Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2014, 05:52:34 AM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  All
  Print  
Author Topic: Mac miner front-ends to Diablo and RPC  (Read 152550 times)
MacCompiler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile

Ignore
May 19, 2011, 09:23:19 PM
 #1

Presenting beginner-friendly Mac frontends for the two popular miners DiabloMiner (GPU) and RPCminer (CPU)! The applications work like normal applications on the Mac were you double-click to start them, and after answering some questions you’re all set. For future runs just double-click on the application icons and you’ll start mining immediately.

Downloads
Updated: 2011-11-08
Updated: 2011-06-18

Both miners require Mac OS 10.6 ‘Snow Leopard.’ DiabloMiner require a OpenCL capable graphics card (AMD Radeon 5xxx and up; and Nvidia 8xxx and up). RPCminer does not require a recent graphics card.

Installation
Start by downloading a miner, and unpack the application by double-clicking on the downloaded ZIP archive.

Register an account with your mining pool, and register a new miner (if needed). Open the application and answer the questions about the pool server (or even localhost if solo mining), and miner user credentials.

After the initial setup you only need to open the application again to start mining.


Performance hints for the Mac user
Close other CPU and GPU (anything that draws on the screen) intensive applications for most efficient mining. Time Machine back-ups will have a hourly negative performance impact on Diablo. Consider temporarily disabling the back-up system when running this miner. RPC Miner will generate considerable heat. Place the Mac in a way that ensures free air circulation to avoid loss of performance due to heat. Try keeping it lifted from from the table surface.


Development
I will keep these applications up to date as upstream source code is released. Check this thread (bookmark it now!) for updates. License: same open source licenses as the upstream works.

The development goal was to aid users who are unfamiliar with the command line. These scripts are written and packaged for use on Mac OS. Reimplementing them for Linux and Windows should be fairly easy for anyone interested. Contact me if you want to coordinate effort.

Known issues: DiabloMiner exits without notification if the graphics card is unsupported.




Donations
This distribution and Mac packaging: 14V7RiwD3joqDF2Jv6zst3ZnQsR686u9iH
DiabloMiner upstream component: 1DbeWKCxnVCt3sRaSAmZLoboqr8pVyFzP1
RPCminer upstream component: 1HZNsUqQxKVLmfPfCAzLwrnVDzx8CxwxnM


Easy to use miner front-ends to Diablo and RPC for Mac users.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1398318754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398318754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398318754
Reply with quote  #2

1398318754
Report to moderator
1398318754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398318754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398318754
Reply with quote  #2

1398318754
Report to moderator
1398318754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398318754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398318754
Reply with quote  #2

1398318754
Report to moderator
1398318754
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1398318754

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1398318754
Reply with quote  #2

1398318754
Report to moderator
endthefed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 12:58:33 AM
 #2

I keep getting the response:



Quote
Missing argument for option: u

usage: DiabloMiner -u myuser -p mypassword [args]
                  
 -D,--devices <arg>    devices to enable
 -d,--debug            enable debug output
 -dd,--edebug          enable extra debug output
 -f,--fps <arg>        target execution timing
 -g,--getwork <arg>    seconds between getwork refresh
 -h,--help             this help
 -l,--url <arg>        bitcoin host url
 -o,--host <arg>       bitcoin host IP
 -p,--pass <arg>       bitcoin host password
 -r,--port <arg>       bitcoin host port
 -u,--user <arg>       bitcoin host username
 -v,--vectors <arg>    vector size in kernel (1 - 6)
 -w,--worksize <arg>   override worksize
 -x,--proxy <arg>      optional proxy settings IP:PORT<:username:password>
 -z,--loops <arg>      kernel loops (PoT exp, 0 is off)

Remember to set rpcuser and rpcpassword in your ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
before starting bitcoind or bitcoin --daemon
logout

[Process completed]

even though I have the password and username set in both the bitcoin.conf and the plist file for DiabloMiner. Help?
fabric
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 02:53:28 AM
 #3

Thanks for making these easy to use packages! I seem to have run into a snag though.

