Change protocol to DHCP and click "Save & Apply".
  • Using a browser, navigate to your router and find the IP it has assigned the C1 and navigate to that IP.
  • Navigate to the page Status -> Miner Configuration. Enter your pool information in the below format.
  • Select "Beeper ringing" to "false" and click "Save & Apply".
  • Navigate to the page "Miner Status" to check mining has started.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to whatever you are used to using.

Alternative Subnet Change:
  • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to your computer.
  • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings.
  • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties.
  • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties.
  • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
  • IP Address: 192.168.1.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.1.99.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the AntMiner to you router.
  • Restart the configuration instructions as above.

FAQ
Quote
ProblemSolution
"x".in.a.row.on.miner.configuration.page- There is a faulty chip - nothing we can do. Hash rate will be affected by ~1.5%.
Almost all "x" on one row of "Chips"- A hashing board may be mispowered or faulty. Recheck your cabling and PSU.
How do I change the login password?- Navigate to System -> Administration. Enter the current password and enter your new one twice.
What is the SSH login?- Username is "root", password is "admin".
Can I turn the beeping off when the miner stops mining?- Navigate to Miner configuration and turn "Beeper Ringing" to false.
I can connect to the AntMiner but its not hashing?- Set the protocol to DHCP via Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> WAN -> Edit. If you
don't want to use DHCP, navigate to Network -> Settings and make sure "Gateway" is set to the
IP of your router.
What temperatures should I aim for?- Try and achieve <50 for best hash rates, and <60 for long lifetimes. Temperatures should not
be let to rise above 70C.
Where can I get the latest firmware?- Download from Bitmain's site.
How can I tell what firmware version I have now?- Navigate to System -> Overview and look at "File System Version".
How do I install the latest firmware?- Download firmware as above. Navigate to System -> Upgrade and click "browse". Select the
downloaded file and click "Flash image". Do NOT interrupt this process or you will brick the unit.
How do I reset settings to default?- Use a paperclip to press the reset button - located next to the ethernet connector - down
for 5-10 seconds. The miner will then reset with stock settings.
My.power.supply's.cables.are.braided.or.aren't.color.coded!

SD image in case of corruption. | That image is set to DHCP so visit your router to find the IP assigned.


Watercooling layout
Quote
See step by step instructions here.
Or youtube video here.
 


dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 03:38:12 AM
 #3

Hello all,

Bitmain has employed me to help liaise with the community and later provide technical support. They have done this in order to help provide:

1) timely technical support
2) provide better feedback (if I don't know, I can find out from the people within Bitmain who will)
3) provide product and sales input from you guys directly into the company. If something is going wrong, YOU can fix it
4) provide native English press releases - less ManderEnglish, more sense.

This is a paid position, however it will in no way affect my independence or freedom in being critical towards Bitmain outside of this thread. My contract specifically stipulates:

Quote
Dogie will speak on behalf of BITMAIN and will not criticize BITMAIN in these threads. Dogie still reserves the right to criticize BITMAIN in his other threads. Both parties acknowledge that this relationship has no impact whatsoever on BITMAIN’s rating or standing in “Dogie’s ‘Manufacturer Trustworthiness” thread.

This means I won't sit here and reply to every post saying Bitmain is a scam, don't buy from Bitmain etc etc, in this thread. It does NOT prohibit me from saying that in my own threads, if that is what I believe. It also has absolutely no impact on their rating in the Manufacturer trustworthiness thread [in which Bitmain just went down 10 points].

Dogie support for this product has now expired. Other staff will now service your queries in this thread. I can still be found in my own thread.

Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630
Merit: 500


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
October 31, 2014, 06:03:37 AM
 #4

Good looking product but more complex then the normal s3 for beginner miners.

Seems like more of a gimmick then anything.

Message me if you have any problems
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 31, 2014, 06:21:54 AM
 #5

What overclocking potential do these have? I was expecting cooler temps than that, but without knowing ambient it's hard to say. I'm assuming the whole kit is PWM, so the fans and pump could be run harder if wanted to reach better temps.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 06:36:12 AM
 #6

What overclocking potential do these have? I was expecting cooler temps than that, but without knowing ambient it's hard to say. I'm assuming the whole kit is PWM, so the fans and pump could be run harder if wanted to reach better temps.

