Bitcoin Forum
August 17, 2018, 08:19:43 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Consolidated Litecoin Mining Guide for 5xxx, 6xxx, and 7xxx GPUs  (Read 623864 times)
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 06:34:37 AM
 #101

As I stated in the op, you have to bypass the ocl error check to use a large amount of memory as with the 7950. Coblee has stated he will not remove cgminers error checking.

Coblee?

Anyway, from the latest cgminer changelog (2.8.4) :
Quote
Scrypt will now not fail when setting high thread concurrency values that still return some ram even if opencl returns an error on that ram allocation.

Maybe you could try again with cgminer ?


ckolivas i meant, sorry.

i played with my 7950s tonight.  the lowest power consumption i could get was the following (1550kh/s for 3x 7950s):
Mem: 1550MHz
Core: 900MHz
vCore: 938v

Power at the wall per card: 177W
Efficiency: 2.92 KH/S/W AC current

The power consumption also goes down with temperature, and you can watch it go up when you just start mining due to heat.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
1534493983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534493983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534493983
Reply with quote  #2

1534493983
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534493983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534493983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534493983
Reply with quote  #2

1534493983
Report to moderator
1534493983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534493983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534493983
Reply with quote  #2

1534493983
Report to moderator
1534493983
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534493983

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534493983
Reply with quote  #2

1534493983
Report to moderator
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 10:04:25 AM
 #102

And how about a higher thread concurrency, is it possible now to use larger values (ex 24576)?
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 04:09:56 PM
 #103

And how about a higher thread concurrency, is it possible now to use larger values (ex 24576)?

? They're fine to use in reaper, I think I'm using 24000.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Rjb82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 20, 2012, 04:59:21 PM
 #104

And how about a higher thread concurrency, is it possible now to use larger values (ex 24576)?

Not as far as i can tell in Cgminer. I asked ckolivas to specify what "high concurrencies" meant since i still cant go above 8192 @ look-up gap 2.

1HjU8h75ugmgjtn4Nr8T3LgEf9oWMiu9Fy
LYcDibmToTC1BBLYuqwZNuLjF3kWDvMboY
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 20, 2012, 05:09:31 PM
 #105

And how about a higher thread concurrency, is it possible now to use larger values (ex 24576)?

Not as far as i can tell in Cgminer. I asked ckolivas to specify what "high concurrencies" meant since i still cant go above 8192 @ look-up gap 2.

Aha thanks, that is exactly what I was asking.

I would of course try it myself, but I have a very small amount of RAM, which it would render my tests rather irrelevant for LTC mining.
Cranky4u
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 809
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
October 20, 2012, 10:17:20 PM
 #106

bump....great guide

muqali
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 21, 2012, 09:36:05 AM
 #107

I tried to use reaper with my 7970 at anything from 925-1050 and it tended to get the same or worse hashes than cgminer. It also killed my desktop interactivity so unless it near doubled my has rate it'd not be worthwhile when I'm at the PC. I used the default .conf file from the front page. Which settings should I drop or change to make my desktop smoother and maybe up the hash rate?

Also, as scrypt is a lot more dependent on RAM than bitcoin GPU mining was, would a 6GB card do anything for hash rate? Or is it merely bandwidth and we're not filling the VRAM?

edit - I ask about the vram because using cgminer with
Code:
"intensity" : "13",
"vectors" : "2",
"worksize" : "256",
"kernel" : "scrypt",
"lookup-gap" : "0",
"thread-concurrency" : "8192",
"shaders" : "2048",

I am at 2500 or so MB of vram in use.

donations BTC: 1CaCwo4xneTqTLEdomW76Cg5NteZyvXi1c
donations LTC: LTcasvjtLuN92ks1Pc1qtkvE9PswsXEbev
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 21, 2012, 04:39:44 PM
 #108

LTC mining requires 128kb of memory per circuit.  Both bandwidth and size are important.  Additionally, sometimes larger sizes are required for unknown reasons (especially for the 7xxx series).

For the 7970, cgminer currently gives about the same hash rate as reaper.  Theoretically the 7970 should get ~700kh/s, but no one seems to be able to achieve that with either program yet.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 21, 2012, 06:02:54 PM
 #109

I did some testing earlier today on my 2x 7950 rig.

