Bitcoin Forum
May 23, 2018, 11:37:13 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Consolidated Litecoin Mining Guide for 5xxx, 6xxx, and 7xxx GPUs  (Read 623672 times)
therustytrombone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 129
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 02:50:10 AM
 #421

I found I can only use the --thread-concurrency flag at the end of all of the other args/flags now or else cgminer crashes.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1527118633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527118633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527118633
Reply with quote  #2

1527118633
Report to moderator
1527118633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527118633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527118633
Reply with quote  #2

1527118633
Report to moderator
1527118633
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1527118633

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1527118633
Reply with quote  #2

1527118633
Report to moderator
Radacoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 255
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 07:12:56 AM
 #422

For windows users who can't set high thread concurrencies with the latest cgminer, use this in your batch file first before starting cgminer:

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100


Saw this in the other thread, tried, works on my 7950.

Previous high with Cgminer was 550kh/s on 2.11.3 (8192 concurrency, 1k/1750 @ 13agg)
Now can hit 620kh/s (same as reaper) with this, (16384 concurrency, 1k/1750 @ 19agg)

No Hw errors.


Thanks! Great find!

Can you please tell us your other command line settings too?

ricciolone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 388
Merit: 100


The Experience Layer of the Decentralized Internet


View Profile
March 19, 2013, 10:01:59 AM
 #423

hi I'm interesting too in the right setting for 7950!

Actually i have 530 with reaper, and the same whit cgminer... I hope to increase it!!

 

Rjb82
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 02:25:20 AM
 #424

For windows users who can't set high thread concurrencies with the latest cgminer, use this in your batch file first before starting cgminer:

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100


Saw this in the other thread, tried, works on my 7950.

Previous high with Cgminer was 550kh/s on 2.11.3 (8192 concurrency, 1k/1750 @ 13agg)
Now can hit 620kh/s (same as reaper) with this, (16384 concurrency, 1k/1750 @ 19agg)

No Hw errors.


Thanks! Great find!

Can you please tell us your other command line settings too?



 --thread-concurrency 16384 -g 1 -i 19

win7 12.10 64 bit drivers and whatever sdk comes with it.
i've tried 12.8 and it doesnt work well for me. neither do any of the 13's.

1HjU8h75ugmgjtn4Nr8T3LgEf9oWMiu9Fy
LYcDibmToTC1BBLYuqwZNuLjF3kWDvMboY
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 05:57:50 AM
 #425

For windows users who can't set high thread concurrencies with the latest cgminer, use this in your batch file first before starting cgminer:

Code:
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100


Can confirm this works, although it's kind of a sloppy fix but only because of the way windows does environment variables.

Added to my guiminer setting the env var locally instead of globally when running cgminer with high thread concurrencies

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
mteachx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 37
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 10:18:27 AM
 #426

Nice work.
But some problem/question..

I have 2x7970
I use CGminer, not reapter and i need use half(desktop use) (like -I15) GPU [0-0 Tahiti] but GPU [0-1 Tahiti] going to half GPU usage if I set -I15 first(0-0) GPU. Speed is halfing GPU 0-0 but usage 0-0 is 97-99% .
Everything what i try, only gpu 0-1 usage going down..

Some fix or ideas? Roll Eyes

Sorry 4 bad english:Smiley
MKEGuy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 153
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 20, 2013, 10:24:32 AM
 #427

Where are you guys using this command?  I do not use a bat file, I just start cgminer with my conf file.... cgminer -c cgminer.conf

I haven't had any luck with 11.3 and I'm sure this would fix it.  Though I'm hesitant to try to "fix" anything considering my speeds are already 650 to 700 kh/s depending on the card.

Thanks in advance! Smiley

If you have >100 posts play the Circle of Trust Game  If I have helped you in any way, or you are just feeling generous... please feel free to donate! Smiley LNarfMNLyymkS9WYQFLcmr46AeMYNP8Qj2
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 03:58:50 PM
 #428

Where are you guys using this command?  I do not use a bat file, I just start cgminer with my conf file.... cgminer -c cgminer.conf

I haven't had any luck with 11.3 and I'm sure this would fix it.  Though I'm hesitant to try to "fix" anything considering my speeds are already 650 to 700 kh/s depending on the card.

Thanks in advance! Smiley

Use it in windows command console (cmd.exe) or just use my guiminer (which doesn't permanently alter your registry/environmental variables)

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 04:00:07 PM
 #429

Nice work.
But some problem/question..

I have 2x7970
I use CGminer, not reapter and i need use half(desktop use) (like -I15) GPU [0-0 Tahiti] but GPU [0-1 Tahiti] going to half GPU usage if I set -I15 first(0-0) GPU. Speed is halfing GPU 0-0 but usage 0-0 is 97-99% .
Everything what i try, only gpu 0-1 usage going down..

