Bitcoin Forum
April 17, 2021, 12:05:55 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Primecoin Built-in Miner Sieve Performance Issue  (Read 69059 times)
CryptoBeggar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:25:31 PM
 #61

Has anyone here *by any chance* managed to compile this under OpenSUSE. Seems like there is a miniupnpc gallery missing (I shall ask on dedicated forum anyway).



How do you compile? Probably you need to add the same option as on other systems

 make -f makefile.unix USE_UPNP=




Thank you, I actually realized this library is not distributed as rpm for SUSE, so I built it from source on http://miniupnp.free.fr/files/.



First MasterCoin protocol transaction -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.msg2940318#msg2940318; please refer to thread disclosed for more information
1618617955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618617955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618617955
Reply with quote  #2

1618617955
Report to moderator
1618617955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618617955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618617955
Reply with quote  #2

1618617955
Report to moderator
1618617955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618617955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618617955
Reply with quote  #2

1618617955
Report to moderator
Once a transaction has 6 confirmations, it is extremely unlikely that an attacker without at least 50% of the network's computation power would be able to reverse it.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1618617955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618617955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618617955
Reply with quote  #2

1618617955
Report to moderator
1618617955
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618617955

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618617955
Reply with quote  #2

1618617955
Report to moderator
eule
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 501


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:26:02 PM
 #62

primecoind doesn't do anything once compiled. Is there a missing step?
It's a daemon, running in the background. This site should help you.
https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Original_Bitcoin_client/API_calls_list
e.g. ./primecoind getinfo

loucy
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:32:53 PM
 #63

Has anyone here *by any chance* managed to compile this under OpenSUSE. Seems like there is a miniupnpc gallery missing (I shall ask on dedicated forum anyway).

Here's my repository with various *coin-packages:
https://build.opensuse.org/project/show?project=home%3Ap_conrad:coins

It's somewhat experimental, i. e. I've included some of the optimizations discussed in the main Primecoin announcement thread. But you can leave out the -opts patch and build for yourself.

Oh, and miniupnpc is available on newer OpenSUSE versions only.
Luckybit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:33:21 PM
 #64

I figured it out. ./primecoind setgenerate true -1

then to check that it's running ./primecoind getmininginfo

This applies to anyone else as well who started the daemon and couldn't figure it out. You have to pass commands to it, it's basically the console window from primecoin.exe
gateway
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 551
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:35:24 PM
 #65

anyone have a windows or osx build with the latest suggested updates/patches/speed improvements?
mrmanager
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:39:06 PM
 #66

I got a nice increase as well. From ~60pps to 151pps and still rising. cpu: AMD Athlon II x3 455 unlocked to phenom II x4 B55.



Yeah, I have a dual core unlocked to a Phenom II x4 B55, and I can only hit about 70pps. Unfortunately this is a Windows box, and I've never compiled anything on Windows. It would be nice to double the pps.

anyone have a windows or osx build with the latest suggested updates/patches/speed improvements?

+1.
Mike270
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:45:35 PM
 #67

I have been alerted that certain classes of system continue to experience extremely low primespersec values. Upon investigation it seems certain systems have performance problems with the sieve, causing extended sieve round time. A temporary fix is now pushed to github. Please note I don't have enough time yet to fully test this solution, so try it out first to see if this resolves your system's problems.

https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin/commit/338e61568a32e74fa112edf1f3d8eee8d6780ae9

Please report back if this resolves your performance issues.
Hi Sunny King,
inspired by that I added something else (though I'm still testing):
Make that
while (psieve->Weave() && (pindexPrev==pindexBest) && (GetTimeMicros() - nStart < 3000000));
and add a
CBlockIndex* pindexPrev=pindexBest;
as first line of MineProbablePrimeChain().
Also, make that
while (nCurrent - nStart < 10000 && nCurrent >= nStart && (pindexPrev==pindexBest))
later on.
Should theoretically provide an automatic exit if the best block changes during work.
(But I'm still testing it)
shinkicker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:48:26 PM
Last edit: July 10, 2013, 10:50:30 PM by shinkicker
 #68

ok, hopefully the karmic universe will throw something back my way for this. Here is the windows qt-client I built with the new code checked in by Sunny King/