Here is what I got at various clock speeds. the "LTC" column represents k/hash as shown on the pool website and reaper combined for both cards.

Clock   Mem   Volt   LTC   Temps
850   1200   0.950   1050   55/60
900   1250   0.993   1080   58/65
950   1300   1.037   1140   62/67
1000   1300   1.062   1200   65/68
1050   1350   1.118   1250   67/73

              ▄▄▄█████████████▄▄▄
           ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▄
        ▄██████▀▀             ▀▀██████▄
      ▄█████▀▀                    ▀▀█████▄
     █████▀                          ▀█████
    ████▀          ▄▄███████▄▄         ▀████
   ████▌        ▄██▀▀▀    ▀▀▀██▄        ▐████
  ████▌       ▄██▀            ▀██▄       ▐████
 ▐████       ██▀   ▄▄█▀▀▀█▄▄    ▀██       ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▀  ▄▄   ▀▀             ▐████
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
▐████       ██  ▐█  ▐█                     ████▌
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▄  ▀▀   ▄▄    ██▀      ▐████
 ▐████       ██▄   ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀    ██▌       ████▌
  █████       ▀██▄            ▄██▀       █████
   █████        ▀██▄▄▄    ▄▄▄██▀        █████
    █████          ▀▀███████▀▀         █████
     █████▄                          ▄█████
      ▀█████▄▄                    ▄▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄             ▄▄██████▀
           ▀████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀
              ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀▀
Global Cryptocurrency
          ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

  DECENTRALISING PRODUCTION, LOGISTICS AND PAYMENT 
                ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   3D SERVICE      32 BAY     GCC WEBWALLET
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 21, 2012, 06:30:11 PM
 #110

That sounds similar to my cards...  I'll note that TDP is usually a function of the square of the voltage, so the increase in power consumption with hash rate is unlikely to be linear.  For me, it takes an extra 28% of power to achieve an extra 20% in hash rate.

edit: I just got an extra 150 kh/s as well by disabling my cpu by adding the following to reaper.conf
Code:
platform 0
device 0
device 1
device 2

for 3x 7950s

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 04:59:24 PM
 #111

Also thanks to whoever sent me 10 LTC <3

Has anyone tried the 12.10 / 12.11b drivers yet?  Do they confer any additional kh/s?  Someone in another thread said they got a huge boost but it made their computer unstable

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Nolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500


Whoa, there are a lot of cats in this wall.


View Profile
October 24, 2012, 05:19:53 PM
 #112

I'm running a 5830 using cgminer at 900/1200.

My config file is cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpool.com -u username -p password --thread-concurrency 5600 -I 20 -g 1 -w 256

I'm getting 288k/h.

Fan is set at 60% and I range in temp from 77-80C depending on ambient.  Any thoughts or suggestions or should I leave well enough alone?



Charlie Kelly: I'm pleading the 5th.  The Attorney: I would advise you do that.  Charlie Kelly: I'll take that advice under cooperation, alright? Now, let's say you and I go toe-to-toe on bird law and see who comes out the victor?  The Attorney: You know, I don't think I'm going to do anything close to that and I can clearly see you know nothing about the law.
19GpqFsNGP8jS941YYZZjmCSrHwvX3QjiC
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 24, 2012, 10:54:39 PM
 #113

Updating to 12.10 is netting me an extra 25kh/s for 3x 7950s... a small improvement I guess.

I'm running a 5830 using cgminer at 900/1200.

My config file is cgminer --scrypt -o http://yourpool.com -u username -p password --thread-concurrency 5600 -I 20 -g 1 -w 256

I'm getting 288k/h.

Fan is set at 60% and I range in temp from 77-80C depending on ambient.  Any thoughts or suggestions or should I leave well enough alone?

Just try to get the memory as high as it will go... otherwise that's about as much as you'll get from that card.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Rjb82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 26, 2012, 03:02:10 PM
 #114



edit: I just got an extra 150 kh/s as well by disabling my cpu by adding the following to reaper.conf
Code:
platform 0
device 0
device 1
device 2

for 3x 7950s

Reaper doesnt support LTC Cpu mining... never has.

So you really didn't do anything. Reaper tries to compile GPU code for any available devices (even if cpu is listed) ... i dont know HOW you'd be mining WITHOUT it disabled... on ALL my machines Reaper instantly crashes if the cpu is included in the mining list.

