Bitcoin Forum
April 18, 2014, 04:20:19 PM *
News: Due to the OpenSSL heartbleed bug, changing your forum password is recommended.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37
  Print  
Author Topic: (OLD) BFGMiner: modular FPGA/GPU, GBT, Stratum, RPC, Avalon/Lnx/OpnWrt/PPA/W64  (Read 184949 times)
Luke-Jr
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1218



View Profile

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 10:53:51 PM
 #1


1397838019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397838019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397838019
Reply with quote  #2

1397838019
Report to moderator
1397838019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397838019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397838019
Reply with quote  #2

1397838019
Report to moderator
    mBitCASINOWIN BITCOINS IN OUR
24/7 LIVE DEALER CASINO

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1397838019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397838019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397838019
Reply with quote  #2

1397838019
Report to moderator
1397838019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397838019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397838019
Reply with quote  #2

1397838019
Report to moderator
1397838019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397838019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397838019
Reply with quote  #2

1397838019
Report to moderator
1397838019
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1397838019

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1397838019
Reply with quote  #2

1397838019
Report to moderator
Luke-Jr
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1218



View Profile

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 10:54:12 PM
 #2

NEW VERSION 2.3.4, APRIL 26 2012

This version is mostly identical to CGMiner 2.3.4, but has a number of fixes and improvements that aren't included in CGMiner. Since I only develop on Linux, I have completed cross-compling support for creating Windows binaries. While they have had a bit of testing, there is always a chance I missed something. Please report any issues you have.

Also, since this is a FPGA/GPU miner, without the central focus on GPUs that CGMiner has, I made sure to make the Windows binaries so they can be used on FPGA-only mining rigs in addition to FPGA+GPU rigs (CGMiner Windows binaries require *some* OpenCL implementation).

Full changelog:
  • New maintainership of code with modular FPGA/GPU focus, under BFGMiner name
  • Complete working support for cross-compiling Windows builds on Linux.
  • Fix usage of low --scan-time settings so it doesn't busy-loop
  • JSON API: Add new 'devdetail' command to get fixed device information
  • JSON API: Implement driver abstraction for extra device status
  • Icarus: Use epoll to wait for serial port input properly, when available
  • Icarus: Workaround buggy USB-UART that causes Icarus to stop mining rarely
  • Icarus: Estimate mining hashrate correctly, calibrated from real-world data
  • Icarus: Parallelize work setup with Icarus hash search improving performance
  • Icarus: More reliable detection and runtime
  • OpenCL: Move GPU-specific data fetching from JSON API to OpenCL driver
  • OpenCL: Dynamically load OpenCL library, to be more vendor-independent and allow use without actually having OpenCL (i.e. FPGA-only rigs).

nelisky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 10:56:18 PM
 #3

Will you be merging / cherry-picking from ckolivas' cgminer or will I need to support ztex on the two code bases separately?

we measure long periods of time in bitcoin blocks, and short ones in vodka tonics
DividendRippler  | DICEonCRACK | The Amazing Anonymous Bitcoin Lottery
Luke-Jr
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1218



View Profile

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 11:03:01 PM
 #4

Will you be merging / cherry-picking from ckolivas' cgminer or will I need to support ztex on the two code bases separately?
I'm trying to minimize conflicts, so I can continue merging cgminer into BFGMiner. I'm also trying to do my own development with cgminer parent commits, so Con can continue to pick-and-choose which parts he adds into cgminer.

nelisky
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218


View Profile

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 11:06:06 PM
 #5

Will you be merging / cherry-picking from ckolivas' cgminer or will I need to support ztex on the two code bases separately?
I'm trying to minimize conflicts, so I can continue merging cgminer into BFGMiner. I'm also trying to do my own development with cgminer parent commits, so Con can continue to pick-and-choose which parts he adds into cgminer.