We'll see later. Pump isn't PWM and radiator fans aren't but I believe the miner's fan still is.

Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
October 31, 2014, 06:48:08 AM
 #7

The link to the kit is broken. Should be http://shop.syscooling.com/goods.php?id=45

I don't see the CFM info per fan?

Distilled water with car coolant works fine too.

That reservoir looks a bit small to me.

What is the block design?

Are the temps shown in the screen shot achieved with exactly that setup?


For people new to this, some info here (not all relevant to this particular case, but still a good read, if you never water-cooled before): http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/diy-water-cooling-101,1055.html

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 31, 2014, 06:59:51 AM
 #8

OK...it's 3:00am and I finally got both of my new C1s up and running...the first one was a breeze, it took maybe an hour.  After a bunch of S1s and S3s and doing water cooling on a number of PCs, setting up a C1  should be a breeze for me.

HOWEVER ... the second C1 took me 6+ hours set up.  At the end of the day the issue was NOT Bitmaintech's but rather Syscooling.com's.  The wiring harness they provide to connect the pump and three radiator fans is a complete piece of Sh!t.  It actually had a short which fried a couple of resistors on one board thereby killing the fan header on that board.  

I ended up directly connecting the pump to one of the remaining board's headers and then cutting the connectors off of all the fans, using one to connect to the last good board header (the other is used for the front case fan) and soldering the whole mess together.  

It actually works better this way since the original harness from syscooling just has 12V and Ground, but the fans and pump are all variable speed and the headers all support variable speed and monitoring (pump can monitor rpms and therefore should be connected to a separate header anyway).

Making a GOOD harness would have cost Syscooling.com maybe $2.00 more and would have saved me hours trying to figure out what was wrong and then figuring out how best to correct their crappy harness.  Since there is no way to adequately route the fan and pump wires now (without drilling holes in the case), I have to leave the cover off.  

BTW, Bitmaintech could spend another few bucks and put a couple of headers on the outside of the C1 so that the user doesn't have to take the cover off to connect the pump and radiator fans...just a thought!

Bitmaintech...I will reiterate what I said in an earlier post...Syscooling.com is going to kill your reputation.  If you want to continue to produce watercooled systems, PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE find someone that can produce a decent product and who understands what customer service is about.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 07:14:45 AM
 #9

The link to the kit is broken. Should be http://shop.syscooling.com/goods.php?id=45

I don't see the CFM info per fan? Distilled water with car coolant works fine too. That reservoir looks a bit small to me. What is the block design? Are the temps shown in the screen shot achieved with exactly that setup?

Which link? Ignore the one on bitmaintech for now, doing something else.

Unsure on exact CFM but its the same as the S3 fan. Distilled water will NOT work due to the mix of copper and aluminium. Reservoir is fine, 80ml is more than you think especially when the entire loop is 600ml.

Block is a 'w' as far as I know. Temps are using the shown setup.

Newar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1000


https://gliph.me/hUF


View Profile
October 31, 2014, 07:30:29 AM
 #10

[...]

Which link? Ignore the one on bitmaintech for now, doing something else.
[...]

The one in your post. Goes to http://shop.syscooling.com/goods-45.html, returns: 404


Unsure on exact CFM but its the same as the S3 fan. Distilled water will NOT work due to the mix of copper and aluminium.

Hence the comment on adding car additives.

OTC rating | GPG keyid 1DC91318EE785FDE | Gliph: lightning bicycle tree music | Mycelium, a swift & secure Bitcoin client for Android | LocalBitcoins
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
October 31, 2014, 07:36:33 AM
 #11

The one in your post. Goes to http://shop.syscooling.com/goods-45.html, returns: 404

Hence the comment on adding car additives.

Fixed. I was just making it clear to others to not use distilled water on its own.

Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
October 31, 2014, 11:13:19 AM
 #12

..... The wiring harness they provide to connect the pump and three radiator fans is a complete piece of Sh!t.  It actually had a short which fried a couple of resistors on one board thereby killing the fan header on that board.  
.....

I am totally agree with you. In  purchased  off four  sets,  only  two had wires in order. One had Interruption and the other short-circuited.

luckily for me, the first was with  interruption, and after that I have already checked the wiring harness with multimeter.
2 x C1  already running, and working fine.

