Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2018, 03:34:51 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 ... 81 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] official NovaCoin thread - the original PoS+scrypt coin. --POOL LIST--  (Read 261472 times)
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 23, 2013, 08:35:09 AM
 #461

 Smiley

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1524411291
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1524411291

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1524411291
Reply with quote  #2

1524411291
Report to moderator
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 23, 2013, 03:57:14 PM
 #462

Contest for best Logo starts soon Smiley With BTC and NVC prizes. Stay tuned.  Smiley

digitalindustry
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 1000


wubba lubba dub dub


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 10:32:31 AM
 #463

Fantastic ! hope NVC is listed with crosses soon as well.

tiny rick !
- https://voat.co/v/Contact/
- Twitter @Kolin_Quark
hanzac
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 412
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 10:41:55 AM
 #464

Contest for best Logo starts soon Smiley With BTC and NVC prizes. Stay tuned.  Smiley

Nova, I propose some image of lightning.  Wink
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 04:36:36 PM
 #465

It's not necessary, everyone is free to choose the subject of his concept. Smiley

DarkHyudrA
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386
Merit: 1000


English <-> Portuguese translations


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 04:39:16 PM
 #466

The logo could be a supernova.

English <-> Brazilian Portuguese translations
ltcminer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 05:09:13 PM
 #467

Can I start mining without the p2pool and just point my miner to novacoind or novacoin-qt?

Also there is till "Minint suspended..." message when I run the getmininginfo command.


BTC:1C74xSoFhvSfZ3XmRHN6m1zE9kTfy3zDKi
LTC:LKF4itBPY3TdRL1AdpBXLHCdybZSKk2Rho
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 05:12:41 PM
 #468

ltcminer

Yes, you can. But first you need to unlock your wallet. You can't run p2pool or solo mining while your wallet is locked.

Run this command using RPC console:

Code:
walletpassphrase "password" 86400 true

This command will unlock mining for 24h, for example.

P.S. Are you sure you want solo mine at diff 96?  Huh

dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 05:49:22 PM
 #469

ltcminer

Yes, you can. But first you need to unlock your wallet. You can't run p2pool or solo mining while your wallet is locked.

Run this command using RPC console:

Code:
walletpassphrase "password" 86400 true

This command will unlock mining for 24h, for example.

P.S. Are you sure you want solo mine at diff 96?  Huh

I agree with Balthazar, 96 (scrypt) difficulty is much to high to solo with a couple of GPU.

If one was running a few rigs (Like myself), you would want to run a private Pushpool if soloing.

I run between 3-4 M/H for scrypt based coins, and my cutoff (My opinion of course.. Tongue) is low to mid teens for difficulty.

Find a good PPS pool, for whichever coin you want to mine.You will get the benefit of a definite payback, instead of risking getting nothing except a high electric bill when the difficulty is at the current level.
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 06:08:57 PM
 #470

0.4 version of wallet can handle such load without pushpool.

ltcminer
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 24, 2013, 06:39:24 PM
 #471

ltcminer

Yes, you can. But first you need to unlock your wallet. You can't run p2pool or solo mining while your wallet is locked.

Run this command using RPC console:

Code:
walletpassphrase "password" 86400 true

This command will unlock mining for 24h, for example.

P.S. Are you sure you want solo mine at diff 96?  Huh

Is there a source code release for compiling on different linux OS? My linux OS has glibc 2.11, but your code requires 2.14.

Is there a setting to unlock the wallet in the conf file, for mining via rpc for unlimited time? Also, I don't feel comfortable typing in the passphrase at the command line, and the OS also keeps a history of commands used.

Does novacoin-qt or novacoind support long poll? My cgminer returns "No suitable long poll found".

I guess I can use a liteoin hash calculator to estimate the expected time to find a block? I will use p2pool eventually. I am testing my setup for now.

I like Novacoin combing the advantages of LTC and PPC. Good job.

Thank you. 

BTC:1C74xSoFhvSfZ3XmRHN6m1zE9kTfy3zDKi
LTC:LKF4itBPY3TdRL1AdpBXLHCdybZSKk2Rho
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 06:58:21 PM
 #472

https://github.com/CryptoManiac/novacoin

Quote from: ltcminer
Does novacoin-qt or novacoind support long poll? My cgminer returns "No suitable long poll found".
No, it doesn't supported yet, but maybe I'll add it soon. Anyway, you can set -s 10 -E 10 and everything will be OK.

Quote from: ltcminer
I guess I can use a liteoin hash calculator to estimate the expected time to find a block?
Yes, also you can calculate it manually, using such formula:

Code:
T = Diff * 4.295 * 10 ^ 9 / HashesPerSecond

It will give you average block search time in seconds.

Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 07:49:09 PM
 #473

Fresh Ubuntu LTS binaries published. Debian Squeeze builds coming soon.

dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 09:37:51 PM
 #474



Is there a source code release for compiling on different linux OS? My linux OS has glibc 2.11, but your code requires 2.14.