Feeling much better about it now Smiley thanks!

we measure long periods of time in bitcoin blocks, and short ones in vodka tonics
DividendRippler  | DICEonCRACK | The Amazing Anonymous Bitcoin Lottery
kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 11:10:41 PM
 #6

Ah well at least I can say I had one thing to do with it ...
I came up with the name Cheesy
(Bitcoin FPGA GPU Miner)
Or the other name for the obvious reason Smiley
(Doom/Quake)

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
ckolivas
Moderator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036



View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 11:25:49 PM
 #7

In all honesty I'm sorry to see this, and long term I envision these projects will diverge too much for there to be code going to and from each of them. It may well be that cgminer becomes the dead project and I'll stop maintaining it. Good luck.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.0  148KkS2vgVi4VzUi4JcKzM2PMaMVPi3nnq
ONLY ignoring luke-jr
-ck
Inaba
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1120



View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 26, 2012, 11:26:13 PM
 #8

BFGMiner... awesome name.  


If you're searching these lines for a point, you've probably missed it.  There was never anything there in the first place.
rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 12:47:13 AM
 #9

pew pew pew!
Also, sub.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 12:55:45 AM
 #10

Why is this thread pinned?

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 01:29:43 AM
 #11

I've been running this for the last 30 minutes or so and can't see too much difference between it and CGminer (for GPUs anyway)......so far.

1 thing, my 'Web Monitor App' using the API...
For DEVS/GPU Voltage, my cards are all giving me 13 decimal places (ie. HD6950 = 1.1000000238419 V, instead of 1.1 V that it usually reports).
Obviously not a big deal, as I can trim that down on my end in php.

I never thought I would say this, but.... good job Luke.

rjk
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420


1ngldh


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 01:33:49 AM
 #12

I've been running this for the last 30 minutes or so and can't see too much difference between it and CGminer (for GPUs anyway)......so far.

1 thing, my 'Web Monitor App' using the API...
For DEVS/GPU Voltage, my cards are all giving me 13 decimal places (ie. HD6950 = 1.1000000238419 V, instead of 1.1 V that it usually reports).
Obviously not a big deal, as I can trim that down on my end in php.

I never thought I would say this, but.... good job Luke.
It's the same thing. He just rebranded it and will be maintaining the codebase separately from cgminer's so that the FPGA stuff works how he wants it to.

Mining Rig Extraordinaire - the Trenton BPX6806 18-slot PCIe backplane [PICS] Dead project is dead, all hail the coming of the mighty ASIC!
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 966



View Profile WWW

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 01:36:47 AM
 #13

I've been running this for the last 30 minutes or so and can't see too much difference between it and CGminer (for GPUs anyway)......so far.

1 thing, my 'Web Monitor App' using the API...
For DEVS/GPU Voltage, my cards are all giving me 13 decimal places (ie. HD6950 = 1.1000000238419 V, instead of 1.1 V that it usually reports).
Obviously not a big deal, as I can trim that down on my end in php.

I never thought I would say this, but.... good job Luke.
It's the same thing. He just rebranded it and will be maintaining the codebase separately from cgminer's so that the FPGA stuff works how he wants it to.

Well it is mostly the same code base but he did include some pulls which hadn't been included in the cgminer mainline.  So it isn't simply a rebrand.  I am sad that the three developers couldn't reach a consensus in cgminer project but these things happen in open source ... just look how many distros of linux exist. Smiley

Gerald Davis  CEO, Tangible Cryptography Inc.
BitSimple. A simpler way to buy and sell bitcoins
Luke-Jr
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1218



View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 01:58:00 AM
 #14

FWIW, the difference between CGMiner 2.3.4 and BFGMiner 2.3.4 consists of (with the rename filtered out) 3252 3259 added lines, and 392 399 removed. If it was just a rebranding, I'd have a much easier time figuring out what caused that administrator requirement on Windows. :/

af_newbie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 02:12:08 AM
 #15

I like the name.  Big F.. Gun :-)  Cool.

I've looked at your Icarus code and I have a question, the epoll is only available on Linux, right?  I don't see any epoll.h includes in my MinGW?
Am I missing something?  If it works on Windows, that is great, I won't have to code overlapped I/O equivalent.

