Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 10:42:25 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 94 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.1  (Read 386670 times)
Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 18, 2016, 03:39:27 PM
 #1

What is ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.1.x?

Formerly known as Genoil's CUDA miner, ethminer-0.9.41-genoil-1.x.x is a fork of the stock ethminer version 0.9.41. While native CUDA support is its most significant difference, I wanted to bring some newly developed features to your attention, that are also interesting for AMD miners:

  • on-GPU DAG generation
  • stratum mining without proxy
  • failover farm URL (getwork+stratum)
  • realistic benchmarking against arbitrary epoch/DAG/blocknumber
  • OpenCL devices picking
  • cleaner and more useful log output


Source code: https://github.com/Genoil/cpp-ethereum
Releases: https://github.com/Genoil/cpp-ethereum/tree/master/releases


F.A.Q

1. Why is my hashrate with Nvidia cards on Windows 10 so low?
The new WDDM 2.0 driver on Windows 10 uses a different way of addressing the GPU. This is good for a lot of things, but not for ETH mining. There is a way of mining ETH at Win7/8/Linux speeds on Win10, by downgrading the GPU driver to a Win7 one (i.e 347.52) and using a special build which I will post soon. Credits to @Mo35 from the ETH forums for figuring that out.

2. And what about the GTX750Ti?
Unfortunately the issue is a bit more serious on the GTX750Ti, already causing suboptimal performance on Win7 and Linux. Apparently about 5MH/s can still be reached on Linux, which, depending on ETH price, could still be profitable, considering the extremely low power draw.

3. Are AMD cards also affected by this issue?
Only GCN 1.0 cards (HD 78x0, 79x0, R9 270, R9 280) and in a different way. While Nvidia cards have thresholds (i.e 2GB for 9x0 / Win7) of the DAG file size after which performance will drop steeply, on those AMD cards the hashrate also drops with increasing DAG size, but more in a linear pattern.

4. Can I mine ETH with my 2GB GPU?
2GB should be sufficient until Ethereum switches to PoS. I don't keep an exact list of all supported GPU's, but generally speaking the following cards should be ok:
AMD HD78xx, HD79xx, R9 2xx, R9 3xx, Fury.
Nvidia Geforce 5x0, 6x0, 7x0, 8x0, 9x0, TITAN
Quadro, Tesla & FirePro's with similar silicon should be fine too.

5. Can I buy a private kernel from you that hashes faster?
No.

6. What are the optimal launch parameters?
The default parameters are fine in most scenario's (CUDA). For OpenCL it varies a bit more. Just play around with the numbers and use powers of 2. GPU's like powers of 2.

7. Is your miner faster than the stock miner?
Yes. I don't know how much. It's more or less on par with CDM, depending on who you ask and how you measure.





 

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
1511563345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511563345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511563345
Reply with quote  #2

1511563345
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511563345
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511563345

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511563345
Reply with quote  #2

1511563345
Report to moderator
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 02:11:51 AM
 #2

Hi, Genoil! Great work!
Just tried your stratum mining without proxy (beta 1.0.4b3) with coinotron.
First time after 2.5 hours of succesful work it stops to get new work and submit shares but gpu load was 100% and it was working on one old job I think.
After miner restart it was enable to work ok during next 2 hours but then miner stops - no gpu load, no new text output in console.

So I think the stratum support is in very early beta stage and not ready for release.


I used your 1.0.3 miner with dwarf proxy without any problems before so I think it is not only my setup issue.
I can provide more details if you want ...

Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 09:47:32 AM
 #3

Hi, Genoil! Great work!
Just tried your stratum mining without proxy (beta 1.0.4b3) with coinotron.
First time after 2.5 hours of succesful work it stops to get new work and submit shares but gpu load was 100% and it was working on one old job I think.
After miner restart it was enable to work ok during next 2 hours but then miner stops - no gpu load, no new text output in console.

So I think the stratum support is in very early beta stage and not ready for release.


