Bitcoin Forum
June 26, 2017, 07:29:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 113 »
  Print  
Author Topic: My new ZEC + XMR+ ETH thread builds info links thoughts and photos.  (Read 132754 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
xleejohnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
August 14, 2016, 11:03:45 PM
 #21

Back to the 4xGPU configuration _ I have asked Phil about getting a suitable chassis for it.

I'm planning to get my current open rigs to be "racked" or put into proper chassis for ISP hosting.

I'm paying too much for power and hosting my mini farm will be a viable choice.

Upon more investigation.... 4 x GPU config like Biostar and ASrock, will need a FULL TOWER chassis.

A full tower chassis is around 99-149$ USD -- full ATX tower, maxed for 4 GPU.

Mid towers seems fit only for 3xGPU Z170 ATX.

I am not even going to explore 6xGPU custom configs like Gray Matter type chassis - easily 300-400$USD each.

Even generic brand full tower or server rack style chassis is about 200-300 $ at AliExpress.

If anyone has some suggestions - appreciate it for discussions.

Thanks!


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147238

This case should fit 4 cards, each being 2x wide.  Not a bad price (~$60).

Have you looked into hosting a PC?  I guess I've never thought about it.  I have my S7s hosted at Oregon Mines.  I suppose I see no reason they would not host a PC.  It would need to come up and automatically mine upon startup.  Turn off automatic updates, if running windows.  Time to go linux?   Wink



i have a case coming in tuesday that is the same design as that one so ill be able to give a for sure if it will hold 4 2x cards

i was stepping into linux the other day the only problem i had was my network would time out on the system..

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1498462166
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1498462166

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1498462166
Reply with quote  #2

1498462166
Report to moderator
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 12:45:39 AM
 #22


463tWEBn5XZJSxLU6uLQnQ2iY9xuNcDbjLSjkn3XAXHCbLrTTErJrBWYgHJQyrCwkNgYvyV3z8zctJL PCZy24jvb3NiTcTJ.08912b53652c493494214f8ae7982d66a4cb6daa0c414191bc8ee808e2bfc2 04.1 -p x -dbg -1





https://monerohash.com/#getting_started

08912b53652c493494214f8ae7982d66a4cb6daa0c414191bc8ee808e2bfc204
463tWEBn5XZJSxLU6uLQnQ2iY9xuNcDbjLSjkn3XAXHCbLrTTErJrBWYgHJQyrCwkNgYvyV3z8zctJL PCZy24jvb3NiTcTJ
going to try this

payment id

08912b53652c493494214f8ae7982d66a4cb6daa0c414191bc8ee808e2bfc204

base address

463tWEBn5X
 ZJSxLU6uLQ
 nQ2iY9xuNc
 DbjLSjkn3X

AXHCbLrTTE
rJrBWYgHJQ
yrCwkNgYvy

V3z8zctJLP

CZy24jvb3N
iTcTJ



Claymore CPU Miner   CPU   BitcoinTalk   BitcoinTalk   Proprietary
Example: NsCpuCNMiner64 -o stratum+tcp://monerohash.com:3333 -u YOUR_WALLET_ADDRESS -p x




Claymore CPU Miner   CPU   BitcoinTalk   BitcoinTalk   Proprietary
Example:

 NsCpuCNMiner64 -o stratum+tcp://monerohash.com:3333 -u 463tWEBn5XZJSxLU6uLQnQ2iY9xuNcDbjLSjkn3XAXHCbLrTTErJrBWYgHJQyrCwkNgYvyV3z8zctJL PCZy2.08912b53652c493494214f8ae7982d66a4cb6daa0c414191bc8ee808e2bfc204 -p x




Back to the 4xGPU configuration _ I have asked Phil about getting a suitable chassis for it.

I'm planning to get my current open rigs to be "racked" or put into proper chassis for ISP hosting.

I'm paying too much for power and hosting my mini farm will be a viable choice.

Upon more investigation.... 4 x GPU config like Biostar and ASrock, will need a FULL TOWER chassis.

A full tower chassis is around 99-149$ USD -- full ATX tower, maxed for 4 GPU.

Mid towers seems fit only for 3xGPU Z170 ATX.

I am not even going to explore 6xGPU custom configs like Gray Matter type chassis - easily 300-400$USD each.

Even generic brand full tower or server rack style chassis is about 200-300 $ at AliExpress.

If anyone has some suggestions - appreciate it for discussions.