Akbash (bfg/cgminer watchdog) developer
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=76208.0
Luke-Jr
Hero Member
*****
Online Online

Activity: 1218



View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 02:21:34 AM
 #16

I've looked at your Icarus code and I have a question, the epoll is only available on Linux, right?  I don't see any epoll.h includes in my MinGW?
Am I missing something?  If it works on Windows, that is great, I won't have to code overlapped I/O equivalent.
epoll is Linux-only, and optional. It doesn't have any practical improvement yet, but when done it will enable a quicker response to longpolls. If someone familiar with Windows's WaitForMultipleObjects (or something else like epoll) wants to help out on that end, I'd appreciate it Wink

af_newbie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644



View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 02:41:13 AM
 #17

I've looked at your Icarus code and I have a question, the epoll is only available on Linux, right?  I don't see any epoll.h includes in my MinGW?
Am I missing something?  If it works on Windows, that is great, I won't have to code overlapped I/O equivalent.
epoll is Linux-only, and optional. It doesn't have any practical improvement yet, but when done it will enable a quicker response to longpolls. If someone familiar with Windows's WaitForMultipleObjects (or something else like epoll) wants to help out on that end, I'd appreciate it Wink

It is on my "to do "list.  I'm just curious to see if it would really improve real-world results.  So, yes, I'll code it (after my 1.0.2 wdog).

Akbash (bfg/cgminer watchdog) developer
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=76208.0
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 03:35:34 AM
 #18

FWIW, the difference between CGMiner 2.3.4 and BFGMiner 2.3.4 consists of (with the rename filtered out) 3252 added lines, and 392 removed. If it was just a rebranding, I'd have a much easier time figuring out what caused that administrator requirement on Windows. :/

I was really hoping I wouldn't have to report this, but.....

I am seeing a slight performance increase (over CGMiner 2.3.3....although I haven't tried CGminer 2.3.4 yet).
More specifically, the overall Shares/Minute average, over my small GPU-Only mining farm (dually confirmed by the increased hash rate my pool is reporting back to me, based on submitted shares).

My 5 rigs at home are all running Win7 x64 and it's not specific to any one GPU platform, SDK or driver version.
I've got a 6xxx GPU rig running SDK 2.4/CAT 11.12, a 6xxx/5xxx mixed GPU rig running SDK 2.4/CAT 11.12 as well as a few 5xxx GPU rigs running SDK 2.1/CAT 11.12.

I should also note that I didn't have any problems running BFGMiner (no 'admin' error as described above). I used the same BAT files/shortcuts to launch it, as I was using for CGMiner 2.3.3 and just changing the executable's name in the file. Same settings/overclocks/temp/fan/API and everything....no problems.

My Web Monitor (using the API output) still all works and again, the only difference I noticed was that my GPU Voltage output (DEVS/GPU Voltage) was spitting out a value to 13 decimal places, but still worked 100% with nothing changed.

As all my rigs are headless & Windows 7 x64 based. They all login automatically (using an administrator privileged account, although NOT the actual Administrator) and hit the desktop without interaction, so that I can access each rig's UltraVNC server for management without having to worry about running it as a service.

Again, nice job Luke.
(it hurt to say that....lol)
bitlane.

kano
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 06:13:07 AM
 #19

Ah well at least I can say I had one thing to do with it ...
I came up with the name Cheesy
(Bitcoin FPGA GPU Miner)
Or the other name for the obvious reason Smiley
(Doom/Quake)
So ... how much do I charge each person who uses the name that I came up with and didn't give permission for Cheesy

BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CGMiner developer,  IRC FreeNode #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Chefnet
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


View Profile

Ignore
April 27, 2012, 06:56:49 AM
 #20

Hi,

thank you for this work. Some questions:
Do you implement the current git for reducing network load from cgminer?
How I have to start it only with a ztex Board (is 1.15x and y supported?) on a normal notebook. When I want to do this I get the error no OPENCl is installed?

Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!