Is there a setting to unlock the wallet in the conf file, for mining via rpc for unlimited time? Also, I don't feel comfortable typing in the passphrase at the command line, and the OS also keeps a history of commands used.

Does novacoin-qt or novacoind support long poll? My cgminer returns "No suitable long poll found".

I guess I can use a liteoin hash calculator to estimate the expected time to find a block? I will use p2pool eventually. I am testing my setup for now.

I like Novacoin combing the advantages of LTC and PPC. Good job.

Thank you.  

You can keep Linux from recording a command history by prepending one or more spaces  in front of the command.

Code:
./novacoind walletpassphrase iamapassword 100000

Would be recorded in the bash history.

Code:
    ./novacoind walletpassphrase iamapassword 100000

Would not be recorded in the bash history.

Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 09:50:37 PM
 #475

If you are using QT gui, you can use integrated console, it's safe enough.

P.S. Debian Squeeze/i686 build of v0.4 published.

gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 24, 2013, 10:02:10 PM
 #476

You can keep Linux from recording a command history by prepending one or more spaces  in front of the command.

Code:
./novacoind walletpassphrase iamapassword 100000

Would be recorded in the bash history.

Code:
    ./novacoind walletpassphrase iamapassword 100000

Would not be recorded in the bash history.

Only if you have set HISTCONTROL with "ignorespace" which is not the default.

Edit: this is assuming you use bash and not another shell (I don't know others well enough).

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 10:37:51 PM
 #477

You can keep Linux from recording a command history by prepending one or more spaces  in front of the command.

Code:
./novacoind walletpassphrase iamapassword 100000

Would be recorded in the bash history.

Code:
    ./novacoind walletpassphrase iamapassword 100000

Would not be recorded in the bash history.

Only if you have set HISTCONTROL with "ignorespace" which is not the default.

Edit: this is assuming you use bash and not another shell (I don't know others well enough).

Hmm, strange as it always appears to be the default to me.

For example from my current VM bash.rc file:

Code:
# don't put duplicate lines or lines starting with space in the history.
# See bash(1) for more options
HISTCONTROL=ignoreboth

# append to the history file, don't overwrite it
shopt -s histappend

# for setting history length see HISTSIZE and HISTFILESIZE in bash(1)
HISTSIZE=1000
HISTFILESIZE=2000

Ahh well, it is easy enough to test for:

Code:
robert@vm:/$ echo "This is normal"
This is normal
robert@vm:/$ echo "This is normal"
This is normal
robert@vm:/$    echo "This is hidden"
This is hidden
robert@vm:/$ echo "This is normal"

Well, anyway I believe this particular poster would feel much safer mining to a separate wallet (encrypted or otherwise) and just transferring the coins to his real wallet every day/hour whatever.  Cheesy

Also:

Balthazar....what the heck did you do to bury the dam address version setting in your fork of ABE?

I have been trying all afternoon to get it set up and on CCE . I have tried all the normal places where the address version is declared, however no matter where I place (\x08 or 08..same in Dec as Hex) the addresses are wrong, everything else is right.

You just don't want anybody else to have a NVC explorer up....DO you?    Cheesy Cheesy

On that note: The newest version of ABE has some interesting new features you might want to check out. All the explorers except for NVC on CCE are using it. I did not feel like reinventing the wheel by converting your NVC fork to the latest ABE client.

Hopefully, I will have NVC up on CCE tonite, everything is set and ready except for the address version issue...thing...roadblock... Tongue
Balthazar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2310
Merit: 1000


Terran Emperor


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 10:48:21 PM
 #478

https://github.com/CryptoManiac/bitcoin-abe.git

I'll try to merge it with latest code, if it's necessary. Will check it tomorrow. Roll Eyes

P.S. I seen strange glitch... It forces bitcoin address version while browsing orphaned blocks.
P.P.S. Don't use integrated web server, it's too slow. It is recommended to use apache2-mpm-event + fcgid + ABE running in fastcgi mode. It will be more reliable solution.

dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
April 24, 2013, 11:09:36 PM
 #479

https://github.com/CryptoManiac/bitcoin-abe.git

I'll try to merge it with latest code, if it's necessary. Roll Eyes

P.S. I seen strange glitch... It forces bitcoin address version while browsing orphaned blocks.
P.P.S. Don't use integrated web server, it's too slow. It is recommended to use apache2-mpm-event + fcgid + ABE running in fastcgi mode. It will be more reliable solution.

I changed over to Fastcgi the weekend of the big coin rally a month..two months ago??? I had been wanting to convert all the explorers to Cherry.py, but during that rally felt I did not have the luxury of time to do it. I went ahead and converted everything to Fastcgi, and believe me, it can have its own set of problems... Cheesy

But yes, it is a 110% improvement over pythons built in server.
solf
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 25, 2013, 08:25:41 PM
 #480

How can I make rpc calls on Windows XP? I want to know how many coins are there already minted. Thanks.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 [24] 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 ... 81 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!