Bitcoin Forum
April 10, 2021, 10:16:35 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [XPM] Primecoin Built-in Miner Sieve Performance Issue  (Read 69059 times)
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 04:35:06 PM
Last edit: July 14, 2013, 06:23:56 AM by Sunny King
 #1

I have been alerted that certain classes of system continue to experience extremely low primespersec values. Upon investigation it seems certain systems have performance problems with the sieve, causing extended sieve round time. A temporary fix is now pushed to github. Please note I don't have enough time yet to fully test this solution, so try it out first to see if this resolves your system's problems.

https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin/commit/338e61568a32e74fa112edf1f3d8eee8d6780ae9

Please report back if this resolves your performance issues.

Update (July 14):

More sieve optimization:

https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin/commit/ab9fe91d711c92527fcde2fa34563b0aefd16742
1618092995
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618092995

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618092995
Reply with quote  #2

1618092995
Report to moderator
1618092995
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618092995

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618092995
Reply with quote  #2

1618092995
Report to moderator
1618092995
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618092995

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618092995
Reply with quote  #2

1618092995
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1618092995
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618092995

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618092995
Reply with quote  #2

1618092995
Report to moderator
1618092995
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618092995

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618092995
Reply with quote  #2

1618092995
Report to moderator
1618092995
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1618092995

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1618092995
Reply with quote  #2

1618092995
Report to moderator
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 04:36:14 PM
Last edit: July 10, 2013, 04:47:16 PM by blastbob
 #2

Testing in a sec Smiley

I did find a block 1 miner after i started it up.. Pure luck Smiley

Testing on a few other clients also.

Bitrated user: blastbob.
tadakaluri
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 04:54:22 PM
 #3

How to use it?
blastbob
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 04:55:16 PM
 #4

How to use it?


Quote
cd ~/ ; git clone https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin ; cd ~/primecoin/src ; make -j8 -f makefile.unix ; mv primecoind ~/ ; rm -Rf ~/primecoin/

Bitrated user: blastbob.
xeroc
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 345
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 04:57:31 PM
Last edit: July 10, 2013, 05:11:10 PM by xeroc
 #5

compiling now

// EDIT: looks good
found 3 blocks within the last 170 blocks
tadakaluri
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 05:18:06 PM
 #6

How to use it?


Quote
cd ~/ ; git clone https://github.com/primecoin/primecoin ; cd ~/primecoin/src ; make -j8 -f makefile.unix ; mv primecoind ~/ ; rm -Rf ~/primecoin/

Thank you very much.
CryptoBeggar
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 119
Merit: 10


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:21:16 PM
 #7

Is there any clue to what kind of systems affected by this issue? I wonder whether my Intel Atom is just too slow to compete, BTW I have OpenSUSE 11.4.

First MasterCoin protocol transaction -> https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=265488.msg2940318#msg2940318; please refer to thread disclosed for more information
Moebius327
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:22:24 PM
 #8

How can I use this with the windows client? Should I manually change the code in prime.cpp
Sunny King
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1205
Merit: 1003



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 05:28:36 PM
 #9

Is there any clue to what kind of systems affected by this issue? I wonder whether my Intel Atom is just too slow to compete, BTW I have OpenSUSE 11.4.

From the reports I have gathered, it impacted some server systems with high thread count, yes it may impact atoms as it's threads are relatively slow.
96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:29:57 PM
 #10

Can we get the windows build?
Entz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


I not use any kind of messenger beware of scammers


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:30:17 PM
 #11

From the reports I have gathered, it impacted some server systems with high thread count, yes it may impact atoms as it's threads are relatively slow.
Awesome! I gave up on trying to mine on my opteron (pps between 0 and 1) so hopefully this helps!

shakezula
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:31:11 PM
 #12

Can we get the windows Mac-Qt build?

Fixed that for you Smiley
craslovell
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456
Merit: 1012



View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 05:36:23 PM
 #13

I am an idiot when it comes to linux and trying to run the command.. failing miserably. Can someone please roll this fix in to the full wallet so the whole package is available for download including the fix?
Luckybit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:40:08 PM
 #14

Is there any clue to what kind of systems affected by this issue? I wonder whether my Intel Atom is just too slow to compete, BTW I have OpenSUSE 11.4.

From the reports I have gathered, it impacted some server systems with high thread count, yes it may impact atoms as it's threads are relatively slow.

What about AMD based systems?
Luckybit
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:41:42 PM
 #15

I am an idiot when it comes to linux and trying to run the command.. failing miserably. Can someone please roll this fix in to the full wallet so the whole package is available for download including the fix?

SunnyKing is the only one who can be trusted to compile it. It would be helpful if the files had md5 just to verify the integrity of the compiled files.
96redformula
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:42:54 PM
 #16

I am an idiot when it comes to linux and trying to run the command.. failing miserably. Can someone please roll this fix in to the full wallet so the whole package is available for download including the fix?

SunnyKing is the only one who can be trusted to compile it. It would be helpful if the files had md5 just to verify the integrity of the compiled files.

Yeah, if you can't trust the coin creator, who else could you trust on the coin..... Smiley
dreamwatcher
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1064
Merit: 1000


View Profile WWW
July 10, 2013, 05:47:47 PM
 #17

On my Intel I7 notebook - Huge boost ~ 150 - 200 pps increase

The rest of my systems are AMD -

FX 8320 and FX 6300 - still need to compile  and test

phenom 2 975 - nice boost ~ 150 pps increase

Athlon 2 tri-core - Little boost

Ancient Athlon 64 dual core (S939) - Little increase (interesting side note: This unit has produced the most blocks... Cheesy  )

I will post the results of the FX units as soon as I compile on those systems.
TheSwede75
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:56:39 PM
 #18

Windows QT update?
Kujmandosz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100



View Profile
July 10, 2013, 05:58:34 PM
 #19

How do you compile that github file? Please someone explain this to me. I am running windows.

Sondey10mg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 10, 2013, 06:05:54 PM
 #20

I got a nice increase as well. From ~60pps to 151pps and still rising. cpu: AMD Athlon II x3 455 unlocked to phenom II x4 B55.


 *Image Removed*
 *Image Removed*
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!