Thanks!


http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147238

This case should fit 4 cards, each being 2x wide.  Not a bad price (~$60).

Have you looked into hosting a PC?  I guess I've never thought about it.  I have my S7s hosted at Oregon Mines.  I suppose I see no reason they would not host a PC.  It would need to come up and automatically mine upon startup.  Turn off automatic updates, if running windows.  Time to go linux?   Wink



i have a case coming in tuesday that is the same design as that one so ill be able to give a for sure if it will hold 4 2x cards

i was stepping into linux the other day the only problem i had was my network would time out on the system..

The rosewill for 60 usd has eight slots. You need eight as a minimum .
But I do not know if the biostar z170 will line up correctly.
Rosewill has a ten slot. The Thor v2 for 99
That should work but it is more money.

I don't know if it is worth buying as I have a second fear and that is that the cards may overheat in a case.

We know they work great in open air.

Right now I am gear rich and coin short.

I ordered a third biostar z170 and will build a rig with four rx 470s.

I would really like to order the as rock mobo for 180 after rebate but newegg taxes me so it comes to 194 plus 99 for the rosewill Thor v2.

I have to talk with buysolar about moving at least one unit to the solar array.



I am going to order this case

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147053&cm_re=rosewill_thor_v2-_-11-147-053-_-Product

10$ off with this code  EMCEMEN36  10 pcie slots  I grabbed it with the code it was 96 usd after taxes

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


summer*juvia


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 01:00:21 AM
 #23


 A  Pirate of  windows 7 is not legal I don't tell people to commit a crime .


 Or save a few more $ by going LINUX - once you get the first machine up and running, it's TRIVIAL to "clone" a working setup using DD to copy the working HD setup to another one, or if you make it small enough clone it to a USB flash drive.


I use Claymore Dual Miner and it has Linux version -- but I use Windoze purely for lower learning curve, OC & UV and driver support....

xleejohnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 01:26:26 AM
 #24


The rosewill for 60 usd has eight slots. You need eight as a minimum .
But I do not know if the biostar z170 will line up correctly.
Rosewill has a ten slot. The Thor v2 for 99
That should work but it is more money.

I don't know if it is worth buying as I have a second fear and that is that the cards may overheat in a case.

We know they work great in open air.

Right now I am gear rich and coin short.

I ordered a third biostar z170 and will build a rig with four rx 470s.

I would really like to order the as rock mobo for 180 after rebate but newegg taxes me so it comes to 194 plus 99 for the rosewill Thor v2.

I have to talk with buysolar about moving at least one unit to the solar array.



I am going to order this case

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16811147053&cm_re=rosewill_thor_v2-_-11-147-053-_-Product

10$ off with this code  EMCEMEN36  10 pcie slots  I grabbed it with the code it was 96 usd after taxes

i like the setup of that one. on the 8 slot i have the same biostar board so ill see if the board lines up with the case... if not the unraid server could use an updated case

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 05:02:14 AM
 #25

I've not built and AMD-based machine in 10 years, ever since the Core2 Conroe CPUs came on the scene. However, this 4 x16 slot board has me thinking....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813128859

With a $70 mobo, a reasonable CPU ($75 or less?), and DDR3 memory (I have an abundance of this stuff), i think I may roll the dice and see how it goes.  Anyone care to talk me out of it for some reason I'm overlooking?  I know AMD CPUs run hot.  Not sure which CPU to even consider.

-EDIT-

Okay, dang... used CPUs can be had via ebay for ~$10!
X7
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672


An eye for an eye leaves the whole world blind


View Profile WWW
August 15, 2016, 05:05:38 AM
 #26

Never mined ETH, wouldn't it have been cheaper given the costs and electric pull of the graphics cards  - to just buy the ETH?


Helping to create the world's first loving economy, not something based on fear or greed. Principles of love, abundance, consistency, automation, decentralisation, open source, economic multifunctionality. Scientific analysis will be uploaded to my site shortly for peer review.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 05:07:08 AM
 #27

Never mined ETH, wouldn't it have been cheaper given the costs and electric pull of the graphics cards  - to just buy the ETH?