The dev ("dev" instead of butchering his name) said something to the effect of "i'm not putting it in because pooler already has a cpu miner program" ... IIRC

1HjU8h75ugmgjtn4Nr8T3LgEf9oWMiu9Fy
LYcDibmToTC1BBLYuqwZNuLjF3kWDvMboY
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 26, 2012, 04:39:09 PM
 #115

The CPU kernel compiles fine for my AMD K10.5 CPU in Windows 7 (Reaper v13b4), and has no problem using it, so ymmv.  Whether or not it actually mines, I have no idea.

Without it disabled the CPU runs at 100%.  Additionally, it shows up in the list of valid platforms.


Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Rjb82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 02:27:48 AM
 #116

The CPU Isn't actually doing anything AFAIK.  Undecided Though if you disable all the gpu's i'd be interested in IF it actually produces a (Valid) result. I have no idea why it shows up under listed platforms, that's a question for the guy who made it.

The flag for cpu mining is "cpu-mining-threads" or something similar... not at my home comp so not sure. (put it in the litecoin.conf to try)

The program states something like "LTC cpu mining is not functional" the "cpu-mining-threads" flag was only for the SC side of Reaper.

I figured you had an AMD when you said it ACTUALLY ran. My main machine is an i7, and my 2nd is an opteron 165 (old, not worth cpu mining at all), so i could never test that. But hey if it mines, great.

1HjU8h75ugmgjtn4Nr8T3LgEf9oWMiu9Fy
LYcDibmToTC1BBLYuqwZNuLjF3kWDvMboY
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 05:33:38 AM
 #117

Well, you got me curious, so I decided to test it out



Apparently it compiles a kernel from the cl code or the solidcoin CPU algorithm (how?) and then uses CPU cycles for no reason (I have 5 of my 6 cores turned off so the CPU uses only ~25W, that's why you only see one thread).  Really wacky.  Make sure to disable the CPU then if you're using an AMD CPU, as it's a huge drain on kh/s for me.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Rjb82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 27, 2012, 08:56:26 AM
 #118

so what do you get now that your cpu is idle?

1HjU8h75ugmgjtn4Nr8T3LgEf9oWMiu9Fy
LYcDibmToTC1BBLYuqwZNuLjF3kWDvMboY
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 04:14:25 PM
 #119

1800 kh/s versus 1600 kh/s

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
meebs
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 27, 2012, 07:38:25 PM
 #120

1800 kh/s versus 1600 kh/s

told ya 7950's are easily good for 600 each ;-)

Also, you can use the minerd program for your cpu mining. Espescially for those using rigs as heaters and those with free elctricity.. a good i5 is worth 50khash as well as any other quad/6 core chip should be around there or more.

              ▄▄▄█████████████▄▄▄
           ▄████████▀▀▀▀▀▀▀████████▄
        ▄██████▀▀             ▀▀██████▄
      ▄█████▀▀                    ▀▀█████▄
     █████▀                          ▀█████
    ████▀          ▄▄███████▄▄         ▀████
   ████▌        ▄██▀▀▀    ▀▀▀██▄        ▐████
  ████▌       ▄██▀            ▀██▄       ▐████
 ▐████       ██▀   ▄▄█▀▀▀█▄▄    ▀██       ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▀  ▄▄   ▀▀             ▐████
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
▐████       ██  ▐█  ▐█                     ████▌
▐████       ██  █▌  █▌ █████████████      ████▌
 ████▌      ▐█▌   █▄  ▀▀   ▄▄    ██▀      ▐████
 ▐████       ██▄   ▀▀█▄▄▄█▀▀    ██▌       ████▌
  █████       ▀██▄            ▄██▀       █████
   █████        ▀██▄▄▄    ▄▄▄██▀        █████
    █████          ▀▀███████▀▀         █████
     █████▄                          ▄█████
      ▀█████▄▄                    ▄▄█████▀
        ▀██████▄▄             ▄▄██████▀
           ▀████████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████▀
              ▀▀▀█████████████▀▀▀
Global Cryptocurrency
          ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

  DECENTRALISING PRODUCTION, LOGISTICS AND PAYMENT 
                ▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬   3D SERVICE      32 BAY     GCC WEBWALLET
▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬▬

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 [6] 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!