When I try to run RPCminer on my 10.5.8 Macbook it tells me:
"dyld: unknown required load command 0x80000022" apparently from RPCminer.app/Contents/MacOS/rpcminer_exe: line 62

Any thoughts? Or is it because I need Snow Leopard?
ninjasmurf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 22


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 04:44:16 AM
 #4

good evening. thank you macCompiler for taking the time to make this application for us who are a little shaky in terminal. you are the first person that i will be giving my bitcoins to. as soon as i can make some. have a bang-up day.

is BFL going to ship before the end of the year? tip your answer.
Yes = 1hWezTD2J55HnvNrFAzhfpXkrDi3DLK1E or No = 13VMhP3seeXU5aej82R89AJV4X32x81Nju
MacCompiler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 05:18:05 AM
 #5

Quote
Missing argument for option: u

Remember to set rpcuser and rpcpassword in your ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
before starting bitcoind or bitcoin --daemon

even though I have the password and username set in both the bitcoin.conf and the plist file for DiabloMiner.
I assume you are trying to setup a local server? The error message says that the username is entirely missing. Try reconfiguring by pressing Y + Enter during the first seconds of the application startup. When connecting to a local rpcserver, the username and password you set in the client must obviously match.

Thanks for making these easy to use packages! I seem to have run into a snag though.

When I try to run RPCminer on my 10.5.8 Macbook it tells me:
"dyld: unknown required load command 0x80000022" apparently from RPCminer.app/Contents/MacOS/rpcminer_exe: line 62

Any thoughts? Or is it because I need Snow Leopard?
That is a probable cause. I have access to some Leopard machines at work. I will test and have a look at what I can do about it. Thanks for reporting the problem.

good evening. thank you macCompiler for taking the time to make this application for us who are a little shaky in terminal. you are the first person that i will be giving my bitcoins to. as soon as i can make some. have a bang-up day.
You’re welcome. I wanted to make these small helper scripts based on feedback I got from compiling the first rpcminer binary. It was obvious that Mac users didn’t know how to use the command line. If enough people download these tools I might even make a full blown Cocoa application front-end. Smiley

Keem’em donations coming.  Cool

Easy to use miner front-ends to Diablo and RPC for Mac users.
DiabloD3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 05:40:54 AM
 #6

Known issues: DiabloMiner exits without notification if the graphics card is unsupported. Hostnames cannot be set with a protocol prefix. (Should be supported in future versions.)

Donations: 14V7RiwD3joqDF2Jv6zst3ZnQsR686u9iH Wink

If you wanna use full urls, use -l http://user:password@hostname:port/

Also, you should also include the donation addresses for all the miners you support with your script.

MacCompiler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 06:21:02 AM
 #7

If you wanna use full urls, use -l http://user:password@hostname:port/
I will add a test to the hostname entered by the user to support both ways seamlessly for the user.

Also, you should also include the donation addresses for all the miners you support with your script.
Of course. Smiley I updated the first post to include upstream donation points.

Easy to use miner front-ends to Diablo and RPC for Mac users.
okboy
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 07:23:09 AM
 #8

Sorry, but RPCminer doesn't seem to be beginner friendly or have a GUI (as I know them). Maybe they're friendlier than the alternatives. Thanks for the effort, though.
endthefed
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 11:02:54 AM
 #9

Quote
Missing argument for option: u

Remember to set rpcuser and rpcpassword in your ~/.bitcoin/bitcoin.conf
before starting bitcoind or bitcoin --daemon

even though I have the password and username set in both the bitcoin.conf and the plist file for DiabloMiner.
I assume you are trying to setup a local server? The error message says that the username is entirely missing. Try reconfiguring by pressing Y + Enter during the first seconds of the application startup. When connecting to a local rpcserver, the username and password you set in the client must obviously match.