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zzp42h320e8ogt2/Primecoin.zip

And will all DLL's

https://www.dropbox.com/s/gba0tqw01qbvzlk/windows-qt.zip

Please...I don't want accusations of stealing wallets or anything about trojans / viruses.  So please virus scan the file first and go into your existing client and encrypt your wallet and then back up your wallet.dat, then try this client.

Also I built this with -march=native, so its optimized for an i5, but it should be ok for i7 too.

I am only sharing this as I know what its like to miss out on crypto mining..

If anyone has luck, tips are welcome:

APY8fYJxuMe2hvHMHKBMWzURMCrYmCsKrB

Again, use at your own risk. Its working away for me here, but I take no responsibility for any consequence of using this client.

As for how it is progressing, I was between 90-120 before, now I am 150 to 200



EDIT: You may also need the gcc dll's too (put them in the same folder):
hl5460
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1620
Merit: 1000


news.8btc.com


View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 09:50:17 PM
 #69

I have been alerted that certain classes of system continue to experience extremely low primespersec values. Upon investigation it seems certain systems have performance problems with the sieve, causing extended sieve round time. A temporary fix is now pushed to github. Please note I don't have enough time yet to fully test this solution, so try it out first to see if this resolves your system's problems.

https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin/commit/338e61568a32e74fa112edf1f3d8eee8d6780ae9

Please report back if this resolves your performance issues.
Hi Sunny King,
inspired by that I added something else (though I'm still testing):
Make that
while (psieve->Weave() && (pindexPrev==pindexBest) && (GetTimeMicros() - nStart < 3000000));
and add a
CBlockIndex* pindexPrev=pindexBest;
as first line of MineProbablePrimeChain().
Also, make that
while (nCurrent - nStart < 10000 && nCurrent >= nStart && (pindexPrev==pindexBest))
later on.
Should theoretically provide an automatic exit if the best block changes during work.
(But I'm still testing it)


Hi Mike, are you the guy that "alert" sunny of this problem! Thanks for the contribution!

JoeMattie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 220
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:53:19 PM
 #70

ok, hopefully the karmic universe will throw something back my way for this. Here is the windows qt-client I built with the new code in:

https://www.dropbox.com/s/zzp42h320e8ogt2/Primecoin.zip

Please...I don't want accusations of stealing wallets or anything about trojans / viruses.  So please virus scan the file first and go into your existing client and encrypt your wallet and then back up your wallet.dat, then try this client.

Also I built this with -march=native, so its optimized for an i5, but it should be ok for i7 too.

I am only sharing this as I know what its like to miss out on crypto mining..

If anyone has luck, tips are welcome:

APY8fYJxuMe2hvHMHKBMWzURMCrYmCsKrB

Again, use at your own risk. Its working away for me here, but I take no responsibility for any consequence of using this client.

As for how it is progressing, I was between 90-120 before, now I am 150 to 200



Any chance for a recompile with -static-libgcc and -static-libstdc++ ?

Bitrated user: AKQuaternion.
Mike270
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:55:28 PM
 #71

Hi Mike, are you the guy that "alert" sunny of this problem! Thanks for the contribution!
Hi hl5460,
no, I'm not.
Just working on some optimizations of my own and this came to my mind when I thought about his change.

Kind regards
Mike
shinkicker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 09:56:40 PM
 #72

Any chance for a recompile with -static-libgcc and -static-libstdc++ ?

I honestly have to go to bed soon  (kids to pack to school and work), otherwise I would.

If you want I can send you libstdc++-6.dll & libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll and drop them into the same folder.

I got mine from an install of the megaclient (you can probably find them online too).
shinkicker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:00:49 PM
 #73


First of all, thank you -- second -- I am still seeing single digits primespersec, which makes me think there is something else wrong.