I used your 1.0.3 miner with dwarf proxy without any problems before so I think it is not only my setup issue.
I can provide more details if you want ...

Well those are 2 different exceptions that shouldn't happen. I'll add a deadline timer of max. 30 seconds (~twice the blocktime) of working on the same job to band-aid the first one. The 2nd exception indicates a disconnect, after which the GPUs should stop working. There should be an automatic reconnect though. Not sure why that didn't happen, I'll see if I can take a different approach to that.

Thanks for your feedback. 

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
ingvarfervent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 11:23:46 AM
 #4

Radeon 7970. Why Mh\s so diff. ?  Smiley

What real Mh\s i Have ? Grin

Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 12:25:28 PM
 #5

Radeon 7970. Why Mh\s so diff. ?  Smiley

What real Mh\s i Have ? Grin



The fluctuation is caused by the way hashrate is calculated. Observe the image below.



The bar with squares represents your GPU miner thread. Each square is a GPU kernel run. Within each run it calculates --cl-global-work * --cl-local-work hashes (i.e 64 * 65536 = 4194304). The yellow bar represents the the getWork thread, which fetches new mining jobs from geth or pool and also displays hashrate. Most of the time it is a sleeping thread, with a period of --farm-recheck (default 500ms). So once in 500ms, it checks the amount of hashes the miner thread has done. But the miner thread only updates its total after having completed its batch. So the red squares aren't counted. In the sketch I quickly drafted there's only one interval with 3 runs and the rest with 4, but I hope you get the idea.

You can get a more stable hashrate figure by increasing the value of --farm-recheck (i.e. 3000), but don't do this if you're using getwork (-F flag), because then you'll also only get new jobs every 3 seconds. With the stratum miner it doesn't matter, it gets work pushed towards the miners in a separate thread. Another option is lowering --cl-global-work, but that leads to more CPU overhead, which is also not what you want.   

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
ingvarfervent
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 134


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 04:39:58 PM
 #6

Genoil, thx  Wink

When set --farm-recheck 3000.

Speed stable on 22 mh\s.... so it`s a real "speed" ?

Why pool recomend --farm-recheck 200 ?  Roll Eyes

Lanatsa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 380



View Profile
February 19, 2016, 04:40:09 PM
 #7

Is the mining speed the same as the official 0.9.41 miner? Can I replace the QT miner with this miner on the Etherpool?



                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄███▀
 ▀███▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█████▀
  ▀██████▄▄█▀                ▄▄███████▀
   ▐█████████▄           ▄▄███████████
     ▀█████████▄▄      ▄█████████████
       ▀██████████    ███████████████
        ▐▀█████████  █████████████▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀██████ ▐███████████▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█████████▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  ██████         █
         ▐█          ▐█████▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀██████▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█████▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                ▀▀████████▀▀
T
.ANGEL TOKEN.
[]

                                         ▄
                 ▄▄████████▄▄         ▄▄██
 ▄▄           ▄██▀▀        ▀▀██▄    ▄█▀█▀
 ▀█▀█▄▄     ▄█▀                ▀█▄▄█  ▄█▀
  ▀█  ▀▀█▄▄█▀                ▄▄██░   █▀
   ▐▄▄  ░░░▀█▄           ▄▄█▀▀░░░   ▄█
     ▀█▄ ░░░▒▒█▄▄      ▄██▒▒▒▒▒░    █
       ▀▄▄ ░░▒▒▒▓█    ██▒▒▒▒▒▒░   ▄▄█
        ▐▀█▄░░▒▒▓██  █▓▒▒▒▒▒▒░  ▄█▀ ▐▌
        ▐▌ ▀▀█▒▓███░▐█▓▒▒▒▒░░ ▄█▀   ▐▌
        ▐▌      ▀██ ▐█▓▓▒▒▄▄▄█▀     ▐▌
         █        ▀  █▓█▀▀█         █
         ▐█          ▐▄▓░ █▄       █▌
          ▀█▄         ▀█▒░ ▀█▄   ▄█▀
            ▀█▄         ▀█▄▄▄█▌▄█▀
              ▀██▄▄       ▀▄▄██▀
                 ▀▀████████▀▀
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
February 19, 2016, 08:42:48 PM
 #8


Well those are 2 different exceptions that shouldn't happen. I'll add a deadline timer of max. 30 seconds (~twice the blocktime) of working on the same job to band-aid the first one. The 2nd exception indicates a disconnect, after which the GPUs should stop working. There should be an automatic reconnect though. Not sure why that didn't happen, I'll see if I can take a different approach to that.

