Bitcoin Forum
October 21, 2018, 02:00:27 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 94 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER C1 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 128268 times)
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 01, 2014, 02:29:29 PM
 #21

I appreciate your help Dogie. You are genuinely trying to help
But
1. Bitmain should not be sending us broken miners.
2. If indeed something went wrong, Bitmain must acknowledge their mistake and do the needful. They didnot even post a firmware on their website or methods that you describe on their website to fix the problem.
3,  They indeed finally post a manual for C1 which does not even show a full picture of how it would look like when operational with cooling kit, whereas they should provide instructions to the last detail to do so.
4, If this is not disappointing enough then let me explain more. I have to run the miner at 212.5 (853 ghs) to keep the miner little quiet. Else it makes as much sound as S3, despite the cooling kit fully operational.
5. The website stops working intermittently or when the temperature rises.
6. I made it work by changing the conf file using ssh and reducing frequency.
7. Website home page still doesn't work, one has to switch to confirguration page to see access the site
http://192.168.1.99/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration.cgi

Well I am pretty disappointed by this miner so far. Wish I had just bought a few more S3's instead, so far the best of all
or
I should have had waited for second batch to not be  the scapegoat in loosing my nights trying to make a DOA machine work.

Good luck newbies, I would suggest wait for the second batch which will have all issues ironed out


I had the problem with SD card so I can understand your frustration.  I was one to upload image from my second C1 miner in case others needed it hoping to make it easier on you.

Mine both are working great and quiet.  I also am lucky that it's winter weather outside on temperature.  I am able to get over 1T on each and all the temps in the 30's.   

One thing about your speed they were shipped with default of 250 frequency.  If you run at 212.5 you will not hit 1T.  You will have lower electricity, and quieter, but effects speed greatly.
1540130427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540130427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540130427
Reply with quote  #2

1540130427
Report to moderator
1540130427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540130427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540130427
Reply with quote  #2

1540130427
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1540130427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540130427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540130427
Reply with quote  #2

1540130427
Report to moderator
1540130427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540130427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540130427
Reply with quote  #2

1540130427
Report to moderator
1540130427
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1540130427

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1540130427
Reply with quote  #2

1540130427
Report to moderator
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 01, 2014, 03:02:46 PM
 #22

I appreciate your help Dogie. You are genuinely trying to help
But
1. Bitmain should not be sending us broken miners.
2. If indeed something went wrong, Bitmain must acknowledge their mistake and do the needful. They didnot even post a firmware on their website or methods that you describe on their website to fix the problem.
3,  They indeed finally post a manual for C1 which does not even show a full picture of how it would look like when operational with cooling kit, whereas they should provide instructions to the last detail to do so.
4, If this is not disappointing enough then let me explain more. I have to run the miner at 212.5 (853 ghs) to keep the miner little quiet. Else it makes as much sound as S3, despite the cooling kit fully operational.
5. The website stops working intermittently or when the temperature rises.
6. I made it work by changing the conf file using ssh and reducing frequency.
7. Website home page still doesn't work, one has to switch to confirguration page to see access the site
http://192.168.1.99/cgi-bin/minerConfiguration.cgi

Well I am pretty disappointed by this miner so far. Wish I had just bought a few more S3's instead, so far the best of all
or
I should have had waited for second batch to not be  the scapegoat in loosing my nights trying to make a DOA machine work.

Good luck newbies, I would suggest wait for the second batch which will have all issues ironed out


Mining with bitmain C1  miner is not for  Dummies.
http://www.dummies.com/
Bitmain send out used and working C1 miners.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 01, 2014, 06:10:16 PM
 #23

There is a video here, with english subtitles: http://v.youku.com/v_show/id_XODE1ODA0MjQw.html

These are my units, there's about another 100 pictures to process so that's my life for the next week.

notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 01, 2014, 07:16:13 PM
 #24

Looks like a great video, it is definitely long.  Might think of having a youtube version or another site.  I kept getting buffering with it and I'm on a good connection.
tbolt
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 08:58:50 PM
 #25


What are you seeing for temps on your C1s?
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 01, 2014, 09:16:11 PM
 #26


What are you seeing for temps on your C1s?


Temp 41, 41, 42, 42 Fan2 2160

Temp 51, 48, 52, 50 Fan2 3120

rkinnin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 316
Merit: 250


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 09:49:01 PM
 #27

FAQ and Technical Support

What you need to get started
___________________________________________________________________________
Special C1 watercooling kit[Syscooling.com]| $50 + ~$40
1L of coolant[Amazon.com*]| $12.45 + $0
1KW PSU + ethernet cable[Amazon.com*]| $152.19 + $0
2x Quick disconnect fittings^[FrozenCPU.com]| $38.96 + $3.99 2xFemale 2xMale
or| $41.96 + $3.99 2xFemale 2xMale
or| $34.00 + $3.99 2xFemale 2xMale
 
*Includes affiliate link!
^Optional but highly recommended. Get two males and two females in the same pair. Different pairs don't matter, just in case they go out of stock.

Dogie's comprehensive setup guide coming soon!


Configuration
Quote
To be added

FAQ
Quote
To be added

SD image in case of corruption. | That image is at 192.168.1.176.


Watercooling layout
Quote
To be added



would love to use FrozenCPU.com   - good reliable company in New York for many years.  Do they have a complete c1 kit or sku? 
jcwoltz
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 10:30:38 PM
 #28

I got bit by the short in syscooling's wiring. Now I can not power 1/4 boards. If I apply power to it, my PSU goes into protection mode. So I have to run this C1 with 1 board unplugged.