So I would add a line that says
Code:
rpcserver=localhost
to the plist? What else would need to be in the plist for DiabloMiner? I tried configuring from the command line and the problem just repeats.
lakehead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 12:05:18 PM
 #10

OK, I'm gonna look lazy and/or stupid here... but,
I don't know how to answer the questions asked by Terminal when I launch the GUI Diablo.
I want to use my Slush's account.
What is the answer to Server host name or IP address? and port? and so on (I didn't get passed the port???)?  Is this local info, as in off my computer? or BPM info from the site?

thx
and sorry
lakehead
jlminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 12:18:37 PM
 #11

The phoenix miner works just fine on mac if you install the prerequisites.  It also seems to miner a little faster than Diablo, at my on my rig.  Having a UI for it would also be great.
lakehead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 12:27:05 PM
 #12

OK
Now, where do I find instructions for using phoenix miner on a mac?  Where is the Mac app? source? I don't know.
Lakehead
jlminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 01:01:38 PM
 #13

OK
Now, where do I find instructions for using phoenix miner on a mac?  Where is the Mac app? source? I don't know.
Lakehead

http://forum.bitcoin.org/index.php?topic=6458.0

Use the source code version and install the python prerequisites.  Python should be already installed on your mac.
MacCompiler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 03:58:02 PM
 #14

I want to use my Slush's account.
What is the answer to Server host name or IP address? and port? and so on (I didn't get passed the port???)?
You must add a worker to your account. That will be your login in the client.

mining.bitcoin.cz on port 8332

The phoenix miner works just fine on mac if you install the prerequisites.  It also seems to miner a little faster than Diablo, at my on my rig.  Having a UI for it would also be great.
Packaging it should be simple. But for it to be useful I guess I should auto-configure the miner based on the recommendations posted by the developer matching the hardware. (This is fairly easy on the Mac.) I will have a look at it over the weekend.

Easy to use miner front-ends to Diablo and RPC for Mac users.
lakehead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 08:26:25 PM
 #15

Thx
got it working and it is dead simple
does 35000 khash/sec seem right?
lakehead
mmortal03
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 377


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 08:40:26 PM
 #16

Is there a way to get the plists to be stored in the same directory as the application, instead of inside ~/Library/Preferences/?
lakehead
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 08:55:48 PM
 #17

another noob q
Huh
within 20 minutes, Terminal is telling me I found 12 blocks??? can this be right? or is this the entire pool?

lakehead
MacCompiler
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 09:04:58 PM
 #18

Is there a way to get the plists to be stored in the same directory as the application, instead of inside ~/Library/Preferences/?
Not at the moment. The miners use Mac OS’ User Defaults API which decides on where the preferences are saved. If I ever do a Linux port of these scripts I will probably use something more generic.

Easy to use miner front-ends to Diablo and RPC for Mac users.
jlminer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5


View Profile

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 09:10:48 PM
 #19

I want to use my Slush's account.
What is the answer to Server host name or IP address? and port? and so on (I didn't get passed the port???)?
You must add a worker to your account. That will be your login in the client.

mining.bitcoin.cz on port 8332

The phoenix miner works just fine on mac if you install the prerequisites.  It also seems to miner a little faster than Diablo, at my on my rig.  Having a UI for it would also be great.
Packaging it should be simple. But for it to be useful I guess I should auto-configure the miner based on the recommendations posted by the developer matching the hardware. (This is fairly easy on the Mac.) I will have a look at it over the weekend.

If you work on phoenix one thing you will need to account for on the mac is the fact that for some reason when it compiles the kernel and you restart it, it causes the script to fail.  That means everytime you restart phoenix you have to manually go in and remove the compiled kernel.  Yes, I could easily fix it via shell script but I have been lazy.
DiabloD3
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW

Ignore
May 20, 2011, 09:50:43 PM
 #20

another noob q
Huh
within 20 minutes, Terminal is telling me I found 12 blocks??? can this be right? or is this the entire pool?

lakehead

Shares are diff 1 blocks, the miner can't tell the difference.

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!