Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 12:33:51 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: AMD R9 290X?  (Read 108110 times)
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 11:34:15 PM
 #221

I think those numbers are way off...scrypt mining yield close to 1150kh/s, min 850kh/s with a 290x. The 290 non x shouldn't be much slower, same memory bandwidth slower stock clocks (who runs stock?)

Where do you see 1150 on scrypt? Settings, please? I haven't had time to tweak more since my last update.
1511397231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511397231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511397231
Reply with quote  #2

1511397231
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511397231
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511397231

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511397231
Reply with quote  #2

1511397231
Report to moderator
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 05, 2013, 11:44:52 PM
 #222

I think those numbers are way off...scrypt mining yield close to 1150kh/s, min 850kh/s with a 290x. The 290 non x shouldn't be much slower, same memory bandwidth slower stock clocks (who runs stock?)

Where do you see 1150 on scrypt? Settings, please? I haven't had time to tweak more since my last update.

I don't think he has one, but more or less a guess.

The 7970 gets 750 pretty easy with 2048 cores. If the architecture is similar I'd expect nearly 1100mh/s from the extra 768 cores from the 290x. The extra memory and bandwidth ought to be good for something too, maybe?


Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 12:01:10 AM
 #223

I think those numbers are way off...scrypt mining yield close to 1150kh/s, min 850kh/s with a 290x. The 290 non x shouldn't be much slower, same memory bandwidth slower stock clocks (who runs stock?)

Where do you see 1150 on scrypt? Settings, please? I haven't had time to tweak more since my last update.

Didn't you post at that ocn thread? The guy there posted some screenshots...
Intensity 20 and two gpu threads with very high thread concurrency. Experiment with that and stock clocks, maybe undervolt. (modded p1 bios seems ideal for this)
Kimowa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 12:58:31 AM
 #224

Woohoo, anybody have the hash rate for AM R9 290 Scrypt mining?

Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:31:46 AM
 #225

I get 840 / khash with my card . Core clock down -12.5% mem std rest of settings same as the guy at overclockers win 8.1 .
Have tried other clocks but can't get a higher hashrate then this.
Does anybody have suggestions for clocks or settings?
carly200
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 196


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 08:02:49 AM
 #226

I get 840 / khash with my card ...

that's the 290X? whats your watt at the wall?
Sythyn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


In BlockChain we trust!


View Profile WWW
November 06, 2013, 10:44:44 AM
 #227

I get 840 / khash with my card ...

that's the 290X? whats your watt at the wall?

I am also interested to know this info. But I believe its the 290 cause 290x can go up to 1mh/s...


                                         ████████████████████████████████
                                         ████████████████████████████████
                                            ███▄
                                               ▀███▄
                                                   ▀███▄
                                                       ▀███
█████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████████


Silent Notary
The 1st Blockchain Notary Company in the World
Limited seats available
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 03:44:16 PM
 #228

I think those numbers are way off...scrypt mining yield close to 1150kh/s, min 850kh/s with a 290x. The 290 non x shouldn't be much slower, same memory bandwidth slower stock clocks (who runs stock?)

Yea those numbers are way off because I think they are using stock clocks...

1400 KH/s on my 7990 could go alot higher but has cooling problems that only water cooling will fix
760  KH/s on 280x


Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 05:12:19 PM
 #229

I get 840 / khash with my card ...

that's the 290X? whats your watt at the wall?

I am also interested to know this info. But I believe its the 290 cause 290x can go up to 1mh/s...

This is a 290x Sapphire Bf4 edition water cooled with latest ATI beta drivers Win 8.1 fully patched.
Sorry don't have a W meter will see if I can borrow one.

I have played a little with the clocks, tc and -g but instantly get decreased hash rate.


I am open for suggestions Smiley Maybe Linux or Win 7?
I Haven't tried the 290x in win 7 or linux but my 7950 performed the same in Xubuntu 12.04, win 7 and win 8.1
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 05:18:29 PM
 #230

Why are you downclocking the core so much when watercooled? Is it not stable increasing the memory clock at all?

Have you found the max TC when running two threads yet? That's where I would start. You are using the setx commands right?

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 05:30:04 PM
 #231

This clock setting seems to be my "golden ratio". I have played BF4 with 5% overclock for about an hour no crashes. (BF4 does intermittently seem to crash for everyone including me).
So the only reason I down clock is that with for instance stock clock I get 740 khash......

Using setx commands.
When trying some standard configs for -g 2 I get shares rejected and hw errors. Will play with it a little tonight.
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 05:40:17 PM
 #232

Weird!

When at g2 what are you using for an intensity? I'd stay at i13 when g2, and 17-20 with g1. That seems to work really well on 78xx and 79xx cards, at least.

For fun I'd set the memory to 1.3-1.6 of stock core clock and see what that does, may just crash. Stock is 1000/1250, right?



Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 05:51:48 PM
 #233

1000/1250 right!

Around 800 khash with 1000/1500 stopped at my "golden ration" 1000/1420 on the way up but only around 700 Smiley.

Testing -g 2 now.
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 06:25:50 PM
 #234

tc maxed out at around 32768 but nothing produced more then around 550 khash.

How long do I need to test each tc?
winner999
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:01:01 PM
 #235

What about power consumption of new R9 290(X), are there any data for khs/W ratio?
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:13:28 PM
 #236

If it starts mining than the TC is good. You'll see an error if it is unable to mine with a certain TC. How did you find that number though? I was under the assumption that it should be a multiple of shader cores.

What does this do?

-setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
-setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o  -u  -p  -I 13 --shaders 2816 --thread-concurrency 28160 --worksize 256 -g 2 --lookup-gap 2 --gpu-engine 1000 --gpu-memclock 1250

You may try a TC of 30976, too.


Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
Fassan
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 25


View Profile
November 06, 2013, 07:56:42 PM
 #237

28160 = 550
30976 = 20
But cgwatcher reported 0.
Also got bluescreen 3 times in 5 minutes while running and testing these tc.
pontiacg5
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 364



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 08:42:42 PM
 #238

Hmm, that's strange. I've never seen a bluescreen from too much TC, usually I just get a memory error before mining even starts.

My 7970's/280x like 4x shaders for a TC, you may try that. They won't do anything at all with any higher TC though, not with two threads. I wonder if the beta drivers for the 290x are different than the 280x ones?

Please DO NOT send me private messages asking for help setting up GPU miners. I will not respond!!!
ivanlabrie
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 812



View Profile
November 06, 2013, 09:06:35 PM
 #239

Try this:

-setx GPU_MAX_ALLOC_PERCENT 100
-setx GPU_USE_SYNC_OBJECTS 1
cgminer --scrypt -o  -u  -p  -I 20 --thread-concurrency 8191 --worksize 256 -g 2 --lookup-gap 0
SquallLeonhart
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 882



View Profile
November 07, 2013, 01:14:04 AM
 #240

Still waiting for more info about the non x...
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 [12] 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!