What's the fun in that?  Wink
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554



View Profile
August 15, 2016, 05:55:29 AM
 #28

Never mined ETH, wouldn't it have been cheaper given the costs and electric pull of the graphics cards  - to just buy the ETH?



no because you can always sell the gpu and get back a good portion of your investment

let's assume you invest 5 btc in both, 5 btc in eth and 5 btc in mining equipment, with the first you are not increasing your stash until the price rise and then fall(to buy back cheaper) and can be a long wait

with mining you increase your amount since the beginning, and still holding your 5 btc, and i can argue that while you wait your price swing i can reach roi and sell back the gpu, doubling my initial investment....

citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


summer*juvia


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 06:10:05 AM
 #29

I've not built and AMD-based machine in 10 years, ever since the Core2 Conroe CPUs came on the scene. However, this 4 x16 slot board has me thinking....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813128859

With a $70 mobo, a reasonable CPU ($75 or less?), and DDR3 memory (I have an abundance of this stuff), i think I may roll the dice and see how it goes.  Anyone care to talk me out of it for some reason I'm overlooking?  I know AMD CPUs run hot.  Not sure which CPU to even consider.

-EDIT-

Okay, dang... used CPUs can be had via ebay for ~$10!

I have one of these with 6core AMD CPU, 1 x 290x and 2 x 290... salvaged from a few gaming PCs... inherited it from a friend who was upgrading to GTX-1080. Its a decent rig, runs hot though but I put a standing fan over it and it runs Nicehash multi-algo miner. Mining using 6-core CPU and 3 x GPU for about a month.... I am surprised it already accumulated nearly 0.4 BTC !

BTW, only 3 x GPU can fit into this mobo.

Redrose
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Creating the Apple of 3D printing


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 07:07:31 AM
 #30

Nice new thread. Could your 4 cards motherboard handle something other than reference RX 480 ? I think that if card is too big, that won't be fine. I'm thinking especially of custom cards.


▄████████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
████████████           ███████████
████████████           ███████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
████████████           ███████████
████████████           ███████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████████▀
MPRESSION



citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


summer*juvia


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 07:28:55 AM
 #31

Nice new thread. Could your 4 cards motherboard handle something other than reference RX 480 ? I think that if card is too big, that won't be fine. I'm thinking especially of custom cards.

If you do water-cooled GPUs, I think it will fit.

I saw a LinusTechTips video on 7 x Nanos stripped to the bone, and water cooled can cramp into a full ATX tower.

But the 7 slot PCI mobo wont be cheap.

PS, see Philip's 4 x RX480 picture on this mobo... very tight I would say but he put a small spacer on each card for ventilation.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1429151.msg15638658#msg15638658

philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 11:09:08 AM
 #32

Nice new thread. Could your 4 cards motherboard handle something other than reference RX 480 ? I think that if card is too big, that won't be fine. I'm thinking especially of custom cards.

I think 4 rx 470's will be fine.  I am going to build one with four of these
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814202230&cm_re=sapphire_rx_470-_-14-202-230-_-Product



it ran 4 r9 nanos, but  it needed a bigger psu to do that

Nice new thread. Could your 4 cards motherboard handle something other than reference RX 480 ? I think that if card is too big, that won't be fine. I'm thinking especially of custom cards.

it ran 4 r9 nanos, but  it needed a bigger psu to do that



there are not many boards with the correct spacing to try this.  as for spacers I use the hdmi plugs that come with the cards.

this board costs more but may work.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157649&ignorebbr=1

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
LoneRangir
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 12:14:49 PM
 #33

BTW, only 3 x GPU can fit into this mobo.

Oh, I see it now.   Shocked The spacing of the slots is not right.  Thanks.
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1778


I charge NOTHING for current signature.


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 12:56:29 PM
 #34

BTW, only 3 x GPU can fit into this mobo.

Oh, I see it now.   Shocked The spacing of the slots is not right.  Thanks.

I am not able to find an amd board   with correct spacing  will continue to look.

nice 3 card below

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157281&cm_re=amd_motherboard-_-13-157-281-_-Product

nice 3 card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157479&cm_re=amd_motherboard-_-13-157-479-_-Product

but no four card that work

Please support sidehack with his new miner project Send to : 1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
I mine alt coins with https://simplemining.net I see BTC as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions.
xleejohnx
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 02:37:15 PM
 #35

BTW, only 3 x GPU can fit into this mobo.

Oh, I see it now.   Shocked The spacing of the slots is not right.  Thanks.

