Bitcoin Forum
December 07, 2016, 10:52:16 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3160 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.1%)
Total Voters: 3924

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... 1105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3928787 times)
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 05:04:06 PM
 #81

does anyone know how much bandwidth this consumes? The miner is connecting via RPC to the server several times per minute, isn't it?

Bandwidth is not main concern, but roundtrips/latencies are. I'm working right now on very simple proxy application, which will pre fetch work for few seconds (say 20 sec) to your computer.  Then you will point miner to this local application. It will limit roundtrips (as there will be one request per few second) and latencies (miner will not wait to fresh data).

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481107936
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481107936

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481107936
Reply with quote  #2

1481107936
Report to moderator
Azetab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 05:12:52 PM
 #82

hi, is there a binary zip file for the cpu miner that doesn't require installation? Thanks
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 05:39:22 PM
 #83

hi, is there a binary zip file for the cpu miner that doesn't require installation? Thanks

I don't know. Please ask on jgarzik's thread.

BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 05:44:21 PM
 #84

no big deal to use jgarzik's "installer",
it'll just create a new folder of your choice (and shortcuts if you wish) and unpack a few files to it,
nothing to worry about.

zipslack
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 05:52:07 PM
 #85

does anyone know how much bandwidth this consumes? The miner is connecting via RPC to the server several times per minute, isn't it?

Bandwidth is not main concern, but roundtrips/latencies are. I'm working right now on very simple proxy application, which will pre fetch work for few seconds (say 20 sec) to your computer.  Then you will point miner to this local application. It will limit roundtrips (as there will be one request per few second) and latencies (miner will not wait to fresh data).

I'm just wondering how this is going to affect other users of my shared Internet connection. I suppose those RPC requests are very small?
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 05:58:37 PM
 #86

I'm just wondering how this is going to affect other users of my shared Internet connection. I suppose those RPC requests are very small?

Yes, very small, approx. 800 bytes per request.

Azetab
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 06:07:04 PM
 #87

no big deal to use jgarzik's "installer",
it'll just create a new folder of your choice (and shortcuts if you wish) and unpack a few files to it,
nothing to worry about.

i need a portable file to run on certain computers where i don't have installation privileges
zipslack
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 06:13:08 PM
 #88

Yes, very small, approx. 800 bytes per request.

Alright. Thank you. If it makes one request every two seconds then a rough guess is ~1.4MB per hour. That's tolerable.

i need a portable file to run on certain computers where i don't have installation privileges

Just run the installer on a computer where you do have installation privileges and then copy the entire installed folder to the other computers. In fact that installer will probably run even without privileges if you install to a folder you have access to.
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 06:27:35 PM
 #89

Will you explain the reward parameter?

Threshold makes sense, don't send coins until I have X many.

Reward parameter though has no explanation available on the site. I do see it mentioned in the thread a couple of times but with no direct correlation to the form on the site.

It is explained on homepage - by my extremely poor English  Grin.

Reward is calculated by 50BTC * (your shares) / (total cluster shares) in one mining round (all shares are cleared to zero when block is found).

So when you found 10 shares and cluster solved 1000 shares to find a valid block, your reward for this round will be 50 * 10 / 1000 = 0.5 BTC. Okay?

Currently we are waiting when network confirm first 50 BTC to send first few rewards.

BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 06:35:23 PM
 #90

Quote
Threshold makes sense, don't send coins until I have X many.
same subject:
is it planned to only send coins >0.01?
so if i have reward:0.01675429 i only get 0.01 and the sub-cents stay where they are?
else i will lose the sub-cents as soon as i send those 0.01 to anyone (if that's the only cent i'v got).

nevermind, that doesnt even make sense, the sub-cents will be lost when splitting those 0.01 to send anyway


slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 06:45:53 PM
 #91

Sorry, I was talking about that reward on the account page. I never tried to edit it, and of course, it is locked so I cannot. I thought that was a configurable field of some sort.

You are right, I should change it. It really looks like config variable...

Quote
The statistics page, could you add current server time to that? It shows when the new generation started, but it does not show how long that period of time has been.
What about also adding a field, that the server has found a total of X blocks? Cool stats to know.

Server is UTC. Better stats (listing already found blocks) are in my TODO. Currently I'm working on performance improvements (proxy etc), because, guys, I did not imagine there will be so large demand few hours after going live :-).

slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 06:52:08 PM
 #92

so if i have reward:0.01675429 i only get 0.01 and the sub-cents stay where they are?
else i will lose the sub-cents as soon as i send those 0.01 to anyone (if that's the only cent i'v got).

This is good question. Currently sending rewards is in two steps:

a) Directly after block is found, server compute shares and add reward to user account.
b) Script is running every hour (not yet, I will make first payments 'manually'), checking wallet balance and when there is something, send to user's wallets as much as possible.

Originally I tried to send whole reward (third decimal places and more), but today I made small change. Reward is rounded to 0.01 BTC and only this is sending to user's wallet. The rest after rounding remain on user's profile, so no nano-cents are lost.

BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 07:02:48 PM
 #93

ah, i forgot,
it's not the server doing the math/rounding/tell what amount to send, it's your script.
that's great and indeed a workaround lost sub-cents, the server actually doesnt know about sub-cents.

SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 07:28:10 PM
 #94

I just got
Quote
16/12/2010 20:xx. xxxxxxxx, invalid or stale
what does that mean ?

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
m0mchil
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 171


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 08:11:50 PM
 #95

Quote
16/12/2010 20:xx. xxxxxxxx, invalid or stale

Exactly what you will get with 'normal' mining - pool server received new, network block just before your last solution. Because pool target is quite low you will see this more often. With ask rate of 5 seconds and network speed of 6 blocks/hour there is probability of 1/120 'shares' to see this.

BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 08:55:27 PM
 #96

feature request:
would be nice to have the system stats available on the profile-page too,
auto-refresh is not needed, but it would be nice to just open 1page, not 2, to check how big my share is.
 

Essjay
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 09:00:29 PM
 #97

feature request:
would be nice to have the system stats available on the profile-page too,
auto-refresh is not needed, but it would be nice to just open 1page, not 2, to check how big my share is.

I don't know how the web site is coded, but:

It would be nice to have the stats on every page. Maybe in a header, or on the side?
slush
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358



View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 09:03:20 PM
 #98

feature request:
would be nice to have the system stats available on the profile-page too,
auto-refresh is not needed, but it would be nice to just open 1page, not 2, to check how big my share is.

I already have "reward prediction" in my TODO. I think it is better as it is per-account specific. And it will need some content caching as those stats are quite database demanding.

Quote
It would be nice to have the stats on every page. Maybe in a header, or on the side?

It is feasible once stats will be in cache (say 10-20 sec). Currently the stats are on demand.

By the way, I need to restart server, because made few changes in application. It will be a second, but we will firstly check exception handling in miners Wink.

SmokeTooMuch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 873


View Profile
December 16, 2010, 09:21:54 PM
 #99

I just got this strange error message (attachement).
Any idea what could have caused this ?
Was this because of the restart ?

Date Registered: 2009-12-10 | I'm using GPG, pm me for my public key. | Bitcoin on Reddit: https://www.reddit.com/r/btc
You like what I'm doing? Why don't you send me a coin: 17Pj8jpUgY6qTaKgiopL5U48zxU4rTrkuB
BitLex
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 588


View Profile WWW
December 16, 2010, 09:26:52 PM
 #100

guess it's been slush restarting the server,
my miners also stopped and i had to restart them.

Pages: « 1 2 3 4 [5] 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 ... 1105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!