Thanks for your feedback.  

While waiting for your great next releases a make a bat file with loop. Works fine during a day )) But a lot of empty cmd windows after it ))))

run_loop.bat

:loop1
start coinotron.bat
timeout /T 3600

taskkill /F /IM ethminer.exe

timeout /T 25

goto loop1


coinotron.bat

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

ethminer.exe -G -S coinotron.com:3344 -O user.worker:pass --cl-local-work 128 --cl-global-work 16384

adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428



View Profile
February 20, 2016, 05:29:09 AM
 #9


Well those are 2 different exceptions that shouldn't happen. I'll add a deadline timer of max. 30 seconds (~twice the blocktime) of working on the same job to band-aid the first one. The 2nd exception indicates a disconnect, after which the GPUs should stop working. There should be an automatic reconnect though. Not sure why that didn't happen, I'll see if I can take a different approach to that.

Thanks for your feedback.  

While waiting for your great next releases a make a bat file with loop. Works fine during a day )) But a lot of empty cmd windows after it ))))

run_loop.bat

:loop1
start coinotron.bat
timeout /T 3600

taskkill /F /IM ethminer.exe

timeout /T 25

goto loop1


coinotron.bat

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

ethminer.exe -G -S coinotron.com:3344 -O user.worker:pass --cl-local-work 128 --cl-global-work 16384

Nice! Thanks for posting this.

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
adaseb
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428



View Profile
February 20, 2016, 05:30:51 AM
 #10

Genoil, so are there any performance improvements with this miner from the original for AMD cards?

FORTUNEJACK.COM[
                            
9 BTC WELCOME PACK FOR 1ST 5 DEPOSITS
FREE 1,000 mBTC daily for LuckyJack winners
[
          
]
parmatiya
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 242


View Profile
February 20, 2016, 07:45:38 AM
 #11

Genoil, so are there any performance improvements with this miner from the original for AMD cards?

Some developer said before that it is quite difficult to squeeze the last few percentage of performance out.

ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile WWW
February 20, 2016, 06:25:25 PM
 #12

Are there any specs for the stratum implementation ? I'll add it to eth.suprnova.cc too if possible

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 20, 2016, 07:52:41 PM
 #13

Are there any specs for the stratum implementation ? I'll add it to eth.suprnova.cc too if possible

https://docs.google.com/document/d/17zHy1SUlhgtCMbypO8cHgpWH73V5iUQKk_0rWvMqSNs/mobilebasic?hl=en_US&pli=1

There used to be a web page with a more straightforward explanation but it recently became unavailable.

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 20, 2016, 07:56:00 PM
 #14


Well those are 2 different exceptions that shouldn't happen. I'll add a deadline timer of max. 30 seconds (~twice the blocktime) of working on the same job to band-aid the first one. The 2nd exception indicates a disconnect, after which the GPUs should stop working. There should be an automatic reconnect though. Not sure why that didn't happen, I'll see if I can take a different approach to that.

Thanks for your feedback.  

While waiting for your great next releases a make a bat file with loop. Works fine during a day )) But a lot of empty cmd windows after it ))))

run_loop.bat

:loop1
start coinotron.bat
timeout /T 3600

taskkill /F /IM ethminer.exe

timeout /T 25

goto loop1


coinotron.bat

setx GPU_FORCE_64BIT_PTR 0
setx GPU_MAX_HEAP_SIZE 100
setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100

ethminer.exe -G -S coinotron.com:3344 -O user.worker:pass --cl-local-work 128 --cl-global-work 16384

Do you get any error messages at all? I get reports from people running 1.0.4b2 on Linux for 48 hrs without any problems.