My config file looks like:

rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcuser=solo_user
rpcpassword=solo_user_password
rpcport=19911

port=9911
daemon=1
server=1
gen=1
listen=1
testnet=0

Anything glaring out at you here?


A few yes, it takes time for pps to build up. I would give it 20 minutes or so.

Second, what CPU do you have?
nhminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 473
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:02:42 PM
 #74

file this under "I must be getting old"

Now that I've given it a little time, the pps is rising.  I didn't realize it took fime.

~nh

BCH - 1EshwUEg9LRbY5WMSw7bkBGQUYQeenkcet
dmay728
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:04:16 PM
 #75

I'm getting "The program can't start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Please tell me I'm not retarded.
mrmanager
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 50
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:04:32 PM
Last edit: July 10, 2013, 10:17:19 PM by mrmanager
 #76

Any chance for a recompile with -static-libgcc and -static-libstdc++ ?

I honestly have to go to bed soon  (kids to pack to school and work), otherwise I would.

If you want I can send you libstdc++-6.dll & libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll and drop them into the same folder.

I got mine from an install of the megaclient (you can probably find them online too).

I have both of those .ddls in the directory, and in system32, but I'm receiving this error below:

"The procedure entry point _ZNSt12out_of_rangeD2Ev could not be located in the dynamic link library libstdc++-6.dll"

Is anyone else having this problem?

Edit: I found a different version of libstdc++-6.dll and it worked. The link below with both .ddls also works. I also needed to add mingwm10.ddl. Thanks a lot, OP. A donation will be coming your way.
JoeMattie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 220
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:04:40 PM
 #77

Any chance for a recompile with -static-libgcc and -static-libstdc++ ?

I honestly have to go to bed soon  (kids to pack to school and work), otherwise I would.

If you want I can send you libstdc++-6.dll & libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll and drop them into the same folder.

I got mine from an install of the megaclient (you can probably find them online too).

Got it working already.  I only ask for the n00bs Tongue

Thanks, by the way, seems to be working well

Bitrated user: AKQuaternion.
shinkicker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 140
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:07:28 PM
 #78

I'm getting "The program can't start because libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll is missing from your computer. Try reinstalling the program to fix this problem."

Please tell me I'm not retarded.

Yep, sorry I compiled it without the DLL's included;

https://www.dropbox.com/s/5uot5d5xiwxfln6/libs.zip

Thats why JoeMattie asked me to compile with them included,

Unzip those into your program files directory and you should be fine.
96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:07:59 PM
 #79


First of all, thank you -- second -- I am still seeing single digits primespersec, which makes me think there is something else wrong.

My config file looks like:

rpcallowip=127.0.0.1
rpcuser=solo_user
rpcpassword=solo_user_password
rpcport=19911

port=9911
daemon=1
server=1
gen=1
listen=1
testnet=0

Anything glaring out at you here?


A few yes, it takes time for pps to build up. I would give it 20 minutes or so.

Second, what CPU do you have?

Any chance you can help us out with how to compile in windows machines.  I would be willing to send some coins your way and I am sure others would be as well for the little bit of help.
JoeMattie
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 220
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 10:08:07 PM
 #80

Any chance for a recompile with -static-libgcc and -static-libstdc++ ?

I honestly have to go to bed soon  (kids to pack to school and work), otherwise I would.

If you want I can send you libstdc++-6.dll & libgcc_s_dw2-1.dll and drop them into the same folder.

I got mine from an install of the megaclient (you can probably find them online too).

I have both of those .ddls in the directory, and in system32, but I'm receiving this error below:

"The procedure entry point _ZNSt12out_of_rangeD2Ev"

Is anyone else having this problem?

I had to try 4 versions of that DLL until I found the right one.  Hang, on, I'll upload the one that worked

edit: nevermind, OP beat me

Bitrated user: AKQuaternion.
Pages: « 1 2 3 [4] 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!