However, 4 x C1  is still unshipped.  Angry

EDIT. BITMAIN Order Shipped


y_boonstra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 376
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 31, 2014, 12:17:33 PM
 #13

Mixing alu. and copper in 1 loop will cause problems !!!

tbolt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 31, 2014, 03:39:27 PM
 #14

@BITMAIN

Do you have any plans to offer an "C1 type" Water cooling upgrade kit?

I have 4x Hashing Boards from 2x noisy S3+

If I was able to purchase the -C1 Case, -C1 Water Block and -C1 Controller board
by themselves then I could transfer those Hashing boards to it.
RealMalatesta
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 31, 2014, 07:07:17 PM
 #15

WTF???

Tried to get my miners at the UPS-facility - couldn't get them, the response I got was: "Sorry, the sender absolutely screwed it".



So my waiting continues.... *grrrrr*
s2miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 03:38:53 AM
 #16

well, I finally received my antminer C1. It is all set with cooling kit and operational. But it does not work. The web interface does not show up.
If I manually set up a pool in conf file using ssh. It still keeps working for some unknown pool because the PSU is consuming 1000+watts.

Anyone has received it and has it working yet?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1050


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 01, 2014, 07:28:55 AM
 #17

well, I finally received my antminer C1. It is all set with cooling kit and operational. But it does not work. The web interface does not show up.
If I manually set up a pool in conf file using ssh. It still keeps working for some unknown pool because the PSU is consuming 1000+watts.

Anyone has received it and has it working yet?

Reflash SD with the one in my 2nd post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=841344.msg9389747#msg9389747

syscooling
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 09:10:54 AM
 #18

well, I finally received my antminer C1. It is all set with cooling kit and operational. But it does not work. The web interface does not show up.
If I manually set up a pool in conf file using ssh. It still keeps working for some unknown pool because the PSU is consuming 1000+watts.

Anyone has received it and has it working yet?

Reflash SD with the one in my 2nd post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=841344.msg9389747#msg9389747

the installation video for C1 Cooling kit    http://www.syscooling.com/news/Evaluating/628.html

████→→       ● DeepOnion                                                                       ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯ 
████→→       ● Tor integrated, 100% anonymous!                                       Get Your FREE Coins NOW!     
████→→       ● Free Airdrop! (No ICO, No Crowdfund)                       ✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯✯
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 01, 2014, 02:18:16 PM
 #19

well, I finally received my antminer C1. It is all set with cooling kit and operational. But it does not work. The web interface does not show up.
If I manually set up a pool in conf file using ssh. It still keeps working for some unknown pool because the PSU is consuming 1000+watts.

Anyone has received it and has it working yet?

Reflash SD with the one in my 2nd post https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=841344.msg9389747#msg9389747

If anyone needs to reflash if using windows, Win32DiskImager is what copied the SD card and is also able to write to SD.

My post install advice:

    The starting IP should be 192.168.1.99
    Get a nice screw driver you will be opening and closing case (10 screws per miner) to plug in pump, etc.
    Have a little bowl or something for all the screws it's easy to drop the small screws
    Test it with top of case off, to make sure it's working.  If you have problems taking case on/off adds a lot of extra time.
s2miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 02:22:34 PM
 #20

I appreciate your help Dogie. You are genuinely trying to help
But
1. Bitmain should not be sending us broken miners.
2. If indeed something went wrong, Bitmain must acknowledge their mistake and do the needful. They didnot even post a firmware on their website or methods that you describe on their website to fix the problem.
3,  They indeed finally post a manual for C1 which does not even show a full picture of how it would look like when operational with cooling kit, whereas they should provide instructions to the last detail to do so.
4, If this is not disappointing enough then let me explain more. I have to run the miner at 212.5 (853 ghs) to keep the miner little quiet. Else it makes as much sound as S3, despite the cooling kit fully operational.
5. The website stops working intermittently or when the temperature rises.
6. I made it work by changing the conf file using ssh and reducing frequency.
7. Website home page still doesn't work, one has to switch to confirguration page to see access the site
http://192.168.1.99/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration.cgi

Well I am pretty disappointed by this miner so far. Wish I had just bought a few more S3's instead, so far the best of all
or
I should have had waited for second batch to not be  the scapegoat in loosing my nights trying to make a DOA machine work.

Good luck newbies, I would suggest wait for the second batch which will have all issues ironed out
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 94 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!