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
rednoW
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 868


View Profile
February 21, 2016, 04:17:41 AM
 #15

Do you get any error messages at all? I get reports from people running 1.0.4b2 on Linux for 48 hrs without any problems.
I ran with loop bat-file for 36 hours without errors and then returned back to dwarfpool with your 1.0.3 and dwarf proxy. Sorry, not right time for me to be a beta tester.

ocminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932



View Profile WWW
February 21, 2016, 09:36:09 AM
 #16

In file included from /home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/main.cpp:39:0:
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h: In member function ‘void MinerCLI::doFarm(dev::eth::MinerType, const string&, unsigned int)’:
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:818:9: warning: suggest explicit braces to avoid ambiguous ‘else’ [-Wparentheses]
      if (current.seedHash != newSeedHash)
         ^
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h: In member function ‘void MinerCLI::doStratum(dev::eth::MinerType, unsigned int, const string&, const string&, const string&, const string&)’:
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:879:3: error: ‘EthStratumClient’ was not declared in this scope
   EthStratumClient client(&f, _m, host, port, user, pass);
   ^
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:879:20: error: expected ‘;’ before ‘client’
   EthStratumClient client(&f, _m, host, port, user, pass);
                    ^
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h: In lambda function:
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:885:4: error: ‘client’ was not declared in this scope
    client.submit(sol);
    ^
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h: In member function ‘void MinerCLI::doStratum(dev::eth::MinerType, unsigned int, const string&, const string&, const string&, const string&)’:
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:893:8: error: ‘client’ was not declared in this scope
    if (client.isConnected())
        ^
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h: At global scope:
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:866:7: warning: unused parameter ‘_m’ [-Wunused-parameter]
  void doStratum(MinerType _m, unsigned _recheckPeriod, string const & host, string const & port, string const & user, string const & pass)
       ^
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:866:7: warning: unused parameter ‘host’ [-Wunused-parameter]
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:866:7: warning: unused parameter ‘port’ [-Wunused-parameter]
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:866:7: warning: unused parameter ‘user’ [-Wunused-parameter]
/home/user/genoil-eth-stratum/ethminer/MinerAux.h:866:7: warning: unused parameter ‘pass’ [-Wunused-parameter]

suprnova pools - reliable mining pools - #suprnova on freenet
https://www.suprnova.cc - FOLLOW us @ Twitter ! twitter.com/SuprnovaPools
Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 21, 2016, 11:34:00 AM
 #17

@ocminer have you (re) run cmake after checking out the stratum branch? I'm mostly on Windows, but others don't have compilation issues with Linux.

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
mendoza1468
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54


View Profile
February 22, 2016, 04:24:46 AM
 #18

Excellent work, is there a way to reduce gpu usage like -i 20 exemple.
To get approx 80% gpu usage?
Thanks
Ik88
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 74


View Profile
February 25, 2016, 04:43:23 PM
 #19

Genoil man, please say good setting for solo mining (--cl-global-work ? --cl-local-work ? --farm-recheck ?)

thank you

 *Link Removed*
Genoil
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 438


View Profile
February 25, 2016, 04:51:34 PM
 #20

Genoil man, please say good setting for solo mining (--cl-global-work ? --cl-local-work ? --farm-recheck ?)

thank you

--cl-global-work 16384 (4096 or 8192 for CUDA mode)
--cl-local-work 64, 128 or 256 depending on card (128 for CUDA mode)
--farm-recheck 200 according to most pools.

--cl-global-work is another way of expressing intensity. lower it to 8192, 4096, 2048, 1024 and so on to lower GPU usage. hashrate will also go down at some point.

ETH: 0xeb9310b185455f863f526dab3d245809f6854b4d
BTC: 1Nu2fMCEBjmnLzqb8qUJpKgq5RoEWFhNcW
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 ... 94 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!