Syscooling is using way too cheap electrical parts... I wish I would have see this thread before I started. Can someone post something in big red bold at the top of the OP with a warning to either not use the syscooling wiring harness or check it first?
Tupsu
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1003



View Profile
November 01, 2014, 11:18:42 PM
 #29

I got bit by the short in syscooling's wiring. Now I can not power 1/4 boards. If I apply power to it, my PSU goes into protection mode. So I have to run this C1 with 1 board unplugged.

Syscooling is using way too cheap electrical parts... I wish I would have see this thread before I started. Can someone post something in big red bold at the top of the OP with a warning to either not use the syscooling wiring harness or check it first?

Of mine one had interruption and the other short-circuited.
Interruption was  on the C1  connector line and short-circuit was just a bad luck. I do not think it will happen often.

Didldak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100

Oh boy!


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 11:37:46 PM
 #30

anyone tried to run these OC'd over 250MHz?

Hey.. watsup.
dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
November 01, 2014, 11:51:38 PM
 #31


What are you seeing for temps on your C1s?


Mid 30s to mid 40's at stock.
Didldak
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 144
Merit: 100

Oh boy!


View Profile
November 02, 2014, 12:07:24 AM
 #32

I was seeing 30-40C at 23 room. I have disabled the fan on C1 unit (until I get manual rpm regulator - it was too noisy) - now Im seeing 45-50C. I hope thats ok? Chips should be ok up to 60 degree celsius :O

Hey.. watsup.
s2miner
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 26
Merit: 0


View Profile
November 02, 2014, 01:38:49 AM
 #33

Thanks notlist3d and dogie,

I will wait for new firmware that Bitmain will have to post due to some broken miners that may have gotten shipped.
Also, because I have no energy and time left budgeted for this miner over this weekend.

My only frustration is is that despite known problems in shipped miners, Bitmain has not reacted promptly to provide easy solutions to problems like firmware.

My C1 is operational for now though I have to run it at lower speed and manage it with stupid alternatives  e.g. saving miner configuration still does not make all pools operational, (it is random but limited to first pool dead in most cases).
I have to run cgminer from command shell using ssh to make it work.

Thanks for your advise Tupsu, will keep that in mind and that precious link.

regards
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 02, 2014, 05:38:37 AM
 #34

would love to use FrozenCPU.com   - good reliable company in New York for many years.  Do they have a complete c1 kit or sku? 

Delete the quote please, you turn something which gets updated into something static with links which will die. In this case, the quick disconnect fittings are wrong (too small).

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 02, 2014, 05:41:15 AM
 #35

I got bit by the short in syscooling's wiring. Now I can not power 1/4 boards. If I apply power to it, my PSU goes into protection mode. So I have to run this C1 with 1 board unplugged.

Syscooling is using way too cheap electrical parts... I wish I would have see this thread before I started. Can someone post something in big red bold at the top of the OP with a warning to either not use the syscooling wiring harness or check it first?

I too had problems with both of my cables, one of the pins in each had a bad crimp that had to be redone. Syscooling will hopefully be testing each one before shipping after our feedback.

dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1053


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
November 02, 2014, 05:42:31 AM
 #36

Thanks notlist3d and dogie,

I will wait for new firmware that Bitmain will have to post due to some broken miners that may have gotten shipped.
Also, because I have no energy and time left budgeted for this miner over this weekend.

My only frustration is is that despite known problems in shipped miners, Bitmain has not reacted promptly to provide easy solutions to problems like firmware.

My C1 is operational for now though I have to run it at lower speed and manage it with stupid alternatives  e.g. saving miner configuration still does not make all pools operational, (it is random but limited to first pool dead in most cases).
I have to run cgminer from command shell using ssh to make it work.

Thanks for your advise Tupsu, will keep that in mind and that precious link.

regards


The problem you described appears to be a bad SD card which isn't going to be fixed with new firmware.

Photon939
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 445
Merit: 250



View Profile
November 02, 2014, 07:14:25 PM
 #37

Testing initial setup, tiny brushless water pump I bought for $6 produces a surprisingly good flow volume.
Added a proper shroud to the radiator now, temps are in the low 40s. Air out of the fan is quite warm.
Might plumb in my second heatercore to drop the temps even more and lower noise.

Checked all of the electrical wiring with my FLIR, seems one PCI-E per board is fine. Wouldn't recommend
running only one if the wires are skimpy though.

Jalapeno for comedic effect

Pump: http://www.ebay.com/itm/361020584276


RealMalatesta
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 02, 2014, 07:46:17 PM
 #38

Geee.... my C1s left the factory on October 27, came to Switzerland, back to China, now back in Germany - hopefully, I'll get them in three days...
seriouscoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658
Merit: 500


View Profile
November 02, 2014, 07:53:49 PM
 #39

Geee.... my C1s left the factory on October 27, came to Switzerland, back to China, now back in Germany - hopefully, I'll get them in three days...
With difficulty jumps 10%. ..... How do you feel flushing down your money?
RealMalatesta
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 1000



View Profile
November 02, 2014, 07:59:54 PM
 #40

Geee.... my C1s left the factory on October 27, came to Switzerland, back to China, now back in Germany - hopefully, I'll get them in three days...
With difficulty jumps 10%. ..... How do you feel flushing down your money?


Well, still optimistic regarding my sock-warmer...
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 94 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!