Some fix or ideas? Roll Eyes

Sorry 4 bad english:Smiley

Make sure you have speed step/cool and quiet disabled in the bios to prevent throttling of the CPU at low usage, sometimes this can screw up mining

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
tacotime
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1484
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 20, 2013, 09:54:10 PM
 #430

Guide updated for how to use high thread concurrencies in cgminer.

Code:
XMR: 44GBHzv6ZyQdJkjqZje6KLZ3xSyN1hBSFAnLP6EAqJtCRVzMzZmeXTC2AHKDS9aEDTRKmo6a6o9r9j86pYfhCWDkKjbtcns
Scratch
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10



View Profile
March 21, 2013, 09:07:57 AM
 #431

Hashing rate in notroll more than halved, everybody has gone back to BTC with the drop in profitability :S

Litecoin is the way forward. Dont go near it yet though, i want it all for me Wink
sacko
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 420
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 21, 2013, 02:26:09 PM
 #432

Hi. Im a mining noob. How many LTC can I expect to get in 24h with a 7970?
ricciolone
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 388
Merit: 100


The Experience Layer of the Decentralized Internet


View Profile
March 21, 2013, 03:25:35 PM
 #433

hi no chance my ati 7950 mine at 560 kh/s  whit reaper and cgminer   whit gpu@950 and memory to default!

i have tried the special setting but it doesn't change nothing!

any suggestions or please post your setting file and clock!


tk

kronut
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10



View Profile
March 21, 2013, 08:39:58 PM
 #434

Don't forget about undervolting your GPUs, I finally got around to it with my 7970 x2 .

Running 1000/1660 , 8192, 2 gpu threads for 680 kh/s. (any higher concurrency with the new cgminer is causing issues for me, probably because that system only has 2gb system ram).

Undervolted to 1.025 dropped 150 watts at full load (kill-a-watt from outlet).


The new cgminer works great in my other system though with a 7850, getting 380kh/s with concurrency 12000, 1100/1300. Whereas the old cgminer with 8192 only got me 330kh/s at the same clocks and power usage.

I think the 7850s are the best bang for the buck now, I paid $150 for the card, came with 2 games that I sold for $50, so total investment $100 for 380kh/s, at 100 watts, payback is under 60 days.

flound1129
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924
Merit: 1000


www.multipool.us


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 12:16:53 AM
 #435

Don't forget about undervolting your GPUs, I finally got around to it with my 7970 x2 .

Running 1000/1660 , 8192, 2 gpu threads for 680 kh/s. (any higher concurrency with the new cgminer is causing issues for me, probably because that system only has 2gb system ram).

Undervolted to 1.025 dropped 150 watts at full load (kill-a-watt from outlet).


The new cgminer works great in my other system though with a 7850, getting 380kh/s with concurrency 12000, 1100/1300. Whereas the old cgminer with 8192 only got me 330kh/s at the same clocks and power usage.

I think the 7850s are the best bang for the buck now, I paid $150 for the card, came with 2 games that I sold for $50, so total investment $100 for 380kh/s, at 100 watts, payback is under 60 days.



How are you undervolting at those clocks?

Multipool - Always mine the most profitable coin - Scrypt, X11 or SHA-256!
kronut
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 86
Merit: 10



View Profile
March 22, 2013, 01:44:31 AM
 #436

Just using trixx, slowly lowering core voltage until the system becomes unstable. I found 1.025 to work the best with my 7970s.

http://i.imgur.com/VNgaEQg.png
efx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 22, 2013, 02:26:18 AM
 #437

Not going through all the previous pages, sorry if this info has already been posted:

cgminer 2.11.3 has rendered reaper mostly pointless for me as both programs are yielding nearly identical results.

Now that the buffer limit has been removed from cgminer, it seems as though the reaper's days may be limited.




Spoke too soon...Many errors with 13.3 beta2 on vliw 5 and 4 when there shouldn't really be any.


 Oddly, It took a little while to show up. I switched back to reaper for now.
ingrownpocket
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 01:25:00 PM
 #438

Is it normal that my computer gets really slow during mining?

I'm using reaper for a HD7850, about 600 300 kH/s.

And I've disabled CPU mining.
ThickAsThieves
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 23, 2013, 01:29:00 PM
 #439

Is it normal that my computer gets really slow during mining?

I'm using reaper for a HD7850, about 600 kH/s.

And I've disabled CPU mining.

Yes it's normal, you're taxing your video processing capability and using your RAM.
ingrownpocket
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000


View Profile
March 23, 2013, 01:38:31 PM
 #440

Is it normal that my computer gets really slow during mining?

I'm using reaper for a HD7850, about 600 kH/s.

And I've disabled CPU mining.

Yes it's normal, you're taxing your video processing capability and using your RAM.
My RAM usage is only at 35%, I have 8 GB.

I was hoping I could mine and work at the same time...  Sad
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 [22] 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!