I am not able to find an amd board   with correct spacing  will continue to look.

nice 3 card below

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157281&cm_re=amd_motherboard-_-13-157-281-_-Product

nice 3 card
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813157479&cm_re=amd_motherboard-_-13-157-479-_-Product

but no four card that work

trying to find an amd board that will hold 4 cards without lifters is impossible ive looked days

As I see a super coin as the super highway and alt coins as taxis and trucks needed to move transactions. ~philipma1957
Redrose
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Creating the Apple of 3D printing


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 04:34:28 PM
 #36

As you're one of the two mining experts for me, I'd like to ask you something. I've found quite a bunch of 7 PCi-e slots motherboards. Since they don't have the "BTC" branding, as the ASRock ones, I'm not sure if it will resist to 7 GPUs on it (if I go for a 7 build that will surely be little cards, such as GTX 950/960).


▄████████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
████████████           ███████████
████████████           ███████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
████████████           ███████████
████████████           ███████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████████▀
MPRESSION



EastSound
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 198


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 04:56:20 PM
 #37

As you're one of the two mining experts for me, I'd like to ask you something. I've found quite a bunch of 7 PCi-e slots motherboards. Since they don't have the "BTC" branding, as the ASRock ones, I'm not sure if it will resist to 7 GPUs on it (if I go for a 7 build that will surely be little cards, such as GTX 950/960).

I used the MSI Z77A-GD55 Motherboard with 7 PCIE slots, they will work will 7 grahics cards. I am not sure about yours.
citronick
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


summer*juvia


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 05:48:17 PM
 #38

As you're one of the two mining experts for me, I'd like to ask you something. I've found quite a bunch of 7 PCi-e slots motherboards. Since they don't have the "BTC" branding, as the ASRock ones, I'm not sure if it will resist to 7 GPUs on it (if I go for a 7 build that will surely be little cards, such as GTX 950/960).

I used the MSI Z77A-GD55 Motherboard with 7 PCIE slots, they will work will 7 grahics cards. I am not sure about yours.


this MSI mobo will fit only 3 cards without risers.

there is a full 7 slot 16x PCI like the Asus Z10PE-D8 WS, but its way out of budget.

this will fit 4 cards with spacing easily.

too bad this Asus mobo is more like a server board

Redrose
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 658


Creating the Apple of 3D printing


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 06:01:51 PM
 #39

As you're one of the two mining experts for me, I'd like to ask you something. I've found quite a bunch of 7 PCi-e slots motherboards. Since they don't have the "BTC" branding, as the ASRock ones, I'm not sure if it will resist to 7 GPUs on it (if I go for a 7 build that will surely be little cards, such as GTX 950/960).

I used the MSI Z77A-GD55 Motherboard with 7 PCIE slots, they will work will 7 grahics cards. I am not sure about yours.


this MSI mobo will fit only 3 cards without risers.

there is a full 7 slot 16x PCI like the Asus Z10PE-D8 WS, but its way out of budget.

this will fit 4 cards with spacing easily.

too bad this Asus mobo is more like a server board

At the inverse of Philip, I love the risers. I don't mind even use 7 risers. It gives more power to the cards and it has that's mining look that I enjoy so much. In term of stability and power draw I'm quite hesitant with those.


▄████████████████████████████████▄
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
████████████           ███████████
████████████           ███████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
███████████████     ██████████████
████████████           ███████████
████████████           ███████████
██████████████████████████████████
██████████████████████████████████
▀████████████████████████████████▀
MPRESSION



QuintLeo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
August 15, 2016, 09:27:46 PM
 #40

I've not built and AMD-based machine in 10 years, ever since the Core2 Conroe CPUs came on the scene. However, this 4 x16 slot board has me thinking....

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?item=N82E16813128859

With a $70 mobo, a reasonable CPU ($75 or less?), and DDR3 memory (I have an abundance of this stuff), i think I may roll the dice and see how it goes.  Anyone care to talk me out of it for some reason I'm overlooking?  I know AMD CPUs run hot.  Not sure which CPU to even consider.

-EDIT-

Okay, dang... used CPUs can be had via ebay for ~$10!

 The lowest-end Semperon for AM3+ would be plenty to run in an AMD-based rig for mining, figure more like $40-$50 for the CPU

 I *WISH* there was a current AMD motherboard that would natively support 4 dual-slot GPUs, but the only ones I'm aware of that ever existed were the Gigabyte xxx-UD7 series, and they don't HAVE any -UD7 boards available any more.

 Yes, those were 7x PCI-E x16 boards (I'm PRETTY sure there have been more than one), though I'm sure you had to run most or all of the slots at less than full x16 bandwidth to use more than a couple of them.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 ... 113 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!